Wickes Reviews

1.99 Rating 299 Reviews
22% of reviewers recommend Wickes

Phone:
0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:
National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Categories:
Business & Office
DIY & Tools
Hardware

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Wickes?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"No delivery No sorry Ordered tiles and paid extra for timed delivery. Delivery didn't arrive when phoned they said I don't know why they were ordered from a certain store as they had no stock, explained i ordered and paid online not with any store. They said they would cancel order and return payment. No sorry!!!!!! I explained I had tilers waiting to fit the tiles was told by Tammy (wouldn't give surname) nothing they can do and to read there terms and conditions. will never use this company again."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 hours ago
"My daughter telephoned to make an appointment regarding planning anew kitchen, after giving some brief information of what she was looking for the customer service!! reply was abrupt unhelpful and resulted in my daughter putting the phone down. Needless to say she will be looking elsewhere for her new kitchen you lost a her order and will lose a lot of others until you employ competent helpful staff."
Helpful Report
Posted 20 hours ago
"Went to pick up small order. Staff overly zealous on ID. After loads of questions I thought I might be asked to take my shoes off and walk through X-ray machine!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Terrible service. Very rude, unprofessional staff at the store and delivery. They expect you to pick up your order from the van, as the driver cannot leave the vehicle, but will not let let you know in advance when they are coming. 30£ for that! Save your money, and time. Best to avoid."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Bought a toilet from them and somehow they have successfully designed so that you have to have the hand of a baby to change the seat. Bloody idiots."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Roger M Meyts
"Dealt with a complex order helpfully, swiftly and the delivery driver was very helpful."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Christopher Hansom
"Great choice and very good prices for basic and high end items"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Used to go out of my way to give Wickes my business. Shame they don't want it"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Mrs Shakeara Sikder
Verified Reviewer
"Incompetent fitting. Only had kitchen fitted last April and endless problems with my kitchen. The two year workmanship guarantee is a pathetic lie. I've logged problems with my kitchen since Nov 17 and still no one out to address the issues I ve registered. Your fitters are incompetent. Your call centre agents including the complaints department are an utter disgrace and such unprofessional idiots. You 've ruined my kitchen and given me a terrible experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Very poor service at till, bought lengths of plumbing pipe, assistant moved it all causing the pipe to fall through the gaps in the trolley, piping was all over the floor. No apology or offer of help to pick it all up. Left trying to pick it up, hold the trolley and input payment details. No please, thank you, eye contact, very offhand. Shop floor staff were fine and helpful but till service was awful."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Booked a kitchen appointment for the first available time nearly 3 weeks only for them to cancel it 3 days prior to appointment. very poor"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Loyal Customer
Unverified Reviewer
"I purchased a hoover a few days ago and wanted returned because it is horribly noisy!!!! Literally we are not able to work with it without the ear protectors. They said that we can not return it because there is not original packaging!?! Who the hell keeps a big cardboard box thinking that one day it will be needed when something goes wrong!?!? Beware of buying stuff from Wickes!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Wickes state that “Our approved installers are experts at bringing dream kitchens to life and will take care of all the details. So all you need to do is sit back, relax and watch everything take shape”. Our experience (Wickes Southampton Extra) was the total opposite with an estimated two to three week installation taking three months to complete. This despite paying for their personal end to end service and having their ‘best fitters’. So much was wrong and I will never recommend either Wickes or their ‘approved installers’ Abercrombie Projects. The list is endless but be aware that we encountered: •Delivery delays and wrong or damaged items sent more than once. •Poor communication and friction between the planner and installers. •A change of key installer part way through leading to mistakes causing further delays when things had to be put right. •A huge snagging list and some shoddy work due to the fitters rushing when the project overran. •Forgery of a signature on the credit agreement by the installers which is inexcusable. An overall shambles, which despite a modicum of compensation leaves a very sour taste."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
