Scottish Power Reviews

1.20 Rating 104 Reviews
4% of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels

How would you rate Scottish Power ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Received a call as my current supply was coming to an end. He first mentioned a competition I had entered and went on to talk about my energy supply. We spoke for a while and came to a deal which was very reasonable. I was asked to send a meter reading once when I joined. Never received a reminder after that. Never received a notification that my bill was ready to review online. 5 months in, I receive an email to say they have reviewed my account and my bill will be raised my £11.65. Baring in mind my account was in debit less than what would be due on my next bill. Not impressed!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Absolutely shambolic company. Departments are incapable of communicating to each other meaning that you are told something different on the phone versus email or letter. They instructed a debt collection agency against me in spite of my telling them many times by phone and by email that I hadn't even bought the property for the period they were trying to claim from me for. People on the phone/email accepted what I was saying but the message evidently never got through to the collections department. Most incompetent utility company I've ever had the misfortune to deal with."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"My smart meter was faulty and giving readings varying by 1000kwh on a daily basis. After a number of phone calls, email and complains they have agreed to replace it but I kept getting incorrect bills. Also they replaced for old type meter. 5 months later the issue was still ongoing, so I made a complaint to CEO which was passed on to Directors Complaints department. I subsequently got contacted by one of them who was more incompetent than normal customer services. He was supposed to look into this and come back to. 8 weeks later no response to emails, etc. I will be moving to another supplier, as don't have any more time to waste."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"I gave one star only because give none was not an option. They are without exception the worst company I have ever delt with. They had the wrong address the wrong meter reference number and the wrong amount on my bill. I have been in communication with them for over a year now on this matter and in this time they have done nothing. And today I had one of their call centre staff hang up on me. She said that she was going to workout my billing and asked me to wait I waited for about five minutes then the line went dead I called back and after forty minutes managed to talk to a call staff member called James I told him that I had been speaking to a lady called Karen who said that she had been working out my bill, he left to go and speak with her, when he returned he never mentioned anything that Karen had done so in my book she had done nothing and had hung up on me James started to ask me about my bill then started to talk over me and not allow me to put my point across and then started to give me wrong information, he came across as rude and condescending, by this time I could feel myself getting angry so I decided to end the conversation. I now feel that I will not get my billing issue delt with and I have never been treated so badly by any company in my life."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"I WOULDNT EVEN GIVE THEM 1 STAR - AVOID AVOID AVOID. All I want is my Gas Meter rotating on the spot its on and moving back onto the wall about 4 inches behind it, because THEY fit it wrong in the first place when the meters were last fitted way before I lived there. I bought my house in SEPT 2016, and have STILL not had my problem resolved. I finally got it to be an 'official complaint' since April 1st 2018 dealing with some woman called Lynne and her boss Graham, both of who do absolutely nothing for you and just dont care at all. We've had countless visits from engineers over the last 2 years and finally in May 2018 they acknowledged what needed to be done, and that it would be done. Since then we've had 2 more appointments for an engineer to come out, the 1st one nodody bothered turning up at all, which my partner had taken an unpaid day off work to be in for, for us to get a call a few days later with a pathetic excuse as to why they never came 'the system is glitching'... the 2nd appointment was then cancelled the day before it was due to happen, and since that point which was 2 weeks ago, Ive not heard a thing from them. I rang to get an update and was told id get a call back, which I obviously havent STILL. A company this size cant have a 'system glitch' for that long, its not possible for them to run if thats happening so thats obviously a huge lie. The entire place is a joke and has made my life hell for ages. Theyre staff are even worse, they dont actually care about the customer at all. Im literally at the highest point I can go and yet STILL they do NOTHING. If I knew anything about the law, id be suing them big time!! AVOID THIS COMPANY!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Shocking company dont go near them they are a disgrace there complaints department cant even call you back what is the point of having a complaints department trying to transfer my gas and electricity to a different company and they refuse it all the time so that they dont lose customers and they come up with all the excuses of the day for example there was a problem with the meter omg this company would totally knock you insane"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Every customer assistant contradicts the last person who you spoke to, one male shouted at me down the phone, nothing gets sorted out and when money is taken out of your bank by mistake they don't want to give it back to you."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Aaround November 17 got a letter saying they were increasing my direct debt, I thought ok, again in April another letter saying increasing again, it was then I decided to check the usage, It was around then, I notice it appeared to be very high consumption . I advised SP of my findings to be advised that I should monitor my usage over a week which I did, I then submitted my reading and again they increased my direct debit twice in a week, I contacted to advise I thought my meter maybe faulty to be told unlikely, I instructed an electrician to have a look, he checked the meter and the test wand he used made the meter run even faster, I told SP about this and they decided to change the meter, two engineers turned b up to change it, they switched all my electric off and went to disconnect the meter and guess what it was still turning, they both mentioned to my husband that this shouldn’t happen. I advised SP of this and raised a complaint, it has being going on for a few weeks now, until today when I receive an email to state the have checked the readings and nothing is out of the ordinary and the engineers didn’t note anything strange, I have been offered £50 for my inconvience, despite then still wanting over £195per month for a two bed with two adults and one child in the house who are out all day. The suggested during the winter your usage is higher due to cold weather, I don’t how this can be when I have gas central heating..I feel like I am getting nowhere and have decided to change supplier. I will never use then again, I have been a customer for over 20years never missed a payment and never raised a complaint with them. If feel like I have been a pain for raising it in the first place."