seanhanna Reviews

4.70 Rating 1,678 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend seanhanna
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read seanhanna Reviews
Visit Website


Write Your review

Tell us how seanhanna made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The staff and stylist were pleasant and there were good Covid measures but there’s no way I would return to the Canary Wharf salon.

The stylist managed to run water down the back of my neck and soak my clothes. She also really rushed the end of my hair cut. She didn’t cut any long layers in it, despite me asking for it, just did a few quick snips vertically with the scissors. I have never had layers done like that.
The pricing also made no sense. When I booked, I chose to book with a “creative” but I was charged the top price.

All in all I paid nearly £100 for a treatment, the ends to be cut off my hair and a fringe trim. I don’t know what the treatment was, either, as my hair has gone fluffier than normal.

I was 7 mins late as I couldn’t find the salon and my hair is long so the appointment ran over the designated 45 mins, so the stylist rushing may have been partially my fault , but I would suggest a salon of this calibre should either allow people to book longer appointments for longer hair or leave gaps between appointments. Certainly that’s what the salons I have been to before do.

I am disappointed as I live in the area and would have liked this to be my new salon, but I feel ripped off. I like going to the hairdressers normally . I didn’t enjoy this at all.
Posted 4 months ago
Stylist at Putney didn't listen to what I wanted, cut my hair much shorter than the picture I showed and what I had described, by about 3 inches. Very disappointed - can't even tie up. Plus the hair cut took way too long, very slow.

The salon itself was very nice and everyone was friendly. I definitely wouldn't go with a stylist again.
Posted 2 years ago
I wouldn’t recommend. I booked for a Colour Melt after speaking to someone on the phone but when I described what I wanted to the stylist and showed pictures I was told that what I wanted would be around £80 more. On that basis I said I just wanted a cut but she convinced me that she could achieve something just with a gloss colour as I already had balayaged ends. The gloss colour is barely a shade different from my natural colour and after paying for a toner for the ends these were all chopped off anyway taking twice as much off as I wanted or needed. My hair is fine and I felt like I was treated as a lost cause. I wish I’d dyed it myself and gone for a basic trim somewhere else, it wasn’t even blow dried as well as I can do at home.
Posted 3 years ago
Been sitting in the salon nearly an hour... couldnt find me on the system, No reds or purples... trying to add a base colour?? I have my hair done here all the time, why now? Then trying to ship me off to another branch as they don't have anything in stock... sorted just after an hour long wait! Had a different more efficient stylist! Paid full price no discount offered I'm 9 months pregnant 3 hours in total I were in there. Not impressed
Posted 3 years ago
I've used this place for probably a year, always going for a haircut. Every time I had someone new to do my hair- I noticed that people working here tend not to be there for more than 5-6 months (at least not the people who did my hair). During this time all was ok, nothing too sophisticated, I noticed that they don't really know how to treat a customer and make him/her feel important at all. I know because I've been to places in Marylebone and Mayfair and the attitude is seriously different.

The last time I've been here was in June to have my hair colour. Terrible experience ever. Matthew, the guy who did my hair made me blonde!!! Like Gold Blonde - a colour that doesn't look good on me at all. I asked to go blonde, but I showed him a picture of what I wanted and nothing was like it. I paid £240.00 for this, and it looked like I did it myself.

I was suffering a bit while the days were passing by because I didn't look like me, I felt fake, embarrassed of what he did. I even have pictures of my hair and the colour not being precise at all since the moment I went out of the salon.

