RAC Reviews

1.55 Rating 184 Reviews
12% of reviewers recommend RAC

How would you rate RAC ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Second time now I have called out the RAC - both times the roadside mechanic was good, but the back office and dispatchers are shocking and incredibly rude - especially in their so called dispatch office. The claim 40 minutes to an hour for the call out to arrive - on both occasions was 3 hours from my call. Worse still the initial dispatcher tells me its a certain time, I get a call 15 minutes later from a different person telling me its going to be a much later time, then another call from someone else telling me its going to be later still. BUT - the worst thing was the first occasion when I had broken down by the side of a very fast A road with no hard shoulder.........very dangerous but it just didn't seem to matter..... Going to cancel my membership and go with a professional operation. Oh and to top it all - when I did get recovered eventually on the 1st breakdown, (having waited nearly 8 hours by the side of a road), the contractor they used told me its an RAC policy to string things out to see which contractor they can get at the cheapest rate so the dispatch centre are happy to leave customers waiting for 4+ hours to try to save a few pounds..........none of the others do this .......only the RAC. Never again. Cowboys - and with this level of customer service their business model is unsustainable."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 hours ago
Simon Biggin
Verified Reviewer
"Thefan belt and the power steering went on my van when we were having a day out in kielder, now anyone who know kielder will know there is only one road that goes alongside with zero signal but i managed to get a lift 5 miles back to a pub where i was told it would be 90 mins wait, being 9 at night we happy bout it, by 7 the next morning they still hadnt turned up so i ran miles to a phone box and gottold some one had come out at 1 but couldnt find us even though we were only people on the 9 mile stretch. Got told 90 mins again and by 10 i went back to the phonr box and got told he had only just recieved the job and it would be 12 by the time he got to us. A 15 hour wait is unacceptable and dangerous, luckily we had water but if we hadnt it could have been a different story. We were disgusted by the service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Burst tyre waited 7 hours for them to get my car to a garage had to get a taxi home with a small child. Really poor service their phone service took 15 mins each time to get through to,one said they could get a tyre out to me then I was told this was not possible and shouldn't have been told this. They advertise universe tyres but can't supply them. Unsatisfactory service"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Maxine Maskell
Unverified Reviewer
"Fantastic service! My breaks failed on my car, whilst on a busy dual carriageway in Kings Hill. Called the RAC and a guy called David from Aylesford was with me in 15 minutes! He was really helpful with his advice and got me home safely in less then an hour from when they had topped working. Highly recommend!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Wayne Skikton PV55CVX
Verified Reviewer
"So apparently RAC recover if you don't have a locking wheel nut despite the spare being a 19 inch wheel with a damaged Tyre also and the car having 22 inch wheels ,a recently purchased used car ..I guess driving a lop sided car is safe with another damaged Tyre is fine in there eyes !!! 215poubds charge for 65 mile recovery and a further minimum hour wait . Most modern cars have no spare at all ,not even a space saver.so in the event of an unfixable puncture or blow out it should make zero difference if you have locking wheel nuts !! The most common failure on a journey is a flat tyre ,if I had thrown the incorrect spare away and lied I'd have probably been recovered . My partner suffers Anxiety too so a total of 7 hrs from first call (explaing there's no locking nut and an incorrect spare and the Tyre carcass had blown out on the rim damaging the wheel ) they send a guy that takes 3 and a half hours to say I can't do anything with out the locking wheel nut even though the spare is incorrect then drips the 215 pound charge for recovery . Terrible ,unorganized money grabbing What a great company !!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"They left me with my 8 year old daughter for 6 hours waiting for a recovery truck in blistering hot weather. Constantly lied to on phone by the call centre. The service I received was beyond poor and I would not recommend to anyone that they join them, there are plenty of others out there."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Simply terrible customer service advisors. Immature, deluded, arrogant and probably the rudest on planet!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"RAC abandoned me and my young baby for over 6 hours as they didn’t book us a tow truck, which we had to pay for!! I had to constantly chase them and was promised call back after call back but not once did they call me. Eventually at midnight after confirming to them I was running out of baby food we got picked up but the car was only delivered back to us the next day as “it was way too late for a tow driver to be driving the 80miles we needed to get home”! Disgraceful service and I would AVOID!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Edward Taylor
