Carphone Warehouse Reviews

1.59 Rating 1,022 Reviews
14% of reviewers recommend Carphone Warehouse

How would you rate Carphone Warehouse?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

1022 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Holly Goldsmith
I have unfortunately only had problems with C.Warehouse. They occasionally sales call me to promote products & to upgrade & have consistently mis-sold me products. My latest upgrade seemed great, the deal was fine & I looked forward to receiving my new phone - at the store so I could get all of my details transferred from one phone to another. Sadly, the phone arrived at my home address which I'm never normally at but on the off chance happened to be when it arrived. The 'bundle' I'd agreed to buy was completely wrong - the phone case didn't fit my phone. They sorted this issue out after numerous calls. The sales advisor as a selling ploy told me I'd get £115 for my phone (which I told him had a cracked screen), but was told in store they'd only give me £65. I have spent a long time making phone calls to them & discovered that they've been debiting me £15 for about 4 years for insurance I'd cancelled years ago!!!! All in all, a terrible company who tell you that 'you should have done your research about how much a phone with a cracked screen would give you!' BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE. COMPLETELY INEPT STAFF WHO ARE RUDE & SPEAK OVER YOU! AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Carphone Warehouse in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Holly Goldsmith
Unverified Reviewer
"I have unfortunately only had problems with C.Warehouse. They occasionally sales call me to promote products & to upgrade & have consistently mis-sold me products. My latest upgrade seemed great, the deal was fine & I looked forward to receiving my new phone - at the store so I could get all of my details transferred from one phone to another. Sadly, the phone arrived at my home address which I'm never normally at but on the off chance happened to be when it arrived. The 'bundle' I'd agreed to buy was completely wrong - the phone case didn't fit my phone. They sorted this issue out after numerous calls. The sales advisor as a selling ploy told me I'd get £115 for my phone (which I told him had a cracked screen), but was told in store they'd only give me £65. I have spent a long time making phone calls to them & discovered that they've been debiting me £15 for about 4 years for insurance I'd cancelled years ago!!!! All in all, a terrible company who tell you that 'you should have done your research about how much a phone with a cracked screen would give you!' BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE. COMPLETELY INEPT STAFF WHO ARE RUDE & SPEAK OVER YOU! AVOID AT ALL COSTS."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Had a most frustrating experience with dealing with the staff at CW, I asked to speak to a manger, was transferred to a store, waited about 6 mins wth music playing to then be informed that my call could not e taken. What a cxxp organisation, the last time I will buy a phone there!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Shop very busy, assistant dealing with 3 people at once. I asked for 4 - 8 GB data, after over an hour 'being served' I had to leave because I had to pick up children from school. Shop is 30 miles from my home. When I received my paperwork from Vodafone I realised that I had been sold 16GB data. Every time I rang the shop I got 10 minutes of music then cut off, cost extra £4 each call. Found a free phone customer service number and was told that they would email the manager to contact me. I did this 3 times over 2 weeks but no email. 4 more calls to the shop and still no answer. I have been told by customer service that as they're a retailer they don't give a 14 day cooling off period.Had I gone next door to the Vodafone shop I would have had 30 days to change my mind. Absolutely no help at all. I feel that the assistant recommended this package knowing that they wouldn't allow any changes and he would get a bigger commission. I am stuck with this for 2 years! Do not use these rip off merchants."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Alex Sandford
Unverified Reviewer
"Unable to set up phone, no help from customer services or shop, so will bevreturning under credit agreement. Very disappointing, will buy the phone and have my freedom!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Michelle Davies
Unverified Reviewer
