Specsavers Reviews

3.17 Rating 29 Reviews
52% of reviewers recommend Specsavers

How would you rate Specsavers?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

29 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
First time in 4 eye tests, with various opticians, over the last few years that I have received a prescription that actual provides good results. All others were problematic in one way or another. Either to strong or too weak a prescription prevent being able to see well at both long and near distances.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Specsavers in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"First time in 4 eye tests, with various opticians, over the last few years that I have received a prescription that actual provides good results. All others were problematic in one way or another. Either to strong or too weak a prescription prevent being able to see well at both long and near distances."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Specsavers - Cardiff (Leckwith). Served by Sophie, who couldn't have been more helpful. She spent quite a bit of time helping me (but primarily my wife) to find an acceptable pair of frames for me, suggesting ones we wouldn't have chosen, but definitely suited. Very professional, very pleasant to speak to and knew what she was doing. The optician (who's name I didn't get, but a nice blonde lady) was exactly the same, so it reflected well on the branch. I've seen reviews about incorrect glasses being supplied in other Specsavers and I can't comment on that as mine won't be ready for a while, but from today's visit I'm confident they will sort any issues out. Well done Sophie!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Had to return glasses as alignment was wrong. They ordered new lenses but they were no better. Ended up paying for new glasses at an independent opticians."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"SPECSAVERS EXETER. Saw lovely optician called Emma who hade a delightful manner and very informative. Jenny helped me choose glasses and was able to fill me with cofidence on choosing lenses, she was meticulous in measuring . Glasses are lovely and I forget they're on. Director is lucky to have such wonderful caring people"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Every year for approximately the last 7 years I have had a diabetes eye screening test which includes a free eye test. I tend to use a different optician each time due to their appointment systems fitting in with my busy schedules. This year I chose to use Specsavers in Stockport and where the optician took it upon himself to demand £20.00 for the FREE eye test I was entitled to. His arrogant attitude when his error was pointed out to him was quite alarming and when I refused to pay and told him I would walk out if he asked for the money again, his reply was he would open the door for me, Totally UNBELIEVABLE!!. In the end he did conduct the eye test for free but my experience there was an uncomfortable one and I couldn't wait to get out. I then rang back a day later and asked to speak to a manager who agreed that this particular optician has "poor people skills". So demanding money for a free eye test and taking umbrage when your demand has not been met is "Poor people skills" - REALLY!!!! Conclusion - by far the rudest and most unprofessional eye test I have ever had done."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Specsavers Telford - Dreadful
Verified Reviewer
"I cannot post this unless i score Specsavers - Truthfully i feel one star is over generous After 2 failed appointments for eye test because I was less than 5 minutes late, it took around 6 weeks to get an appointment i could attend. At the eye test i selected the frames and told they would be ready in 2/3 weeks - after over 7 weeks no contact and i happened to be near the store and popped in. I was treated so poorly that i felt like i was guilty of doing wrong. I complained and was pretty much laughed at by the Supervisor - at which point i will say that the young man handling me that morning was only on day 2 in the job and was clearly trying hard and embarrassed - i asked, but the manager refused to meet me. I was made an insulting offer of discount, take it or leave it - it felt like Specsavers thought they were doing me a favour..... I was told to wait up to an hour if i wanted to see the manager - of the 50 minutes I was in the branch, i had sat waiting for at least 40 minutes. I left asking the manager to call me. The manager called over an hour later and only made the same offer - admitting not knowing cost and profit levels on my sale - clearly making me feel like she was doing me a favour. I asked to go above her with my complaint. She advised i email the Directors, one of whom made the same offer or refund promising to handle it personally. I asked for full refund and agreed a time for the phone call and transaction to happen. Nearly 24 hours later - no contact - clearly enforcing my comments and concerns on the appalling service received showing the Directors to be as guilty as the Manager and Staff. I still have not got my money back and recommend that people do not use Specsavers. You cannot make a complaint on the website unless it goes to the branch in question which is all part of the shakedown to put you off complaining about a poorly performing business."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Mr Michael Coffey
