Whizz Education Reviews

4.20 Rating 20 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend Whizz Education
Read Whizz Education Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0207 298 5162

Write Your review

Tell us how Whizz Education made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The child can play more than doing maths. Plus the questions took too long to up a level even when it became clear the he's mastered similar type of questions.

No control given to the parents to set the level or what to focus. That means if your child hasn't played it for a while, the child has to go through a long series of tests to reach his updated level. It can be very boring in that sense and feels a bit waste of time. Also the child could go free to any area of the play/practice zones, which makes it nearly impossible to ensure the child focus on improving the weakest knowledge points unless you supervise him all the way through!

All in all, comparing with another program we signed up, with a busy schedule everyday, I don't think this maximised the ratio of efforts/time/benefit.
Posted 1 week ago
I've got this for nearly three months but haven't used it for more than half of that time because of the frustration. my 7 years old son was made to count scooters/bikes over and over again. I didn't realise for ages until one day he told me this program is too boring and he didn't want to do it. I then looked into it, the "challenges" allocated to him were about reception/ early Y1 level. I then tried to contact them which didn't seem to be straightforward. Finally I got in touch with someone online who said my son needed to resit the assessment to match him to the right level.

The assessment took forever! Because he's Y2, so it took a good 40 minutes before he got to roughly his own level of capability. In the end, I had to ask him to just close the laptop as it's nearly impossible to ask a child at this age to concentrate doing maths for such a long stretch of time. There's no option for a break/save the progress.

I'm not sure in the end, when he re login, if the assessment result managed to be registered. Just now, when I ask him to login to do some exercise, he went straight into "Counting Hats"!!! For goodness sake, I didn't pay the entire year to let him do basic counting. I managed to find the sequence of number. It looked interesting, but within 3 minutes, he started complaining the button is Not working. The program says "Click OK" which didn't work at all. But actually you need to use "Tab" and "Enter" button to progress. How could someone expect a 7 years old to figure out all these?

I'm giving it another week or so. If it bothers him more than being helpful, I'd request for refund!
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your review; your feedback is so important to us. The assessment starts at your child's age and can take up to an hour and half depending on your child's needs. We appreciate this can feel like it drags on; the tutor is using that time to get an accurate measure of your child's Maths age. The assessment does save progress after each topic is attempted so we recommend you break it into manageable chunks.

Maths-Whizz is designed to adapt to your child's progress; lessons will get harder or easier depending on their progress. We only recommend a reassessment if we feel a child has been assessed too high or low. That's why it's so important the initial assessment is done with full focus.

As with any product, we do occasionally spot bugs in the lessons. We have a dedicated Support team that investigates these issues as a matter of urgency. We are always happy to guide you through best practice to ensure your child gets the most out of Maths-Whizz. Please do reach out either via live chat on your parent account or email support@whizz.com.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Posted 1 month ago
It’s early days, but so far maths whizz is keeping their attention. Plus they like the games and room decorations for a reward.

Contacting the help centre has been great, because they get back to you and sort the problem quickly.
Posted 6 months ago
Great fun but I would like the children to have to do more of the maths exercises in order to earn time in their study or with their monkey. It seems possible to do a lots of playing without much maths!
Posted 7 months ago
This is quite a sophisticated piece of software that will adapt to the needs of your child. My daughter sometimes lacks confidence in maths, but she enjoys the games and activities. She likes being able to work at her own pace, though there are optional timed activities as well. Best maths software out there probably (I'm a primary teacher of 31 years).
Posted 9 months ago
Fun and very well designed. Easy to follow for children
Posted 10 months ago
we were offered a discount after not initially taking on after trial as deemed it initially too expensive to justify . I liked this , I think it is well worth paying for now and I believe is great value for money .
Posted 10 months ago
I use Whizz for 3 kids at different ages and levels
I like the short lesson as other programmes we have found don't teach but just test
Occasionally if they are struggling it seems to just tell them to stop whereas maybe a 'STOP - can you ask an adult for help' sign might enable them to get a different understanding of what they are doing?
Also, in some of the practice 10 questions they seem to start with the harder questions and get easier!!
I like they have to earn credit to play the games and that each session is a perfect amount of time.
Posted 11 months ago
My son really enjoys the new version of Maths-Whizz and seems to understand most of it. He Likes the the interactive sessions, which are then re-enforced with the ordinary maths, which we like! My husband was sceptical, but agreed to give it a go and we are glad that we did. Our only gripe is that once you log-in, it defaults to the student page and we can’t find the parent dashboard. My husband who is good with computers can’t find it either, so we can’t review my sons progress. We would like to have a link which is easy to find and we can log-in ourselves without spending hours looking for it.
Posted 1 year ago
I have three children (aged 10, 8 and 5) all of whom have used Maths Whizz, with the 5 year old starting recently.

I like the fact that the maths is central: when you are doing maths, it's all about maths. There is "game-ification", but you have to earn points by doing maths in order to go into a separate "game" section. I have seen another product where the games are integrated into the maths, but the students end up focusing on the game and ignoring the corrections when they flash up at the end of the game.

The maths is tailored to your child's ability. This means that if they don't like a task (usually because it's difficult for them), you can point to the fact that their assessments indicate that more is required. It also avoids the child repeating their areas of strength.

The maths tuition is good. I've seen rival products that offer good testing, but there is no tuition, so you either have to teach your child or use the program for revision only.

The games are popular: I've seen my children (particularly the youngest) being motivated to do maths because she wants to buy a monkey or feed it or whatever.

Overall, I've found it expensive, but worth it.
Posted 1 year ago
Maths whizz is an excellent online educational website which actually helps your children to reach their maximum potential and work out their weaknesses in every area of the maths curriculum. As a parent I just loved this website it helped my children to improve their maths skills. Thanks Maths whizz.
Posted 1 year ago
It makes Maths fun to learn!
Posted 1 year ago
I took Mathwhizz for 3 grandchildren, 2 like it. The eldest one is not interested because it went on giving him exercices much too easy for him. It may be because he was correctly judged one year ago and improved a lot since, but not with Mathwhizz and when he tried again, Mathwhizz did not adjust
Henri.Cukierman@me.com
Posted 2 years ago
Hard to used-Digital key bord hide the question on Apple 10.5 tablet.
Posted 2 years ago
I know my daughter is learning math in modern way hope to give her tricky questions!
Posted 2 years ago
It has helped my son to tell the time. It has helped him do times table quicker. He enjoys it.
Posted 2 years ago
All 3 of my kids used this at various times. They generally used it for 3-6 months and their maths age on the site (and more importantly their actual maths abilities(!) really improved during that time. With each of them they did eventually get 'bored' after several months and stopped using it so we cancelled the membership, but I would definitely recommend.
Posted 3 years ago
All 3 of my children have used Mathswhizz. It has been a brilliant tool to give them increased confidence and ability in their maths. The tasks are interesting and short enough that we can get through even the most tricky assignments.
My children have (and still are) got a great deal of value from Mathswhizz and a at the top end of ability for their ages. I think it is such a brilliant tool that I will be paying the subscription for birthday and Christmas presents nieces, nephews and godchildren when they reach the right age. I see this as the perfect gift for them that they will have for life!
Posted 3 years ago
It is easy to use with children and the lesson can adapt depend on my child's ability.
Posted 3 years ago
Whizz education is a fun way to encourage our children to develop their maths skills. Both my children absolutely love using maths whizz!
Posted 3 years ago
Whizz Education is rated 4.20 based on 20 reviews