Carphone Warehouse Reviews

1.60 Rating 982 Reviews
14% of reviewers recommend Carphone Warehouse

How would you rate Carphone Warehouse?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

982 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Alex Parnell
I was offered a £200 cash back deal back in November 2017 for keeping hold of my old phone. I was promised to have it by the end of the month. It’s now February 2018 and have repeatedly been told that it will arrive in 2 weeks ever since, with every operator I speak with. Absolutely ridiculous, car phone warehouse is a joke.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Carphone Warehouse in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"I was offered a £200 cash back deal back in November 2017 for keeping hold of my old phone. I was promised to have it by the end of the month. It’s now February 2018 and have repeatedly been told that it will arrive in 2 weeks ever since, with every operator I speak with. Absolutely ridiculous, car phone warehouse is a joke."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Very Very Annoyed
Unverified Reviewer
"I was told if I upgraded my phone with CFW instead of EE it would cost £61 but I would be given £25 for my Samsung p/e.The new phone would be sent to local CPW store who would transfer all of my data for free and I had a 14 day cooling off period and cost would be £15 per month inc VAT. No p/e no cooling off period because it as an upgrade no £25 no free transfer .Shop staff fed up with online sales not knowing what they are talking about. NEVER NEVER AGAIN .awaiting internal investigation"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"I was told the wrong information about cancelling a phone contract. the staff were very poor and not helpful at all. they also did not know what they were doing. Super poor. great job!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"My contract was due for renewal so wanted a sim only deal and went to CPW. Very helpful. My network was Vodafone, was told still best reception price £13.50 - OK. Said had to sell me an 02 sim because Vodafone would not change to sim only therefore have to do a 3 port procedure to keep my number (gave me a sheet to help), Rang Vodafone to start the process and they queried why I was doing this, said CPW have lied to me and they could swap so I did this direct and have since tried to cancel the original one, Went to shop and they said could do not do this, rang cust services and told the same. Rang Vodafone to try and cancel the sim from CPW and they said they are not allowed to do this. Don't see why I should trek into Manchester again to shop to be told no. Very reluctantly going to do the 3 way port procedure. Will not use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I ordered on line a data sim on 24-01-18 and received an order acknowledgement with expected delivery 04-02-18 (my request). The acknowledgement stated if there was a problem they would get in touch by email or phone. on the 26-01-18 I decided to take a contract telephone out with them so I phoned an explained I had an order already in the system. No problem I was told, "we can do the credit check for both over the telephone". This was successful and I paid the initial payment. I requested the phone be delivered on 05-02-18. The 4th arrives I phoned to say I was still waiting for the despatch email. After 40 minutes and 4 different customer service reps. I was eventually told that the order had been cancelled by their fraud department. They could / would not tell me why, but I was then told by a very obnoxious individual who constantly talk over me, that I had to take ID to the local Carphone Warehouse store, but I would not be able to have the current deal I signed up for which expired on 31-01-18 and in any case the online deals are not available instore! I asked where was the local store and I was given my home address! (My nearest store is over 30 miles round trip). I was then also told that the account is locked and I would not be able to purchase anything in the local store! They refunded what I had paid. I asked to speak to a Manager to make a complaint and had to request a call back within 48 hours. Needless to say no call back ever received!! ALL IN ALL the customer service is non existing and at best appalling. I would advise you take your custom elsewhere and DEFINITLEY NOT to CARPHONE WAREHOUSE"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"AVOID AT ALL COST. I went to the branch at Nottingham Victoria Centre and trying to buy a phone and then I was told by the sales assistant that they CANNOT sell me the phone because my address is BLACKLISTED on their system when I gave them my details and postcode for the so-called "warranty purposes" even if I have the full amount to pay for it and the sales assistant just keep saying 'call the head office' for so many times, she could not do anything about it, not even an answer. At the moment I thought this is absolutely ridiculous but I am a polite person and does not want to make a scene so I just left. I am just wondering what kind of policy is this? I did not expect something like this could happen when I have just moved to that address. they have just discriminating people based on where they live. This is the WORSE shopping experience ever."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Colin Atkinson
