Swoon Editions Reviews

1.27 Rating 82 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Swoon Editions
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Over a month
on-time delivery
Greater than 11%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 40%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
Returns & Refunds
refunds process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Swoon Editions made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I don't normally right reviews but this has been an infuriating process and my order being cancelled without me knowing!!! We got an email confirmation for our order and then when I chased 3 weeks later for an update I was told their was an issue with our payment and the order was cancelled!! How can a company think it is acceptable to confirm an order with a customer, for them to have payment issues but choose not to advise the customer of this at the time? We have recently had an extension on the house and have ordered quite a few new things from different companies and have not had any issues with paying with the same card and we have definitely not encountered such bad customer service from anyone else. I would never use again and I'd highly recommend you don't waste your time either, as reading the reviews this happens frequently!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Terrible customer service. 2 separate orders delivered incomplete. Phoned, emailed several times and still no response.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Having read the other reviews I realise i am not alone, clearly they have problems, with deliveries! Ordered 2 chairs that I really wanted, they said were in stock, after watching the 'ship' being stuck in the Gulf and told it had already delivered and i was watching it on its return to China (although it was going in the wrong direction!) numerous emails/phone calls over weeks, where i was assured they were in their wharehouse and awaiting delivery. I have now been told they have been lost and not available till April (ordered in November) 6 months later!!!! offered a FULL REFUND (I would expect so!) and 10%voucher as an option!!!! Clearly are taking orders and money for goods they cannot deliver, very bad. How do i know this will not happen in 6 months time and they have my money for all this time?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
awaiting refund since august 2019 constantly being told they are dealing with it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Terrible. I waited 4 months for a media unit and it still has n't arrived. Dreadful customer service . I've asked for a full refund so lets see if I get it! the worst company Ive ever had to deal with .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Worst Logistics Ever! I ordered two items through swoon in August for delivery in October. Neither item has arrived. On the 30th of October after chasing - one item has been cancelled - one item due to arrive "november / december" They have had £1000 of my money for 3 months and have pulled this stunt at the end. Could not encourage you strongly enough to take your business elsewhere
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
What an absolute nightmare. My third order from Swoon and all three times I have had absolutely nightmarish experience with their product and post-sales team. I ordered two things. A TV table and a coffee table. TV table delivered damaged which I'm getting repaired because the discount they offered was terrible. It's sad to have gotten damaged items from them twice. Terrible. The coffee table they accepted the offer and charged my card only to tell me later that they messed up the inventory and it's "out-of-stock". I asked them for a refund and with a discount code to make up for the error so I can order another one and they only offered me 10% discount code. On top of that, they kept confusing the Coffee Table (not delivered) with the delivered and damaged TV table. Absolute shambles. I don't know what to say because I'm lost for words. I've literally got anxiety because they keep confusing the orders and messing up
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Poorly finished furniture was delivered. Previously this was a good standard. They have been very slow to resolve, in fact they still have not rectified. Will not purchase from the, again and do not recommend.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible delivery arrangements. Awful customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Seriously the worst company ever! How can a furniture company/logistics company mess things up so badly! We ordered a lamp 6 weeks ago, watched the shipping come from India, to the UK, then to Germany! Now seemingly lost somewhere....nothing from customer services. Hopefully they will be forced to close down soon as it would appear all their orders get lost or are cocked up in some way!