Maplin Reviews

3.62 Rating 61 Reviews
64% of reviewers recommend Maplin
Visit Website

Phone:
0844 557 6000

Email:
info@maplin.co.uk

Location:
9 Temple Street

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Maplin?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Roy Bennett
"easy to search and order online at home, then item was waiting instore so no need to spend too long out in the day when collecting. Got a £5 voucher as well so cant be bad"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Excellent service from Ruslan in Inverness. We are playing vinyl again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Awful customer service. After being burgled went into wolverhampton store. Decided on ring2. Got home realised no chime rang store to be told thats another 39.99.(MARK).Said i wod return to be told repackaging cost! Then told actually cannot return at all! Asked to speak to manager 'mark' said he was nothing you can do! Then spoke to customer service 'denise' who said put everything in email and she would sort chime out as goodwill gesture 20/1/18.i have wmailed twice no reoly 24/01 Rang store to find a 'rob' is actually the manager.explained to him what had happened. His answer....' no comnent' I asked abkut returns policy....'no comment' I asked if this call is recorded as could not beleive what i was hearing...er no! Back the internet for me. I doubt maplins will be around fir much longer! Do you??"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Pete
"Good buying experience online. Excellent value product."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Adrian Houghton
"Great customer service Great products Great price"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
"I reserved a product online and recieved an email telling me it'll be 30 minutes before I can pick up my product but they reserved it for me in 10 minutes and didn't sell it to someone else (unlike Currys who seem to always sell things I've reserved)"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
"Perry Barr store. Member of staff who helped me out was very knowledgable. Sold me exactly what I needed without trying to up sell. Made a techno phobe feel okay about asking what were probably daft questions. Happily phoned round other stores for stock."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I wish i had looked on this site before wasting my money at Maplin! i went into the store looking for a camera i can connect to the internet so i can check on my dogs when i'm not in the house. I decided to buy the "Ring Stickup Cam" as this was recommended by the member of staff that wouldn't leave me alone to browse and read up on the items in store for myself! i got the camera home and was very happy with how easy it was to set up and the manufactures gives you a free months trial of cloud storage (THIS IS NOT OPTIONAL). So i use the camera for a month and i was slightly disappointed with the item as it was not consistent and many times i was unable to log on and check my dogs! but that's technology for you and i was willing to live with it as i didn't want the hassle of returning the item.......that's until the months trial of the cloud storage was over and i couldn't log onto the camera any more! I tried a few times to reinstall the camera from the start and i couldn't get it working, So i decide to throw in the towel and return to the Maplin store that i purchased from (High Holborn, London). So i approach the counter and explain to the member of staff what the issue was and he replied in telling me these cameras never fail and i must be mistaken! this made me feel very foolish as there were costumers waiting to be served, he then went on to tell me i am NOT entitled to a refund as its company policy and the camera will have to be sent off and looked at by an expert.....call back in two weeks! when i called costumer services i spoke to a very nice lady until she typed in the reference number of the complaint and she then turned into a rude abrupt lady and went on to tell me there is nothing wrong with the camera and it will be returned......funny that! To be honest i was expecting this outcome when i was told about the company policy of no refunds, so the camera will be returned and i will be stuck with a product that may or may not work.....Thanks Maplin for a truly poor experience and service!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
"The item I needed was a pacman ghost light, napkin was the easiest and cheapest price and free delivery"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Disgusting customer service. Purchased a £270 wireless CCTV system from them, tested one of the cameras for 3 days and it was not satisfactory for our needs. Tried to exchange in store and they refused because the box had been opened. Claimed their 30 day satisfaction was only applicable when the box hasn't been opened. Regardless that their product was not satisfactory, how on earth are you supposed to know if a product is satisfactory if you can't open the box to test!! Took this to their Facebook page to escalate further and their response was no better, and finished off with a swift "OK bye" when I told them I would go to trading standards."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Michael
"Originally went in for a door bell. But walked out with remote sockets as door bell was out of stock. Great customer"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Disgusting service from the Chelmsford branch of Maplin. We purchased a number of items from the store and the staff forgot to remove the security tag, that resulted in us being stopped by security staff in various other shops around the town (incredibly embarrassing). Not realising which item we had purchased was causing the issue it was finally identified as being the electrical item purchased in Maplin. Having opened the box to find where the tag was we noticed that the item appeared to have a part missing. So we went back to the store to ask about the missing item and also raise the issue of the security tag, but the missing part was obviously the main concern. On arrival a member of staff named Ross (no more than 17) approached us and we explained the problems. He wasn't interested and called over an older member of staff. This member of staff flatly told us that "there are no security tags on any of their items" and that "It must be items we purchased elsewhere that caused the alarms in other shops". We told him it was definitely the item purchase from Maplin and he gleefully tried to prove a point by grabbing the box from our hands, opening it up in front of us and took great pride in telling us "SEE!!! There is no tag in the box"......only for him to look suitably embarrassed only seconds latter when he spotted the tag in the corner of the box. His answer to that was "Well we didn't put it there so why are you blaming us!". We were not blaming Maplin but simply wanted to raise the point that anyone else purchasing the same item (a "Ring.com" doorbell) may encounter the same problem. The conversation then moved onto the missing part (the battery for the doorbell). The older member of staff agreed that there was clearly a missing part and stormed off to get another box off the shelf only to return and state "Your missing part is already inserted into the bell frame, so it's not missing after all is it!" Given his appalling attitude we asked to speak to a manager. Ross (the Saturday boy) piped up out of nowhere and said "Why do you want to see the manager, what do you think he will do about it"... in an incredibly surly manner one would expect from a hormonal teenager but not one employed in a high street shop. He then added, "What more do you want!", we said "An apology would be nice" The manager duly spoke to us and was thankfully a little more professional but that's not really saying much, but did finally offer his apologies and promised to speak to Ross about his attitude. Judging by his response to us and roll of eyes he knows only too well about Ross and his attitude towards customers. If anyone else finds themselves in the unfortunate position of shopping in the Chelmsford branch of Maplin's be sure they remove the security tags and avoid Kevin and/or Perry behind the main counter."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Malcolm Crawford
"Very helpful web site and support staff with good knowledge of the product range. Products available to reserve on line and pick up in local store. Excellent service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Ordered and paid for an item, failed to arrive despite promising a call back, never happened, staff at Walsal branch most unhelpful and didn’t really care, will shop elsewhere 8n future give a miss"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
David Webster
"Plenty of helpful staff in shop and reasonable prices."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Anonymous
"Knowledgeable staff. Good price for products – and no quibble refund for one item that was purchased in error."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
W. Carton
"the assistant went out of his way to assist me despite being an innocent in the items i was looking for... despite that he spent 5 mins and between us we achieved the items i needed.."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Raymond Reeve
"Purchased swann cctv system after talking to staff. All in all a good experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John
"Good range of products. Easy to find what I needed. Helpful and friendly store staff"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Mark Leonard
"When I go into a shop and explain exactly what I want and am told by the operative that she doesn't know if they have a solution, then I begin to despair. I need a door bell (Americans call them Chimes) that is compatible with the home security device Ring,com. I can get a list of compatible devices from Ring.com's own web sites so I know what I'm looking for. To be told to make enquiries with any of the listed companies, because they don't stock any of the manufacturers on the list is really not acceptable because Maplin themselves sell the Ring.com product! Surely I just can not be the first person to have walked into Maplin with that request? Anyway, I then went to B & Q and bought the product - one of those listed - from the shelf. QED"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Maplin is rated 3.62 based on 61 reviews