Waveney River Centre Reviews

4.32 Rating 1,163 Reviews
85% of reviewers recommend Waveney River Centre
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
on-time delivery
99%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.65 out of 5
5
Jenny Andrews
"Beautiful location with excellent lodges and facilities"
Report
Posted 7 months ago
5
K M Glencross
"Love this place, I had an unfortunate accident on my way into the park and hit the kerb and completely destroyed one side of my motor mover, luckily they had a great team of engineers who took the time to put things right the reception staff where super to. After putting our caravan right and going the extra mile to help us we went on to have a great holiday, it was an amazing place and we had a superb holiday there, free swimming pool, free games room an amazing pub and a shop on site, my only problem was there is no cash machine there. That aside it’s got amazing views and a great park for kids and lots of great walks and lots of stuff for everyone and all ages. Thank for making our holiday a great one."
Report
Posted 7 months ago
David Grace
"Well.. What a lovely weekend we have just had at Waveney River Centre. It poured with rain all weekend but mattered not a jot! Fabulous site with attentive friendly staff in a stunning location. Thanks we will be back xx"
Report
Posted 8 months ago
Featured Review
This review is set as featured by the company.
"Fantastic time, just chilled out after Xmas. Extremely friendly staff, lodge immaculately clean,food second to none. We have even spoilt ourselves with a massage every week, absolute heaven!! We would love to come back for summer sun. Thank you"
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks so much for a great review! We're glad you had such a nice time, and look forward to seeing you again!
Posted 8 months ago
"Staff very helpful and friendly. The Beccles lodge was very disappointing. It is supposed to be wheelchair friendly but hand rails in bathroom only catered for people with right side disability as the hand rails were always on the left. If you are catering for disabled you really need to have rails on both sides of the toilet and preferably a raised seat. The shower itself was not too bad. However there is a very strong smell of the drains in the en suite wet room which was very unpleasant. The villa itself smelled musty and didn’t feel at all relaxing. A few cushions on the sofas and a rug in the lounge area would make a big difference. The kitchen wasn’t too clean. The cooker was not great. The oven wasn’t clean. The kettle was grim. There was mismatched cutlery and the can opener was broken. Overall things were very tired around the lodge and it is in need of an upgrade and a thorough deep clean with the drains also being sorted. It’s such a shame because it is a lovely centre. The other drawbacks however were the lack of accessibility for people in wheelchairs as walking around was quite difficult on the road surfaces. Wheelchairs cannot access the secret garden and when we asked about the ferry to the conservation area we were told although the wheelchair could access the ferry there was no access to the conservation area because of the wet conditions. If you have lodges that cater for disabled and wheelchair users please give them access to the centres amenities. A few tarmac paths around the centre would make all the difference. In summary I felt that people who are disabled are made to feel like the poor relations of the centre with no access and second class accommodation. Other accommodations looked to be so much better furnished and everything in the centre was geared towards able bodied people. What a shame."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"The river centre itself was great. Very clean and reasonably priced. The boat was not do great. We paid to have a new boat that cost a few hundred pounds more than the bog standard ones. The roof leaked in multiple places. Not great when water is pouring inside the cabin. Spoilt our holiday."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"There is v. little space between the cabins so we could hear and see what our neighbours were doing. Sometimes in their Tubs well after 10 p.m. No Wi-fi in the lodges. To walk to the Reception area to try and obtain a signal is poor in 2019. These and other concerns were reported but not all attended to. A v. pleasant site spoilt by fitting too many cabins - certainly around "Bluebell" too close."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Nothing for older kids to do on site. Great if got a boat but pitch was poorly maintained and the shower blocks were often dirty when used. All facilities at one end of the site so jad to walk down. Shop closes at 5pm and only a small kiosk thats ok for snaks and ice cream."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Didn’t realise how small the park actually was.had to go out every day due to nothing to do. No room to do it in. Parking next to tents, the road to get in/out is very narrow, always was worried driving into a tree or over someone’s tent. Kids jumping out in front of cars ,Especially when other ppl don’t park in the correct place, or people playing games in the road bit. Due to Toilet lock broke, ppl walking in on me 3 times during shower, reported it, they fixed it but by the afternoon the same lock was broken again. Your visitors don’t seem to care the toilets say engaged!they will shake that door till it opens. (But I guess what ppl do isn’t your fault,) Not enough air going into toilets/shower very stuffy & smelly as times. Not pleasant. Had a family of 4 meal in the restaurant, ordered our food , waited quite a while for it, but it was a little busy so we gave extra time for that, I ordered hunters chicken. What I got wasn’t chicken, but a burger patty with bacon cheese & bbq sauce. How does that happen.? My sons order was wrong to he ordered burgers with bacon, cheese but didn’t get the bacon or cheese . Your staff was apologetic & gave us free drink, but we had a long wait again for our meals . whilst the two ate slowly get cold so we could try & finish our meal together. When we got the meals they were very nice meals. 