I called my previous hairdresser in Marylebone for help - far from where I live, but I was desperate. I'm not going to say everything he said about my hair and what this guys has been done to me, just "if people don't know how to colour, they shouldn't do it!!". I left the salon so happy - my hair look blonde but natural, and I'm receiving so many compliments but most importantly I feel like myself now. Never going back.
Posted 3 years ago
I've been going to the Putney salon for over 8 years now - normally it's great. The staff are friendly and efficient, but today I got a blow dry and the results are awful - my hair is sticky and straggly bits are clumped together at the end. This is hardly surprising though as she took 35 minutes to wash and style my hair - bearing in mind that it's very thick and long. it would have been impressive if the results (mediocre waves at best) had lasted more than half an hour. My hair wasn't even shiny and I'm 100% certain that I would have achieved better results at home than the 'style' I got there. And I paid the extra £10 for a freaking stylist to do it. The whole thing felt rushed - she looked like she wanted to be anywhere else but there and hurried it to the point that at the back of my head the roots were still wet. Unacceptable.
Posted 3 years ago
I had very bad experience with seanhanna (Putney) usually all their staff members very nice and welcoming however there's this stylist by the name 'Rebecca' apparently she did my blow-dry,she came across very rude,frustrated, wasn't very happy with what she was doing,just cause i have this very long hair, probably thought extra work. My hair was done so badly, no smile on her face, within 20 mints without irony my hair properly she finished blow -dry. I was so disappointed, horrible customer services !!!!
Posted 3 years ago
I went in to have my hair tidied up. It was a trim, rather than a restyle, so you can imagine my shock at being charged nearly £70. They need to make it clear when you book the level of stylist you've been given. I was expecting £40. Won't be returning.
Posted 4 years ago
I visited the Sean Hanna in Cambridge recently.
Lovely lady but I explained what I wanted from my hair cut and didn't get that, I was given a very unevan much longer cut than I wanted with layers that didn't lay well. She didn't put any product in my hair at the end and once I was out of the salon I noticed I had a patch about 2cm long and wide behind my ear that was shaved to what I would say is a number 1 or less.
If I had been told that she made a mistake while neatening up the edges I would have appreciated her honesty and suggested taking all my sides up and maybe putting in a fade.
Instead she didn't mention it and I noticed it while walking around town.
Most certainly not worth £50 of my money and a definite waste of my time as I've just had to go to another salon to fix the haircut I was given.
My first and last visit.
Posted 4 years ago
The lady washing out my colour asked me to hold my hair whilst she washed another part of my head. This lead to staining on my fingers and newly shellaced nails. I showed her this and was given hair spray to remove, which didn't work and then stain remover, which also did not work. I will now have to incur an additional expense to have the shellac and stain removed from one nail and repainted.
2 days later the stain is still very prominent on one finger and nail plus the staining around my hairline was not even removed/touched, so I have a stain all around my forehead.
I was charged £100 which for me is a lot of hard earned money, so I would expect a much better service. I was pleased with the colour and blow dry, but the overall service was not as good as it should be.
I went to Canary Wharf branch receipt ref. tx110281. Thanks
Posted 4 years ago
The only reason I've rated this a two is because the coffee was great, head massage very nice, and products smelt great.. I've had my hair cut at Sean Hanna twice now. First time I was happy with the cut despite being double booked and taking over 2 and a half hours for a simple cut and blow dry.. However the second time I was absolutely appalled, the hair dresser spent about 5 minutes asking me what I wanted, despite not being able to speak an awful lot of English, and then just cut what I assume he thought I meant. I left nearly crying. I will not return 1) because I'm now going to have to wait to grow out my hair and get it back to a decent length.2) I prefer to decide myself what style I want, instead of leaving it to someone else.
Posted 4 years ago
I got a full head of highlights at the Bristol Salon yesterday. My roots are not covered and my hair is a dull blonde not like my usually bright blonde. I've had to book an appointment in a different salon back in Ireland as I'm now away on holidays. This already cost me 128 pound and now I have to spend more money on my hair. It was a Different person who did my hair. I can't understand how my hair can change so much when I just wanted the same colour done. I've been coming to this salon for over 3 years and have been getting the same colour. I'm extremely annoyed over this.
Posted 4 years ago
I have visited Sean Hanna twice before and left leaving a million dollars. My normal stylist is on maternity leave so I had to see someone else.

