Specsavers Reviews

2.51 Rating 101 Reviews
34% of reviewers recommend Specsavers

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact Specsavers?
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Specsavers made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
communication channels
"We have always gone to spec savers for our glasses always been happy with the service but not this time the glasses frame isn't very good very cheap and nasty even though there from the Twiggy range plus I can't see my laptop screen so not happy at all this time round I think next time I will be trying somewhere else"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Are you Specsavers? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Specsavers receives and that when things do go wrong, you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"I drove over my glasses and they were completely mangled! Booked appointment for 4pm today and by 5.30 walked out with my new prescription glasses soo impressed, all staff delightful particually Paul and Lauren"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Terrible Management at Bury Treat the staff awful all the decent staff have left now as have i ive gone to a more decent opticians"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Asked for glasses with thin lenses like i already had,the Sales assistant assured me they would be the same. Waited two weeks for collecting new glasses vision slightly blurry as expected till my eyes settled ,then my wife noticed how thick the lenses were NOT what I was told by sales assistant Returned next day to told to make them thinner pay another £50 pound felt i was misled product no effort to try and keep my custom Sales staff not trained properly to explain products they sell shrugged her shoulders returned my money to card told it would take a week to go back in my bank WHY they took it out same day useless !!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Took my daughter after her teacher said she may need an eye test as her vision is blurry.. They fit me in the same day (today) and it turns out she needs glasses to read the white board, do her work etc.... Lovely and professional and helped pick out her glasses which suited her.... Well done Hornchurch specsavers."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Total incompetence at Bury shop. Prescription for reading glasses and distance. Ordered two pairs of each but all four were made with the same prescription. When informed that the reorder was ready I went to collect and found they too had been remade wrongly again. Expecting a full refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I went into Specsavers to find a decent pair of glasses. The staff found me a pair they said would fit but wouldn't let me try them on. Took them home, they didn't fit."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Hi, I recently wrote a review about the incompetence of the staff at the st.annes store, I would like to say that following my complaint I received a sincere apology, compensation for my time, a discount as a loyal customer and a bunch of flowers. None of the above AND still waiting for the said contact lenses."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Absolutely appalling treatment at Morpeth. I have had my prescription increased for no reason other than they told me my eisight had changed "by two steps", She changed my prescription to take into account my reading glases (which is a wholly seperate prescription and is kept completely apart from my distance glasses) and then said my eyesight had changed to such an extent that I needed a new set. The young woman in the shop tried to take my photograph before I had my eyesight checked and said oh you will be needing new glasses (this was BEFORE I had my appointment with the optometrist) and I proceeded to tell her that I would not be buying such bug ugly Penfold style black plastic vile looking glasses. She then did an appalling "puff" test on my eyes which she did six lots on my left eye. I left my prescription in the shop because frankly it is not worth the paper it is written on. I have since had another paid for eye test at an independent optometrist who stated that there had been a small change in my vision but nothing worthy of note. I then prceeded to tell him about this shower and he said there is no way that there is a two step alteration in my eyesight. I am livid hopping mad furious. I am absolutely disgusted by what is no more than a cynical attempt to get me to purchase a new set of glasses when none was needed. This is frankly repugnant behaviour; screwing around with peoples vision all in the name of driving a profit. They have lost my business fully now and I will be informing everybody about what has happened to me."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"I can't believe that Optometrists are paid so much yet provide such appalling service. They seem disinterested in my issues - just going through the motions in the test room - there was NO recommendation as to what I ought to do once the test was complete and as for the photo that was taken, there was no description of what was going on. If I'd had an x-ray at the hospital I'd expect the doctor to explain what was going on.... The staff in the shop part are great but the optometrist needs to improve their skills. The sad thing was it isn't isolated as I went to another Specsavers for a 2nd opinion a month later as the glasses didn't seem right. They offered a re-test with their own team. the optom in the test room was little better than the first one. your optometrists need some training in customer service - perhaps cut their day rates if they don't improve ?!