10:00 quite time does not work, we had ppl & kids shouting, screaming, loudly way after 12. Again not your fault, but if a member of staff walked around told them to be quite would have been great. Apart from that the river , boats is very nice views when no tents are there."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The room was nice, view not as nice as expected. Was very upset whilst sitting outside at the bar in the afternoon. Large group of people, very very drunk. Language was disgusting and extremely loud, one man even dropped his shorts to expose himself to his friends. At no time were they asked to moderate their behaviour despite being full of customers, many with young children. Felt uncomfortable and intimidated. I like to see people having fun but this wasn’t fun for anyone, I was really surprised they were allowed to stay there. Would not return because of this."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We have stayed at the River Centre on several occasions, camping in our tents, once in a Yurt, but this time we thought we would try a Pod. First off we were very disappointed at the reduced size of the shop since our last visit, specially since it is the only one for some distance. Pod no.6 was unbearably warm with the doors closed, and where the ground at the front had dropped away it left a very high step to get into the pod. The pod is at the top of a hill with no nearby car parking, which means a lot of walking up and down the hill during our stay. Also the pods are situated at the childrens play area, which meant a lot of noise and children running round the pod until quite late at night. So we have decided that for us the pods are a bad idea."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Basically appalling"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"On arrival to our so called super pitch, we were dismayed to find that we could only just fit our touring van and awning on the pebble surfaced pitch. No room for the car which we had to park in front of the pitch, and had to stare at for two weeks. No room for chairs and tables either. Also when we tried to connect grey waste outlet on this ‘superpitch’ We found that the drain was actually higher than the outlet on our van! Water does not flow uphill... We paid £440 for two weeks on this pitch, plus £50 for a trail and sail berth for our Avon boat, plus 26 quid for a Broads river licence. Might have been cheaper to go to France.... The staff were pretty oblivious to any complaint we made regarding grey water drainage on the so called superpitch. We have visited much superior sites than this. They don’t even have a service area for motor homes. Would never visit this place again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Lound lodge was a shambles! Falling apart and we had to ask for the stuff that was advertised. Mould on the bath. Hot tub falling apart. And compared to others it was a state! The staff where lovely as was the pub but for what we paid was very very disappointed and will be putting it on TripAdvisor etc so others don't make the same mistake"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"We stayed in the Oulton penthouse last week. We had stayed in the Carlton 3 years ago & were really impressed, but this time the apartment was far from clean, the carpets in particular are horribly stained throughout, and the bathroom floors and bottom of the shower cubicle were dirty & mouldy. There was a blood stain on the curtain in the lounge and the coffee table was very sticky to the touch. Clearly nothing had been cleaned properly for months. Last time we had an impressive welcome pack with bread, marmalade, cake, milk, this time was much more meagre. The staff were surly on the whole, twice we asked for help closing the sliding doors in the apartment, both our requests were ignored, so we had to go out leaving the apartment unsecured. The restaurant menu has dumbed down since we were last there too, with fewer fresh ingredients and no waitress service to take your order anymore. We particularly remembered the fish platter which is no longer available. To top it all we had en extremely loud party of all girls downstairs at the weekend who had loud music & shrieked a lot. We couldn’t even watch TV to distract ourselves as there was literally no signal those 2 nights! The kitchen seemed less well appointed too - there was no strainer/ colander to drain rice or veg or to wash fruit and one saucepan was so dirty we didn’t even try to clean it & use it, as was the washing up bowl & drainer. All in all, we were very disappointed after having had such a good experience last time. The whole apartment including the balcony needs a thorough deep clean. Before you build any more lodges on site, perhaps you should look after the accommodation you already have. I hope this review will be helpful to you. l’m afraid we have been put off returning again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"It was ok. I wouldn't come again. Ripped sofas to sit on. 3 of each glasses for a lodge of 6. Pool and shop close early so if you are out for the day and come back you wont have time to use any facilities. The pub food was ok...over priced sides...£5.50 for 5 mushrooms! My daughter went to the park and to climb up the ladder for the slide she ran over to me with hands covered in bird mess from the climbing up...not monitored. The pics looked like there was more to do than there is. The hot tub had bird poo down the front which had to be washed. Its very slippy to get out!! Needs a handle or a textured surface. I'd hoped to do bike rides with kids...its isnt that kind of place at all. Other than a park...its not a kid place. 9am check out, we didnt want to have to rush the kids around so early so we left the night before! £500 for the standards for 2 and a half days plus buying food. I'd go to a hotel next time which would be cheaper and longer check out and facilities times."