Bensons For Beds Reviews

1.43 Rating 222 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend Bensons For Beds

How would you rate Bensons For Beds ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

221 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Ian Davies
I purchased a mattress for £540 which arrived mid January within 3 months the top layer has rippled and gone baggy making the mattress look more like 4 years old not 3 months and is not so smooth to lie on. Their procedure was to send a technician out which took 3 weeks and unsurprisingly claims it is not faulty, yet clearly shows signs of something wrong. Benson`s refuse to deal with my dissatisfaction leaving me high and dry with a thoroughly disappointing service and item.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Bensons For Beds in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"I purchased a mattress for £540 which arrived mid January within 3 months the top layer has rippled and gone baggy making the mattress look more like 4 years old not 3 months and is not so smooth to lie on. Their procedure was to send a technician out which took 3 weeks and unsurprisingly claims it is not faulty, yet clearly shows signs of something wrong. Benson`s refuse to deal with my dissatisfaction leaving me high and dry with a thoroughly disappointing service and item."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 hours ago
"One star because I couldn't give zero. I ordered a wardrobe on the 4th of January it arrived in March damaged. Despite numerous calls and much misinformation where I was told a replacement part had been ordered only to subsequently discover it hadn't been (twice!). I returned the item for a full refund. It is now May and they have their wardrobe returned unopened in March and I still have no refund. No one seems to know how to refund me as it was a phone order and they owe me £385 not to mention the cost of all the phone calls. I am now having to claim through my credit card company. Please avoid."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Terrible customer service, poor quality furniture. Dreadful aftersales support. We regretted buying furniture from them. Please avoid!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Paul Tessier
Verified Reviewer
"We had our bed delivered last week, the delivery guys moaned about how awkward our stairs were dispite being the easiest stairs ever. The guys left and we started unwrapping the base only to find a small dent in the base, this was clearly done on the stair rail and we took photos and made a complaint. We had a response saying it was our fault through assembly that the damage occurred and basically washed there hands of it. Awful service from a company that really do not care about the most important person the customer. We had intended to buy beds for the rest of the family with Bensons but we won’t now and really ask others to stay clear of this sham of a company. You will not sleep well at night if you have a bad experience like us."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Terrible service took 2 months to arrive and arrived completely damaged with rude delivery driver who threw it on the floor and did not take it into the room we wanted as Bensons had suggested. Not sure what we're going to do now."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I would not rate this company or ever use it again or recommend it to family and friends the service is appalling I wouldn’t even know where to start it was that bad"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Disappointed Customer.
Unverified Reviewer
"Worst store experience. Nobody at the Loughborough store is ready to listen to the customer. Worst customer experience ever. They do not explain return policy and are only interested in the money they make. I will never be buying from them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"We were promised delivery of a mattress on a given date, with a time slot of 07.00am - 1.00pm. In the circumstances we disposed of our old mattress early in the morning in order to receive the new one. Nothing happened - I called Bensons to ask for an update at 2.00pm to be told that the delivery men were running 2-3 hours late and our mattress would definitely be delivered later that afternoon. I called again at 5.00pm for an update and was told that it would be delivered that evening. Nothing happened. We spent the night in arm chairs, not comfortable for me having injured myself and walking with crutches. Next morning I called again and was told that their transport dept. were working out the daily route for deliveries. No confirmation that our mattress was en route. It did finally arrive around 11.30am. My main annoyance is that no-one in the company had the courtesy to keep us informed of the delay and made promises which they could not keep. We will NOT be buying anything further from Bensons in the future."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The staff are unhelpful. The delivery drivers are rude and the service is appalling. They are the worst company that I have dealt with after Legal and General. Customer service are incompetent to the level of high art. I would warn anyone against using this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Shocking company still ongoing problems After 4 weeks wait only got half a bed they have lost the other half Sleeping on the floor"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Carriers buzzed intercom to say the delivery arrived. That was the last Iheard. 2 hrs later after 3 attempts finally got customer service. The carriers said they couldn't deliver upstairs to appt. Found out later they don't deliver beyond 4 floors and I'd told them the lift was out of order that day. So beware if you live in an appt Sales did t advise me of this and carriers disappeared without telling me. Can't get full refund. They said there'd be a 20% cancellation fee. Shop elsewhere."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely useless. Furniture arrived broken. Replacements not delivered correctly and still waiting on drawers. Communication between departments obviously doesn’t happen as had an email to tell me how to fix the furniture that has already been taken away by delivery guys. I have 2 of someone else’s futons say in my hall and damaged floors from delivery guys. Called again today to be told that our replacements had yet again not been ordered properly so more waiting. Would not recommend to anyone. Ordered in jan 18, still waiting..... but it’s ok they offered me vouchers! No thanks. I would never buy from here again. Still waiting for satisfactory resolution.... I’m not going to hold my breath."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Very bad experience. Customer service are the worst ever we've dealt with. Long waiting time over the phon 45 min . They were rude and unhelpful. We bought a bed for my parents and it broke the second day. We're still trying to talk so somebody to fix it. After two calls they saod someone will call back next week."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Delivery date for 2/5/18 no bed and no phone call from them to explain. Now being told the couldn’t deliver on the date they sent so they have passed our bed to a third party who only deliver in our area on a Wednesday. Customer service is non existent and when I finally got to talk to someone the attitude was disgraceful. DO NOT SHOP HERE a shambles of a company"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Abigail Allen