I knew exactly what I wanted and had pictures to show the stylist. I wanted to go much lighter, white blonde in fact, they replied 'platinum?' so I know they understood what I was asking for. The stylist suggested all over colour which I declined, I wanted a lot of lift without using block colour even if that wouldnt give me what the lady had in the picture.

What I have ended up with doesnt look even a bit lighter than when I went in. It looks like I have had my roots done, not that I have gone in for a colour change. I even said to the stylist that it was not the colour I asked for and they said I had to do it slowly. I have been dying my hair for thirteen years and have been able to go lighter or darker with salon visits, my results yesterday were neither.

As I wanted such a lift int he colour I decided to go back to Sean Hanna as I thought the stylists there would be able to do this. I have paid a lot of money for this and am really not happy.

Now the staff were polite, I was offered drinks, the massage chairs were wonderful and my hair is shiny and soft, however it is now what I asked for.

I am upset and angry as this was done for a special occasion; my sisters wedding on Saturday. I am now trying to find a Salon who can fix this for me in time.

I will not be returning.
Posted 4 years ago
Bleach on my root retouch left on too long then the toner came out purple and had to be shampooed multiple times so my scalp was raw - then I got charged for the toner!
Posted 4 years ago
I have been a customer of Sean Hanna for over twelve years at the Sutton branch. In that time Gena my stylist has always given an excellent service both in regards to my hair and her customer service skills. It has always been a pleasure to be pampered with the mood lights and massage chair at the wash basin to the head massage and then the warm cosy towel wrapped around your head making you feel warm and pampered.
I have always received an excellent service from the point of entering the salon to leaving from all staff and have always given excellent recommendations of the salon to anyone who is looking for a new salon.
However on my last two visits I have been deeply disappointed in the service received by the staff washing hair and the Indian head massage. Both have been sultry in their manner the first wanted to talk to other staff instead of focusing on the job in hand . I was sent back to my chair with no head massage no towel and dripping hair round my shoulders, also no offer of a drink. She had to be asked by Gena to do a head massage which ended up an unpleasant experience due to her being sour faced and looking out the window .
The second visit was not any better with no wash chairs working so no leg and back massage no lights the head massage was only done to the top of my head and no towel wrap. On being placed back with Gena she was asked to get me a drink which she then turned to Gena and said "What does she want". Firstly do not like to be called "SHE" and secondly I could of been asked what I wanted to drink.
Whilst waiting for Gena to finish the previous customer I had time to look around the salon. Broken glass in the back of cabinets in the public area, the rubber foot bars rubber falling off and several customers slipping on the shiny floor. I even saw staff putting talk on the floor where they worked so they would not slip while working.
It is not cheap at Sean Hanna for a top stylist and the overall experience is important. I am sorry to say that my past two experiences have not come anywhere close to the levels I have previously received and cannot comment to any other person if asked other than negatively. If it was not for Gena I would be looking for another salon.
Its about time somebody took an interest in staff after training and also visit the salons with open eyes.
Increasingly disappointed.
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this vital feedback, We are extremly sorry that you have had such a negative experience within the Sutton salon and I would love to discuss this further with you.

Please could you contact me:

