RAC Reviews

1.63 Rating 148 Reviews
14% of reviewers recommend RAC

How would you rate RAC?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

148 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
Never again will i use RAC used to be a good company so far I have been waiting 40 minutes for them to answer the phone how long it will be I don't know it is ridiculous. Using another company next time.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about RAC in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"Never again will i use RAC used to be a good company so far I have been waiting 40 minutes for them to answer the phone how long it will be I don't know it is ridiculous. Using another company next time."
Helpful Report
Posted 19 hours ago
"Hi . everyone . please stay away from this doggy company. I called for accident helpline as I had breakdown and I couldn't turn my steering wheel . The woman from helpline service is so rude and even shouted me . it took 4 hours to get recovery truck . Moreover they charge me £169.25 to tow for just 0.7 miles. They ripped me off as another recovery service charge £80 quid for that distance .I will stay away from them forever. What a doggy people...."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"My wife had a breakdown late at night, it took the RAC 1hr 20 mins to even answer the phone! Then a further 1hr 30 mins to dispatch a white van man (Subcontractor) who couldn't find the fault. Not impressed with your woman alone policy and will transfer our breakdown cover to another provider. Let down by you entire organisation! even when ringing to complain we gave up after 30 mins of holding on the phone!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Dreadful company. Had poor response to a breakdown complained after being asked to contact them. Sent details of complaint still no response weeks later won’t be renewing."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Gareth From Bedfordshire
Verified Reviewer
"I called RAC yesterday (Saturday evening ) and waited approximately 25 minutes to be connected! I informed the rep the vehicle would require computer equipment as it was a Mercedes. Eta was 30 minutes. 75 minutes later no show! I called back ( 20 mins in queue)and was told technician would ring within a few minutes. No call back! Called for a 3rd time (queue again) and asked for a manager. Manager not available. I was informed manager would call back. Technician would be another 1 hour and 10 minutes. Manager never called back! Got a call from Technician who was on way. 3 hours from initial call out and the engineer didn't have the computer equipment! Complete waste of time. I dread to think of people stuck at the side of the motorway or in bad weather with young children. RAC should be ashamed of themselves 😤 Absolutely disgusting service with no excuse. I've now cancelled my membership with immediate effect and will go back to the AA."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Called them out months after joining for the whole year for a misfuel. Told me it was going to be 240 pounds and an hour wait, fine. Then waited for 3.5 hours for them to get to me. Its hard to see what the membership fee was for, if I had know it was going to take so long I could have just called a local company at the same cost."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"I called the RAC for the first time after being a member for 14 months and they did not show up. It took me over 50 minutes for my call to be answered in the first place, after which I was told i has a 4 hour wait. After I waited patiently for 4 hours I received a call from them to say it will be another two hours. After the two hours had expired (at this point my phone battery was very low and it was 9pm. I called a friend who has a trailer and he came to me rescue. At about 10pm i got a call from the RAC to say someone will be with me in 50mins. I am so angry because it could have been my Wife of one of the Children stranded in the middle of nowhere. I am cancelling my policy and demanding a refund of my premiums and then going back to the AA where I had 10 years of excellent service before being taken in by a very good RAC salesman."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"My daughter has broken down on her own and been waiting 40 mins for phone to be answered just getting music and voice messsge Terrible service will be switch to AA and requesting refund"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I'm a 58 year old woman. I broke down at 16.15hrs in early February. I managed to get my car off a busy A road onto a nearby lane. It took nearly an hour for my phone call to be answered to report the breakdown. It was cold but there were no adverse weather conditions. After sitting alone on a dark lane in a cold car for nearly 4 hours their patrol turned up and arranged for a third party to recover my car home. I was put on one recovery vehicle and taken about 15 miles. I was offloaded and put on another recovery vehicle and taken an hours drive in the opposite direction to where I live. Offloaded again and left alone in the dark and cold at 23.00hrs at a roadside services until another recovery truck who was just loading up another vehicle could come back from that other recovery to collect me. Almost 9 hours later I got home. The next day noticed that my wheel arch and sill had been damaged. I complained and had no reply for 8 working weeks until I said I was taking legal advice. Their response was to send £50 check as a gesture of goodwill and ignore all of my further attempts to communicate with them. They are a disgrace, their customer service is the worst I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. They do not deserve even the 1 rating. Please dont let this happen to one of your loved ones. This company does not deserve your money or yoir custom."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Waited for ages to get someone on the phone - and I really wish we didn't! They use completely useless third party recovery companies with no experience who cause major damage to cars. Then they don't feel obligated to compensate people for damages. Recovery notes magically disappear so that it appears there were no grounds for complaints - we are talking about nearly 1000 pounds. Communication is extremely poor. Customer Complaint Representatives are not helpful whatsoever and appear very useless - also might suffer from a little god-complex and their love for the truth seems to be limited, while their love for customers is non-existent. All over - extremely poor experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"My boyfriend called them and was told ETA 90 minutes. He had been sat there for 3 hours and they hadn't shown up. Limped the car back home and tried to call again. Over 30 minutes on hold so far. Do not recommend. Would like to give no stars."