Primrose Reviews

1.27 Rating 556 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Primrose
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 11%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 46%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.05 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Primrose made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I wouldnt even give this company one star, cant get hold of on the phone, order given on 8 may and paid £82 chased after a month to be told plants were late developing due to weather and would be with me by end of June, chased a few days ago as still not received to be told they were despatched in may which contradicts what I was told in due, apparently my refund is on the way fingers crossed and now too late in the season to be bought anywhere else.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into this order and can see my colleague has resolved this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a summer house in March and paid £4600. Expected delivery in July so called last week to be told it would be coming yesterday…didn’t arrive. Queued forever to speak to customer services only to be told my order had been cancelled but if I wanted to reorder the price is now over £7000.!!!!! THEY STILL HAVE MY MONEY and gave promises twice that somebody in authority will call me back to rectify this.. STILL WAITING😡
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see it has been cancelled and refunded. A supervisor will be in contact shortly to explain this for you in more detail. I apologise for any disappointment caused. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid like the plague! - I ordered a summer house and paid for it 3 months ago - during this time I called 4 times to confirm the delivery date was still ok - I proceeded to have the concrete base built, put furniture in storage and book holidays to assemble it. I even called the week before delivery. On the day of delivery as we waited at home I called again- they said they had cancelled the order because the prices had changed. I now have a concrete base tailored to that summerhouse, furniture in storage, and prices elsewhere have gone up in the meantime. Primrose avoids any communication whatsoever, no returning of calls or emails. See attached photo base waiting for summerhouse - So far primrose had left me high and dry.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about the preparations you made for the item. The supplier unfortunately did cancel the order and so we were left with no choice but to cancel for you. A supervisor will be in touch with you as soon as they can to explain in more detail. - Meredyth
Posted 1 month ago
Plants arrived in poor condition and most have since died. Asked Customer Services - very unhelpful and refused to refund. Asked for voucher or replacements, CS didn't reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have contacted you directly to request further information so I can assist. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Placed an order and received a dispatch notice. The delivery company marked item not received two weeks later. Chase with customer service to be informed the items are sold out. So why was I informed of dispatch. I will avoid in future.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into this experience and can see my colleague has resolved this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered beans and peas they arrived over a month late- if I had sown them when I ordered I would be harvesting by now. They arrived very poorly and inadequately packed, squashed and some are dead. Can’t seem to be able to upload images on this site. The delivery did not give me a time slot and came without prior announcement when I was out, and didn’t leave as instructed. Then package was left for at least 3 days in their warehouse which could account for some of the abysmal state. I am very very disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I’m really sorry for the experience you’ve had with us and I can understand your frustration, I’ve sent you an email to hopefully resolve your issue and make up for the service you’ve had. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Primrose offer an extremely large range of products some of which are supplied direct from themselves & others which are sent direct from the manufacturer/supplier. IMO it would be almost impossible to get everything right all of the time. In our case we ordered a Fincus plant 100cms tall in a 23cms pot which was on sale at under £30.00. It arrived as promised within the 5 days, perfectly boxed and protected. A lush healthy plant exactly as advertised which exceeded our expectations. We have no complaints whatsoever !!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear you have enjoyed this experience with us.- Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a 4ft photinia the same day after recieving an email saying it's back in stock. Once arrived, two days later, it was barely 3ft. I tried to call but they like their weekends off so I emailed. Took them a week to get back to me, trying to tell me there was no such thing as a 4ft. The offer was a limited time offer (must have been three minutes) and proceeded to send me a copy of my order to prove me wrong, although height was never mentioned their end. I felt it necessary to screenshot and send over my emails and order confirmation which clearly states 4ft. I feel like they actually don't care in the slightest. Awaiting further instructions for a return.....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I’m really sorry for the experience you’ve had with us and I can understand your frustration, I’ve looked into the order and can see my colleague has now resolved this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a courgette plant a number of weeks ago and it never arrived. I telephoned primrose to find out where it was, queued for over 10 mins to speak to a customer service representative and my call was dropped as I reached the front of the queue. Very frustrating! I have since emailed and I received a message saying someone would contact me in 48 hours. Once 48 hours was up I received another message to say it would be another 48 hours. This company is a scam I think. Still no item and they have taken my money. Avoid! I won’t be returning!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear that your order has not arrived. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you.- Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered tree advertised in stock and 3-5 day delivery time on 16th May. 6 weeks later still awaiting delivery. Created ticket, no reply to messages and phone line not open. As first time customer I won’t use Primrose again and recommend you stay clear.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see my colleague has contacted you to resolve this directly with you. I apologise for your experience with us. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Order not arrived after nearly 4 weeks. Can't get through on phone. Emailed 3 times but no reply whatsoever. Very, very bad.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear that your order has not yet arrived. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered three large black bamboo plants described as over 2m tall. I received three plants, all under 2m - one barely 4ft and two badly broken. I immediately put in a request for replacements or refund and have heard nothing from them in over 2 weeks. I’ve now put my complaint in writing and hope at least this will be acknowledged. I spent £250 with this company for three plants in poor condition and nothing like their description.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,I have looked into your order and can see that my colleague has assisted and resolved this with you. I apologise for your experience. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
