Carphone Warehouse Reviews

1.60 Rating 1,170 Reviews
14% of reviewers recommend Carphone Warehouse
913 Review Views (past 24 hours)
06AM - 8AM
23 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
136 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
63 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
62 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
40 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
86 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
198 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
80 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
119 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
12AM - 2AM
23 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
42 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
41 Review Views
06AM
6AM
Visit Website

Phone:
0870 111 6565

Location:
The Carphone Warehouse, PO Box 375

Categories:
Contract Mobiles
Mobile Phones
PAYG
Sim Only

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Carphone Warehouse made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier
delivery methods
Next Day
average delivery time
Greater than 26%
on-time delivery
Greater than 75%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
customer service
"it's a shocking company. My smartphone bought sim free and without their handset insurance lost power and would not charge. I hoped that the company would return it to the manufacturer for me. They simply gave me a phone number. I queried this, saying that returning it myself might damage the phone. they said the company would provide a courier. the company were very helpful when I rang but have instructed me that phone needs to be returned preferably by tracked mail -this will be £6 + I understand- more due to need to cushion pack the phone. I think the problem with carphone warehouse is that they are now part of the PC world empire. this company- from my experience- is desperate to sell their extended know how insurance. you don't really need this as you are protected by consumer rights and could ?? pay less than what the insurance cost you if your device became faulty after the guarantee ran out. obviously companies need to make profits , but guess what - I am old enough and have had enough life experience to know to never again have anything to do with companies like this that are greedy and unhelpful. the phone manufacturer, in an e mail , advised me to take the phone back to the retailer for return to them to save on postage costs and I quote 'as is your consumer rights". so if I have interpreted that correctly , then the employee at carphone warehouse told me lies. well, I won't save myself the postage-even if it is /was my legal rights, but I will save time, anxieties and very bad customer service from this company by having nothing more whatsoever to do with them in the future. t"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 hours ago
Are you Carphone Warehouse? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Carphone Warehouse receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"Poor customer service, refuses to cancel contract within14 days when requested, handset wasn't even collected in store, over half an hour instore to be told I had to wait for contract to be automatically cancelled, even though I was being charged for an upgraded service I had asked to be cancelled. Avoid if you expect a good level of customer service, and a company not to breach it's own contract."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Awful experience. Did an upgrade with my existing network. Was not processed correctly and my line was cut. Spoke to an advisor who gave me the wrong info and the issue was not resolved. The same the second time I spoke to them. I eventually managed to get EE to resolve the problem caused by CPW. Never again. Stay clear."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Someone took a broadband contract in my name from their Merry Hill shopping centre branch. I contacted Action Fraud and got a crime reference number. Called Carphone warehouse customer service to cancel whatever was in my name and to give them the crime reference number. After being bounced around departments and on hold for over 1 hour I got told they cannot access the system to confirm it's cancelled. Every day for the last 3 days I've been calling and same thing repeats. They transfer me to different departments, give me other numbers to call and still no one can confirm whatever was taken on my name is actually cancelled. I've never even visited their branch in Merry Hill. Never even bought a thing from Carphone warehouse in general! Extremely poor customer service and no one seems to have access to that system. How has someone taken a contract in my name without ID or proof of address?"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Bradford Carphone Warehouse. One of the best branches I’ve been to. Including my self 3 other family mementos been in and they agree that the staff are brilliant helpful and down to earth. Doesn’t feel like we’re being roped into deals and they are genuinely attending to our service needs. Thank you"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Bought a S9 on contract through CPW and no problems with that. However after a couple of months the phone developed a fault with the buttons and I returned it to the local store. Phone booked in for a warranty repair again with no hassles. Sadly that is as good as it got with them. Trying to contact the store about the repair is impossible as nobody at a phone shop seems to want to answer a phone call. Contacting the repair team resulted in them having no clue about the repair or the progress on the repair. Checking the progress of the repair using the online tracker didn't work as it said it didn't exist. It now means having to take time off work to go to the store to see the progress of the repair. Not impressed and should have just returned the phone direct to Samsung instead."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Chose a phone, confirmed it was in stock, went to pay and the price has increased by £100! Apparently the prices can change 2/3 times a day?!?!? Trading standards need to get in there- false advertising at its best!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"As others have said, I ordered my phone using their "Next day delivery including weekends" on a Thursday selecting Friday as my delivery day. I hear nothing until Saturday morning that it's going to be delivered on Monday! When I asked Customer service about this, it's because "Saturdays have an extra charge". Add to this that their 'enhanced trade in price' wasn't applied leaving me £80 out of pocket and I'll happy tell everyone to avoid them like the plague. Customer service is atrocious, after an hour talking to the agent (quite often with 5 mins in between responses, on their end) they told me they couldn't help me and that I should ring the helpline. Not that the helpline could help either... Please, do yourself a favour and go else where - anywhere!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Beware CPW use the delivery services of DPD - this company has the worst levels of customer service going. I have waited in all day today to receive a new phone. Late afternoon i get a message to say they tried to deliver and even let a calling card. But they didn't. They've even tried to reschedule for Monday - which is no good for me as it means taking another day off work. Worst still DPD customer service line is fully automated - it is not possible to speak to a person, unless YOU PHONE THEIR PREMIUM RATE TELEPHONE NUMBER!! Scandalous. I will certainly think again about CWP in the future."