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I would not even give Swoon 0* if I had the choice. I ordered a sofa for £2.5k in July. In September I got an email saying that my sofa was ready for delivery. I then called multiple times for over a week before they told me that they'd LOST IT!! Quite how you lose a four seater velvet sofa is beyond me. I was offered 15% as compensation if I reordered, even though I could have cancelled and reordered online with a 20% discount. They also told me it would take another 10 weeks to deliver the sofa. I asked for a more appropriate compensation and also an expedited delivery. Eventually after hours of phone calls and pushing I was told that I would be entitled to 35%. However, this was NEVER formalised and eventually it was rescinded. Swoon said they could offer a maximum of £500 off and 10 weeks delivery - the same as the 20% off offer available to all customers on the website and the same delivery time. So in essence, Swoon offered me nothing at all to encourage me to reorder with them, or to compensate the almost three month delay to my sofa delivery. The ladies in customer services in Newcastle have been as helpful as they can be, however despite being customer facing, they do not have the power to make decisions, everything has to be referred to head office, meaning everything takes a very long time and is very unclear. I wrote to the Managing Director to see if we could reach a mutually agreeable solution. I really did like the sofa and was very keen to see if I could get it cheaper or sooner. But I didn't even get an acknowledgement. Sadly, after two weeks of trying, I have now cancelled my order but was told that it would take up to 10 days for the money to reach my account. This means that Swoon have had my money for an entire quarter of a year and I have no sofa and not even a £20 gift voucher of compensation. Feeling that I needed some kind of positive outcome from the whole experience, I requested that 'anyone' from head office call me, so that I could deal with a decision maker directly. They did call, but unfortunately I was unavailable. They left a message and sent an email (to the wrong email address) so it never arrived. They didn't try me a second time, so I had to ring again!! Eventually I received an email to be told that, as I had cancelled my order I would not be offered ANY COMPENSATION. I asked the person at Head Office (Amber) to call me back. That was four days ago and I have still heard nothing. This is such appalling customer service and I'm so incredibly disappointed. I'm an interior designer who often recommends sofas. I will now always have to warn any client who wants a Swoon sofa, of my terrible experience. I would still love to hear from Swoon. I would still love to hear their thoughts or explanations, but honestly I do not have any faith or hope.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Useless - we've waited months and months for our oder, only to be told on the delivery day that it's going to be another 8 weeks. Ruined our whole summer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This company is the worst I have come across for taking your money upfront no customer service waiting for months for items to arrive then they disappoint with nothing and tell you you have to wait up to 10 days to get a refund ! Shocking waste of time and energy for nothing just what you don’t need when moving house
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolute joke. It’s like it’s a scam to keep your money as long as possible. It took 6 weeks and a lot of heartache to get the items and both of them where damaged. Now I can’t get them to collect the bloody things that are sitting in my hall. They won’t refund me until collection is arranged. I would not order anything from this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
THE worst company I have ever dealt with. Ridiculously long lead times and selling poor quality furniture for designer prices. Everything I have ordered was either damaged and had to be returned or is of mediocre quality. A tv unit that is claimed to be metal clad while it is not (gold paint) and a velvet sofa that cost a fortune but the cushions are only covered on one side so no turning over possible. Again.... cutting costs and charging a fortune. Sofa is uncomfortable and the velvet is of poor quality. I can’t afford a new one for years to come now do will have to ride this duff purchase out now for a good few years. NEVER EVER will I buy anything from them again.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
On 18th May, I bought what I thought would be my dream bed from Swoon. I was told to expect delivery in 8-10 weeks - so 13th-27th July. I waited pretty patiently but it gets to July 16th & the bed hasn’t arrived and I haven’t heard anything. I’m keen to know when it will be delivered as I’ve been sleeping on mattress on the floor, so I dropped them a quick email to get an update. I get a reply saying I’ll hear from their delivery partner (Ash) within 10 days... so 26th July. Except it gets to the 27th July and I didn’t hear anything. So off another email goes to them. They reply saying I’ll hear from Ash by the end of the week; 2nd August. So I waited some more. The 2nd of August came around, and I still haven’t heard anything so this time I called Swoon as I’m kinda getting annoyed now & surely if I speak to someone I’ll get a better experience... the call centre rep tells me they’ll drop me an email once they’ve spoken to Ash. I wait again.... it gets to the 5th August and I haven’t heard anything again so I call again. I express that I’m annoyed that no one called me back and she agrees to call me back the next day no matter what, even if she hasn’t heard back from the delivery company. Well you guessed it, no call... So I call again, 5th time chasing now... I ask for a manager but I’m told there isn’t one available but she will escalate it and give me a call