kind regards

Jade-Marie Lester
Posted 5 years ago
An overall good hair service shamed by poor customer service by Salon Manager who got 'wound up' for asking breakdown and explanation to a bill. As much I would visit the salon again for good hair stylists at their Canary Wharf branch, their manager is an angry and arrogant individual, who carries poor customer and communication skills. A quality which is requisite for an overall satisfactory experience. The manager raised her voice, became flustered for no apparent reason even when the bill was paid in full. An extremly terrible experience that sets poor example for Sean Hanna as a brand.
Posted 5 years ago
My first visit to Sean Hanna in Wimbledon was great. Maddie the colourist done just what I was looking for. On that visit I had a colour and highlights and Maddie blow dryed my hair also. I paid 65.00. Impressed with the service I rebooked. That was yesterday and I came out very disappointed this time and felt totally misinformed. Maddie this time coloured my hair and highlights, no problem with that. But this time I had my hair dryed off by another girl, not a blow dry, which I was expecting as that was what I got last time. When I queried this at reception she said that the treatment did not include a blow dry and that would be extra. I explained I had a blow dry last time without asking for it and not charged for it. The receptionist said that it was probably "complimentary"!. I tried to explain that I was not aware or informed at my first visit that that was the case and I was on the understanding that the blow dry was part of the treatment and price. The receptionist just repeated that it must of been complimentary. But my point was "how was I to know that"! So I paid the same as last time £65.00. This time without the blow dry. If it was made clear to me at the first visit that a blow dry is extra I would have booked it. Really disappointed this time as left with limp hair. Receptionist asked if I would like to rebook. My answer was no!
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Susan

We are very sorry to hear about your recent visit to our branch of seanhanna.
We would like to investigate this matter for you, could you please contact me on and we will work towards resolving this issue for you.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Mia Foley
Head Office

Posted 5 years ago
I visited the Cambridge branch yesterday for a cut and blow dry. It was the first time I had ever been to seanhanna as I was unable to get an appointment at my usual hairdressers for a couple of weeks and I wanted to try somewhere nearer. It was a good start to my experience as the person that greeted me was friendly and made me feel welcome. I was seen quickly which was good however I was offered a drink by two separate people, I just asked for a water both times but on both occasions it failed to arrive. Overall I don't feel that my cut was of very good quality it didn't seem to be even. I have left other salons much happier. A disappointing and expensive experience!
Posted 5 years ago
Sorry to hear about your experience in Cambridge Hannah. Would you be able to get in touch with Mia on 0208540 5967 or email more details to so that we can look into this for you.
Posted 5 years ago
Have been going to your salon for years and always been so happy with cut and colour from one of your stylists. Today, thoroughly let down. Booked for highlights, which were great but the junior came and ruffled my hair a few times with the dryer and that was that! Why oh why wasn't I given a proper blow dry? If one wasn't going to be offered surely the receptionist would mention this???? I had to go home and completely blow dry my hair myself and then go out again. Not good value at £80.
Have been recommending this salon but will not in the future.
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Sarah,

Hi Sarah. I'm very sorry to hear about your Blow-Dry experience. Could you contact Mia at our head office on 0208540 5967 to provide more information so we can look into this further for you.
Posted 6 years ago
Had my hair cut at wimbledon, dont want to name on here the stylist, was on this occassion less than acceptable. Been having my hair cut by this stylist for approx 5yrs and have the same style every time, when they cut it how i do my best to describe it it is absolutely what i want and it looks like an experienced stylist has done it. On a few occassions my hair has been not what i've wanted, and bearing in mind i have the same stylist and cut every time this is a mystery to me! On my last visit 3weeks ago i left with a cut that i can only describe as less than great and the style/cut was very flat and my hair felt like it was plastered against my head with no lift at the sides which is what i want for my fine oily hair. Went back and had it re -cut, well i left with my hair being shorter which was fair enough BUT my hair is still flat against my head and i'm not happy at all with it. Having oily flat short hair means that as my hair is laying against my scalp with no lift it looks like it needs a wash every day. All this for £70. Very unhappy and in honesty i dont think i will be going back as there is no consistency with the stylist which is a great shame because like i said, when they cut it well and as i like it is fabulous. Name of stylist can be supplied if requested though i dont wish to get anyone into trouble.
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Belinda, sorry to hear about this. Would you be able to give Mia a call on 0208 540 5967, so we can get some more information and see if we can find a solution.

Kind regards,

Posted 6 years ago
seanhanna is rated 4.70 based on 1,678 reviews