SLV.Global Reviews

4.64 Rating 175 Reviews
95% of reviewers recommend SLV.Global

Write Your review

Tell us how SLV.Global made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone
"I have been lucky enough to participate in both SLV Sri Lanka and SLV Bali (yes it's that good I went twice!!!) The work this organisation enables its volunteers to achieve is amazing! Not only was I able to gain invaluable mental health experience, I was able to learn, develop and apply new skills which I know will stay with me. I felt supported and empowered by the SLV.Global staff and reassured by the passion they have for the work done. I would highly recommend these placements to anyone and encourage anyone thinking about applying to go for it!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Harriette, thank you so much for being a part of the team twice. You have been amazing and we loved having you. Please keep in touch and all the best for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"I took part in a 6 week mental health placement in Sri Lanka and was able to not only gain extremely valuable hands on experience within the field of psychology and mental health but was also able to experience mental health and social care from a completely different cultural perspective. Being totally immersed in the culture was a huge highlight for me and I enjoyed working within a team of volunteers where I was able to share my skills and knowledge as well as learn from the team. I would highly recommend this organisation and experience for anyone looking to acquire meaning experience in the field of psychology. Thank you SLV.Global 😊"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your commitment to the team, Alice. You were a great addition to the team. Please do stay in touch and best of luck for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"I participated in the Ancient & Clinical Psychology Placement with SLV.Global in India. I have always had an interest in alternative approaches to Mental Health and I really enjoyed the sessions with the clinical psychologist about how she uses yoga and meditation to treat her clients! NIMHANS psychiatric hospital was an eye-opening experience and I learnt a great deal about psychiatric care in India. Our weekend in Mysore was a great way to spend the end of the trip."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Marie-Anne, thank you for the review. It's great to hear about how much you've learned from the India placement. All the best for the future and keep in touch!
Posted 2 years ago
"I did the Graduate Mental Health placement in Sri Lanka with SLV.Global and I would really recommend it. The team in the country were really supportive and helpful, especially as it was my first time travelling on my own! I also loved living with the family and getting a real taste of the culture. The projects were really interesting and varied and I had the opportunity to work with such a range of different individuals from the community. I found it really valuable to gain hands on experience and since I got back I got accepted to study a masters in psychology, which was definitely because of the experience I had in Sri Lanka."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Hannah, thank you for sharing your experience and congratulations! It was a pleasure to have you on the team. Please keep in touch and all the best in your future career.
Posted 2 years ago
"Probably the best decision I ever made! I travelled to Sri Lanka and completed the 12 week Mental Health Placement just after I graduated. I'd never been away from home for so long before but time just flew by! You experience so many different settings and projects and everything is really hands-on so you get first hand experience of working directly with service users. I took so many new skills away from my placement and have been able to apply them to my career and work in the UK since getting back. Thank you to everyone at SLV for making it possible!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for the review. We're pleased to hear that you were able to gain so much from your placement. Please do keep in touch and we wish you all the best in your future career.
Posted 2 years ago
"I was a volunteer on the Graduate Mental Health Program late last year and had such an amazing time!! I had travelled a few times before this but after being there for three months I feel like it it was like a second home!! My homestay family was so friendly and the Slv team really made me feel at home with all the training and support :D I am planning on going to India this summer too as I really want to stand out from the crowd with my MSc Psych applications!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Kara, thank you so much for your commitment to the team. You were a great addition to the team! We would love to have you back on the team for India so get in touch.
Posted 2 years ago
"I would highly recommend SLV Global, the support before and during my placement was very good and I felt comfortable as soon as I landed in Bali. I gained experience working in different environments in the community, schools and hospitals which has been a great benefit to my CV. I have used what I have learnt during my placement and examples in interviews since I have returned home. The week is challenging but so rewarding! And this makes your weekends very important, and within a few hours travel from the village you can get to explore so many beautiful beaches in Bali!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear about how much you've gained from the placement. Please keep in touch and good luck for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"SLV was one of the best decisions I have ever made! The work was really worthwhile and definitely aided my career thinking since returning from Sri Lanka! You work with such a diverse range of projects on a weekly basis, I was working in psychiatric facilities, residential centres for children and adults who suffer from various special needs. You also are able to take part in various organised workshops and field trips that are run by local professionals. My favourite was shadowing a local psychiatrist as he completed his homestay visits around the community, it was a real insight into the different approaches and challenges towards mental health in Sri Lanka! The absolute highlight was the guys I shared my homestay with, we didn't know each other in the beginning and we've all stayed in touch since leaving. At the weekends you get to travel and witness the beauty of Sri Lanka. We all want to go again! I'd recommend the SLV placement to anyone who wants to gain experience working directly with people and to learn different approaches to mental health. The placement is well organised, the staff are really friendly and supportive and you will probably make friends for life!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for being a part of the team and sharing your review. We're glad to hear you had a positive experience. Please do stay in touch and all the best for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"I would recommend this to any person that had studied psychology and wanted to get more experience. I had never been to Asia before and I loved Sri Lanka so much. The projects were each so different and loved each one differently. Being at the psychiatric hospital was challenging but it was a really valuable experience. My homestay family could not have been more welcoming and though I did not like spicy food when I arrived I got used to it and actually started to enjoy it. The SLV team were great before I left and I enjoyed getting to know my supervisors and national team when I was there. Also since I have been back the team have acted as a referee for me for two healthcare positions which was really use. If you are thinking about doing this - you should."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your placement. Please do keep in touch and good luck for the future!
Posted 2 years ago
"Changed my life! Best decision I ever made! I did the Mental Health Placement in Sri Lanka earlier this year and I am so glad I did. I was nervous before I left as I did not know anyone but after arriving I felt instantly at ease. The SLV team could not have been more accommodating and they did everything they could to ensure we were well supported. I loved all of the projects, especially the projects working with people with special needs, I did not have my experience initially but my coordinators and national team helped me out. It was great having weekends off to explore Sri Lanka and finally I got the opporunity to learn to surf! Could not recommend this enough!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you so much for taking to time to write this, Jonny. Please stay in touch and all the best for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"I would not recommend SLV to anyone. They are highly unorganized and as a volunteer I could see how poorly they treat their staff. Because the staff is treated so badly with little time off and too much responsibility, the volunteers suffer. I was sexually assaulted on a bus going to my homestay from y projects. I was with several other people and "was doing everything right." When I brought it to the attention of my supervisor, she told me "I don't have time for this right now." Later that same week, that same supervisor pulled me aside to schooled me because she said she had heard " I was talking about personal matters with other volunteers. " all in all, I absolutely loved the work that I did there and want to go back! However, I would not recommend this poorly run organization to anyone."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was so sorry to read about this experience. This is unacceptable behaviour and, again, I am sorry that you were on the receiving end of this difficult communication when you were already feeling vulnerable.

