The Mortgage Hut Reviews

4.9 Rating 1,114 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend The Mortgage Hut
4.9
Based on 1,114 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
5 out of 5
Read The Mortgage Hut Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how The Mortgage Hut made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
As a Landlord of 25 years I required a new broker and after reading the reviews I settled on the Mortgage Hut. After agreeing two remortgages with the Mortgage Hut I received an immediate request for all fees to be paid to them before any intermediate work was carried out. This wasn't an issue, but as soon as I made the payments the nightmare began. Poor communication between this broker and my existing lender resulted in unnecessary delay and confusion. This resulted in wasting a lot of my time in order to communicate with both the intermediate and existing lender. Issues included the intermediate sending incorrect basic information on more than one occasion to my existing lender. I would NOT recommend the Mortgage Hut to any Landlord and in the future I will be using the services of an independent whole of market mortgage broker.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Oliver was really helpful answering my many questions and suggesting potential different options and the benefits and any negatives. Used clear understandable language and terminology.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The initial call was very quick and efficent and then they never got back to me. Despite me emailing asking for an update and trying to arrange another appointment. If they couldn't help it would be courtesy to let someone know. Beginning to wonder how genuine a company they are.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely disappointment, Tracey took every details of me and my wife and she was very positive at the beginning, everything was going smooth till the application went to underwriter.. took two weeks and got and email from Tracey saying( I have had a decision back from Halifax and your application has been declined, and I am unable to replace this to another lender) no explanation why ! If I can appeal , me and my wife was on 100k a year .. we needed 390k .. at the beginning she was so sure that she can get us that but then that happen , which I understand but she didn’t explain nothing ignored all my calls and emails .. Worst discussion I ever made is going with this company.. I lost lots of money and time , thanks to this useless company….
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thanks for the feedback Kameron, we appreciate you taking the time. We're really sorry that you are unhappy with the service provided, I know our Managing Director has spoken to you on numerous occasions to explain why we are unable to proceed with an application for you. Sometimes banks hold more data on you than is publically available and when they are unhappy with the information provided they will not allow us to proceed. Our risk team has explained that we will not be able to proceed on this occasion. As we've already recommended, we'd suggest you speak with the bank directly and try and resolve this. We are really sorry we could not help, it's extremely rare, however on this occasion we are not able to proceed with the application. I can assure you we've put a huge amount of work into this and we've tried our hardest to help.
Posted 6 months ago
Cold called me as I was a previous client. It was only after 2 phone calls and receiving contract paperwork to sign that I was made aware a fee would be payable (previously was fee free). It then took 2 full working days for the fee to be confirmed as payable by which point I had already sourced a new mortgage deal elsewhere by myself and without incurring any charges!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Firstly can I start by saying thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I've spoken to your adviser who has said he's reached out to you. We always disclose our fees along with our regulatory information on the first call which we record and hold on file. I'm sorry if we didn't make everything clear or there was some confusion. Thanks again for the feedback, it helps drive forward our customer journey and experience.
Posted 8 months ago
Tried the chat function and the advisor just leaves without any response. Not great as a first impression.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I'm really sorry that you didn't have a great experience with our new live chat. On the day you visited the site we were just rolling it out and testing it and it appears for some reason your message got delayed in the system. This meant it took us 6 minutes to get to you but by the time we had you had already left the site. I have tried to reach out to you on your @gmail.com email but have not heard back yet. As I said, I am really sorry that the experience you got from our live chat was far below where we would expect. Please feel free to email me on nicola@themortgagehut.net if you want to discuss further.
Posted 9 months ago
Never called when the appointment was booked. Waited over an hour for them to call. No email or contact as to why. Terrible customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very sorry to hear of the service you have received from us. We have sent you an email explaining the technical issues we had that day but we appreciate this is no excuse. We would love to have the opportunity to make things right and give you the customer experience we are known for. Please get in touch with our Managing Director nicola@themortgagehut.net if you require anything further.
Posted 1 year ago
The Mortgage Hut caused significant delays in aquiring a mortgage and provided bad advice. Paul was dealing with our mortgage and took over 3 weeks to make some unaffordable suggestions and authorise hard searches on our credit file. He did not work with our best interests in mind and was careless in his handling of our needs. In the end I simply went to another broker who sorted a great and affordable deal within a couple of days. If we had stuck with The Mortgage Hut we would not have successfully moved at all. I would not recommend The Mortgage Hut to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to give us this constructive feedback, we’re really disappointed to hear that your experience fell far below the high standards which we pride ourselves on offering our clients. As you left this review anonymously, we are unable to contact you directly to discuss your experience. We always take client feedback seriously and where something hasn’t gone quite right we look to learn from these mistakes. If you would like to speak to me regarding your experience, you can contact me on my email address which is nicola@themortgagehut.net Although we couldn’t help you this time, it is fantastic to hear that you found the right mortgage for your property. Thank you again for the feedback. Nicola Schutrups Managing Director
Posted 1 year ago
I am shocked to be even receiving the option to submit a review based on the advise we received. The lady we were dealing with gave us poor advice, she was clearly not very knowledgeable on Help to Buy and the costs involved when re-fixing our mortgage. She did not tell us where were upfront Fees and luckily for us after we read through the paperwork and realised this, if this hadn't been picked up she would have signed us up to a worse mortgage which overtime we would have been paying more than our existing one and we would have been about £700 out of pocket due to fees not being explained to us. Luckily for us after complaining our case was quickly picked up by the managing director who apologised for the lack of professionalism and advice we received. She helped us resolve the issue and offered a full refund. This was the most stressful experience we as a young couple have ever faced and I will never recommend their services.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The Mortgage Hut is rated 4.9 based on 1,114 reviews