"Please bear with this it's going to be a rant! So....I changed my phone contract to Vodafone 88 days ago after receiving appalling service form O2. Please remember 88 days it's important. Samm needs a new phone contract, so I went into Carphone Warehouse with him today to sort it out. Simple I thought, but oh no! I go through the whole process - pick the phone, pass the credit check etc. To be told I can't have the contact! 😣. Why? Because I haven't had my Vodafone contract for 90 days! It's their rule apparently! Thou shall not apply for 2 Vodafone contacts in 90 days. When I asked them why I am more of a fraud risk today than in 2 days time, surprise surprise they couldn't answer me! Classic case of computer says NO! Then to add insult to injury Carphone Warehouse informed me that applying for 2 mobile phone contracts in 90 days could adversely affect my credit rating. Something they neglected to tell me upfront. Nice one!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Utterly incompetent and disinterested staff. Failed promises on an order placed, no communications and inability to escalate why a handset paid for can’t get delivered. Utter rubbish."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Never ever go here! The only thing they care about is their sale. After that, no one cares and no one takes any accountability. I’m shocked at how appalling their service is. I was told I’m due for a free upgrade, and to make a long story short, I never received a phone. They have however changed my tariff! I’ve spent hours on the phone and visited the Canary Wharf branch multiple times. 4 weeks later, Still nothing! You can’t complain to customer service, apparently their managers are never available and their link to submit a complaint on the website doesn’t work!!! I will never deal with them ever again and made sure I spread the word around so that others don’t fall in to the same trap I did!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Went into Solihull Branch on the 7/4/18 due to phone stopped working. The team was rude and unwilling to help when my iPhone was broken, I had been to the apple store a few minutes before and had a report about the hardware fault, the staff didn't even bother to ask if I had insurance/cover, they just said tough luck it will cost £300 to repair and when my father asked about the consumer law the staff laughed in his face and said it didn't matter as it will still cost me. They would not listen about the fault and only cared about trying to sell me a new contract that was inappropriate to what I need or hand over money to repair the phone, the way the staff acted they might as well have stuck their fingers up at us, as that was the attitude we got. We will never shop in the Solihull branch again and very disappointed that this will be the end of a number of loyal years with Carphone Warehouse. Due to the poor service we received."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"hocking customer service! delivery terrible! Still can't get over how appalling customer service was. Cancelled my contract before i even received my phone. This company has a Bad Attitude!!! :("
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I bought Samsung Galaxy S9+ from them on pre-order. Because they were offering free wireless charger. First they have said that they will send it later. 3 weeks passed and yesterday I asked about it. What did they say? They said that they are out of stock so unfortunately they can not send and they are not compensating me (of course!) with something else.. Such an amateur company. Please do not buy anything from them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I bought Samsung Galaxy S9+ from them on pre-order. Because they were offering free wireless charger. First they have said that they will send it later. 3 weeks passed and yesterday I asked about it. What did they say? They said that they are out of stock so unfortunately they can not send and they are not compensating me (of course!) with something else.. Such an amateur company. Please do not buy anything from them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Justwantdecentservice
Unverified Reviewer
"Purchased an inexpensive and easy to use phone with a £10 call credit included from the website. User is an elderly relative in hospital. Call credit could not be activated so for speed, visited a shop expecting quick and hassle free experience to get it working; WRONG! Waited 20 minutes to be served, 15 minutes and 3 assistants all having a go and faffing around, no joy. Left the phone and went for lunch explaining the outcome I wanted - a working phone with £10 call credit. It happened, but what a poor experience, will think twice before using CPW again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Phone was promised 31/03/2018 did not arrive. Customer care laughed and hung up on us. Phoned back and told it was with DPD checked with DPD and they did not have it. Told no manager to speak to. One lie after another. Wish we'd never ordered the damn phone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I pre-ordered a Samsung S9 for March 8th. I still don't have it, and won't until earliest the 4th April - and I'm not holding my breath. Despite Carphone Warhouse having taken £739 payment. I've probably spent over 15 hours on the phone (mostly on hold) between Carphone Warehouse and DPD, their delivery company. DPD messed up the initial delivery, ultimately lost the phone, and chasing this has become my problem as the customer. It would be too much to ask for them to talk to each other without me having to prompt at every step of the way. Absolutely ludicrous. The call-centres in South Africa are hopeless, and will often promise to call you back and don't, or put you on hold and then hang up when their hours finish. The staff in store, when I went their in desperation, weren't interested. Just don't bother with these guys."