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Got let down badly when broke down on motorway ,never bothered to call me back when my credit ran out phones on motorway not working ,had to resort to calling police ,and I hag paid big money for the top service ,,appalling do not touch with a bargepole avoid ,I am with AA now"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"13th March 2018 14:40 vehicle broken down (Vauxhall) on star assistance pressed). Informed fault major stop driving. 14:50 on star called RAC wife informed she had (no cover). Wife stranded. 15:30 on star tried a second time to get recovery (no cover). 15:45 I cancelled rest of my days business returned home to sort out RAC 16:00 was informed by RAC would be just over 1 hour 17:30 spent 62 minutes trying to get through to RAC 18:35 Call from RAC on land line to ask if they could attend tomorrow morning HIT THE ROOF 18:50 RAC Called to say they have sent out a sub-contractor (BURKE BROS) 19:20 BURKE BROS came with a job sheet to jump start me. BURKE BROS left 22:00 Called RAC 1Hour and 24miuntes on the phone got through had an argument they said they would send a technician out between 06-08am 08:45 RAC came and recovered vehicle to Greenhouse Vauxhall. REPLY FROM COMPLAINT I SENT Dear Mr Hawkins I refer to your email and attachment which was sent to Mr Hobday. Firstly, I am sorry you were unhappy with the service provided on this occasion and that it did not meet expectations. I work for Mr Hobday in matters relating to service at the roadside and so will look into the concerns you have raised on his behalf. It is always disappointing to learn when our service has not met expectations and your attachment suggests your experience has not been a positive one. Once I have been able to fully review all of the information I will contact you further. I expect to respond by no later than close of business 30 March 2018. If there is anything else then please do not hesitate to contact me. A copy of our complaints procedure is attached. Kind regards Mark Mark Robottom BSc (Hons) Customer Care Officer 30th March came and went no response. SENT Hi Mark Ref: Lip service I see not only did you fail to meet my needs with reference to the recovery and service I pay your company for but to add insult to injury you failed to respond to my complaint in the time you allocated to do so. (I will contact you further. I expect to respond by no later than close of business 30 March 2018.) I feel your failures' hold no bounds. Please send me information on receiving a FULL refund on my payment and I will end ever to find a competitor who can meet my needs. Further more it amuses me to see a company like yours spending thousands of pounds per year to attempt to gain custom you already had."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Emergency breakdown number, kept on hold for HOURS. Waiting on motorway in icy weather just to get through for several hours is barbaric. My phone eventually ran out of battery so I had to abandon my vehicle, find a phone and get a private company to help me. At my own expense, even though I pay for breakdown cover! Have now moved to the AA. This was a scary and costly experience, the RAC do not provide assistance and should be prosecuted."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
PETER STANLEY
Verified Reviewer
"my battery failed 2 weeks ago so I phoned the RAC, after waiting 20 minutes for a human to answer the phone I gave up and paid for a local garage to get me going. Today my car broke down again and this time I got through, they told me I would have to wait 90 minutes but that was over 2 hours ago and no sign of them. green flag for me next month when my policy runs out"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been with the RAC since I had my first breakdown in 1968. In those days calls were answered quickly and service was fast (and you even got a salute from patrols!). Since they have ceased to be a Club but now a Business, corners have been cut. Call Centres are not manned sufficiently to answer calls in under 15 minutes so every call is held in a stacking system with constant messages but no indication of where you are in the queue, even for Emergency Breakdowns. Although they proudly announce that most breakdowns can be fixed in under 30 minutes at the roadside, this excludes the response time, which was 90 mins in Norwich City, the last time I had cause to call on them for a flat battery. The breakdown operative appears sufficiently skilled and friendly though. I renewed this time using Tesco Club Card vouchers and the premium quoted on my renewal was inflated by an extra £14. Still worth doing though. I have been loyal to the RAC all these years, mainly because of the help they gave me over 50 years ago when I was constantly calling them out to my old 'banger'. But they do need to pull their socks up in todays competitive World!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Was on the phone for 40 minutes before anyone answered my call, then waited 4 hours for the RAC guy to turn up. I knew what had happened to my car, and I knew how to fix it, but I just didn't have the tools with me. He spent the next 40 minutes faffing around, going inside his van, speaking to me about what he thinks is best etc. The only reason i'm giving 2 stars is because he managed to find a bit of tube to replace the broken one."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I cannot see why you call yourselves an automobile club. You are just a business with a philosophy of making the max amount of money for the minimum effort. Your admin is worse that useless. Pack it all in Rac and let the professionals do the job."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Tried calling the call centre at 9 pm until 10.30 pm with no one answering had to abandon car and get a taxi to my destination,carried on with the call until 11.30 still no answer. Started phoning the next morning at 7.00am and did not get through until 8.30am.got cut off when eventually through,they did not phone me back second time got cut off but luckily was called back. The patrolman arrived in 20 minutes,So why did they not answer my call the evening before,we would have more than likely been back on the road that evening.I have used green flag in the past and had no problems whatsoever this firm are a shambles ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have a mobility car and have trying to get through on the emergency phone number I was on nearly 2 hours in all and still not got through. I still have not got my problem resolved so I can’t use my car"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
RAC is rated 1.63 based on 148 reviews