Natwest Reviews

2.38 Rating 71 Reviews
31% of reviewers recommend Natwest

How would you rate Natwest?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

71 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
I have Asked to extend overdraft ...instead I was offered if I can save £50 a Months in savings account or open child savings account.... If I have savings I wouldn’t ask to extended my overdraft.......!!!!!!

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Natwest in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"I have Asked to extend overdraft ...instead I was offered if I can save £50 a Months in savings account or open child savings account.... If I have savings I wouldn’t ask to extended my overdraft.......!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Terrible service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Won't answer the phone in a timely manner, keep blaming this on unusually high levels of demand (which, given this the most common response, would then surely make it usual) and can't follow simple instructions."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Claire Burcher
Verified Reviewer
"Natwest doesn't even deserve one star. We have had multiple issues with the bank. The latest has been my legal change of name. Every other organisation I have dealt with (HMRC, DVLA, DWP, local council, utility providers etc) has been very helpful and understanding of me as a disabled customer with mobility and communication challenges. Not Natwest. One month on and the matter is still not resolved. The options they have offered have been "fair and reasonable" - to Natwest and not to me. To top it off they paid £50 'compensation' in to my account this week and because I challenged them they then threatened to take it out again. What a lovely way to treat a disabled customer who they know is 100% dependant on her husband and, with no independent income, worries so much about money and just getting through each week, let alone month. We have been loyal customers of Natwest for over 15 years - more fool us!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Mitchell Miller
Verified Reviewer
"The most useless bank I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. We opened a Natwest business account in October 2017, when we set the account up online it made no mention of linking personal accounts and joint accounts, however once we had set the account up - they linked myself and my other colleagues personal account to the business, which we did not own or have a shareholding. Secondly, we asked for dual authorisation on the account for transactions over £1,000, which the application made no issue of - however when the account was opened, this was a completely different matter. It allowed myself or my colleague to transfer money around without any authorisation etc. When I called Natwest and asked to raise a formal complaint, they had said they have logged it on the system and would get back to me. No one ever got back to me. After the appalling customer service, we decided to close the account almost immediately after opening. They made us jump through so many hoops. One of our employees linked to the account was leaving prior to us closing the account, to remove her from the account as a signatory was almost impossible. I wrote a letter with authorisation to remove her, two weeks later when the employee was due to leave the company, she informed me she still had access to the account. I called Natwest and they told me my letter would not suffice to remove her from the account - How about pick up the phone and tell me that? Instead they left it and didn't feel the need to communicate to me that specific forms had to be filled out. Even when I filled out the specific forms they said it would only take two working days and ended up taking nearly two weeks, meaning the employee had access to company funds after they had left the business! Just unacceptable, this should be instantaneous. I would never recommend Natwest to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I would urge anyone looking to open a Natwest Business account not to even attempt it. The Business customer service advisers are shocking they give you the wrong information and the level of training is shocking. It took 6 months to change signatories on a Community Account, even after they changed the signatories they still sent the bank statements and correspondence to the previous signatories home address, When i realized what had happened i was then advised to fill in yet another flipping form....... If you decide to proceed with opening an account, all i can say is you have been warned !!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Miss Monika Mazurkiewicz
"The customer service at NatWest was extremely helpful and the advisor went the extra mile and spoke with her manager to issue a letter. Also, I was happy with the mortgage process, as the staff in Barnsley branch offered great customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Mohammed Abid
Unverified Reviewer
"Today I been Natwest Edgware branch and I been serve by Abdul Khan manager. He was very helpful and give good customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Jerry Scola
"A long queue with only 2 cashiers. Both the automated paying in machine and the automated coin counting machine were out of service. More cashiers required to prevent 20 minutes wait to get seen."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Jerry Scola
"A long queue with only 2 cashiers. Both the automated paying in machine and the automated coin counting machine were out of service. More cashiers required to prevent 20 minutes wait to get seen."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I've always received good service and there is always a local bank if you need one."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Everything is slow and difficult, one month waiting to be able to operate a debit card, more than 200 pounds on overdrafts as they don't alert me when I have -1 pound in my account, and I even had to send 3 letters to close my account. Please choose any other bank and you won't regret it."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Cardreader failed, then website was down. Telephone service with 15! min wait, got cut short once, cut off once eventually after 4 hrs including 45 !*"&!! mins waiting for someone to pick up the phone got money transferred. Plus they have shut 3 nearest branches. TSB hear I come and wont have to spend half a day with this bank which seems don't give a monkeys. Ask the telephone banker how many people work as call handlers and then lookup number of NatWest customers then look up CEO salary."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I wish I could give a lower star (something lower than 1) I applied for a loan, and instead Natwest closed my account. I called and they literally said I’m owed no explanation why...and while still talking the lady said good bye and hung up (while I was saying pls I still av another question) I don’t understand!!! I really don’t!!! I’ve been building my account for years, I just asked for 3k loan which I can pay off in less than 2 months, I am in shock and so pained I almost feel like crying... you should at least tell me why you have decided to close the account when I’ve done nothing wrong! I’d have preferred they just refused the loan and save me this peace of mind. For this...I’d close my son’s savings account, my wife, my business and even both parents have agreed to close down their Natwest accounts, if this is how they treat clients. Utterly disgusted"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I was a victim of mobile banking fraud 29/11/17 NatWest say they wont refund any money that was taken because they said I have passed on my personal details. I have been with this bank approx. 17 years and now locked into a fight to get my money back. I have since found out there are various articles being published online about how fraudsters are able to get into Natwest mobile app I am switching to a new bank with better security as Natwest do not care and totally refuse to help. Natwest is supposed to be financially secure institution but its far from it PLEASE DO NOT BANK WITH NATWEST. Its totally ruined my Christmas, its left me physically sick and I feel so violated, I was under the impression everyone was innocent until proven guilty, but not if your dealing with Natwest its the other way round"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"The worst bank you ever! if your bank cant keep your money safe then what's the point of having a bank? and after someone has fraudulently taken your money, if you're bank are being the most unhelpful people out there then what's the point of banking with them! i rather keep my money under the mattress! My card details was somehow compromised and the someone made transactions, i called NatWest and they tell me to call the retailer, i call the retailer who acknowledge that it was fraud but need my bank to contact them to return the money. i call natwest again they say they cant do anything as i have an account with the retailer, even though the transactions were not made from the account i have with the retailer. what a rubbish service and bank!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"having to do on line banking as our local branch is closing - been doing it now for 3 months and almost every time i log on i get issues and have to ring at my expenses to sort it out - inevitably a long wait to talk to someone. This causes me more stress than i could imagine so today decided i am going to move my account"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Renewed my card. Got sent to the wrong place. Replacement takes another 10 working days. So I will have been without a bank card for almost a month."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Rude staff who don't have people skills. Force you to use machines just because they don't want to go through the trouble of counting money. Just remember it's we the customers who pay your wages. Disappointed NatWest! Train your staff"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Garbage company with useless customer … Garbage company with useless customer service. stay away. I have been a natwest customer for a decade or two. I had one current account and four savers. I switched current accounts beginning of year in the misguided delusion that first direct were any good. They aint. I kept my savers at Natwest but decided to go back. Had to open a new current account, which they said they would link......like going back 50 years to pen and paper days with pigeon post. I sent ID requested and now they want proof of income, which is sod all to do with them. I have no credit card or overdraft with them and they have thousands of £££ of mine. Bloody cheek. To cap it all they ring me on a witheld number!! I told them to sod off. Maybe FD aint so bad after all. They wont see any of my money again"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Natwest is rated 2.38 based on 71 reviews