Specsavers Reviews

Specsavers have a Customer Happiness Grade of B-. Customers love their customer service and are happy with their refunds. Full Insights

2.60 Rating 77 Reviews
36% of reviewers recommend Specsavers
606 Review Views (past 24 hours)
4PM - 6PM
36 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
102 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
41 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
56 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
20 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
36 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
46 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
86 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
36 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
35 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
37 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
75 Review Views
4PM
4PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Live Chat
communication channels

How would you rate Specsavers ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"My wife was referred to Specsavers Wick for an audiogram, on visiting the shop to make an appointment she was greeted by a woman who said that she was fedup of doctors referring patients to them as they were not a charity. A test was eventually given, when asked for a copy of the results for the doctor we were advised that the printer was not working and they would be sent to us. After a week without correspondence, the shop eventually telephoned to say the results were available andwe visited the shop and were handed the results. Due to the loss of hearing we requested a full hearing test and was advised that there was a waiting list in excess of one month. On checking the online booking service we noted that there was slots available the next week. Checking with customer services by phone we were assured that this service was free. On attending the appointment, we were advised that this was not the case and an audiogram would cost £29. We reluctantly agreed to pay and the test was given. On offering to pay andrequesting a copy we were again advised that they could not print the results, subsequently, we were advised that they could not release the data due to data protection regulations!(?). Eventually after several conversations a copy of the results eventually arrived in the post. The management at the Wick shop would be regarded as socially lacking in their customer relations, not using normal social graces expected in trading. This alone does not endear one to trade with this branch and at the loss of £ 1000. to £1500 in the sale of hearing aids beggers belief. It is not possible to rate this shop less than one star but, I would say to all potential customers " buyer beware!"."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"My wife was referred to Specsavers Wick for an audiogram, on visiting the shop to make an appointment she was greeted by a woman who said that she was fedup of doctors referring patients to them as they were not a charity. A test was eventually given, when asked for a copy of the results for the doctor we were advised that the printer was not working and they would be sent to us. After a week without correspondence, the shop eventually telephoned to say the results were available andwe visited the shop and were handed the results. Due to the loss of hearing we requested a full hearing test and was advised that there was a waiting list in excess of one month. On checking the online booking service we noted that there was slots available the next week. Checking with customer services by phone we were assured that this service was free. On attending the appointment, we were advised that this was not the case and an audiogram would cost £29. We reluctantly agreed to pay and the test was given. On offering to pay andrequesting a copy we were again advised that they could not print the results, subsequently, we were advised that they could not release the data due to data protection regulations!(?). Eventually after several conversations a copy of the results eventually arrived in the post. The management at the Wick shop would be regarded as socially lacking in their customer relations, not using normal social graces expected in trading. This alone does not endear one to trade with this branch and at the loss of £ 1000. to £1500 in the sale of hearing aids beggers belief. It is not possible to rate this shop less than one star but, I would say to all potential customers " buyer beware!"."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Booked an appointment online for Newquay Specsavers. Took an hour out of my my busy schedule today and £3 to park to attend the appointment today. On arrival I was told my appointment was actually on the 16th November. (Now arriving home to check my email, I was correct, surprise surprise : Tuesday, 06 November, 2018 - 11:00 AM) I'm then told I will have to wait three weeks for an appointment. Possibly the worst customer service I have experienced from any company in any country. Having used Specsavers for as long as I remember I will never return after such a shambles. If there was a negative rating you would have got -5"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Excellent customer service from the staff at the Specsavers in the Intu Centre, Derby today..12/10/18..BUT..exceptional customer service from CHARLIE....You were a STAR! We hope you read this...Thankyou for ALL your help, and kindness during our visit. Terry is now looking forward to receiving his new glasses."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Oxford Specsavers the young lady on the door receiving the book appointments on the 12/10/18 extremely rude and careless. You shouldn't treat your clients like that. There are many ways to speak with clients."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I purchased two pairs of glasses early this year, after a few months the arm arm fell of one pair. They initially said it was fair ware and tear and wanted to charge me £12.50 for the repair, however, after much debate they said that they would repair it free of charge. I mention that the other arm was loose but they ignored what I said and only replace one arm . Three weeks later the second arm fell of, this time they said that they would repair it free of charge. At the same time I mentioned a scuff on one of the lenses. That they said was me mistreating the glasses. I pointed out that they are supposed to have a scratch resistant coating. The manager then told me that the only thing that does not scratch is a diamond and that if I wanted the lenses replaced they will cost me £25. So much for the guarantee. I for one will not go through there doors one more time. If you had a zero star then I would have used it David"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"last week I re glazed my glasses in spacsaver wilmslow and they charged me £104 , but lenses quality is very very cheep quality because is not easy for clean dust and grease, i have used different lens cleaner and Cloth , but still is not shiny and bright. i am not happy and i am not recommend. next time i want go to single optician shop"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Awarded one star because I couldn't leave less. Absolutely atrocious treatment by staff and there no quibble, no fuss guarantee isn't worth the paper it's written on. Collected my new spectacles on 6th September 2018, when I got home, I inspected the new spectacles while wearing my old ones and noticed scratches on both lenses and the frame so telephoned them straight away and was told no problem, return them, I explained that I could not return to the shop that day as I have no transport, lady said she would make a note on there system that I