Book Depository Reviews

4.37 Rating 161 Reviews
85% of reviewers recommend Book Depository
524 Review Views (past 24 hours)
1PM - 3PM
40 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
39 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
81 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
40 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
59 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
20 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
45 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
43 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
40 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
41 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
39 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
37 Review Views
1PM
1PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Book Depository made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email
communication channels
"Charged twice for book order. After much nonsense emails from customer service I eventually said I was going to involve Trading Standards. This seemed to work. No one seems to know what they are doing or looking for or is it a ploy to keep the over charges. Kept asking me questions they already knew the answers to."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Are you Book Depository? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Book Depository receives and that when things do go wrong, you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"Fantastic book selection with very competitive pricing, easy to use website and fast delivery. Books all arrive in great condition."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"it has been over 20 days and i am still waiting for my delivery, their surport team is useless. please do not use this website."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Ann
"Well packaged, prompt service of a wide selection of books. Cool book marks included as a nice touch. Promptly helpful and polite if contacted with a query. Free postage."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Book arrived in time and in perfect order. Selection was great in the category which I searched. I have used the service before and have always been very satisfied"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Excellent service"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Quick delivery, free shipping, huge variety of products, high product quality and helpful customer service!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Books. Very good .dobra. on time. Customer service make good."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Great service from this website that provides a ton of titles in different editions. The service is fast and easy to use and haven't had any trouble with the company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"When I ordered my book I was given an estimated date for delivery - BUT 'The Book Depository didn't even dispatch my order until the day it was meant to be delivered. So I received it 4 days later than the agreed date. When I wrote to Customer Services to ask why my delivery was delayed, I got different responses from 3 different people - none of them telling me the reason for delay. Customer Services seem to be unable to give a straight answer to a straight question. And Dispatch is clearly unable to meet the delivery date promised when you order. A Slow and Unhelpful service. I won't buy from them again!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"In the name of free delivery, the book that I ordered never reached the designated address. Upon contacting, they asked me to contact the local post office without naming a single one (I wonder if they air drop to any random company? Won't the company have the ties with at least one post office company?). Apparently because its a free delivery they don't care about it and refused to give me a refund when I emailed them about the problem. Never going to order from them. Not recommended at all."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Excellent customer services."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Book arrived promptly in perfect condition."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Huge selection and speedy delivery"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Great service and choice of books, I recommend doing business with them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"They're very helpful and understanding and delivers excellent and on time and have a excellent selection of books hard back and paperback they are totally wonderful i have used them for quite some years now and i really trust them to deliver my books to me on time and helpful when i have questions to ask"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Have bought from this company for yrs. Recently bought an old edition of the Brownie handbook. Unfortunately I received an up to date version so reordered. Same thing happened again. When it came to returning the goods I was told I couldn’t return them in the UK, I had to return them to Australia at my expense! Turns out a new edition was launched over the summer and they clearly didn’t want me to return old stock. They have been using photos of an edition which is many years out of date. I complained to amazon who agreed that this was unfair and refunded me. This is blantant deceit and I would beware of buying from this company again. Interestingly I made a further complaint and was told that I could return the books - to an address less than half an hr from my home!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Cheap, good quality books, postage was a little slow."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"So far, so good. Occasional purchases over last 5+ years to NZ. Have had an " account" registered since day one and no problems with "wrong address" (would suspect wrong address probably "casuals"). Despatch speed patchy, split shipments irritating, "free" shipping generally cheaper (overall) than other sources that detail product and shipping costs."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dog
"An issue of a damaged book was sorted quickly and without any fuss, with a range of solutions to suit me. I accepted a 50% discount for the damage on the book and was very happy with the deal. An excellent company to deal with, who put their customers first"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Book Depository is rated 4.37 based on 161 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support