The New School of Art Reviews

4.58 Rating 84 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend The New School of Art
Read The New School of Art Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 358881

Write Your review

Tell us how The New School of Art made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The course was excellent - plenty of experimentation with the right amount of structure. Small group of lovely people made it a great weekend.
Jane Lewis was a very generous Tutor, I have come away with lots of exciting ideas and techniques to work into my own practice.
I would definitely sign up for another course with her. Her work is mouthwatering!
Posted 3 years ago
Nick Bodimeade was brilliant and the course was exactly as advertised. If he should do a different course with you I would certainly appreciate being told about it.

As we were working substantively on trestle tables along the middle of the studio the question inevitably arose as to whether we felt too cramped. I didn't think so since Nick was able to tour and the closeness of the students engendered exchange of ideas. Of the 10 booked 9 turned up. In my opinion any more would probably have been too many.
The New School of Art 4 star review on 31st January 2017
Posted 3 years ago
A good course, well organised with clear objectives and guidelines.

I learnt how to use shape, tone and colour in order to create a composition; to look at the marks I had already made to decide what to do next and assess as I went along, and the value of having more than one painting on the go to prevent overworking. There was plenty of tutor input and a chance to look at other abstract artists work as examples.
Posted 3 years ago
Fantastic 2 days. Nick is a great tutor, so knowledgeable and supportive. The slides shows were inspiring & the exercises challenging and exciting. Lovely environment too. I would highly recommend this course & I feel this experience will make a big difference to my painting going forwards.
Posted 3 years ago
The New School of Art offers a fantastic range of courses. I have learnt so much from the ones I have attendend. The tutors I have met have been encouraging and inspiring. I am looking forward to coming to more courses this year!
Posted 3 years ago
Always delighted to do courses there and I always learn something new.
Posted 3 years ago
The venue is ideal for a small group of students and we all really benefitted from the high level of attention the tutor, Robert Dukes, was able to give us. The view is a real inspiration too. It is an excellent space for more specialised courses targetting advanced students, and short courses of this level are hard to come by in London.
My only concern relates to the lack of a breakout space for lunch and tea-breaks - I didn't feel great on the last day and it was only much later I realised it was because it was too chilly to go outside for lunch so I had been inhaling paint and (admittedly low odour) solvent for a good seven hours three days in a row. It would be fine in Summer, just not so easy in December if, like me, you are asthmatic. It wouldn't stop me returning if the course was as good as this one, but I would probably not sign up for a 5 day course.
Posted 3 years ago
Louise Balaam was an excellent workshop leader and certainly helped me to see things in a different way. The school was in brand new premises. It has great views and is in an interesting area. Coffee, tea and biscuits were provided.
Posted 3 years ago
A really rewarding couple of days spent in a wonderful environment with Louise, an inspirational tutor, and a very nice group of students! Louise got me much closer to where I want to be - painting with more freedom and stepping over my boundaries. The studio is lovely; the work intense but enjoyable; and the trip over from the O2 on the tiny ferry was the icing on the cake. I left feeling invigorated. More please! Perhaps three days next time?
The New School of Art 5 star review on 12th December 2016
Posted 3 years ago
Attended "Painting dynamically with Acrylics" run by artist Anne Magill, in Lewes.
Have held this artist in the highest esteem for the last 25+ years, Anne was helpful, supportive and informative, even bringing along some of her own inspiring work, which I couldn't help drool over!!
Great instruction without it being too much. The venue and model (Naomi) were great along with a friendly cohesive atmosphere with the other attendees. Would definitely attend another course with intention of strengthening my own professional practise and have to say gave me a bit of a refresh button and a lot to think about in terms of pushing my own work.
Posted 3 years ago
Just finished a two day course with Ann Magill at Paddock Studios. I enjoyed the course very much and feel I did actually learn something (which I couldn't say for some I've been on). Ann is such a good teacher, very generous with her knowledge and encouragement. A good little group and a splendid model. This is a course I would recommend to anyone. And what makes it even better is that it's in Lewes.
Posted 3 years ago
The 3 day Portrait Painting Masterclass with Andrew James has been the best art course I've ever been on and a truly amazing experience! Andrew is a brilliant teacher and the atmosphere at the School is very welcoming and supportive.
Posted 3 years ago
Andrew James was a wonderful inspiring tutor - very diligent in making sure he spent time with each person. I feel I have learnt a huge amount during the weekend and hope that my work will reflect what I have learnt. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
Andrew James is as gifted a teacher as he is a portrait painter. Our 3 day masterclass in Lewes was inspiring and really helpful.
Posted 3 years ago
I attended a 2 day course with the acclaimed artist Louise Baalam at The Dairy Studios , Lewes.

Louise is a great teacher, She has the ability to teach a person without them knowing it. Very clever. I am going to book the December one with her I hope it still has places on it.

I was very pleased with my progress and would like to have another session to cement things into my airy fairy brain!!!!

I would have liked another day I think so a three day course would suit me fine, also the second day I am always quite tired, and so don't achieve a lot p.m. so a third day would be better for me.

great welcome with proper coffee and lovely biscuits really good. I loved the crit. V.v. Useful. Lovely to see everyone's work and how proud we all were of our own work.

The studio is great, having your own workspace and tables etc v. Good. good facilities, all fine.

A big plus for maybe older people was the fact that you didn't have to walk a long way with easels etc etc before you could paint outside. I have a bad back, and have friends who are a bit dodgy with backs and feet etc., you could just step outside the studio or walk to the edge of the field.and get a good view.

TO spoil us completely maybe a few lightweight tables to take out and put our palette on would be a dream!!!!!

I loved the little Jack Russell he was sweet.

ALl in all great time

THank you very much

Caroline Curtis
Posted 3 years ago
The course was great. The artist teacher, Louise Balaam was very welcoming, generous with her knowledge and experience, sincere, inspiring. There was a wide range of styles and levels of experience from beginner to established artists but everyone was friendly and utterly supportive of one another, and the group was a really nice size - not too large so it felt really personal. The workshop assistant from the New School of Art was lovely as she made everyone feel welcome and looked after. The administration side was efficient and communication was very good. The studio Aldo was very good, location was lovely. I thoroughly enjoyed the two days and would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in immersing them self in a supportive and inspiring two days of undistracted painting. I hope to do this again soon. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
I have just returned from a course, in Lewis, at the the new school of art. This was my first course with them and I was impressed even before arrival with the quality of tutors. Louise Balaam was the tutor on this occasion and was very generous with her time and advice. I felt I took a big step forward with her help. Eleanor was always around for extra advice and encouragement. Upon arrival the reception was was warm and informative. This led to everybody being relaxed and mutually supportive. The studio was spacious and set in great surroundings. I am looking to return very soon.
Posted 3 years ago
I thoroughly enjoyed my day. The course was excellent. The size and general layout of the room was comfortable.

My only recommendation would be that the cleaning facilities provided were extremely inadequate and that they be improved. It was difficult cleaning brushes, palettes and other instruments used in the process.

Also...I understood the necessity of not putting turps down the sink but to leave it in unmarked containers on the surface is not prudent .....it creates health and safety and fire risks.
Posted 3 years ago
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of Tim Bensons portrait course. It was energetic and exciting and I came away feeling inspired and with new skills to practice. The arrangements and support from the school were lovely. The Mall galleries is a lovely venue and easy to access. I would love to see more of your courses taking place here.
Posted 3 years ago
Excellent tutors and studio space. I always come away from these courses having learned a great deal, and inspired to improve and advance my work practices.
The New School of Art 5 star review on 27th October 2016
Posted 3 years ago
The New School of Art is rated 4.58 based on 84 reviews