back at 4pm. It gets to 4:40 and their offices close at 5pm so I call again. I’m promised that my situation has been escalated, that Ash is going to investigate what’s happened and that Swoon will call me back between 4-5pm the next day. I ask that also look at compensation, they say they’ll immediately refund my delivery costs, will look at further compensation & will email me to confirm what is happening. To no surprise, no email. A few days later Ash contacted me with a date which I couldn’t be in for, to my shock they originally suggested leaving it outside?! A velvet super king bed? How am I meant to get it upstairs? It’s huge.,,, What if we have our usual British weather? I’m not sure I trust their ability to package something at this stage. I politely declined. Ash came back with an alternative date, 17th August, which I could arrange for my mum to be in for and they promised to call her an hour ahead of when they are due to get there so she could pop over. So we waited. The delivery day came. Ash never ring my mum until they’re at my house, but luckily she only lives around the corner so she goes over to open the house up. Ash do take the bed upstairs (which to be honest by this stage I was positively surprised to hear) but my mum calls me to say they only delivered one box, the headboard. The box says that there is another box that accompanies it but what a surprise, Ash say they don’t have it. At this stage my boyfriend steps in and insists on speaking to a manager. The manager assures him that he will investigate the matter and call him on Monday. Monday comes, we get a call to say they’ve found the other half of the bed... it was in a separate part of the warehouse?? Swoon say that Ash can deliver it but it will be a week or two. We say that isn’t good enough and that if their “delivery partner” can’t do it they should look to get an independent courier to do it. They said they’ll call us back by the end of the day... We don’t get a call back. So we’ve just called them back and they’ve said they’ll call us back next week to confirm a delivery date. I honestly have no hope I’ll ever get the other half of this bed. I’ll be asking my credit card company to refund my money today and informing trading standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ok Swoon I have had enough of this so I am making it public. Below is the story of what has happened so far... My partner and I have recently bought our first house and have spent time selecting what beautiful sofas we wanted to furnish our new and exciting home. We decided upon buying 2 Rieti sofas from your great looking selection. We understood that this could take between 8-10 weeks which we had allowed for and understood. That was back in March. We chased our order around 7 weeks later just to see if there was an update and were told to still expect 10 weeks, that's fine, as it is in the expected window. We received an unexpected message a week later to say that our delivery was ready so we booked it in for the 16th May. GREAT we thought. This is when it all began. The 16th of May came around and our delivery turned up. My partner (who had taken a days holiday from work) recieved it and when it was brought in by the delivery drivers said, "I hope the legs are with it? Must be with the second sofa". The delivery drivers looked at each other and said "Theres not another sofa on our wagon, this is the only one and we have not seen any legs".... That's right we were only sent one of our two sofas and that didn't wasn't even complete. We immediately phoned Swoon to ask where the other sofa and the missing legs were to be told that the second sofa was delayed over seas and that they did not know where our legs were for our first sofa (even though we were told that all your products go through quality control... seems not). We were then told the legs would be sent to head office and sent to us from there, ok a bit annoying but we can deal with that. Would of been helpful to let us know there was a delay on our sofa though? After multiple emails and phone calls prior, my partner phoned on the 31st of May to ask what was happening with our second sofa as we had not had an update. She spoke to Luke who confirmed it was now in the UK and ready to be delivered but would have to be a weekday as there was no availability on the weekend. We arranged it to be delivered on Tuesday 4th June (some 2 and a half weeks later than our first sofa). She then asked about the status of our legs as we had still had nothing through but there was no update. Luke said he would send an email to head office to chase. Starting to get slightly annoyed now as you can imagine. We then did not hear anything from you until I phoned Swoon on the 4th of June after our second sofa was delivered (with the correct legs..I think, although they look almost black as a pose to dark beach advertised on the website?). Again, no update was given, still waiting on the supplier. But could see the legs were supposed to be delivered on 20th May...This was not good enough, we had been waiting patiently for weeks to be told that I'd have to wait another 2 working days for the escalation team to contact me, why? Why was this not already escalated? Why was this not already sorted?? 