RAC Reviews

1.42 Rating 749 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend RAC
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
on-time delivery
Greater than 3%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week
customer service
1.28 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
refunds process
Difficult
Read RAC Reviews

Phone:

801 82 82 82

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Had a warning light come up on my dash a week after a full service and MOT-manual states its unsafe to drive. As a key worker on the front line my car is completely essential. I was unable to get an appointment at my local vauxhall garage (frustratingly). I contacted RAC who i have breakdown cover with. They arrived an hour after i phoned, the mechanic was kind, understanding and very efficient. He found the fault quickly and sorted it immediately. I am very impressed with the service and professionalism.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
If there was an option for 0 I would have used that! Too long a saga to go into, just to say they left us in the middle of nowhere for 10 hours, no food, drink or toilet facilities, no heating and no engine to charge our phones which we’re running low due to the fact we had to keep contacting them.. finally got picked up, not by the RAC didn’t actually see them at all! But by a garage they use, I spent my journey home sitting next to a drivers quilt and pillow!! Lovely then they charged us another £96 to transfer vehicle to a garage. Contacted customer care complete joke!! Needless to say the response was to the effect they don’t guarantee attendance times, they were busier than expected August, not bad weather, 7pm first call to them not a busy time of day! Collection 5am! So we address the issues of a 10hr wait, the fact we had work the next day, not having slept for 24 hrs. But hey feedback was relayed to the relevant managers, and nothing done. Well done you! I just wish I’d read reviews before signing with you! Stay away people do not go anywhere near this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Do not trust these fools.I bought a battery on line and when the movie firing driver came he says it’s a wrong battery and said I had to ring them to sort it out and put a new job in even though he had a correct battery in his van.Ive been timing them all day and couldn’t get trough.I sent email after email but no reply.They left me with a car that won’t start for days and still waiting for reply.Unacceptable .Will never use again .
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Flat battery on T5.Rac were quick after call. Repair van back on the road with out visiting mechanic. Great service .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
IF I COULD RATE THEM ANY LOWER I WOULD. THE RAC ARE THE SINGLE WORST COMPANY THAT I HAVE EVER HAD THE MISFORTUNE TO DEAL WITH. THEY HAVE EXTORTED MONEY FROM ME (£300 FOR A SINGLE CAR BATTERY) HIDING BEHIND THEIR SELF-SERVING POLICY LOOPHOLES THEY DON’T EVEN KNOW THEIR OWN PROCESSES OR POLICIES. THEY WERE THREE HOURS LATER THAN THEY SAID THEY’D BE. THEIR PATROL MAN WAD RUDE AND HAD AN ‘I DON’T CARE’ APPROACH. HE ALSO PUT ME ON SPEAKERPHONE, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF, AND OPENED HIS VAN DOORS SO THAT ALL NEIGHBOURS WOULD HEAR THE ARGUMENT HE WAS GEARING UP FOR, (WHICH DIDN’T HAPPEN). VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. THEY HAVE BEEN INCONSISTENT AND RUDE WITH THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE, THROUGHOUT. THEY HAVE BEEN VERY QUICK TO HAND MY COMPLAINT OFF TO THE OMBUDSMAN, WITHOUT DEALING WITH IT PROPERLY. THEY CLEARLY DO NOT CARE AT ALL, ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY THEY DO NOT GIVE A DAMN. ROBDOGS.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolute joke of a company . Sent proof of no claims within 14 day period they didn’t upload it to the policy. They then sent an email saying policy cancelled followed by an email saying we were insured. We telephoned for clarity only to find out we’re not insured and they can’t change “ the system “ and policy will now be £500 more expensive !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Should be a zero but no option for that. Was told 45 minutes... Sat for 3 hours on the side of a motorway in the dark without working hazard lights. customer service was useless and uncaring.....
