Swinton Insurance Reviews

Swinton Insurance have a Customer Happiness Grade of F. Customers are unhappy with their customer service. Full Insights

1.48 Rating 21 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend Swinton Insurance
482 Review Views (past 24 hours)
11AM - 1PM
42 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
43 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
78 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
61 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
36 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
58 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
19 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
23 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
19 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
21 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
42 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
40 Review Views
11AM
11AM
Visit Website

Phone:
0845 168 4459

Email:
info@swinton.co.uk

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate Swinton Insurance ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Prices doubled and no one answers the phone. Takes at least 40 minutes to get through by phone."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"After applying for a small claim of water damage to our conservatory because of a leak from our overflow, we were then told it's £500 excess just for someone to assess the damage, in my mind this is absolutely disgusting!! The damage is not even that much! Why pay a monthly premium, only for them to make it impossible to even put in a small claim! Rip off merchants, cancelled insurance immediately!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Sent documents multiple times. Don't call when promised they will and generally hard to do business with."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My car insurance has risen by nearly £200 from last year! They claim ther must have been a rise in thefts of my type of vehicle! So car thieves have suddenly started stealing Ford Mondeo's? I managed to insure my car with Hastings for half of Swinton's cheapest quote. Thanks for nothing Swinton!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"They should change their name to Swindlers as it would be an accurate description of them. If you don't want to be ripped off steer clear of this bunch."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Terrible terrible customer service centre attitude, threatening letters and emails sent but unable to make personal contact. When my patience wore thin and I informed the operator that I have recorded the details of my calls his attitude was turned up to 11 and he was almost in tears of rage! Can't give no stars, steer clear."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Ageas and Swinton completely let us down. After a claim they gave us no hire car and it took 6 days to write the car off so we were left 6 days without a car and that delayed my wife driving again which knocked her confidence after the accident. Ageas also didn't pass my complaint into Swinton saying we would never use them again resulting in us having to pay the more on the policy after the claim. Every time I complained they never took me seriously and they never did anything to repair the dissatisfaction we received from their poor service. Every time they just fobbed us off with the financial Ombudsman which we will look into. Swinton were the insurers and Ageas dealt with the claim and they just blamed each other but did nothing about it. I would never ever use these again and it's obvious to me they don't care about being decent as long as they are making easy money from their customers."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"They cancelled my house insurance 7 days after taking it out, saying that the underwriters cancelled the insurance. Then sent me various letters stating I needed to pay £20 for a cancellation charge! They cancelled not me so why do I have to pay £20? Do not use Swinton they are robbing thieves and you can get a more reliable service with so many other insurance companies out there."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Keep sending marketing text messages and unable to opt out without texting a premium number to request they stop. Not impressed and will never use them."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Absolutely terrible customer service, i have 6 years no claims which i have proof of however swinton have admitted that they will not accept a valid ncb certificate because it does not have my vehicle reg on it even though it is not required by other insurance companys! And lets be honest you as the customer get the no claims not your car! They have some very rude staff that will quite happily try to shout over the top of you if you let them. The only good thing about swinton is cancelling my policy i have honestly never had so much trouble with any other company in the couple of weeks i have been with them. Please avoid this company if you want your no claims."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Shit service shit companey wouldn't recommend to anyone"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Was very upset was recommended that is very cheep but they even refuse to give me a question was upset bcz never been refuse in 5 years shit company donn't use this compeny no good"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Everything was made so simple."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Happy and unhappy as their renewal always very high"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Not limited to South Shields, rather the entire Swinton. Their car breakdown is not worth the paper it's written on. I have been a customer of Swinton for 4-5years for breakdown. I have National recovery that states if it cannot be repaired at the roadside they will take it to a garage. I pay for and have a contract for 24 hour recovery, 7 days a week and to a garage if required. All very well you might think, however, no, no, no. My car broke down yesterday, the breakdown came, it was the clutch so could not be repaired at the road, obviously I would like it taken strait to a garage... however, here is where Swinton logic and misleading policy comes into play. It was the evening and all the garages were closed, so I had no option but to have the car towed to the safest place in the meantime- my address. As they were unable to fulfil their contractual obligation at that time- to take it a garage then I would (as would anyone) expect that the service I have paid for to be carried out in full and consequently, completed when it is possible to do so. Hence, take it to a garage when it's open. As soon as the garage opens I ring them and then I call Swinton to arrange for them to collect my car to complete the service I pay for, what they were unable to complete the previous night. I was informed that they wouldn't collect it because I don't have Home Start. Obviously, I inform them that this is a continuation of a service that were unable to carry out ...etc. etc. Get no where with complete simpletons, who are unable to deviate from a rehearsed script. I pay for and have agreed contractually for 24 hours breakdown, 7 days per week. However, as garages are actually only open 9- 5 they have been charging me for a service that they won't provide. To be taken to a garage as agreed then my car needs to breakdown during office hours 9-5 and we all know that cars are never that convenient. Hence, the policy they have mislead me with can only be validated 8 hours per day and 6 days per week. Hence if I (or anyone for that matter) is unlucky enough to break down the other 16 hours per day or on a Sunday- screwed. The policy that has been agreed is invalid as there are no garages open and they will worm their slimy little crooked bodies out completing their obligations when they are able to. Yes, I have cancelled my breakdown and yes, I have lodged a complaint in view to taking it up with the financial ombudsman. Just found out that they have previously been fined for miss selling so it appears not much has changed."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Found website easy to navigate through. Price was favourably competitive."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"First they cut the number of swinton main street premises and now they are cutting the number of policies that they have to offer - its all about cutting costs and maximise profits for the company. They claim to be putting 'the customer at the heart of everything we do' - RUBBISH! As a policy holder, I have just been informed that they are stopping my policy because it is too specialist and they are reducing the number of policies to just two. I will not be insuring with this company again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I renewed my motor insurance with Swinton insurance brokers and was eventually quoted a figure of £586. I paid it but as a mater of interest contacted the AA who quoted £386. I am now wondering where the £200 is actually going as the insurance was provided by the same company AXA 35. I have requested a refund which has been promised within 5 days. AA good Swinton BAD. I have dealt with this company since 1975. Never again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Appalling customer service in Sunderland branch. I made a formal complaint to Swintons' national complaints team who dealt with it in a very prompt and professional manner however feedback was no action would be taken by manager of branch."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I recently had the unfortunate pleasure of needing their services because someone drove into me. They passed me to a legal company called Quindell who are part of Swinton. The whole experience was terrible and I was left feeling that it had all been my fault and their customer services team where uneducated at best and dam right rude. Never again, moved all my insurance to different provider."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Swinton Insurance is rated 1.48 based on 21 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Get ready for our phone call!

We'll call you shortly. If you'd like to speak to us right away, please just call us on 0116 350 0610 .

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This