Natwest Reviews

1.85 Rating 138 Reviews
18% of reviewers recommend Natwest

Write Your review

Tell us how Natwest made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"NatWest is awful! It is seriously the worst bank I’ve come across to date. I only switched to them in January due to their £150 monetary offer. So far as I’ve spoken to telephone banking I’ve been in tears twice due to not being able to pay a bill due to their stupid £500 daily limit. I have asked for them to remove the restrictions as I am the customer and it is my money. They told me to go to the bank as I didn’t have 3rd tier security on my account which you get when you log on with a card reader ! So why didn’t you send me a card reader when I opened the account. I got no answer and now wait for it same problem ! It’s 3 weeks on and it’s still not arrived! Customer service is so poor it’s shocking. You end up in a passive aggressive conversation within a telephone handler saying she will hang up the phone on you. Seriously NatWest need to insure they train people more effectively because I don’t think they know what they are doing. In my 2 separate conversations with NatWest I’ll only say I spoke to one manager who I’ve been happy with as he empathised with my issue instead of the typical your fault sort it. Also do not switch! It turns out they only pay the incentive in April and my assumption is that this is to ensure their figures are through to show their customer count. I applaud them for the rouse as I can’t remeber if that was in the terms I read. I will be leaving NatWest for another bank this time I’ll ensure I read reviews and I think NatWest should ask other banks how they can improve as this will not keep customers"
Posted 1 week ago
Are you Natwest? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Bad service. lost files. Rudeness. Unhelpful. And downright aggressiveness.. I was treated badly by a gareth in complaints its no use complaining about the bad service they just fob you off and refuse to help.. they took all my sisters benefit money in bank charges.. she has mental health issues.."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"As a customer of over 20 years, never has Natwest been such a shambles. Whether they've had a new strategy in the past 2 years or something, I don't know, but if they have, it's likely titled "let's see how annoyed we can make our customers". The strategy is working. Get rid of Saturday banking, so now customers have no idea how much they have in their accounts, whilst simultaneously direct customers to the "pending" area in the app that holds some pending transactions, but not all ( hence no idea how much money is in the bank). Complaints department doesn't open until 7am?! Why? I say how rubbish Natwest is, you record it and ignore it. Easy. From September I can't even call anyone to discuss how rubbish they are. That's what I call fixing the problem. I envisage the natwest board members sweeping their bad stuff under the bed, sticking their fingers in their ears and going "tralalala". Two decades a customer natwest, there won't be a third."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"After waiting a week for a call back just to arrange a call about my mortgage and then losing over an hour of my life discussing my mortgage, I find that they don't offer their competitive rates to existing customers, just the new shiny ones. I'll be off to find a bank that will value my custom."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Went to NatWest in Folkestone today terrible service one lady at the desk called Kim very very slow 2 customer walked out also talks to much rubbish to customers who are not interested then she started to keep talking about bank accounts to my daughter who told her she didn’t have time as had to go to work but Kim still tryed to carry on while customers were waiting very terrible service to much chat not enough work I would never ever bank with natwaest bad customer service and very very slow sort yourselfs out before you lose customers"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"NatWest accepted my account opening, a week later they told me that ACTUALLY they rejected it so they would close it. So they kept my money (£1500). I had to go to a branch and waste time to get my money back only that they kept some of it for service charges for that week of account. Do they do this with every customer? Sounds like a scam. Never again NatWest."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Utterly disgusting. Twice I had to book appointment and on both occassions was not seen. Banks fault 1. Bank did not advice me a certain timescale of documents was required 2. Bank booked appointment with a customer advisor who was working at a branch elsewhere not to the one I had specifically requested. I was appaled at the lack of customer service by Natwest. On the second appointment due to lack of capacity within the branch I was not seen. I stressed this was second time booked I urgently needed to open an account and had also come during my break I should be prioritised But no just a little show of sorry."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I think its absolutely disgusting that my son incorrectly transferred money to a pay your contact number and natwest have said they wont be giving it back. What sort of banking is this."
Posted 1 month ago
"Very rude hanging up the phone on me. Because of NatWest bank my credit score dropped by 225 point it’s gone from good to very poor I wouldn’t recommend to anyone don’t go with NatWest. Money missing from my account for no reason, and no one can explain anything."
Posted 1 month ago
"I don’t recommend NatWest bank very rude high charges"
Posted 1 month ago
"We wanted to open a business account. We are a Turkish company and UK Government accepted our business plan after 3 months review... wE ARE IN UK now.. The girl on the phone asked us too much for the reason why we are in UK. IT IS NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS why we come to UK and why we are doing our business in UK instead of Turkey or in USA.. We tried to tell about our business patiently but the officer has stolen our 1 hour. she could even can't get anything about our business type althoug she saw our website and products.. They are not spaceships... even 10 years kid would understood what we do... AFTER ALL IT SOUNDED LIKE RACISM!!! WHO ARE YOU? Your branch is just 1 min walk to my home unfortunately... i have to see your branch every single day!"