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great customer service and very knowledgeable of their products.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Motorcycle broke down in central london. Was promised help within 3 hrs they then took £100 and did not call me for an hour at the 4 th hour I called them and they told me they could not get hold of thier rescue vehicle. I then waited another half an hour and called then as they didn’t call me at all. Then then told me it would be another 4-5 hours which I could t believe. The call centre in Birmingham is a complete joke, the tweens manning the phones wouldn’t know Empathy if they could spell it. Complete joke who just target you for extra cash. If you ride a bike in london and think you can rely on what was once known as the royal automotive company and is now known as Right ARS. Cnts. Not only are they less than helpful they find it funny and take no responsibility. Jokers, they can keep there diverse call centre, I will use a call centre that speak the queens English not back yard Brummy grime slang
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
This disgrace of a company left me stranded for 7 1/2 hours with my baby in the car! Absolutely disgusted
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I would honestly give them 0 stars if it was an option! I received terrible customer service from RAC after breaking down in a terrifying situation. Monday the 9th of March 2020 at approx 7.30pm my car very suddenly broke down out of nowhere whilst I was in the middle lane of a very very busy roundabout. First and foremost I contacted the police to inform them of the situation as I was in immediate danger. Got through to RAC after and explained the situation to them, whilst I was in flood of tears may I add. I was very stressed and very aware of the real danger I was in, being trapped in my car in the middle of a very busy roundabout. The operator was not compassionate in the slightest and told me I would be waiting 3 hours for someone to come out and assist me. I’m sorry but are you kidding me? 3 hours when in immediate danger? How can you justify that. However I had to accept it whilst thinking surely they aren’t really going to take that long. 3 hours came and went and no sign of rescue. I phone back to be told that I was going to be waiting another hour as the mechanic was on another job not too far away from me. Well I thought at least he’s not far. Another hour came and went and still nothing. I phoned back to be told there was nothing on the system for someone being assigned to my job, they would need to phone me back. Needless so say I was not happy. Finally at 00:10 I received a phone call from the RAC mechanic to say he was almost here. Nearly 5 hours later! The mechanic informed me he didn’t receive my job until 23:50 which he showed me on his system. He informed me I was put down very low on the list and I was non emergent. I’m sorry but on what planet was I a non emergent case? I was stranded at a very busy roundabout on my own for almost 5 hours! This is beyond unacceptable! I should have never been put down as non emergent and I’m furious that they did that. How can that be justified?! I never want to be put in that position and made to feel that way ever again. I really hope no one else is ever in that situation. It was horrible, unnecessary and completely unacceptable and in forgivable. I sincerely hope you take this further, as no one should be treated this way. AVOID this company AT ALL COSTS!!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Phoned at 5.45 pm and man in a van arrived 40 minuets later car sorted. Great service thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
RAC man by the name of Mike who covers M42 area and as Exmplerary after our breakdown. Has been with the RAC for 27 years plus. Fantastic personality and a charming person. Pankaj Vaja
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Greatest scam ever, been with them over 2 years never made a claim. Sent me a rescue driver who tried to connect me to a local tyre fitter who was charging me £180 minmum but said it could be higher depending on the type of tyre I needed. Tried to convince the customer service that the puncture I had wasn't recoverable. Customer service told him to get me a quote he told the quote was higher. I was better off having the local tyre fitter come out. As I was looking at paying RAC another £200 to be recovered and I would still have to pay for the tyre regardless. Was very upset and I asked him to live. Called RAC, they sent me a recovery after another 3 hours wait plus the 2 and half. Recovery driver told me this is a trick rac has got down their sleeves especially with tyres. They tell their rescue van drivers to come with every excuse of making sure that they get extra money by selling other service like tyre fitting or rescuing. Its scam wouldn't go near them. Ever again. Just a brand name but rubbish service. Imagine living a vulnerable woman with children on the for 5 hours.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Called at 8pm they arrived at 5am and towed us at 8.30am, we were st the 02 arena car park when we noticed a minor water leak but we were 100 miles from home so didn't want to risk breaking the car all together, the man arrived I explained the issue and asked for some rad seal he insisted there was no leak (there certainly was) then ran the car with the coolant cap off until it boiled over then diagnosed it as water pump or head gasket (which it probably was after he boiled it) by the time he was finished with it we would've been better off driving home as it probably would've done less damage than the man who the RAC sent out, when he showed up his manner was rude, he was smoking and asked for cigarettes he could barely speak english and I'm certain that he was not a trained mechanic, it was 5 in the morning and we had to put faith in this total idiot, shame on you RAC I will be joining the AA instead
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Just a flat battery. I needed to pick up my elderly parents from Luton Airport. I made the call at 2.30pm. Lots of excuses why there were delays. They finally came at 8pm. Avoid the RAC they are a complete waste of time.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