Unverified Reviewer
"I asked for an upgrade but they started a new contract with the provider, then tried to say it was my fault. I ended up paying £200 a month for a number i couldn't even use as the provider said it was inactive. if you call CFW you're put through to S/Afria and they just don't want to know. Ended up taking the phone into the CFW shop and starting a claim through the Small Claims Court for a refund. WARNING TO EVERYONE, CARPHONE WAREHOUSE ARE A NIGHTMARE!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My parents visited the shop to 'upgrade' their phone. As loyal types they returned to the shop they had used in the past. They left happy with a new Nokia and data package, until.......Three days the phone stopped working, I popped round to see what the issue was, mmm run out of data, strange as their previous package contained lots of data and they never used it up. I went along to the store with them just to make sure they got what they needed. It turns out CPW had signed them up to a deal with ...wait for it 300mb of data (they have no landline in their house and rely solely on the mobile phone) They (CPW) then proceeded to refuse to do anything about it. They clearly took advantage of customers who didn't understand what they were buying. Yet the sales assistant could clearly see what data usage etc they had been used to. What is the most disappointing thing out of this is the shear lack of respect to customers, especially those who would need the most guidance. Then blaming them for buying the wrong deal. Just to put some context around this my parents are 72 & 87 years old. I resolved the issue by speaking directly to EE, they were very helpful and clearly used to this sort of thing."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Christopher Augusti
Unverified Reviewer
"Ipswich branch ----ing joke bought a brand new phone 2 months ago issue with it customer service 5star rated by who Donald duck joke let me tell you customer service.Why,ok your phone is being repaired here is the same model let me help you update your apps etc.no here a replacement for 2weeks something from the second world war does even show you how 2 use it nothing a waste off time call to make a complaint on system down great customer service joke STAY CLEAR"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Christopher Augusti
Unverified Reviewer
"Customer service were"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Issue with phone not working properly. Staff in CFW shop insisted it was no longer under warranty despite me having emailed "paperwork" that clearly states it was purchased 13 months ago with a 2 year warranty. They wanted to charge me £169.99 to fix it. Or if I wanted a new phone I would have to pay off the money left on my 2 year contract on the phone and take out a new contract and would not be able to keep the same number. He insisted in a very condescending and derogatory way that because my phone is one of the cheaper ones it only comes with a one year warranty. This is just not true. He was clearly lying to me to try to make a new sale. He was rude, uncaring and arrogant and treated me like dirt. I will never go there again. I was left feeling very angry and upset and "out of pocket"."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"terrible service went to collect phone to be told had been sent back all I need after a breavment will not use you again"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My mom and I bought a new phone and got a new contract the day before travelling at Oxford Cornmarket Street . Which seemed a good deal however where were just deceived to buy two news contracts, one of the contracts were supposed to be cheaper but without seeing he did a contract with same price which I didn’t requested, in the end he didn’t show it to us the actual monthly contract price and I saw it was too late to change and now I’m stuck with the same price contract that I had prior to the actual contract. The guy didn't explain all of our rights and didn't mentioned about carphone warehouse doesn't accept returns and other stuff he left out and we are now stuck with the contracts. We were doing trade in with our phones so he said that the price that carphone warehouse would not change when we come back after a month away and the price that would've been paid would stay the same, when we came back we were surprised by the price had decreased and not what he promised to us. Also he was promising about the internet and TV would be cheaper. Last time I will be using Carphone warehouse"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"carphone warehouse sutton branch has two very good people committed to providing excellent customer support and assistance. It was a pleasant surprise!! They certainly know their stuff.."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"02 shop the best"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Disgusting customer service had to call 8 times,They said cannot trace order, order number, name, my address!!cut my calls off when I asked to speak to a manager. funny how they took the money for it....But failed to deliver phone. Fraudsters Anyway spoke to my Bank about it. So I will get MY MONEY BACK."