I would like to highlight that supervisors are also volunteers and that they do work hard, but that is no excuse for this behaviour. I apologise again for this experience, as this is highly unusual and inexcusable. I have been personally investigating this and would love it if you could provide me with more information. I'll message you privately.
Posted 2 years ago
"I spent 12 weeks in Sri Lanka on the Graduate Mental Health Placement. We spent our weeks working on various projects; a psychiatric facility, special needs centres, and teaching english at a temple and at a youth centre. Everyone I met whilst in Sri Lanka was friendly and helpful. I was in a homestay with 8 other girls and our homestay family was lovely and always had advice for our weekend travels. Getting to explore Sri Lanka at the weekends was great, it's a beautiful country with plenty to see! I would definitely recommend SLV to anyone looking to gain hands on experience in mental health."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for being a part of the team and sharing your experience. Please do keep in touch and we wish you all the best for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"I had such an amazing time volunteering with SLV in Sri Lanka for 3 months!! It is such a beautiful country and I have made friends for life there, in the other volunteers but also in the homestay family too. I couldn't find the same type of experience here in the UK that allowed me to teach, and work with people with mental health issues and also special needs - I began my MSc shortly after I came back from Sri Lanka and having had that first-hand experience with Global Mental Health was invaluable! I would highly recommend to everyone thinking about applying."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you so much for all your hard work and your feedback! It's great to hear how your placement helped. Please do keep in touch and we wish you all the best for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"I did a 5 week Mental Health Placement in Sri Lanka. I felt like I was really immersed in the culture by living with a homestay family and I gained some valuable experience from my time in the country. I also really enjoyed the fact that I could go and travel with other volunteers on the weekends, there's so much to do in Sri Lanka and everyone is so friendly. I volunteered in a number of different wards in the psychiatric facilities and I enjoyed teaching English (an experience I hadn't had before). I actually surprised myself and found this the most interesting part of the placement - having to think outside the box and keep people motivated and engaged to learn. Since returning from Sri Lanka, I have finished my masters. I felt my experience teaching made me a lot more confident standing up in front of a number of people and presenting my dissertation. I have also worked in the NHS where one of the service users I worked with was Sri Lankan. We were able to chat about mental health from a different cultural and spiritual perspective and I felt my professional relationship with him was improved by the fact I had volunteered in mental health in Sri Lanka."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Kit, thank you so much for sharing your experiences and congratulations on finishing your Masters! You were an awesome part of the team! Please keep in touch and we wish you all the best in your future career.
Posted 2 years ago
"I wish I'd knew where the money goes to volunteers pay. Someone makes a lot of profit, that's for sure. One of the worst things was that I felt like being in a cult, getting brainwashed. The international coordinators seemed to be mostly people who enjoyed their "power", bossing people around. The "homestay" (I would rather say family-run guesthouse) was absolutely overcrowded (19 people), I haven't seen anybody who established a real relationship to a family member other than saying "thank you" and "that's delicious". Breakfast included meant you get bread and some slices of fruits - you bring tea, sugar, honey, butter, jam.. For dinner you bring sth to drink. Calling a placement "psychology" placement when 90% of the time you do not deal with anything psychology related is a joke, or rather a rip-off. "Guided" psychology projects - there were no doctors you could talk to (except one field trip). You just do occupational therapy: crafts, dancing, singing etc. Can be wonderful, but if you sign up under the impression you will learn about psychology ... seems to work for graduate students with no travel and work experience and who like to be treated like elementary school children."
8 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Liz, thanks for taking the time to write this. I'm sorry that your time on placement was not what you were expecting. We believe all of the projects where we work have a mental health benefit for service users. In fact, any question on the clinical psychology doctorate application can be answered using examples form the work carried out on placement and many previous volunteers have gained a place by doing this.

