The New School of Art Reviews

4.58 Rating 84 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend The New School of Art
Read The New School of Art Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 358881

Write Your review

Tell us how The New School of Art made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The course was great. The artist teacher, Louise Balaam was very welcoming, generous with her knowledge and experience, sincere, inspiring. There was a wide range of styles and levels of experience from beginner to established artists but everyone was friendly and utterly supportive of one another, and the group was a really nice size - not too large so it felt really personal. The workshop assistant from the New School of Art was lovely as she made everyone feel welcome and looked after. The administration side was efficient and communication was very good. The studio Aldo was very good, location was lovely. I thoroughly enjoyed the two days and would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in immersing them self in a supportive and inspiring two days of undistracted painting. I hope to do this again soon. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
I have just returned from a course, in Lewis, at the the new school of art. This was my first course with them and I was impressed even before arrival with the quality of tutors. Louise Balaam was the tutor on this occasion and was very generous with her time and advice. I felt I took a big step forward with her help. Eleanor was always around for extra advice and encouragement. Upon arrival the reception was was warm and informative. This led to everybody being relaxed and mutually supportive. The studio was spacious and set in great surroundings. I am looking to return very soon.
Posted 3 years ago
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of Tim Bensons portrait course. It was energetic and exciting and I came away feeling inspired and with new skills to practice. The arrangements and support from the school were lovely. The Mall galleries is a lovely venue and easy to access. I would love to see more of your courses taking place here.
Posted 3 years ago
Excellent tutors and studio space. I always come away from these courses having learned a great deal, and inspired to improve and advance my work practices.
The New School of Art 5 star review on 27th October 2016
Posted 3 years ago
A very helpful and enjoyable couple of days in the beautiful East Sussex countryside. The Old Dairy Studio was a very comfortable set up in which to work. Louise Balaam was an inspirational and stimulating mentor, such a pleasure to meet her and have her company in the group. A very interesting group of fellow painters on the course, I really enjoyed meeting everyone, I learned something from each of them. Wish we could do it all over again! The experience over the 2 days moved me forward with my work. Thank you to NEAC and best wishes to all, Nancy.
Posted 3 years ago
This was a well organised class with very enthusiastic and supportive teaching from Louise Balaam. The location was very good and the drawing session in St James' park was very good for me. There was a also excellent support from a member of staff at the Mall Galleries. For me, this was a very freeing experience which has brought into focus some of my priorities as an artist. The class has given me a strong platform for how to work from drawings and sketchbooks ideas to make paintings in the studio. Highly recommended!
Posted 3 years ago
Very interesting and supportive tutor. I found the course excellent lots of food for thought and helpful pointers as well as enough time to work independently . The photo is a selection of the experimental work I did on the course
The New School of Art 5 star review on 13th September 2016
Posted 3 years ago
Louise Balaam's art course was a brilliant two days - I learnt so much and met some interesting people. Would recommend to anyone who wants help loosening up in painting or to be inspired by a talented and established artist.
Posted 3 years ago
Love this place. Had a blast and learnt a lot on all the different courses I attended.

/ Björn Oso Andersson, Sweden
Posted 3 years ago
Tutor attentive and encouraging, giving useful advice and guidance. A happy two days.
Posted 4 years ago
A very enjoyable two days, despite the rain and wind. Well worth it!
Posted 4 years ago
Fantastic tutor and great surroundings. I would recommed to anyone intrested in abstract art or who just wants to enjoy a fun and stimulating course.
Posted 4 years ago
I took the two day Still Life course with Tony Rothon as I was keen to develop my painting skills and I had little prior knowledge of still life.
Tony was a great tutor who presented the course in a straightforward manner. There were opportunities to discuss merits and problems with each others paintings.
For a two day course it was a great introduction.
Posted 4 years ago
Really inspirational 2 days. I loved the way I was taken out of my comfort zone to experiment with colour and form. Have learnt not to try and finesse my work. Colour choice is key - working on this is my way forward. Thank you Emyr!!
Posted 4 years ago
I have now completed two courses of An Introduction to Art History, and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I have learned a great deal, seen wonderful art work and been involved in lively discussions! I can't wait for the next course in the Autumn!
Posted 4 years ago
I recently finished the Introduction to History of Art course with Alexandra Loske. It was a highly enjoyable and stimulating course which focussed on Alexandra's particular areas of interest/expertise. Every lecture was topnotch and was supported by additional books/materials. All very fascinating. Would like to do more in the future!
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent tuition, central London location (Mall Galleries) easy for travel, good venue.
Posted 4 years ago
The New School of Art is rated 4.58 based on 84 reviews