Verified Reviewer
"Following a breakdown, we were left stranded in a lay-by for over six hours waiting for a recovery vehicle, with an autistic child suffering a meltdown. We were beside a busy road with no footpath (North Devon Link Road), unable to leave the vehicle and left in an extremely dangerous situation with the constant threat of my son running into the road in the midst of his meltdown. RAC were appalling."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
CHRISTOS ELLINAS
Unverified Reviewer
"AS I AM WRITEING THIS REVIEW, MY EYES ARE FILLING UP WITH ANGER AND EMOTION. WITH MY WIFE WE OPERATE A CATERING COMPANY AND SERVICE AN AREA 250 MILE RADIUS FROM THE WEST MIDLANDS. ON MONDAY MAY 28TH 2018 MY WIFE WITH A MEMBER OF STAFF CATERED FOR A CLIENT IN SURREY. ON THE WAY BACK ABOUT 7.30PM THE VAN STARTED TO OVERHEAT, RATHER THAN CONTINUE AND CAUSE MORE DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE ,THEY PULLED INTO BEACONSFIELD SERVICE STATION ,WHICH IS JUST BEFORE JUNCTION 1 OF THE M40. AN RAC TECHNICIAN ARRIVED AROUND 9PM, THE WATER PUMP FAILED AND THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO GO BACK ON A FLATBED TRUCK, APPARENTLY ONE WAS TO BE ALLOCATED ,WAS LATER TOLD AROUND 11PM , THERE WAS TOO MUCH DEMAND, AND THAT THERE WAS NONE AVAILABLE. THIS WAS AROUND 11.30PM, THEREFORE THEY WOULD HAVE TO PUT THEM UP IN HOTEL ACCOMMODATION FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO KNOW THE SERVICES AT BEACONSFIELD, THERE IS A BUDGET HOTEL ON SIGHT, WHICH ALLOCATED 2 ROOMS. AT AROUND 8PM THEY WAS TOLD THERE WAS A FLATBED ARRIVEING AROUND 10AM ,BUT IT WOULD ONLY TAKE THEM TO OXFORD SERVICES, WHERE ANOTHER SUB CONTRACTOR WOULD PICK THEM UP AND TAKE THEM BACK, AS I WRITE ,THE TIME IS 7.22PM AND NOW THEY ARE TELLING THEM IT WILL NOT GET THERE TILL AROUND 9PM, IF IT GETS THERE AT ALL, I SEEM TO HAVE LOST TRUST. I WOULD EXPECT THIS KIND OF SERVICE IN A 3RD WORLD COUNTRY ,NOT HERE. I AM ANGRY ,UPSET, FEEL HOPELESS AND WILL NOT BE RENEWING OUR RAC SMALL FLEET MEMBERSHIP."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Fiona Lambert
Unverified Reviewer
"Was mis sold a policy that I was led to believe covered both vechiles whoever was driving. My daughter tried driving her car back from work but had discovered her key had broke. Things got worse as i realised that RAC were scamming thieves. Called to report the incident, and had my cover policy in black and white in front of me. I was then informed that because my daughter was driving I could not be helped. Another member of staff confused matters and said i could, and then another member said not again. Not only this but one member of staff said the car could be rescued and taken home, for another member to dismiss this and state it wasnt their issue. Turns out the policy was mis sold. This is a common theme it seems with the RAC and would avoid at ALL COSTS. They do not care about their customer, only the cash. Ended up paying for a new key myself, rescuing the car and FINALLY cancelling the policy. Only buy from the RAC if you want to be made a fool of."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Unfortunately, I can't pick 0 stars, but this is what I would choose. The RAC left me and my partner stranded on the hard shoulder of the M25 for almost 4 hours between the hours of 21:00 and 01:00 in a thunderstorm. I received an automated text straight after I logged the breakdown, providing a number for a guy and advising that someone would be there within 30 mins as we were considered a priority due to our position. The guy didn't answer for ages at first. When he finally did, he tried to help us and advised someone else would call us in 5 mins - no call received. The guy then turned his phone off. We spent over an hour on hold to RAC to chase someone up, all the while my phone battery dying. My partner's phone had already died and the car battery was already dead from having the hazard lights on so long. The hazard lights failed around midnight. We were forced to call the police in fear of being stuck there all night. The police happily agreed to rescue us straight away, but the RAC showed up straight after our call!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Pat Hamillbigofne2@gmail.com
Verified Reviewer
"I was quoted on renewal by the RAC £289, last year it was £189 all because I called them out a few times. Went to Green Flag and got a much better policy, including unlimited call outs. Hotel stays, and much much more for how much? £84. That’s what I call a deal. They do not cover vehicles used for driving instructing yet we ensure our cars at least two times a year and the vehicles are replaced new regularly every three years. Green Flag cover my business in with the price."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Plz Learn 4om My Mistakes Don't Buy Rac.
