Origin Broadband Reviews

1.31 Rating 16 Reviews
6% of reviewers recommend Origin Broadband
516 Review Views (past 24 hours)
2PM - 4PM
40 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
56 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
40 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
37 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
57 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
17 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
18 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
37 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
98 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
39 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
41 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
36 Review Views
2PM
2PM
Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Origin Broadband made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
"Never had a problem with them in over 2 years and just renewed at lower price than last time, I'd recommend"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Are you Origin Broadband? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Get Access
"Not good! My speed is fine, customer services are rubbish. But net drops every so often for long periods of times. Ring up for over hour listening to the same old boring tunes to be eventually told it’s YOUR END not theirs... waste of Time just done a complaint I need to get away! I want a good service."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I am so glad that I am finally free of this terrible company. Do not enter into a contract with them if you expect to have an internet connection."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Awful company, constantly failing service, days to response to faults, months to respond to refunds. Cant wait to leave this bunch of chancers. Broadband on a shoestring, very cheap but pay for what you get"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Unacceptable experience with this company have had nothing but slow speeds, dropped line and now no service trying to get it sorted takes weeks and still not working at all"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"awful! I used it because my relative Peter Lowes was a manager and he was so convincing about it. I regretted it when i got my router and it didn't work, i got a replacement and it didn't work, i booked an engineer who rolled in after a fortnight and he finally got it going. Then when I complained i was promised a month free; it didn't happen and i refused to pay, the service started to drop from then and next month it was disconnected with no warning! I got a new supplier and I got bills for £100s from origin who said i was still connected and using the phone. my new supplier was billing the same calls. i refused to pay at all and then the portal started and after the first time i couldn't log on at all . i was getting calls on my new ex directory number and i called pete who warned them to stop and then I found a friend request on linkedin from a woman at their debt department ; under harassment law she was committing a crime). I had no choice but call police in. I am still not paying the bills as i was not connected at the time when i was billed.My new company was using the same box.Three years later it is not resolved and peter is gone to a new job due to finally getting sick of being blamed for the shoddy service."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Where is my money Origin Broadband? After a year of failing service the Ombudsman ruled in my favour and released me from my contract but you had to pay compensation. It never came. Phone calls back never happened. See you in court"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"The worst company ever. Daily service drops, incorrect bills, they even resinstated my direct debit without permission. Had to send to Ombudsman who voted in my favour and still Origin havent paid my compensation. About to take them to court"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Purchased and paid upfront for an 18 month 67mb Origin Max & Line Rental fibre contract with Origin. All went smooth and was very happy up until month 16 when they decided to charge me £184.99 for a new Origin Fibre & Line Rental 35mb despite the fact I am still on the 18 month one. I subsequently contacted Origin customer services to dispute this and was told that they would refund the £184.99 within 30 days. Yes you guessed it ... 30 days later I'm still waiting and have now had to threaten them with legal action in order to get my money back."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Unsure where to start. Terrible company from sale to cancellation. Dealt with my complaint horrendously - literally told me to go to Ombudsman Services which I did, and won! Connection terrible as use Vodafone network. Disgraceful the way they manage staff - sacking people to save money and cocaine in the office?? Shameful. Don’t waste your money on this sinking ship."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Worst ISP in uk maybe the world, not worth the hassle."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Been with Origin Broaband a while, constant drops in service, promised compensation and it never arrived. Cancelled direct debit and they mysteriously set it up without permission. Worst company ive ever dealt with"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"As soon as I signed up with these clowns my internet speeds were on the low side and suffering from constant outages. Sometimes outages for hours, a few times a week. At other times 1 or 2 minute outages repeating every 5, 10, 15 minutes or so for hours. On average not more than 2 days would go by without some form of sustained outage or multiple, rapid-fire outages. When it was working the speeds would frequently be worse than dial-up, page would take ages trying to load and then fail, even after multiple attempts. Between outages I would check my public IP address and ISP details and they would sometimes change. For a while it was in Paris and then eventually ended up in Russia in the latter stages(?). Contacted them more than once, each time in the middle of sustained outages (one time in the middle of a 20+ hour outage), and of course "everything looks fine" and the "switch your router on and off" spiel. Resorted to trying every combination of 3 different routers and rj cables, no difference. Eventually had BT change the master socket in the house, change the physical line outside the house, and ultimately change something at the exchange regarding where/how we were connected there. No difference. Call customer service during another 12-hour outage, "everthing looks fine to us"... Eventually cancelled the direct debit well outside of the contract. 3 or 4 months later these crooks somehow got my bank to reinstate the direct debit WITHOUT EITHER MY PERMISSION OR INFORMING ME OF IT HAPPENING, ie. against the direct debit agreement, and actually backdated it 4 months before I happened to notice it one day looking back through my statements. Needless to say the money was back in my account within 2 or 3 days and then a change of bank was in order. But the nerve of these folk. One of the strangest things was - checking the available services on the SamKnows availability checker, Origin was and still is listed as unavailable. They had had me on some bogus line and kept periodically bumping me off on to other crappy, dial-up-esque lines throughout the contract. Shysters."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Bad lot. Avoid them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Crooks. Avoid them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!! They take your money but don't provide a service! I paid first instalment 5weeks ago and STILL don't have broadband. You get passed from pillar to post, never speak to same person and there is a min 73 minute wait to get technical help... Please learn from my mistake - they are cheap for a reason - they are appalling."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Origin Broadband is rated 1.31 based on 16 reviews