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Poor Service. For two days I have bee looking at a certain pay as you go phone for my Mum. The price was £34.99 plus £10.00 top up or £34.99 if you choose to upgrade via you prepay network. I checked the price this morning and it has gone up to £49.99 plus £10.00 top up, and £49.99 for the pre-pay upgrade. However they have still advertised the £34.99 price, so I sent them a message, to advise the situation. They thanked me for letting them know... I asked if they would at least honour the price since it was their error, to which they replied no. I asked them if the store price was the same as online, they said the price was now £49.99 and they could not do a thing. I know prices change all the time......... I understand the process, however, I do not think to expect some form of a GWG was out of line considering they are advertising two prices........ disappointed to say to the least, they have not even acknowledged their error. As small as it may be....... the price increase is a lot............. so much for a 'price promise'. I checked local stock, the Beaumont Leys, Leicester branch showed available, I travelled there after work. First thing i notice is the store advertising the phone at £34.99... brilliant. I asked the man in the shop if we could see the phone, he advised they ad zero stock ( even though the website shows in stock ) he said we could order it in. Great, i asked for a pre-pay upgrade, they said they could not do it, and would need to speak to Vodaphone. I spoke with Vodafone while i was in the shop who said there should be no issue. The store manager then goes onto the shop floor to remove the price from the shelf. I then asked the store manager what network is the phone on with the price at £34.99. He them tells me it was a promotion and that it had ended....... and the best price he can offer me the phone at is £60.00. The manager failed to update the store with the correct price, apprently has no stock and tries to dupe me. Absolutly disgusted at the fact if my Mum had been on her own they would of charged her £60.00 for their error. Yet again, the website is incorrect, the store is advertising the wrong price and the customer suffers for their incompetence."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"stolen my phone"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Worst experience experience ever, customer service very rude, so disappointed never even gave me a chance to explain! Bought from many phone outlets over the years, never had a problem! Have learnt a big lesson! Will never buy from this company again! This company should take note.. one person is now many.. treat people badly at your peril! Train you customer services better!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"In a word -attitude. I saw a deal, went to the Southport store that was empty bar 3 employees. Clearly it was inconvenient to help me. I was happy to buy a new phone but kept being told the deal I had a picture of on my phone didn’t exist. Ok - I can accept that it changed since midnight. But the attitude was APPALLING. I NEVER write reviews and always remain polite but I just ended up walking out the shop. Well I’m sorry that I was an inconvenience and I humbly beg your forgiveness for interrupting your day. You are clearly above someone like me who wanted to spend a lot of money on a phone. Oh - and pay your wages. Hmmmmm."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I ordered an s9 plus through carphone warehouse I have had so many different issues the phone was due to me on the 9th of march but at the beginning of the week I got an email saying it would come on the 7th and I would get a 1 hour delivery slot on the day by lunch time when I hadn't heard I gave them a call and was made to feel a fool by their agent for chasing a phone that wasn't out yet even though it was their company that told me to expect it, when it did arrive I was also expecting a micro sd card which should have been a free gift with the phone after calling to find out when I would get it I was told it would come after 14 days as I bought the phone sim free ok so I wait, while trying to sort out another issue trading in my old phone which took multiple calls and being transfer between customer service and online order team numerous times and spending an hour in one of their stores I also asked again about the sd card and was told it should have come with the phone but they were out of stock so after a few emails the agreed to a gesture of goodwill for £28 (enough to buy a wireless charge pad) so we reach the end of the 2 weeks I send in an email to ask about the sd card and was told that I'm not getting it and that's was the £28 was for even though I have an email from them that says in the same message I will get the sd card and the goodwill gestures, just downright awful customer service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Mark Hetherington
"Part exchanged my old s7 edge for a new s9+. The exchange price they gave me was more than any trade shop price. This was due to an extra £100 bonus on trade price for pre ordering this new phone. A very happy customer."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Carphone Warehouse is rated 1.59 based on 1,022 reviews