had telephoned them within the hour and that I would visit the shop in a few days, she said they would make up a new pair after my visit, Visited the shop 11th September and told nothing can be done as they are not covered for accidental damage!!?? I said the damage was not caused by me so I would like a replacement under there no quibble, no fuss guarantee printed on my receipt. The assistant said she would have to speak to someone else and went away, another person appeared, I think she may be the manager although she did not tell me this she certainly behaved as if she owned the store, in fact her attitude was immediately defensive and confrontational. She asked me stupid questions like "well, how do you think they were damaged" to which I replied as they had damaged them she would have more of an idea than me, she tried to get me to start an argument, but after more silly questions and talking down to me I said I was not prepared to argue, was she going to replace the spectacles or not, to which she replied in a sarcastic voice "no, I am not going to replace your glasses, I'm not doing anything", I then got up and left. As I suffer from chronic anxiety and depression this has left me feeling terrible with headaches and sleepless nights. I have now contacted Specsavers head office and am awaiting a reply. Absolutely terrible attitude and customer service, would I use them again, definitely not!!! Contacted store and website as requested, told by store that issue will be looked at by store director, but they are not available until OCTOBER, nearly a month after my complaint, will update again when they eventually decide to do something. Waste of time filling in the web form, all they do is send it to the store that you are having problems with, head office do nothing to resolve issues, useless."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Went for eye test. They forgot to do my field test. When I went for glasses I told young assistant that I had double vision. She replied well see how it goes! I eventually went to the hospital and they diagnosed cataracts and early glaucoma and increase pressure on one eye.......which was NOT picked up by Specsavers. The specialist was very surprised. When I said I had double vision I should have been immediately seen by an optician not told by a young trainee see how it goes on! Very poor from a store where there are a few familiar faces but most appear to be trainees and youNEVERsee the same optician....lots of locus. Not good enough at all...just like a conveyor belt as long as they get your money. Time for a change which will include my wife who spends hundreds of pounds there every year. She has just been back and a senior assistant immediately spotted that her new glasses had been made up incorrectly! Say no more!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My eye test was done by a newly qualified young lady. Who didn't seem confident at all. Had to return to choose frames as the shop was heaving. Choose frames and told would be a week. No one approached me to help with the choosing of frames. I tried the glasses for four days but realized that although the glasses were fine for reading they were no good for computer work. I returned again to the store to complain. They called my name out incorrectly and then made if feel like it was my fault as only reading glasses. I will not be returning. £159 for glasses that I needed for work that I now cannot use. Disappointed."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Specsavers Chepstow is like being on a conveyer belt, not a pleasant experience. I paidfor two glasses the readers were fine but the driving glasses were not as long distance was out of focus. Took them back and told I would have to come yet again to have another eye test. This would have me travelling back yet another time to collect the glasses when corrected. As we are leaving the country shortly have decided to give and get new glasses abroad as time is running out. Now they are not answering the phone so I can't cancel the appointment for the repeat eye test."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Service is outstanding and consistant. I was and always am pleased in the way I am dealt with. The Woolwich branch is Clean and inviting. I cannot recommend them enough , want first class service try them"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"On holiday in Rutland when an arm of my glasses came off. I went into the local branch where 2 'girls' were supposed to be working. They didn't want to know and basically were a complete waste of time. I called into Boots opticians a few doors away who were extremely helpful."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Called out by surname. Not Mrs Snead but Snead. Arrogant rude man had to move to another sales man. Just money making business total disregard to courtesy."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Hearing test.... FAIL even though I cannot hear in one ear told too young to be going deaf, didn't even get a hearing test, waste of time took morning off work for this and didn't even get a test next day went to a n e n guess what I've actually lost hearing in my ear mmmm to young eh get ya facts straight n get proper trained hearing specialists in future"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Worst service ever...wrong test, second pair of glasses not ordered...unbelievable..asked for refund"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Great service. Nothing too much trouble. Many thanks to Mark, Lee and Jade at the Great Yarmouth branch of Specsavers. Credit to specsavers."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My spectacles from Specsavers were great. I had high value lenses fitted in 2015. The sides had broken away so they needed replacing. On visiting the Specsavers store I was served by, (as I later learnt an apprentice) who advised me they could not be repaired on site. They would be sent away for up to 6 weeks and then they may not be able to repair them. I knew they could be repaired so I took them to be repaired elsewhere and they were able to repair them immediately. The service I received on this occasion from spec savers was utterly appalling which I conveyed to a supervisor and the Director who telephoned me. The situation was so bad, I have had to suffer unnecessary additional cost in order to keep my spectacles. I have since been trying to obtain reimbursement from specsavers for additional costs incurred. So far despite intervention by the OCCS I have not received a satisfactory resolution, just an empty apology and a reluctant offer of a credit note for £48. I have also written to the CEO Doug Perkins about a week ago but so far not received an acknowledgement or response to the issues outstanding. I live in hope? From adverts, I expected far more understanding than I have got to date."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I lost an arm off my reading glasses and took them into the St Annes branch and within 2 hours they were able to replace it, free of charge! Always excellent service.Thank you so much!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Been here today for the first time for an eye test. Wasn't planning to buy any glasses. But staff were really friendly. 3 English men and 1 Asian lady - she is adorable, all of them were very helpful and patient. Didn't feel like I was pain in the ass:) even though I was. I liked the fact that they didn't try to upsell. But I still spend a lot of money though ha. Waiting for my two pair of glasses now. Can't wait. Thanks so much for winton specsavers staff today. Mr. N ;)"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Specsavers is rated 2.60 based on 77 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This