Primrose Reviews

1.27 Rating 554 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Primrose
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 11%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 46%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.05 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Primrose made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ordered some house plants from this company and was promised on two occasions that they had been dispatched, complete lies from start to finish! After ten days, contacted PayPal to try and get my money back. Suddenly, a parcel turned up with part of the order! It is still ongoing now! A nightmare of a company! Do not go near them!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi, I'm very sorry that you have been unable to get hold of us. I apologise if you have been left despondent from your experience. I have contacted our accounts department to help them refund you promptly. - Meredyth
Posted 1 week ago
Ordered an electric heater 19/04/21, it arrived damaged on 19/06/21 so they promptly arranged a courier to pick up the first one and deliver a replacement but the courier accidently picked up our parcels that were delivered to us that day from another company as well as the damaged heater on 26/06/21. This was an honest mistake by the courier, the product ended up being sent back to the warehouse at Primrose - this parcel is worth £500+ and I am still no further forward with receiving my parcel back - customer service all tell me someone will call me back that day and not once has anyone done so and nobody seems to know where my parcel is within their company - frustrated isn't the word!!! The second heater also arrived damaged.... Trying this route now so someone will maybe call me back or better still find my parcel!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi, I'm very sorry that you have been unable to get hold of us. I apologise if you have been left despondent from your experience. I have contacted you directly to help rectify this. - Meredyth
Posted 1 week ago
The left hand replacement arm that was promised in July 2021 on a six month lead time did not arrive despite Primrose saying it was in stock now . Primrose now say it will arrive in stock on Jan 2022 . So two summers have passed and we are not able to use the awning , if I am to believe Primrose the arm has been in stock recently but they couldn’t be bothered to tell the customer who’s order they had and refunded . If I knew where to get this arm elsewhere I would do so , primrose do not help with this matter . I will NEVER deal with primrose again and I CANNOT RECOMMEND PRIMROSE TO ANYONE . They simply do not know anything about customer care .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi, I'm really sorry for the disappointment your latest order with Primrose has caused you. In order to resolve the issue for you and improve your experience with us, I’ve now emailed you to assist you further. - Meredyth
Posted 2 weeks ago
I ordered two trees last October, was then told they were on pre order... Which website hadn't said, they had said it was in stock. They then said next June (2021)after much hassle and chasing on my part they arrive 18th August... The Tibetan cherry tree arrived OK but the Amelanchier is very small and leaves are covered in mildew.... I'd add a photo but seem unable to do that
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience and service you have had with us. I completely understand your disappointment. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 weeks ago
No communication from Primrose unless the customer instigates it . Been waiting for them to tell me when the replacement awning arm I need is in stock , they said 27 July . Not heard a word from Primrose ! When I got in touch with them they sent a link to order the goods which were already in stock , wrong link sent to me so wrong item received ! Don’t bother trying to ring , I waited for 40 minutes a time until the line goes dead ! Apparently they are busy dealing with customers ( complaints I presume ) . I am so not impressed , these people asked me if I bought the product in question from them !! Why oh why would I bother them if I didn’t get the product from them???They have full computer records of all transactions . It’s just sheer incompetence ! In my humble opinion they need qualified computer literate customer service personnel and a system that brings follow up requirements to them in a timely manner . Products are quality customer service is not ! I may have to give up , Chuck my awning in the bin snd shop elsewhere ! So awful , so frustrating !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi, I’m really sorry for the experience you’ve had with us and I can understand your frustration, I’ve sent you an email to hopefully resolve your issue and make up for the service you’ve had. - Meredyth
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible will never use again , ordered and paid for next day delivery, chased item to be told that it has not even been despatched, waited all day terrible you just done care avoid buying