Posted 1 month ago
"disgusting how terrible they treat customers. Unwilling to help Close my account down for no reason and told to wait 5-7 working days for a letter confirming how I can get my money from them Worst bank on the planet by far"
Posted 1 month ago
"What an awful awful awful customer service! Every time I ring them, I end up spending up to 60 minutes on the phone in endless limbo, getting directed and redirected, speaking with an endless number of people, and still not getting anywhere. The staff keep giving me contradictory directions, keep directing me to the wrong teams and no-one was being able to solve the simple task I called about! I don’t think it’s the staff per se, it’s the whole system that’s not designed to give you a smooth customer experience. We’ve been with the bank for quite a while, and it’s always been this bad. As a company we don’t think we can afford wasting our precious time this way any more - we are taking my business elsewhere."
Posted 1 month ago
"Thankfully I have never had to deal with such awful customer service before. As soon as I possibly can, I will be going else where. It appears I'm not the only person who has had countless issues with them either. Trust Pilot has given them a 1* as well. In my personal experience they have absolutely no compassion what so ever, and are incredibly unhelpful when trying to explain a situation to them. The standard response is, terms and conditions, what do you want us to do about it? You try to explain that your circumstances have changed and you want to ensure you pay them back what you owe them, they fob you off."
Posted 2 months ago
"The worst customer services. I just wanted to speak with the fraud department, they keep me 56 minutes on the phone and finally I couldn’t speak with this department. Poor customer services and definitely NatWest is unsafe bank account in the UK."
Posted 2 months ago
"Customer service esp management what is customer care !! They won’t accept personal cheques over the counter financial authority and BBtv watchdog have Been informed and my local newspaper a day I walked in with one chq to put into my account not allowed and today a elderly chap tried to use the machine as they would not accept a 80 year old mans chq over the counter so the guy spent 10 mins working it all out . Close this branch down or sack management looking into starting a petition when I spoke to Nat eat head office on 3 occasions they where not aware of this the area manager is what she doing about it nothing"
Posted 2 months ago
"I’ve been banking with them for years and I am truly disgusted and dissatisfied with their service . I’ve been the victim of fraud on various occasions with them but still remained a loyal customer with them. I was recently the victim of another scam this time via telephone and no one seemed to take responsibility for the poor security measures in place or acknowledge the fact that I’ve been subjected to fraud on many occasions . Instead I was told that they would not be refunding my money as it was my fault this happened and was even hung up on by one of their employees . I have not been able to have any form of access to my account nor have I been advised as to how I can access it and have instead been told that I have to wait to receive a new card as my old card has been cancelled so have had to rely on the financial support of others. When informing them that I would be taking my services elsewhere I was more or less told to go ahead . It’s disgraceful that I cannot even rely/ trust my my own bank to take care of my hard earned money . Do not bank with these people !"
Posted 2 months ago
"I think the Question "what went wrong" is a wrong question. It should be asked " How can we disappoint you more" The bank should send a survey to its customers and ask if there was anything they did right, if so they will do their utmost to ensure that next time they will ensure that the customer is provided the usual poor service."
Posted 2 months ago
"Since May 2017 (it is now December 2019) I have been harassed over my tax residency status. I keep filling in forms telling them that I left Republic of Ireland in 2001 after only having been there a year, and have been back in the UK since then. Eventually, with no satisfaction, I went into a branch. The assistant made a phone call and said that it was due to the bank still having a phone number on my records relating to Ireland. We duly changed this - I had my passport id with me, so that it was possible. We then completed the forms FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME, and ALL of the forms were taken by the bank to be posted using the bank post. I expected to hear NOTHING more on this issue. But today, 20th December, I have had YET FURTHER HARRASSMENT, telling me that if I don't reply and complete the forms within 10 days, my details will be passed on to the tax body. NATWEST HAS NO RIGHT TO PASS ON MY DETAILS, AND THIS COULD CAUSE ME NO END OF GRIEF FROM AN OVERSEAS TAX OFFICE. How DARE YOU NATWEST? I have tried phoning the 'Helpline' on the letter - after 20 minutes STILL NO ANSWER, and I am being charged because it is not a free phone number! What a truly disgusting bank! I have banked with the NatWest for years. Once I have my pound of flesh with this bank - I'm off. You disgusting shower!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Utterly, utterly disgusting customer experience. Organised a friends holiday meaning a lot of people transferring me money to pay for the trip. Some gave me cash. The bank fraud 'experts' froze my accounts, asked endless amounts of question, during which time I could not access money in my account. When visiting various branches I was laughed out of the bank who simply said "we will contact you vis letter". Letter comes and tells me that all of my accounts are CLOSED PERMANENTLY. So I have been a customer for over 15 years, and now I have been kicked out of my own bank account for "unusual activity" on my account. The bank will not communicate with me to explain why this decision was made and simply gave me 60 days to find somewhere else to bank! I warn anyone that is thinking of joining this laughable transaction to think again and go elsewhere. Unless of course you enjoy being treated like that piece of you know what on the bottom of your shoe."
Posted 3 months ago
Natwest is rated 1.85 based on 138 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support