"The whole process was so smooth and so professional."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I ordered glasses from the Bitterne branch, the original order was for Varifocals,but I change the order the same day after consulting family members that they are hard to get on with. The store assured me that was OK to change my mind as the original order had not yet been placed. To cut a long story short ,the order arrived made in Varifocals, so had to be sent back. The second order only reading glasses arrived, seven Weeks past and still no long distance glasess. So I have give up and have had a refund. Terrible service ,and no one telephone you back when they say they will, and that go for customers services also. I have gone to vision express no problems great service."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Claire Elizabeth Anne Moylan
"Recently took my Nana into specsavers Fareham and they were so helpful. Nana now has mobility issues, all staff were willing to help and the optometrist was so patient and lovely."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dave Marsh
"Specsavers is the most amazing place to go when you are ready for a new eye test. They have the very latest equipment, one machine actually took a photograph behind my eye and they were even able to show me the picture. They now have a new attachment for the eye test that allowed me to get the right lens fitted for when I'm on the PC, brilliant. There are always special offers and the prices are low so you don't need to raid the piggy bank to pay for your new glasses."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
John Osgerby
"Ordered new glasses and when arrived 10 days later noticed a fault in one lens. Showed to assistant who could not see it because they are not trained well enough. advised to see person who measured my new specs who was not in and I had to wait another week to see them. I do not think they believed me that the lens had a manufacturing fault. Went back a week later and saw manager/owner who eventually found that I was telling the truth that there was a fault in the lens. I complained that I had had to wait over a week to have this confirmed but nothing was made of this. A new lens was ordered and when it arrived over a week later it was found to be chipped so another one was ordered. Waited another 10 days. Final result was a pair go glasses that I had to wait many weeks for with several trips at my expense into the town. No apologies or anything said at all. New glasses are in fact the worst I have ever had in terms of frame quality and lens varifocal range. This is the third issue I have had with SpecSavers in the past 12 years. I will not now ever use them again or recommend them to anyone awful company that are cheap and nasty. Don't believe the adverts."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
John Osgerby
"Ordered new glasses and when arrived 10 days later noticed a fault in one lens. Showed to assistant who could not see it because they are not trained well enough. advised to see person who measured my new specs who was not in and I had to wait another week to see them. I do not think they believed me that the lens had a manufacturing fault. Went back a week later and saw manager/owner who eventually found that I was telling the truth that there was a fault in the lens. I complained that I had had to wait over a week to have this confirmed but nothing was made of this. A new lens was ordered and when it arrived over a week later it was found to be chipped so another one was ordered. Waited another 10 days. Final result was a pair go glasses that I had to wait many weeks for with several trips at my expense into the town. No apologies or anything said at all. New glasses are in fact the worst I have ever had in terms of frame quality and lens varifocal range. This is the third issue I have had with SpecSavers in the past 12 years. I will not now ever use them again or recommend them to anyone awful company that are cheap and nasty. Don't believe the adverts."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
""" Last year I bought 3 pairs of design spectacles in Unit 31, The Brunswick Centre, Bloomsbury, London, WC1N 1AF,,and last July I took one of them to Spain where the temperature was 40c and the end plastic tips melted down. I took them back to the store and they refused to take responsibility and they suggested it was my fault. Anyway, After my Insistence They took it to fix but the job they did was a disaster, one of the end tip was white and the other one was brown which don't match in colour or shape , so it is useless. I adviced to the shop staff and the director to go to specsavers to have the sight test as they can not see anything wrong with my spectacles. The director of the shop wrote to me and suggested to buy new ones. It is not a matter of money but principle. Therefore, I will approach to trading standards.I strongly advise people No to go to that shop as the service is very poor. Juan Ojeda"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Anonymous
"Great fast friendly service with text reminders , professional and always"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Darren
"Good service quick and efficient"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Kevin Charles
"Good service and very helpful staff."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Mrs Sue Goff
"Excellent customer care and very knowledgeable staff"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Mrs Sue Goff
"Excellent customer care and very knowledgeable staff"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Anonymous
"Always very professional service from all staff and a wide selection of frames to choose from."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Anonymous
"Always very professional service from all staff and a wide selection of frames to choose from."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Specsavers is rated 3.17 based on 29 reviews