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I have signed up for a 2 year contract on a phone that comes with a free gift of some headphones. I don't want the headphones, but hey, lovely, everyone likes a free gift right? Wrong. The store didn't have any in stock so put an order through to the warehouse. This was 2 weeks ago. It appears that the headphones (which are still on offer with the phone) are not stocked by carphone warehouse anymore, nor will they ever be stocked again. Because of this, my phone is sat in the warehouse unable to be posted to me as the headphones are missing. Should be simple enough to still get the phone though, yeah? Just let them know you don't want the headphones, that they can never fulfill the headphone side of things and just pop the phone over to me. Nope. Can't do that. We have filled in form after form after form telling the warehouse to release it - nothing. No one in the warehouse can read it seems. Customer Services - surely someone can help there? Nope. After half an hour each time on a phone call explaining the situation, demanding to speak to a manager and then being put on hold while they do chuff all - the best they can manage is to fill in another form that the warehouse won't read. Perhaps at this point you are wondering why I haven't just cancelled the order and gone to a more competant reseller. Well the reason is that because the phone is stuck in the magical neverworld of 'Fulfillment' it can't be cancelled, it can only be cancelled when the status changes - and guess what, the status can't change because no one will ever send it out. I have a contract I can't use for a phone I will never receive. If it was possible to give a store a negitive review I would be. Utter utter shambles of a process with no end in sight. The only way I can see to resolve this now is to plaster bad reviews everywhere in the hope some one with the abilty to not give up when the computer says no sees this and sorts it out. Ive even resorted to messaging the CEO via Facebook."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Terrible service, not interested in long term loyalty. Poor and misleading information at time of purchase. Returns process was misleading. after 6 years loyalty I decided to upgrade my phone when carphone warehouse contacted me repeatedly. I explained that I had been an iPhone user for many years and was considering a change. The polite phone saleswoman told me the s8 was a great phone and i advised me that i could play with the phone and along as didn't make any calls could return within 14 days. The phone was delivered to my work on the 15th and signed for by reception (not part of there terms, owner signature only???) Anyway, I was back at work on the 17th and collected my package. After playing with the phone I realised I needed another iPhone. I call carphone warehouse on the 29th to organise a return and was told i was on day 15 and therefore had no right to return. I obviously explained that I had not recieved the phone until the 17th due to them braking there process and allowing anyone to sign for the phone. The person was not interested. I explained my long term loyalty which resulted in the same response.......computer says no. I asked to speak to a manager, no managers available. I requested a call back that day, the lady could not promise but would speak to her manager. 2 days passed so i called again, same response....manager will call back. Like the majority of busy parents I gave up. I am now continuing to use my old iPhone with a £600 S8 collecting dust in my draw. I like them will not remain loyal, I recommend you do not offer carphone warehouse any loyalty, pick the cheapest deal and switch every 2 years."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"3 months and several complaints trying to resolve a contractual problem. Ignored, avoided and lied to by the most unhelpful Carphone Warehouse store manager and customer service team I have ever experienced. Finally decided to go straight to the Organ Grinder (Vodafone) and cut the monkeys out of the equation. Issue that should have been dealt with in store on day 1 was taken care of in 5 minutes flat. Word to the wise...always buy directly from the service provider and not through these cowboys! Vodafone 5 stars, Carphone a big fat ZERO"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Trowbridge carphone warehouse!! where do you start, i cant believe i wasted time on a car park pay meter for carphone warehouse, i decided to go in to buy a bunch of google pixel 2's for my employees.. i'm having time off due to the birth of my new daughter, not greeted by 1 single person they all stood behind the counter like tweedle dumb and judged me like the cover of a book, like i was a bum by saying i was disgusted was an understatement, before any questions i was told this phone was too expensive for me and i wouldn't understand the payment plan. i probably earn more than all of them put together behind the counter This was trowbridge, wiltshire, not in my life will i spend money with them ever again plus this review would not let me skip star review so i give this a minus 10 rating.... i will say go to o2 shop in the shires those guys give top notch service catered for your needs i'm made up now."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Carphone Warehouse is rated 1.60 based on 982 reviews