6th June, I hear nothing. I phone yet again to find out what was going on to be told, yet again they had nothing to tell me and that someone would be in contact on 7th. On the 8th my partner was contacted (a shock I know) and told they had still not had an update on the missing legs so they would send some " temporary" legs to us...oh but that could take 7-14 days... excuse me?! 7-14 days for TEMPORARY legs. No, that's not acceptable. Where are our legs??!! I then phoned Swoon and spoke to Luke who advised me that they had a meeting at 3pm and that he would raise the issue and try to find an answer which was helpful but not sure why this wasn't done 3/4 weeks ago... The final update I was given just past 3pm was that there have been issues with the supplier and they have not made any. Valid reason but my question would be, where are the legs that should of been sent with the sofa originally? If this has past quality control then surely the legs were with it at some point? I have now received our "temporary" legs on Monday 10th June and have no date for our real legs. A week ago I received an email to say our legs were going to be delivered to us.... FINALLY! I waited and waited to no avail. I checked our tracking to be told that Swoon had not even given the order to DPD! I chased it yet again and yet again no one could answer me and had to go and find out. Never heard anything from that... typical Swoon. Today 13th August I randomly got an email to say that my legs were going to be delivered. HOORAY!!! I've just received them! Only nearly 4 months since we made the order! But wait.... THEY ARE THE WRONG COLOUR!!!! Can you actually get ANYTHING right?? What a poor excuse for a high end furniture company, you don't deserve to be trading. I go to phone you and oh you've now changed your phone lines to 9am-3pm?? What's that about? Who can you expect to call you between those hours? I am absolutely appalled by the whole experience, the lack on communication, the lack of investigation and the complete disregard to help. We were recommended Swoon by multiple people and have been impressed with the website and quality of product that we have actually received but have been completely let down by everything else. As a retail manager myself I am not one to complain as I understand that things happen but when something like this happens it is kind of taking the mick a little. To only receive half our order to begin with and no proactive communication to tell us of its delay and missing legs that have still had no update for 3/4 weeks, leaving us with one sofa for 2 weeks with no legs and no where else to sit meaning we have had to sit on a sofa with no legs and compromising the structure of the sofa is the worst experience I have received. This should of been sorted long ago and should be investigated into why it hasn't been. I now do not feel confident in the structure and integrity of the sofa with no legs and if it wasn't for such a wait for new sofas I would be saying that I want a replacement and/or for you to take them away. Again, I am appalled and disappointed in the way this has been handled and this whole experience has really tarnished what should of been an exciting time for my partner and I. We will always remember the time we bought our first home and the issues we faced around our first sofas. Thanks Swoon! Get this sorted ASAP.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ok Swoon I have had enough of this so I am making it public. Below is the story of what has happened so far... My partner and I have recently bought our first house and have spent time selecting what beautiful sofas we wanted to furnish our new and exciting home. We decided upon buying 2 Rieti sofas from your great looking selection. We understood that this could take between 8-10 weeks which we had allowed for and understood. That was back in March. We chased our order around 7 weeks later just to see if there was an update and were told to still expect 10 weeks, that's fine, as it is in the expected window. We received an unexpected message a week later to say that our delivery was ready so we booked it in for the 16th May. GREAT we thought. This is when it all began. The 16th of May came around and our delivery turned up. My partner (who had taken a days holiday from work) recieved it and when it was brought in by the delivery drivers said, "I hope the legs are with it? Must be with the second sofa". The delivery drivers looked at each other and said "Theres not another sofa on our wagon, this is the only one and we have not seen any legs".... That's right we were only sent one of our two sofas and that didn't wasn't even complete. We immediately phoned Swoon to ask where the other sofa and the missing legs were to be told that the second sofa was delayed over seas and that they did not know where our legs were for our first sofa (even though we were told that all your products go through quality control... seems not). We were then told the legs would be sent to head office and sent to us from there, ok a bit annoying but we can deal with that. Would of been helpful to let us know there was a delay on our sofa though? After multiple emails and phone calls prior, my partner phoned on the 31st of May to ask what was happening with our second sofa as we had not had an update. She spoke to Luke who confirmed it was now in the UK and ready to be delivered but would have to be a weekday as there was no availability on the weekend. We arranged it to be delivered on Tuesday 4th June (some 2 and a half weeks later than our first sofa). She then asked about the status of our legs as we had still had nothing through but there was no update. Luke said he would send an email to head office to chase. Starting to get slightly annoyed now as you can imagine. We then did not hear anything from you until I phoned Swoon on the 4th of June after our second sofa was delivered (with the correct legs..I think, although they look almost black as a pose to dark beach advertised on the website?). Again, no update was given, still waiting on the supplier. But could see the legs were supposed to be delivered on 20th May...This was not good enough, we had been waiting patiently for weeks to be told that I'd have to wait another 2 working days for the escalation team to contact me, why? Why was this not already escalated? Why was this not already sorted?? 