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I have been lead to believe the follow about my order I placed on 23/10/2018(Tuesday)-Was told it would be next day delivery 24/10/2018(Wednesday)- as told it was delayed and will be delivered next day 25/10/2018(Thursday)-I got fed up and told them to deliver to the store- was told I could collect next day. 26/10/2018( friday)- Was told it was in picking and that there is no stock it will take 3-5 working days to be delivered. TODAY IS 02/11/2018 I WAS TOLD TODAY ITS STILL STUCK IN WARE HOUSE AND THEY WILL GET BACK TO ME IN 3-5 WORKING DAYS. This is not on and is severely bad customer service! I want my order this weekend! if not I want everything cancelled and my money refunded back to me !!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Shocking service over the phone and online chat. They call centre is obviously not in the UK and the people who I have spoke to have been completely slow and useless. They have obviously not been trained properly. Will be going elsewhere. :("
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I've used Carphone Warehouse a number of times, even as a return customer. In my experience they are shockingly incompetent, duplicitous and will genuinely harass you to sign a new contract when yours expires. Never, ever, EVER again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Tried to purchase a new phone contract but the customer service advisor was completely unhelpful after an issue with a change of address and was told “there’s no point trying”. Called up three different times and been in store. Will not be using them again!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Phoned Worcester branch. Pressed the button to speak to someone, but instead they played me "Something in the Air" by Thunderclap Newman from start to finish. At no point did I ask for that. At no point did they say, "wait for someone to answer and meanwhile here's some music to ease the boredom." It's not a Radio phone-in request show ffs."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I went into a Stockton branch and a lady called Sue dealt with my query but she was so miserable and after looking on her computer just said you better ring them up. She didn't even attempt to help just said ring them up. Why is she there? This is not the first time she has not dealt with me, think I will have to go elsewhere in the future."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Called in to the Kendal branch of carphone warehouse and was dealt with by a male there named Otis. I found him to be extremely helpful and knowledgeable."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Are they really interested in me as a customer? I went into the Edinburgh Straiton branch to buy a phone. Nobody acknowledged me for the 30 minutes I stood waiting to be served (2 agents were serving / talking to? other customers) and after the 30 minutes and no indication as to when I might served I left. I will go elsewhere, but maybe that doesn't matter to them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Quick at selling me a phone, buf when there's a problem with the new phone bought from them, they dont want to know! I bought a Motorola G6 Play from their Camborne store in June, worked great for 2 weeks then I had all my contacts disappear and someone elses detail appear on the phone, Unfortunatly for me I was in France with my daughter for nearly 3 months but after coming back I went to my local Carphone in St Austell where I told them that since having the G6 it has erased my contacts twice, the headphone jack doesnt work, the battery sometimes says its 100% then goes to 3% within half an hour. The WIFI sometimes works and maily doesnt so using all my data up whilst in my house. The main concern is security as how did my contacts disappear on a phone I never have out of sight? So the chap at Carphone said "no worries, we'll send it off and here is a lone phone while yours is off being repaired and it will be about a week as its only 5 months old and still inder warranty! Went to collect my phone from Carphone after a week, there were two young ladies both took turns in belittling me by saying the phone cannot be fixed, here is your sim back bye! They claimed that they dont fix Motorola phones and I should go to them to get it fixed, it had nothing to do with them as they only sell phones and not responsible for repair. I asked to speak to someone in authority to which the one girl went out back and was on her phone to a manager in Plymouth. She came back and said that their area manager said for me to contact Motorola myself and that they couldnt offer me an exchange as the phone is now on their system as faulty! So that they cannot sell it on as my cooling off period had expired! So what do they do with these phones that come back if customers dont want/like them, do they re sell them on as new? Is this what Carphone have done to me, sold me a used phone hence these Scottish phone contacts on my supposodly new phone? They wouldnt put me on the phone to their manager and that's when they started to get nasty with me. The one walked off and the other just said for me to go as they just sell phones but if I was to pay off my contract £225 they would sort me out another phone! Not on your Nelly would I deal with this lot ever again. I bought it from their Cambourne store and the empliyee was Scottish, as she said that she liked the G6 and when she came out with the phone it wasnt boxed and I stupidly took that phone, but I'm too trusting. The contacts that replaced my contacts where numbers in Dundee Scotland! The store in Camborne is now closed down, makes me wonder?"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Left my iPhone there for repair at the fenchurch street storw.was told it would be ready for next wwwk , called up 4 different occasions everytine a different excuse why it wasn't ready. Went to collect it today after over 2 months and now noone in the store knows where my phone is.nevwr again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Attempted to order a Sumsung S9 on an on line deal only to get an email to say ring somebody re the order. When we rang them they explained that the order had failed due to internal security but were unable to explain what the issue was. We could try to get the order changed to delivery to a local store but after hanging around for almost half an hour the operator took our bank details again ??? ( despite having already been told it was not a credit problem but an internal security problem ) and promised to ring back if there was a problem with it going through. 15 mins later, email stating order had been cancelled and no phone call ! Many thanks Nyanja on on line branch no 218 for you're excellent service (not). Dealing with them on line seems like a scam - we have never ever had any other problems in living at the address for the past 20 years - and it just seemed like an excuse to get you interested - did the deal,ever exist ?"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Carphone Warehouse is rated 1.60 based on 1,170 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support