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"I recently had a contact lens check and eye test. I was told there was very little change and that a slight change to my right lens may help my reading but may affect my distance. Your the expert so I said I was prepared to give the new lenses a try. One week passed and a text came to collect my lenses, when I arrived in store, they were my old prescription, hey ho human error. Apologies and ordered my new trial lenses, whilst in store I collected my3/12 next supply and was assured that if I was happy with the trial lenses these could be exchanged. A further week followed and a text arrived to say the lenses were ready for collection, I sent my son who was asked to pay £40.00. He said I paid by the scheme.?? So, today off I go AGAIN to collect these trial lenses, I tried to explain my previous problem, sit down says the assistant and I will go and get them for you. After what seems like eternity she comes back with two full boxes, she then asks if I have used more lenses than I pay for by direct debit. I explain these are a trial and explain my last fruitless visit, off she goes to ask the contact lens specialist and while she is away I look at the invoice that she has left on the table. And... it’s my old prescription AGAIN. The assistant returns and tries to back track on the flannel she had given me before about how these new lenses were so different. They are my SAME prescription. To top it all she then tried to give me five pairs of the lenses. WHY?? I’ve got 90 pairs of the old prescription. Finally, I was offered my trial lenses be posted to me direct and assured they would be sent ASAP, little comfort I told her as these I wanted to try before my upcoming holiday. I was informed that I would be able to try a couple of days, does this really help, because I won’t be in this country to make that choice either way. I am completely dissatisfied with the service and considering I spend £500.00 approx per annum with yourselves expect a better service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I had an eye test in September which I had no confidence in because I felt it was rushed. Questions were fired at me with no sign of interest from the optician and at the end of the test I was told that I didn't need to change my glasses because my sight had not changed very much. Subsequently I have had another eye test at another opticians, which I have had to pay for. A totally shocking service from Specsavers. I have also had a hearing test with Specsavers. This was rushed, again with no interest from the audiologist. All he was interested in was getting me to buy a hearing aid. The hearing aid was eventually fitted, the audiologist pushed the earpiece in so roughly that it hurt, and the hearing aid was so awful that I took it back and got a refund. Everything about my experiences was rushed and impersonal. Truly awful."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Booked an appointment for a visit for my mother in a care home for an eye test, took approx 3 weeks, not a problem. On the day no one arrived, phoned, told me they got held up due to weather!!!!! A bit of rain!! Told the next appointment would be in 4 weeks time, told lady to forget it and would go elsewhere. Very poor service and poor communication from this high street company, would not recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Spec savers home visits. My 94 year old mother had an Eye test was 26September, today, 2 November, still no sign of glasses. Been promised them for three weeks, twice a week. Made numerous calls, fobbed off and lied to, told definitely Tuesday or Thursday for three weeks. Non return of messages, no communication, absolutely disgusting. Mum is dying and now it's too late. Terrible company and shocking service and STILL NO GLASSES. I'm contacting trading standards and I want a full refund for the misery your shocking company has caused."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very nervous picking my glasses from Warrington store but was quickly put at ease by your wonderful staff ( in particular Ashley) . Left the shop full of confidence and a beaming smile. Thank you once again"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Went to the Brecon branch, what an obnoxious optometrist no customer service skills and really rude, if that's the face of specsaves will not be returning"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Vanessa in the Folkestone Specsavers branch is amazing. I went from glasses to contacts, on my first contact visit she went though the whole process with me and my sister who came with me for support. My appointment wasn’t rushed she was happy fun laughed with us as I was quite excited but remained very professional. She explained everything to us about wearing contacts then she put my contacts and then taught me how to put them in and out myself making the whole experience fun. she was happy and chatty and by the end of the consultation I felt I had made a friend and my eyesight was brilliant I skipped out of Specsavers !!!! Since then I’ve had to book in a couple of times with a couple of little beginners problems and she has helped me sort them straight away!!! She is lovely and I look forward to going as I know as soon as I see her She will fix it"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"So had my glasses around 4 weeks both ear pieces have fallen off. took them into the shop today and was told " we dont carry spares, the only thing we can do is a frame swap and that'll be £15 for the trouble " Was also told as i dare to put my glasses on under a motorcycle helmet its my fault. So i take it anyone who dares to ride a motorbike had better not buy glasses from specsavers weston as anything wrong with them will be deemed your fault."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Incredibly helpful staff , in particular Tracy at the westbromwich branch who went above and beyond to assist and her customer service was exemplary ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Sidcup branch sold me two pairs of their highest price varifocal glasses intended for everyday wear and driving. Left me with tunnel vision and if I drove in them I had no peripheral vision at all and would have killed someone. Complained loudly in the shop to finally get a full refund following which they couldn't get me out of the shop quick enough. Went to an independent shop and, ok I had to spend a lot more, but the quality of the varifocal lenses were so much better from the very first time I wore them. My wife also used the Sidcup branch and bought reading glasses there 15 months ago. One of the nose pieces broke off and she was told they could not fit a new nose piece and since their warranty only lasts for 12 months, they would not do anything. More than that, in trying to fix them the rude and unhelpful assistant broke off the other nose piece so they were completely unwearable. Specsavers is an awful shop and neither my wife nor I will ever use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Specsavers is rated 2.51 based on 101 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support