RAC Reviews

1.54 Rating 217 Reviews
12% of reviewers recommend RAC
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels

How would you rate RAC ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Broke down on m5 near Gloucester. RAC came within 40 minutes. Unbelievably skilled and helpful followed us to make sure we got off ok. Genuinely couldn't fault the service we had wish I caught the guys name he was fantastic."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Broke down last night called rac was told they will be there within 30 minutes to an hour, this time passed called back was told they are 3 minutes away waited another 20 minutes nothing so called again to be told wait another 25 minutes so I did and again nothing called back told another 20 minutes so I gave up and got somone else to tow me home!! I had 2 kids in the car and was just messed about what a joke"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"First time I have used RAC, never again. Reported car won't start at 2.00pm today, get an estimated time of arrival of 3.00pm to 3.40pm, fantastic. 3.00pm update call can't come till 5.3-pm, 5.00pm update call can't come till about 8.00pm. They have confirmed that as it is an Automatic Jaguar XJ and will need to be taken to the dealers they send another company who turn up with a small van because he has been told it is a non start vehicle. He rings for a recovery truck with an estimated time of one hour. You have guessed, they did not turn up. RAC yet again apologies and says they will be with me guaranteed within one hour thirty minutes, 11.15pm only 9 hrs after I first call them. Surprise. surprise at 10.45pm a call from the driver to say he will be with me around 00.45am, he is the first person I can actually believe RAC on hold say they fix 4 out of 5 cars at the roadside within 30 minutes, this is probably the most diabolical level of service I have ever received in my live, RAC you are broken-down and need to be recovered but you are unable to provide a Breakdown and recovery service, -20 on a scale of 1-10, will never ever use you again and will certainly tell a lot of my friends how dreadful you are, I would find this difficult to believe unless I had experienced first hand how utterly useless you are."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"I honestly don't know why I'am even giving this company a one star , awful , I broke down as the bottle split in the bonnet where you top up the water from and some steam coming out and burning smell so I pulled over while at McDonald's to phone RAC only to be told it will take two and a half hours to get to me because of high demand , so I waited and waited , it then got to near four hours no call , I was stranded and needed to get back to my daughter as my husband looking after her, I called them back the silly women in the call centre had no idea how long it will take she then stupidly said to me to book in for the morning and can take 45 hours from when I booked and I was like whatt!! How deranged can you be for a company I got angry with her she then said somebody will be with you at 3.30am I broke down at 10.45pm , " can you believe that ", so I waited another hour , I was bored fed up and frustrated at McDonald's and felt a nuisance for the McDonald's staff, as they were trying to close. The controller eventually came I complained to him he then told me it was a busy night."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Well where to start. Gearbox packed in on our 1st day of holiday. Rac came out and diagnosed this. I Was told to ring back the day before our holiday ended to book our return along with our caravan as we had arrival. Phoned the day before and was told everything was in place and we would have a recovery sent to us between 8 am and 10 am. When rac turned up it was the same gentleman as before. He was also baffled as to why they had sent him as he couldnt tow both car and caravan. Rang rac back and was told they would have a recovery truck with us at 12pm. By 1.45pm it finally arrived. But it would only take us to exeter then another recovery would pick us up and take us to our destination. Got to exeter and was told recovery would be at 5.30. No recovery arrived. To be then told they had exhausted all options and the only other options we had was to either be put up in a hotel and do it all again the next day or have a courtesy car. Due to our son who has learning disabilities following in his car we felt our only option was accept the courtesy car and make our way home from exeter to rotherham. AT 8.45PM. AND...... £100 FINE OUR SON HAS GOTTEN FOR PARKING IN THE SERVICES OVER THE 2HR PERIOD. So as you can all imagine. We are not happy with the service provided at all. 13 hrs later and another 4 maybe 5 to go. Had to leave the car as they cant recover today. Been told it will be recovered to me tuesday????? we have decided rac is not for us at all and will be looking elsewhere."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Absolutely disgusting service ! Broke down at 2pm to be told someone would 've with me by 5.30pm but I would be updated. No calls sat there in 32degrees with no drink. Didn't want to leave the car incase someone turned up. At 6.30 I called back and they said that I could be towed to a garage but would have to pay recovery ...surely this should have been mentioned on the 1st call!! As I was sat in a garage carpark ! Then they couldn't give me a price to get home and my eta had moved to 8pm. Not one call from them to let me know. Driver turned up and was lovely he said they should have given me a price so I was misinformed again. He then gave me a price for recovery and a manager rung him and said he needed to charge me another 27 miles !! He said no as that's not the correct mileage...so the manager had tried to rip me off aswell as leaving me 6 hours with no updates and disgusting customer service. I was also promised a manager callback ...STILL WAITING . Wouldn't touch this company with a barge pole.."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"i took a trip which was supposed to be from bolton to south spain. i broke down in france near calais. rac imediately fixed us up in 2 hotel rooms and got us there via taxi. the camper van was towed to a private garage(but they were useless and overpriced materials with a wopping £5000 for materials only ! and the fake diagnosis took 3 days.)anyway, rac sorted us for 3 nights and return taxi to our camper van which was still running in limp mode, we drove to the chanel tunnel and on the other end, they got a taxi and hire car(there were 6 of us) and they also brought our camper back to our house. the same day, at 4pm i drove it to my local garage and they fixed it for under £150 inclusive of materials. the rac were a great help and were with us giving there full support every part of our rough experience, all the way from the breakdown in france to our house.we would definitely give our thumbs up to rac. we cant stress enough to how helpful they were. tjank you, thank you, thank you RAC."