First time using RAC. Got full cover 7 Hours for a home start call out Totally unacceptable The policy seems to be start with a 90 minute estimate and then fobb the member off constantly until someone is actually able to attend. Appalling Never again will I use the RAC and I will make it my mission to tell others
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Absolute joke. 5 hours wait first day was told it was fixed. Went to go out next day still nothing waited all day with numerous phone calls to them. Was on phone to them from 2 to 11pm being told tow truck coming. Never turned up. Had to phone next day as they promised would be here for 12 and still nothing. Finally subbed it out to proper recovery service and got towed. We were fed a load of lies and fobbed off over and over. Part of our service agreement when we bought the car. Definately wouldn't renew with them.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Just read the other reviews...!! Shocking - they overcharge for car insurance too, then when you want to leave charge you random amounts without informing you first. I was quoted £55 to cancel my insurance with them, plus a £9.50 odd additional charge, which I begrudgingly accepted, seeing as I'd already just paid the monthly charge a couple of days ago - only to find a random £20 charge come out of my old bank account about a month later..! I'm calling them tomorrow to challenge it, but doubt they'll help me with it. unbelievable. I know we're all over the barrel with insurance companies, but to just charge people without telling them why is a joke. Also, their road side assistance service is also a total joke too - 4hrs to come and deal with a breakdown, while the AA were there in 10mins and fixed the issue for my other half. DONT GO NEAR THIS ORGANISATION - JUST DON'T.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
21 hours to recover a vehicle 100 miles The rear air suspension failed on my Discovery one Monday evening, first of all I have to say this was NOT during the mayhem of an Easter bank holiday or during a once in a decade freak weather event, this was a normal Monday evening. I called in the problem at 6.50pm giving my exact location, nature of the fault, vehicle details and the fact I was towing a trailer, I was given a response time of approx 21/2 to 3 hours. after 3 hours I phoned and was informed it would be another 45 minutes, an hour later it was still going to be another 45 minutes, and yet again in another hour it was, yes you've guessed it, still going to be 45minutes, now at no point did anyone from the RAC contact me to tell me of the delay or give an explanation. At 1.00am Tuesday morning a contract recovery vehicle turned up, but on seeing the trailer, said he wasn't being paid to recover that, so got in his truck and left. At 2.30am a second recovery vehicle arrives and informs me his depot is only 5 miles from my location, and can't understand why he wasn't called first, however his hours at this point are nearly up, so the RAC have instructed him to take me to a motorway services some 50 miles or so away, where I shall be transferred to another contractor for the rest of the journey, unfortunately that would not be until 8.30am when the next shift takes over. By 9.00am nothing has happened, so I call the RAC who inform me someone is on the way, which turns out to be a driver who has no license to tow a trailer, now, to keep this as short as possible this happened yet again with the next contractor hired to do the job, finally at 2.15pm Tuesday a suitable vehicle and driver arrives and I eventually get home at 4.00pm Tuesday just over 21 hours since I fist called the breakdown in. At no point in the first 17 hours of all this, did anyone from the RAC contact me, despite numerous apologies and promises and assurances that someone would do so. Now you would expect that a customer phoning up after 17 hours waiting, someone would make damn sure it was sorted. But still the blundering goes on. I made numerous attempts to speak to a supervisor/manager,only to be told they do not come to the phone, but would call me back. And I am still waiting for that call. In the end I phoned customer services who reluctantly got involved. I have been a member of the RAC for 16 years ( there won't be a 17th) and have to say in that time this company has nosedived, they may be able to attend minor breakdowns, but if you need recovery, their set up is woefully inadequate, which is saying something for a company whose core business is roadside rescue and recovery I could find in this experience no redeeming features, the experience with the call centre can only be described as appalling, thier apologies as empty as thier promises to call back, a management team not prepared to speak to customers, and a heavy reliance on contractors some of which were were obviously not up to the standard. Bizarrely enough whilst waiting at the motorway services 2 AA recovery trucks arrived together to recover 2 vehicles parked near me, I was talking to the AA man who was astounded at how long I had been there, 17 hours at this point, but he asked me, when was the last time I saw a recovery truck painted up in RAC livery, that got me thinking, I don't think I have seen one for years, And here lies the problem, despite being one of the most expensive road rescue companies, there would appear to be a complete lack of investment, call centre staff who would appear to be very poorly trained led by managers who would appear to be incompetent or just plain don't give a stuff. This is a company in crisis and most certainly a very very long way from what is was 16 years ago. Mistakes happen and I accept that, but this is so much more than a mistake, this was a systemic and repetitive failure at every single level, and as such, can no longer be relied upon when you most need them. I have posted a photo of my silver Discovery surrounded by AA recovery vehicles whilst still waiting for the RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
RAC is rated 1.42 based on 749 reviews