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"It felt like you weren't quite ready for the season. Lots of things were out of order: vending machine, pool table, penny falls etc. I stayed in a pod but used my friends lodge on the Saturday morning and had no hot water so had to get a cold shower. I was getting ready for a wedding and couldn't give my 4 year old daughter a bath because of this! It seemed like the staff didn't really have a clue what was going on. I went to the inn for a cooked breakfast advertised as £5.95 in a leaflet and when I got there it was £6.50. Just annoying to be given wrong information. It was frustrating not to be able to use the pill on the Saturday morning due to swimming lessons and to have no proper shape end for toddlers when groin the website it all seemed very child friendly. After our swim we just got showered before the hot water ran out. On the plus the shower and toilets were cleaned regularly."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Terrible break away, so disappointed with the park right from the start"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Just back from 3 nights in our caravan. Really liked the location but the site just seemed to be lacking the care and up keep. We had some nice days but unfortunately the whole holiday was ruined by deciding to eat at the “Waveney inn” service is dreadful and staff seem to have no idea how to run a restaurant at all. We placed our order the first meal arrived in around 10 minutes unfortunately the rest then came in dribs and drabs and taking 25 minutes to get all the food! When a member of our party complained and returned to the table I then went to the bar to ask for cutlery to find the staff laughing and joking about it. Very poor and disappointing. We were told there was no manager there to talk to and really didn’t seem like they care at all! unfortunately this seems to be the talk around the campsite and one of the first things people seem to be saying to each other was what a shame it’s a beautiful spot but just not what we expected. Just a real shame."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"We did not enjoy our short stay here. There was nothing to do and We found staff to be un helpful. Food at the pub was inedible and the shop poorly stocked. Things were closed before stated closing times. The Swimming pool decided to have session times due to numbers but this was not conveyed to guests so we could book. Instead we turned up with kids dressed up to swim and all the equipment needed for swimming only to be turned away. I wouldn’t mind but i asked in reception several times about pool opening times if you needed to book etc so this sort of thing would not happen. Changing rooms couldn’t cope with amount of people coming out at same time resulting in my son being hit by the toilet and entrance door several times whilst getting changed. The actual lodge itself was lovely. Very clean and Well stocked with everything we needed. We loved the hot tub. But again it did not say in the instructions how to turn the temperature down. Even on our last morning whilst packing the car staff were hanging around an hour before dropping off towels for the next guests, sorting out the hot tub. We felt rushed out and under pressure. I feel like the whole place was quite unorganised."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Far from 4star as described on web. Nothing like what we expected. Unfriendly receptionist. The lodge itself was spacious but in the need of some care.seats on couches were ripped as well as cushion covers.kitchen very poorly equipped with a frying pan screaming health and safety and unfit for cooking use. Ended up buying myself one so we could cook breakfast. Only two tiny saucepans bei g the alternative. Crockery was unmatched and incomplete. Not enough for 6 people. There was old bloody mess in the cupboard under the sink which we cleaned up. The staff and other trucks drive passed the unit continuously creating a peaceful week break impossible. The ferry ride to the only decent walk was ridiculous as the chap battyled to steer the ferry and kept bashing the other boat and jetty. Very isolated. Hot tub was lovely but in the shade and surrounded by unkept bush. The balcony was tiny and had no sun. Unlike the website suggested. A picnic table at the bbq area would have been great but again no thought has neen given to the comfort of the guests. The pub served basic pub grub and is average. The outside patio tables and high chairs should be discarded. More normal tables are needed. Bar staff were friendly. Really run down and should not have more than one star. Will not be returning. Are all Hoseason places like this? Shocking. As a dog friendly unit it seems that even though we paid £50 for our little dog the unit is unkept as it is used for guests with dogs. As though we are being punished for having a pet and do not deserve quality accomdation."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Will not go back it's gone down since 2 years ago"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"For the money they're asking you get very little in the way of luxurious touches, they claim to be dog friendly but the minute you walk into the lodge you're confronted with posters listing where and what your dogs cannot do. And they're far to keen for you leave emailing you the night before to remind you to be out no later than 9.30, and staff waiting outside the lodge at 9.20 to get in."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Taking into account the charges of an out of season pitch there, we expected higher standards but we found your site disappointing in some ways. 1/ Jacuzzi out of order. 2/ Many lockers in the pool area in disrepair and labeled ‘out of order’ 3/ The hose on the rinsing tap over the elsan drain is split and had obviously been like it for some time thus spraying the user. It is covered in excrement due to users being forced to fully insert it into waste tank to avoid being soaked. Very unpleasant. 4/ Some shower doors in both ladies and gents toilets have broken or unserviceable locks. 5/ Hot drinks machine had no milk for four days thus all coffees incl white and cappuccino only came out black. 6/ Some notices were authored in a condescending manner thus unpleasant to read. 7/ The so-called free WiFi was almost useless forcing either extra payment for a reasonable speed or in our case, use of 4G. Highly misleading! These are the main points that only we had observed. We left early in disappointment."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Waveney River Centre is rated 4.32 based on 1,163 reviews