We also totally agree that the lack of mental health professionals in Sri Lanka is an issue, which is why we work there, but is also why we don't advertise any "shadowing" as it's simply impossible to do with the current resources. We're sorry if you were expecting something different.

And as much as we would love to house, feed, train, support and transport volunteer team members for free it's just not possible, which is why there is a cost, but we use our funds incredibly carefully and are constantly reinvesting in the communities where we work.

We really appreciate your feedback and are always working to improve, so we have taken your suggestions on board and appreciate you sharing your experience.
Posted 2 years ago
"I loved every minute in Sri Lanka! I will be forever grateful to SL Volunteers for the amazing opportunity they gave me. Lucy and Yasintha were greatly supportive and my placement was the most enriching experience I have ever had. I loved the philosophy of SLV which discourages the awful concept of "Volontourism" and I felt privileged to give my little contribution to this fantastic company. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, and, if I could I would definitely go again. Keep up the fantastic work!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Laura, thank you for your commitment to the team and taking the time to write this. We enjoyed having you on the team. Please do keep in touch and all the best for the future!
Posted 2 years ago
"A sheer delightful bunch of people to work with. Very well organised and an invaluable experience! Visiting people in the community who were very generous especially in their warmth in welcoming the SlV team. Highly recommend it!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Zarah, thank you so much for taking the time to share your views. We loved having you on the team! Please do keep in touch and we wish you all the best for the future.
Posted 2 years ago
"This experience taught me a lot of useful skills. This experience helped me to rediscover the beautiful country as being a Sri Lankan myself, I did not think that I would have new things to discover about Sri Lanka. However, I learnt a lot about Sri Lanka and the people of Sri Lanka whilst volunteering with SLV. During the weekend travels, you get to discover beautiful places that differ from one to the other, around the country. The staff are very friendly, helpful and understanding. They will help you through the placement journey. Furthermore, though you receive a lot of help and guidance, the placement teaches you about the importance of teamwork as you plan all of your sessions together. This helps you to observe and learn at first, from the volunteers who have already been there for a while. Moreover, the homestay families are very caring, attentive and kean to learn a lot about you! The families love to share their way of life and culture with you and are eager to do so. After spending 12 weeks as a Special Needs volunteer/coordinator, I learnt a lot about myself and lots of new skills as to how it is important to be responsible, friendly and how important it is to really care about others. Furthermore, being on this placement taught me a lot about, how helpful therapy is as I do not come from a psychology background. All in all, SLV really cares about YOUR experience and it also values teamwork, which combined together provides you a great platform to gain an absolutely great and useful experience in Sri Lanka."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I spent 8 weeks in Sri Lanka on the Psychology placement and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone. I gained so much from working at the projects and also met some friends for life in other volunteers. I had never been to Asia before but I felt so well supported by both the National and International staff at SLV, it was such an incredible experience I wish it wasn't over!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I did a 6 week placement in Sri Lanka and was so sad to come home! I wish I had extended now. It's such great fun to do something completely out of your comfort zone. It was truly a great experience, the people, the homestay, the projects and of course - the weekends! Initially it can be quite daunting and overwhelming, but you soon get so wrapped up in the Sri Lankan way of life, you forget about all these worries. You are constantly on the move, which is great as it keeps you busy. The projects are fun - some more enjoyable than others. I was on a Psychology Placement and actually found that I enjoyed the teaching projects the most - even though that was what I was most nervous about. Have made some life-long friends and some great memories - thanks SLV :)"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
SLV.Global is rated 4.64 based on 175 reviews