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We logged a complaint with RAC on 3rd July and have still had no response from them. They left our guys in danger on the embankment of a motorway for 5 hours- the recovery truck driver was late as he had to wait for his pizza. The 2nd recovery truck driver they sent broke the law repeatedly whilst driving and was a danger to all. In total the shambolic recovery took over 24 hours, we were forced to pay £400 at the roadside and involved over 40 calls to RAC, in return we received repeated broken promises and outright lies from them about recovery timeframes. We are seriously considering moving our fleet of vehicles to another breakdown provider"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My wife broke down on her own at 7pm and was told they would not come out to help her until 12.30am the following day, five and a half hours later!! I was disgusted with them, a lone female having to wait that long and getting dark too. The same happened to me earlier this year and they told me they would be with me in 4 hours - I was broken down in pitch darkness and it was 10pm at night. I told them to forget it and called out the AA instead who got to me in 40 minutes. RAC gives terrible value for money and I won't recommend them to anyone, a total joke of a breakdown service."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The maybe big BUT THE SERVICE IS TERRIBLE. IVWAITED 6 HOURS NOONE TURNED UP, THEY ARE USELESS COWBOYS"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Thanks for nothing! Called the breakdown line and got through almost straight away and was told someone would be out with me within the hour! Obviously very happy so far.... After 30 mins of waiting past the hour i called the breakdown line for an update and was told i would get a call back.... another 30 mins later, i get a call to say no one could see me for another 2-3 hours!!! The excuse being it's a Sunday in the school holidays and the rain is causing disruption. Cancelled the call out, cancelled my membership and will never recommend the RAC to anyone. The worst thing about it all was the fact no one had any accountability or said sorry for the misunderstanding and the huge delay in getting someone out. Having 2 young kids in the car, i had no choice but to drive to the nearest car garage to fix the fault. Paying a premium was much more satisfying than having to speak to people that don't care about their customers. Paying for something that you only use once in a blue moon, only to be told that they can't fulfill on a simple call out is beyond a joke and is an absolute rip off!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely awful customer service. They took my money for an upgrade and same day call out then said that they cannot address my issue. First person I spoke to hung up on me then the next consistently referred me back to the terms and conditions, whilst I was sitting in a broken down car. Absolutely no consideration for the situation that I was in. My car is currently sitting in the middle of the road. All family members will be cancelling their RAC cover."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The RAC is not fit for service. My car breakdown was reported at 20:55, recovery vehicle arrived at 01:10 then I had a further one hour drive home. I was lied to several times by the RAC about the time of recovery. Customer service, to whom I complained, is non-existent. Do not waste your money, I wish I had never joined and will not do so again. A paltry £30 was offered as a goodwill gesture, as if they were doing me a favour. No apology or explanation was given for the lies I was told regarding recovery times."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Absolutely appalling service when I broke down and contacted the RAC today. I have been left waiting for 3 hours after logging a breakdown call and initially being told that I would be waiting a maximum of 90 minutes. When I rang to chase them 3 hours later, I was told that I could be waiting another 3 hours. If you are looking for a good recovery service, don’t use the RAC. Their response time and service is terrible. The AA on the other hand, have picked up several cars from the same area since I have been waiting."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Have RAC cover through Arval. Had puncture that could not be repaired with in-car repair kit & needed recovery to home address. Had to abort this so-called rescue about 12hrs in & get taken to tyre centre instead. Took 16hrs in all to get home (+being up since 6am previous day). Would not recommend even with someone else paying."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Awful!!!!! Awful!!!! I’ve report My car brake down on Saturday 9:15am, then 11:25am a mecanic turned up to check my car and he adviced me not to drive the car, the mecanic order recovery to take car to a local garage which I use, the Ive called the customer service to find out what time the recovery will be with me they said latest 14:45, unfortunately no 1 called or came then I called them at 3:10 they said we are sorry but we will be with next 45 mints, then no 1 turn up again, I’ve called for 3rd time they said we will be another 2-3 hours, that was 16:30pm, then I decided to cancelled for suturday witch I lost a day off, the manager Richard called me and he said we will rebook it for Monday morning between 7-9am unfortunately no 1 turn up again the called again they said there’s no recovery has been booked for this morning, but I can see all the note we sorry manger will call you with in an hour. Dishonest 0 customer service, waste of money to join RAC!!!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Their renewals team & customer service team are utterly, frustratingly hopeless, useless & incompetent beyond belief."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Awful awful awful!!! Left my sister for 6 hours as they forgot to put her call through! She had 2 children in the car! In the end had to leave the car and key to be collected, I then picked her up! They refused to here her complaint! Rude on the phone, charged her £89 for NOT collecting her! Having to take it further as RAC ‘don’t do compensation’ Disgusting service!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"RAC Warranty is nothing but traitors in business . Never waste your on this fraudster company. I am after legal help now for my claim."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I had brilliant service . They were with me within 30mins. The patrol guy rang me to say he was on his way. He was so friendly and made me feel relaxed about the whole thing. Had my car sorted in an hour. Thankyou for great service"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
RAC is rated 1.54 based on 217 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This