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience and service you have had with us. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Will NEVER EVER USE AGAIN. Incompetence and lies, that’s Primrose. They won’t send a single email to a customer and all we are hearing are different stories - here’s a tip - don’t sell a product if you don’t have it in stock.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into this experience and can see my colleague has resolved this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I have ordered 4ft 'Boskoop Glory' Large Grape Vine | 4.5L Pot and 3ft 'Phoenix' Grape Vine | 4.5L Pot . However, one of the vines wasn't in the condition I expected it to be in. Most of the leaves were dry and yellow and some of the tendrils and stems were damaged. I emailed them for solve the problem and this is their reply: "Unfortunately this can be a common issue across the main order plant industry, our nursery have made the following comments regarding this: Transit of plants can be mildly traumatic, being uprooted and unwatered for the period of transit, especially in the warmer months, though this rarely results in any issues with the plant once it has arrived and is planted. They can only advise to keep the plant well-watered, and continue to monitor its progress over the next 3-4 weeks.I'd recommend watering the plant either early morning or late in the evening, to prevent the evaporation of water, allowing the plant to get as much as it needs. If the condition of the plant does not improve after this time, we can take further action. "
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear you are not happy with our resolution. We did show your plant to the nursery and this was the advice they have given. If we can assist any further please do let us know. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Parcel still not arrived Response from Primrose states they have contacted me directly….they have not and since I’m working from home can see no reason why they say the delivery failed… not impressed Just seen an email from Primrose, not exactly direct! Also they state a card was left, no one tried to deliver or drop a card, that is untrue Update; promised re/delivery, again waited in all day to no avail. I have listened to their answering machine for nearly an hour without moving in the queue, I can only assume it’s other people complaining. I have asked by emai for them to cancel and refund it is now 13 days since I ordered a simple product. This is absolutely disgraceful customer service, do not buy from this company Eventually got through to Doreen at Primrose who said they would deliver on the 11th, told her I’m not interested and want a refund…told that would take 5 days when everyone knows BACS are almost instant. Rubbish company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into this and can see my colleague and myself have resolved this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered a plant from Primrose and received an email to say it has been despatched. A good few days later, I received another email to say that they couldn’t fulfil my order. So, why tell me it had been despatched?! Seems dishonest. A lot of time wasted making sure someone was home. I could have shopped elsewhere in the time it took them to inform me. A complete joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience and service you have had with us. I completely understand your disappointment. I have looked into this order and can see the dispatch email was sent in error. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Runner Bean Plants and Courgette Plants ordered on 28th June, your site stated that a delay of up to 10 days (presumably due to covid) this was just about acceptable. I telephoned on 14th July as no delivery had arrived, very unsatisfied as I was promised that I would receive delivery the next week - as it was too late to order substitute from an alternative supplier I reluctantly agreed to this final delay. I finally received delivery this morning -(6th August) Totaly unacceptable. given the size of the plants I suspect that they where not even planted as seeds when I placed the original order (i could have planted new seeds myself at time of ordering and the plants would be bigger now!!!) I was happy to sent them back (as per distance selling legislation)as they are no longer fit for purpose (I have been harvesting my existing beans and courgettes for the past two weeks). having requested A REFUND IT WAS REFUSED WILL NOT BE USING AGAIN AND ADVISE AGAINST!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I’m really sorry for the experience you’ve had with us and I can understand your frustration, I’ve sent you an email to hopefully resolve your issue and make up for the service you’ve had. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered 4 Bamboo plants on 28/7/21. At a cost of £189.95. They were to be delivered within 2-4 working days. After 5 working days I attempted to contact Primrose. Their customer service telephone line takes ages to get through, so I tried Live Chat. The operator left the chat, without me having an answer. The following day I tried calling again and waited the ridiculous amount of time it took to get through. The girl on the phone told me they are simply agents for the nurseries. I got the distinct impression she could not care less. No interest, complete lack of knowledge, and real cold vibe. So the fact they are merely a third party is very apparent. She said she’d call me back and did not. I read all the awful reviews at this point and decided I had prob dodged a bullet. The next day I called selected the sales option and was connected to an operator immediately. Requested a refund and have written confirmation it’s happened. Lesson learned. Avoid this company. There are so many amazing local garden centres, stick with those instead. Primrose are not reliable, and appear to not care in the slightest.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience and service you have had with us. I completely understand your disappointment. