The New School of Art Reviews

4.58 Rating 84 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend The New School of Art
Read The New School of Art Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 358881

Write Your review

Tell us how The New School of Art made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I had a great workshop with Nicolas Uribe, he was a brilliant tutor.
He was very hands on doing lots of little demonstrations for anyone that needed help
or advice. I would go as far as to say that he was the best tutor i've experienced on
any workshop i've been on.
The only draw back was the lack of spotlights for the models, we were virtually painting in the dark when the sun went in! I really think this needs to be addressed asap.
Posted 3 years ago
The one-day oil painting course on Hampstead Heath with Tim Benson (26.5.17) was a brilliant experience. Enjoying the very best of weather I chose two vantage points and he duly came round from time to time to offer really pertinent advice. Excellent.
David Northcott
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you to an incredibly talented and generous teacher this workshop was a success.
It would be beneficial for upcoming workshops to improve the lighting of the studio as it proved to be difficult to arrange all easels in a way that all of us would have good lighting conditions.
Posted 3 years ago
Nice workshop. Good faculty. Good models. Limited group of students. Helpful staff. Facilities ok (extra light would be convenient). Location so so (travel time not insignificant)
Posted 3 years ago
Good facilities and friendly team
Posted 3 years ago
the painting course with Louise Balaam was very enjoyable, stimulating and inspiring. The studio was ideal, set in countryside with beautiful views. Louise was a very encouraging and patient and I felt I had learned a lot in two days.
Posted 3 years ago
Really relaxed atmosphere with excellent tuition
Posted 3 years ago
This was a fascinating landscape course en plein air, which was really inspiring. The briefing and demonstrations were extremely helpful and constructive help was given by our tutor, Julian Le Bas, throughout the day. The crit of all the work at the close rounded off a very informative and enjoyable group experience.
The venue was ideal with beautiful downland views around Firle and in addition, excellent refreshments could be enjoyed at Beanstalk Cottage Tea Rooms.
Posted 3 years ago
Stunning location and good tutor
Posted 3 years ago
I liked the tutor, he was very encouraging and I felt I made a bit of progress
Posted 3 years ago
An extremely well run course providing first class tuition.
Posted 3 years ago
I enjoyed the one day workshop with Alex Fowler. I felt i learnt some things.
I however have to point out that the list given to us for the items to be brought to the venue was very misleading.

Alex is a very good tutor. I ould come back to another of his courses.
Posted 3 years ago
The NSOA offers an broad range of interesting artist teachers, it's hard to chose! The lovely locations in both Lewes and London certainly add up to the experience. This time I enjoyed the skill of Robert Dukes, giving very adequate feedback and instruction (and nice catalogues of his works). Small group size make it even more intense.
Posted 3 years ago
A perfect weekend with a delightful model (not wearing a lot of make up or facial adornments which was good). Ilaria is my favourite tutor.
Posted 3 years ago
A wonderful experience with the two day workshop at the New School of Art in London. A warm and sensitive host, the room full of light and atmosphere, and beautiful people. Martin Yeoman was an inspiring instructor and dedicated enough time to each of us individually. It is very easy to get there from the Canning Town station (the lovely way there is a plus).
Posted 3 years ago
Regarding the Master Class (11-12 March) the support, feedback and guidance from the artist, Ilaria, was very good indeed. We all benefitted from the relevance and nature of the critique to our efforts. The studio was well lit, warm and is a fine setting in which to work. Overall, this was a very good experience.
Posted 3 years ago
A good location, near the tube. A good room with lots of light - it would have been useful to have something to cover just the bottom half of the windows to prevent people seeing the model from outside. Well organised; Elle made me feel welcome and supplied tea/coffee/biscuits - much appreciated. Good equipment (easel, table) and decent toilet facilities nearby. I was grateful to be able to park at the venue on the Sunday, so I could get away promptly. The lunch venue was good, and the slow service actually gave us more time to relax and get to know each other. I was pleased that it was a small group, as it meant we each got more time with Martin one-to-one.
Posted 3 years ago
Had a fantastic and productive time on the Martin Yeoman, painting the figure weekend course. Great tutors, friendly hosts and fab locations, and everytime I go I meet a bunch of lovely new friends. I cannot recommend The New School of Art enough. Keep up the great work and Thank you.
The New School of Art 5 star review on 13th March 2017
Posted 3 years ago
l had a wonderful time in Elise's abstract painting course. Time spent in the gallery was very rewarding and I discovered a lot about looking and understanding paintings. I will definitely go up there and draw again. The painting day was brilliant and everybody produced interesting work. It was lovely to have a new way in to painting. I would loved to have had a second day painting.
Linda
Posted 3 years ago
The course I recently completed at Paddock Studio with Jane Lewis was very good indeed. She is an inspiring teacher and gives really useful feedback to help you to improve your own work.
Posted 3 years ago
The New School of Art is rated 4.58 based on 84 reviews