Verified Reviewer
"The base of my bed collapsed and you won’t fix it as it’s my fault for sitting on it and standing on it when I change the sheets. This should not cause it to break its made very cheaply with cardboard. £1300 it cost me! Disgusting"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Customer service is out of control. Do yourself a favour and shop elsewhere."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Process for managing customer complaints and accepted cards policy. I attempted to pay for a mattress online with a Euro payment card. Delivery was going to be to a UK address but the card could be used as only cards with a UK billing address could be taken. When I called up I was told this was the policy online, over the phone and in store. I asked how could I complain about this to be transferred to customer services, only to have to wait 35 minutes for the call to be answered. I was told that they couldn't handle my complaint and I need to contact the ombudsman or email them. I emailed them and only got a response 10 days later. Their response was 'I'm sorry you were unable to use your card . . . Its stated in our terms and conditions'. There was no attempt to manage the complaint better. They have lost custom as a result of their backward approach. I have since been able to buy an equivalent mattress for less using my EURO payment card with argos. I will not use Bensons for beds ever again due to their lack of efficient customer service and ridiculous terms and conditions for payment."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"DO NOT BUY FROM THEM!!!! I urge people to stay away from purchasing from this company. They lie about a 40 day comfort guarantee and lure you into buying from them by repeatedly telling you that. My mattress was completely faulty and i called Benson For Beds 3 days after receiving the item to explain this. They sent out a so called 'technician' (who i believe is biased with his testing to benefit Benson's) who came out and tested the mattress. I repeatedly called them for an update and it wasn't till 3 weeks later that they told me that the technician said that the mattress is faulty due to customer misuse!!!!! We slept on the mattress for one night and it was the worst mights sleep ever! I called within 5 days of having the item so how could we have possibly misused the item?! Customer service was appalling as they refused to let me speak to a manager. My baby was crying so I asked the guy on the phone to give me a call back and he refused!!!!!!! He said he had explained everything i needed to know! I explained as i wasn't happy with the outcome and if i could please call them back, he then started shouting at me over the phone saying they wont be dealing with my complaint. I was absolutely disgusted and appalled by their behaviour! He could clearly hear my baby crying over the phone and when i asked to speak with them later on 'their terms' he told me to hang up if i had to go but they wouldn't be calling me back and wouldnt speak to me in regards to this order again. I honestly cannot believe that they are allowed to trade the way they do in 2018. I feel like watchdog or trading standards needs to expose them for scamming money from innocent people who work hard to earn their money. Please read an article from The Guardian 'Getting that uncomfortable feeling about a £700 mattress from Bensons for Beds' explaining why Bensons For Beds are professional scam artists! Take my advice and please stay away."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Everything about their customer service is appalling. Placed order 30/01/18 then found out later that my order was coming from another company (Kingstown/Consort furniture) Had I known this at the time I would never have ordered anything as this company has some of the worst reviews ever seen! Should have been delivered 12/02/18 but got a call at 6:45pm not coming. This is after waiting all day. Arrived 13/02/18 one wardrobe was faulty delivery crew said someone would come back to rectify. Nobody came or contacted me, I called Bensons and they sent Homeserve out 19/02/18. The guy who came just looked in amazement and said he could not do anything with it but would submit a report with pictures to Bensons. Never heard anything from Bensons so I rang and waited and waited probably 30 to 40 minutes I was told someone from Kingstown would come they arrived 07/03/18 could not fix problem and advised a new wardrobe required. Great at long last something happening.....yes you guessed it no new wardrobe arrived. By this time I had had enough and rang Bensons and said I wanted a refund for the wardrobe, they said OK and would arrange for Kingstown to collect it ..........Waiting over no Kingstown! Rang Bensons again saying I would have the wardrobe removed and put into storage and send them the bill!!! At last on Friday 13 April (guess what I was thinking) it happened a van arrived with real people it wasn't a dream the pile of junk was removed and eventually on 20/04/18 I actually got a refund it was over. I have looked at the number of times I called Bensons and I think it was 31 ,they seem to have some sort of "star" system when you call they tell you to use your order number followed by star 1 or 2 etc my last call to them was star 29 !!!!! I know I made calls and did not get star rating. All in all it has taken nearly 3 months to sort out a relatively simple problem, you either get a replacement or a refund "SIMPLES" NEVER NEVER buy from Bensons if things go wrong you will wait forever. The amount of times you are in a queue when you call and the wait is 30 minutes or more is unbelievable, you do have the option (sometimes) to press number 1 for a call back and SOMETIMES you actually do get a call back. They promise you the world and all you get is a grain of sand.Steer clear. It was a standing joke for a while, my wife would get home "Have you heard from Bensons today" and eventually when she came in I would automatically say "NO" before she asked the question !!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Horrendous customer services, the staff are not very helpful don't seem to care. I have been messed around continuously, don't waste you're time"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Bensons For Beds is rated 1.43 based on 222 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This