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I received a tree that was a third of the size ordered and promised. When I complained I was offered a partial refund which was not even a third of the price. When I refused the offer no one got.back to me until I asked for a refund. Now I have no tree and have to wait in for the tiny tree to be collected. This has taken a month to resolve with no explanation or apology. Will never use again .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience and service you have had with us. I completely understand your disappointment. I am currently resolving this with you directly. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I wish I read the reviews before ordering. What a load of rubbish. Order was due to come in 3 parts. First one arrived, 3 boxes of plants absolutely battered, sent pics to customer services, which apparently wasn't enough evidence of damage. Second batch of plants didn't arrive. Was told 4 different stories 1) had been dispatched 2) out of stock 3) Cancelled in error would be here in 7 days 4) Cancelled in error would be dispatched in 7-10 days. The only item that did arrive undamaged was compost, which is ironic as I have nothing to plant. Still awaiting refund, will have to do chargeback from bank. Terrible from start to finish
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into this experience and can see my colleague has resolved this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I waited three weeks for my order to be delivered and they only delivered 1 out of 5 items. The service was so appalling that I said I didn’t want to wait any longer for the others to be delivered so just a refund. However, they refused to give me the delivery charge back insisting I got one item. I’m happy to pay a delivery charge if I get all my deliveries!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I’m really sorry for the experience you’ve had with us and I can understand your frustration, I’ve sent you an email to hopefully resolve your issue and make up for the service you’ve had. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a water feature, last year. Had to buy extra lead as it was not as described. 10 days ago the pump malfunctioned. I contacted them as it was under warranty ( joke).Despite numerous Live Chats I am no further forward. Apparently some staff are working from home so “cannot contact the appropriate department “. I sent a photo of the pump with all the relevant numbers on it . Made no difference. I rang them seven days later, after waiting 35 minutes on the phone I was promised a call back that day. It didn’t happen. This company has no concept of customer service, no empathy. The only thing they do well is take your money. Pity there isn’t a section for 0 stars.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience and service you have had with us. I completely understand your disappointment. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
I wouldnt even give this company one star, cant get hold of on the phone, order given on 8 may and paid £82 chased after a month to be told plants were late developing due to weather and would be with me by end of June, chased a few days ago as still not received to be told they were despatched in may which contradicts what I was told in due, apparently my refund is on the way fingers crossed and now too late in the season to be bought anywhere else.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into this order and can see my colleague has resolved this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a summer house in March and paid £4600. Expected delivery in July so called last week to be told it would be coming yesterday…didn’t arrive. Queued forever to speak to customer services only to be told my order had been cancelled but if I wanted to reorder the price is now over £7000.!!!!! THEY STILL HAVE MY MONEY and gave promises twice that somebody in authority will call me back to rectify this.. STILL WAITING😡
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see it has been cancelled and refunded. A supervisor will be in contact shortly to explain this for you in more detail. I apologise for any disappointment caused. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid like the plague! - I ordered a summer house and paid for it 3 months ago - during this time I called 4 times to confirm the delivery date was still ok - I proceeded to have the concrete base built, put furniture in storage and book holidays to assemble it. I even called the week before delivery. On the day of delivery as we waited at home I called again- they said they had cancelled the order because the prices had changed. I now have a concrete base tailored to that summerhouse, furniture in storage, and prices elsewhere have gone up in the meantime. Primrose avoids any communication whatsoever, no returning of calls or emails. See attached photo base waiting for summerhouse - So far primrose had left me high and dry.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about the preparations you made for the item. The supplier unfortunately did cancel the order and so we were left with no choice but to cancel for you. A supervisor will be in touch with you as soon as they can to explain in more detail. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Plants arrived in poor condition and most have since died. Asked Customer Services - very unhelpful and refused to refund. Asked for voucher or replacements, CS didn't reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have contacted you directly to request further information so I can assist. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Primrose is rated 1.27 based on 554 reviews