6th June, I hear nothing. I phone yet again to find out what was going on to be told, yet again they had nothing to tell me and that someone would be in contact on 7th. On the 8th my partner was contacted (a shock I know) and told they had still not had an update on the missing legs so they would send some " temporary" legs to us...oh but that could take 7-14 days... excuse me?! 7-14 days for TEMPORARY legs. No, that's not acceptable. Where are our legs??!! I then phoned Swoon and spoke to Luke who advised me that they had a meeting at 3pm and that he would raise the issue and try to find an answer which was helpful but not sure why this wasn't done 3/4 weeks ago... The final update I was given just past 3pm was that there have been issues with the supplier and they have not made any. Valid reason but my question would be, where are the legs that should of been sent with the sofa originally? If this has past quality control then surely the legs were with it at some point? I have now received our "temporary" legs on Monday 10th June and have no date for our real legs. A week ago I received an email to say our legs were going to be delivered to us.... FINALLY! I waited and waited to no avail. I checked our tracking to be told that Swoon had not even given the order to DPD! I chased it yet again and yet again no one could answer me and had to go and find out. Never heard anything from that... typical Swoon. Today 13th August I randomly got an email to say that my legs were going to be delivered. HOORAY!!! I've just received them! Only nearly 4 months since we made the order! But wait.... THEY ARE THE WRONG COLOUR!!!! Can you actually get ANYTHING right?? What a poor excuse for a high end furniture company, you don't deserve to be trading. I go to phone you and oh you've now changed your phone lines to 9am-3pm?? What's that about? Who can you expect to call you between those hours? I am absolutely appalled by the whole experience, the lack on communication, the lack of investigation and the complete disregard to help. We were recommended Swoon by multiple people and have been impressed with the website and quality of product that we have actually received but have been completely let down by everything else. As a retail manager myself I am not one to complain as I understand that things happen but when something like this happens it is kind of taking the mick a little. To only receive half our order to begin with and no proactive communication to tell us of its delay and missing legs that have still had no update for 3/4 weeks, leaving us with one sofa for 2 weeks with no legs and no where else to sit meaning we have had to sit on a sofa with no legs and compromising the structure of the sofa is the worst experience I have received. This should of been sorted long ago and should be investigated into why it hasn't been. I now do not feel confident in the structure and integrity of the sofa with no legs and if it wasn't for such a wait for new sofas I would be saying that I want a replacement and/or for you to take them away. Again, I am appalled and disappointed in the way this has been handled and this whole experience has really tarnished what should of been an exciting time for my partner and I. We will always remember the time we bought our first home and the issues we faced around our first sofas. Thanks Swoon! Get this sorted ASAP.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Do not give these crooks your money! The order times are extremely long to start with but the company seem to think it is perfectly acceptable to extend it by a month or two. I ordered a desk on 30th March and am still waiting on 10th August with no firm delivery date. These people have had my money now for 5 months with nothing to show for it. Why they don’t keep stock of their products like every other retailer, I don’t know! Custom Rd shouldn’t have to wait 6 months for some artisan manufacturer to start it from scratch.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Beware – definitely inept, seemingly also immoral. 6 chairs ordered, full payment made in advance of delivery as per their terms. Only 2 chairs arrived. Quality was poor (broken weld, bent legs) and this is an expensive item. Arranged return; waited in on the agreed date – no show. Arranged another day; waited in – no show. Asked for refund and they have so far refused to refund even the 4 chairs that never left their premises until the 2 chairs are returned. But we can’t return them as their couriers never show and they could in theory keep repeating this process whilst we are £500+ out of pocket. Please avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Swoon Editions is rated 1.27 based on 82 reviews