ordered tomato plants 26 days ago which makes the 5-10 day delivery a joke.Phone lines are not available ,big surprise , emails are ignored ,how companies like this stay in business is beyond me .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I have looked for your email and been unable to locate it so I have instead emailed you directly to assist. In terms of our phone lines they are open from Monday to Thursday 9am to 5pm and our live chat is available as well. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
I spent 150 pound, on plants,I ordered on the 21st May. They were supposed to come within 7 to 10 days, they hadn't came by three weeks, so when I rang, the Asian lady said they haven't been picked you will get them end of this week or beginning of next week. They came on the Monday, I went to put them in garden the next day. Half of them were mouldy, so put them in the garden,hoping they would pick up, but they are dying. I rang to complain yet again an Asian woman, who told me to send photos,when I explained I didn't have a computer,she said without pictures I wouldn't get a refund.I couldn't understand half she said. When I asked to speak to an English speaking person I was told I was disrespectful, and rascist. Well thats a lot of money I have lost for nothing, I will never use primrose again, these plants had obviously been in the box for a while for them to go mouldy.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this with you and it has been agreed to send images via your home computer. I apologise for any problems caused by the damaged plants and our english customer service representative. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
The plants I ordered on 26.4.21. arrived unfortunately in a very poor condition. One plant has not survived at all. I eventually managed to get through on the phone but was advised to email and I would have a support user activation number. This was on 30.4.21. I received a blunt response to my email to which I replied with all the necessary information requested. I have still yet to receive any further response. I have tried on a number of occasions to get in touch by phone unfortunately it is always engaged or that option isn’t available that day. How a business can continue to operate with such poor customer service is beyond me. Save your money and shop elsewhere for your garden requirements, your garden deserves good quality merchandise.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear this. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. I apologise for your experience. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
I’ve honestly never experienced worse customer service and the quality of their fence panels is extremely poor for the price. I bought 5 heavy frame willow fence panels which look great online and would be amazing in real life if built properly but sadly they aren’t. The frames don’t align properly and the willows stick out. I was prepared to accept all but one though which was delivered badly damaged. I emailed the next day and simply asked for a replacement. I have emailed 3 times, submitted a report through their portal and heard absolutely nothing in 10 days. I’m in total disbelief that any business can operate in this manner. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear that it has taken us a long time to assist. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered pre planted pot and basket selections in early May. Arrived this week whilst I was out with no warning of delivery. Although requested the delivery be left in a cool place, they were stacked in blazing sunshine at my front door. Needless to say the plants were severely damaged and wilted. Will not be using this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I apologise for the plants condition. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Package arrived unannounced and in a badly damaged box. There was no checklist inside to check the contents with. Judging by the build instructions I suspect that contents are missing. I emailed Primrose whose automated reply said that they would respond in 2 days. 7 days later there is still no reply. I tried phoning twice but after and automated message they hung up. I never got to speak to anyone. I emailed again and am awaiting reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience you have had and how they have arrived. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 2 months ago
Initially I emailed to ask when my plants would be delivered. Three days later I discovered my ticket had been closed without any response from customer services. I spent 20 minutes waiting for customer services, when I did get through I was told that the courier hadn't collected my plants. After the phone I received an email to say expect the plants by next week, a delivery notification would be sent. The next week I had no notification but the plants arrived half dead. Blackened leaves , bone dry soil, broken flowers, they were in a terrible state. I took photo's straight the way and emailed the pictures to customer complaints, two days later and no reply from Primrose. It was obvious that my plants had been boxed up and left for far too long before they were finally delivered. Primrose you have shown total disregard throughout, your customer service was non existant. This is the first and last time I use you.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience you have had. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 3 months ago
After having a horrendous time trying to get plants delivered last year, which eventually only happened after I raised a PayPal dispute, I mistakenly decided to give them another go this year. More fool me. Delivery date came and went with no arrival. Primrose are *still* promising 3-7 day delivery next to many of their lines, which is downright misleading given their own admission that they can't meet this. Plants eventually were not delivered to me but instead to someone almost five miles away, who kindly drove them over to my house. About half the plug plants were snapped, dead, or rotten. 25 out of 30 from a set were not in the delivery at all. One of the potted plants was dehydrated and dead. Attempts to reach the customer service team by web chat and phone were not successful. Given this is now the second year in a row of horrendous service I've just gone straight to a partial refund request via PayPal dispute resolution. I expect at the most there will be the usual "we're sorry to hear about your experience" from one of their reps on here. The problem with this company lies not with those people, but instead at the top; their corporate culture is clearly terrible which is filtering down to the level of service provided throughout. Do *not* buy from this company. They don't deserve your money.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Chris, thank you for your review. I am really sorry for the experience. I have now emailed you to resolve the issue for you. Apologies for the disappointment caused. -Lily
Posted 3 months ago
Primrose is rated 1.27 based on 556 reviews