Unverified Reviewer
"I never used them from from 6 years but now when i needed them they weren't helpful at all .made me wait 9 hours ."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Called st 7.20 pm from side of busy M1 with flat tyre. Told I would be recovered home approx 100 miles. Several calls later at 10.10 pm picked up br a contractors who had been instructed to take me to the next services only for relay br RAC. Contractor had only been told at 9.10 pm arrived st services at 10.50pm to be told there was no relay, I had also informed them I was a type 1 diabetic requiring my nighttime medication which was at home. Best they could was offer a hotel. 1.30 over 6 hours later and after numerous calls. Diddly squat. Knights of the road ha."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Called rac today as flat tyre, was told someone would with me in 15 to 20 mins. After 40 mins I rung and man said he would get an update and ring me back. After half an hour and no call back I rung again to be told he would be another half an hour. After 40 mins I rung back to be told he would be another hour and a half! Terrible service, going with someone else nxt time."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We were told our car was OK to drive when it wasnt causing major damage, unfortunately the patrol denied saying that when we complained, I would not even give them 1 star if I had that option"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"We broke down at 10.40 am.we were told there may be a one and a half hour wait. The office phoned at 10.55 to say the engineer would be with us in 25 minutes, however he came at 2.30 pm. I must say he was very good and did his best, however the fault could not be fixed and had to be recovered and taken to a garage. The recovery truck arrived at roughly 3.45. Again very nice driver and the car was at the garage around 4.30. All in all we were kept hanging around for six hours and my wife is registered disabled. There was no more contact with the office until I chased it by phoning the officemyself. Very poor organisation."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Called RAC at 5.37pm. Recovery lorry arrived at 10.18pm. That's 4 hours and 41 minutes wait. Utter, utter, utter rubbish. This was in Merthyr Tydfil not the highlands of Scotland! I was on a 70mph dual carriageway too. I pay £250 per year with all the extras. Makes no difference they still leave you stranded. I will NEVER use RAC for breakdown cover again, ever."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Broke down on the road twice in one day. Was initially told that the arrival time was about 90 minutes. The guy came in about 45 minutes and fixed the problem on the spot. Broke down again in one hour since the first patrol did not bother to investigate the problem properly. Was again told that the wait is about 90 min. But on this occasion the guy came in 4 hours! Whilst on the phone RAC operator kept telling me that the patrol is just finishing up with a previous customer and that I am basically next in line. I phoned them about 4-5 times. I think that they did not allocate my 90 minute slot properly so basically put me down for the next 90 minute slot right afterwards. Next morning I had to take the car to a proper garage where the problem was fixed for good in under 30 minutes. Note: It was a minor job that did not require any tools, just had to be done properly by a person who cares. RAC did not seem apologetic at all, hence the review."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
RAC is rated 1.55 based on 184 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This