JOHN MCBLAIN
Verified Reviewer
"Bathroom in a small flat. Approved installers charged in survey over £700 for a bath frame they said was needed to support the bath, pipework over and above what was supplied by wickes and £280 to remove the old bathroom and dispose of rubbish. When the job was finished and within days a leak in the basin because it was not fitted correctly plus w/c cistern not screwed onto wall. We then discovered instead of installing the bath panel they used a bit of cut down furniture panel [not waterproof] and when we told them to take it away discovered they had not put in a bath frame but claimed they had and we could not see it because it was behind the bath. Threatened to sue us if we did not pay the balance. Wickes customer complaints sat on the issue saying they had no record of the various E mails and calls we made. After months of attempts to resolve the regional install manager came and accepted all we had said was true and offered to get back monies we over paid and offered £150 for us to finish the install ourselves!! Customer services offered £150 for the months of worry they caused us and claimed the furniture ombudsman has been consulted by them and its fair and reasonable. This has been rejected by us and we now have to wait for the ombudsman to review our case. NEVER USE WICKES INSTALLERS OR IF YOU DO CHECK THE FIGURES THEY ASK ARE FAIR AND EXTRA COSTS ARE ACTUALLY USED UP."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Tony
"under staffed and the staff that was on duty were ill or couldn't care less about their customer"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The actual builders were very good, however we had problems with Wickes from start to finish. The designer who came out to give us our quote was sexist and to be honest quite insulting toward me as I was a woman. He wouldn't address my questions (unless it was with a patronising response) and would just address my husband. He then told us he could all be guarantee (a clever choice of words) that our bathroom would fitted before christmas. This was why we went with Wickes. After paying the full amount up front as we were told me had to, we were quickly told delivery would be min 6 weeks so there was no hope it would be done by Christmas. When we eventually got around to getting it fitted, we were told by the builder it would cost an additional £1000 (we had been told additional costs would come up but were assured by our designer it would be no more than £200). The work was then put on hold for a week (a week where we had a functioning toilet and nothing else working in our only bathroom) as the designer had ordered the wrong toilet and wrong spashboards, and the wrong measurements for the bath had been taken. It then took Wickes a further week after the work was completed to come and collect the giant pile of rubbish and rubble left in our front garden. During all this our contact at Wickes was extremely hard to get in touch with. I am not faulting the work of the external contractors who worked hard and were always professional. I will never use Wickes again."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Andrew Jackson
"Used click and collect - items waiting for me on arrival, but took several mnutes before I was served"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Drove to the nearest branch of wickes (Westwood cross, Thanet) after seeing an item in the clearance sale was in stock at that branch. Got there, queued up and was then flatly told that no it wasn't in stock, despite it still being listed as in stock online, and that I was actually the 4th person to come in for it, and they'd been meaning to change it online. Somebody needs to get sacked."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sue From Newcastle
Verified Reviewer
"WICKES ON LINE - VERY POOR ordered a door, paid extra 12.95 to have delivered bet 8am and 1pm on a particular day ....( had the email confirmation) builder at the ready.... door came at 4pm!!!!!! Delivery man totally unaware that the item was supposed to arrive before 1pm and wasn't bothered anyway- very unsympathetic and non apologetic. Total waste of time and money ( still had builder to pay for!)"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"DREADFUL SERVICE DO NOT USE WICKES! A DISGUSTING FIRM!! I have been waiting for 9 months for the fitter to come back and fix the shower attachment. I have phoned Wickes customer services repeatedly. My attempts to speak to a manager or make a formal complaint are brushed off. I have been promised callbacks by the customer services team serveral times but never actually been called back. The treatment I have received from this firm has been APPALLING, totally DISGRACEFUL. The bathroom plus fitting cost in the region of £7000 and I used Wickes because of the 2 year guarantee which has proved to be a total waste of time. Anyone considering using them - I would advise you find an independent plumber as Wickes’ guarantee is WORTH NOTHING!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wickes is rated 1.99 based on 299 reviews