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Worst experience with Scottish power. They are an absolute disgrace. The worst customer service! As I Came to move out off a flat I rented I was told I owed money for my pay as you go electric as they had no evidence there had been a pay as you go meter fitted. So for months and months of complaints phone calls and them sending me bills I didn’t owe, sending me to debt collectors to then sending me vouchers to say sorry to then sending me more bills. I finally received a call to say they got it wrong and I didn’t owe anything and that my account would be closed and my details would be deleted. Great finally! A couple of months down the line, today I recieve a letter to say I owe money for a period of time after I had moved out. They are honestly the worst energy supplier ever an absolute disgrace. Do not go with them"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Pathetic incompetent company. We moved house and still waiting for our refund of £40.64. Yes it may not seem like a large amount but it is the principle that matters. How they treat their customers. No customer service at all. Manager never available when asked, the agents point blank refuse to hand over the phone to managers. All I got is promises that I will get my money. 2 months has passed and nothing. The other thing is no matter when you call their contact line you always have to wait at least 30 minutes before you actually get to speak to an advisor who can only say this is all I can do and the manager is unavailable but will call you back, yeah right. They never call back. Who is going to refund me for all the calls I made and my time? Definitely not Scottish Joke power. I also requested a transcript of the call I received from the complaints department as the guy was incompetent when I challenged him he was unable to answer or was making up things just to say something else to the same question asked 2 minutes later. Still not received that either. Scottish Power are not even keeping the law.They have the worst customer service ever! They should not treat their customer like this. Horrible!! Also they have violated the data protection law which I can prove so I am going further with that too."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The absolute worst company I ever had to deal with. Incapable of doing their job, to the point where I had to get the Ombudsman services involved for an issue dating back to March, we are now in September, and the issue is still not resolved. Cannot wait to move house so I can finally get rid of them and never have to deal with them again!! Atrocious!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst company ever they make up the estimated meter readings and will not send meter reader out. Changed company 7 months ago I still haven’t reached their estimated readings on the electric meter but they took the money out my account using the direct debit. New supplier hasn’t sent out meter reader either and no bill from new supplier in 7 months . So having to resort to the Ombudsman. Rather stressful to say the least. Phone calls never returned, emails ignored when you send photographic dated evidence of meter readings they go to Email address in India and they can’t open jpeg photos!!!! That’s what the complaints person I spoke to said. Says it all."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My Partner recently joined Bulb and used another members code from here! He has just received the £50 free credit!! No other provider was offering By using someone elses code you get £50 automatically once fully set up He is offering £75 if you sign up using his code £50 from Bulb and £25 from the £50 he gets So £75 off your first bill!! The code is below: refferal75gbp.tk"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Just spent some beautiful 33 minutes and half on the phone waiting to be answered by an agent. Then their volume went down and I could not hear him well, so he simply hang up. It all makes sense to me: they knew I wanted to cancel my account (after dialing 3), so they did their best to prevent me from doing it. Well done, Scottish Power! You have the best service and you have helped me so much every single time I have phoned you... Please, note sarcastic mode 100% ON."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Utterly incompetent, the staff cannot read their own bills and have no understanding of basic mathematics, at one point they tried to tell me that 72.32 and 54.78 were exactly the same. You could not make it up, apparently they choose their staff from the university of Dumb and Dumberer with special awards to graduates from the school of fraud and thievery. It is probably time that the affected parties all get together and launch a class action against this company and get them shut down."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had boiler cover with them for a while. When the boiler didn't come on after Summer we called them. They sent an engineer from a company called Rightio to inspect the boiler. They decided it needed a PCB board. A couple of days later we called for an update. Somehow Rightio had managed to get it onto the Scottish Power system that our four year old boiler should be condemned and so Scottish Power decided to cancel the agreement but actually took our monthly payment that very morning. Many phone calls to both companies didn't get us anywhere despite the fact that Rightio have it on their system about the PCB board. They have both left us with no heating or hot water. Total incompetence from both companies. I am no loner a Scottish Power customer nor hopefully Rightio."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Just received £150 back that i accrued last year. They have now upped my monthly amount by an additional £20 per month. I'm already £200 in credit having received said refund but they still way to up monthly amount. I'm happy to incur a penalty fee and go elsewhere"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Top supplier"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Re: Where is my refund? ! I gave Scottish Power a final meter reading on Friday 3 August 2018 when I moved out of my property and was told it could take up to 14 days for the refund, On Monday 20 August 2018 over 14 days after submitting a final meter reading and receiving an e-mail earlier from Scottish Power the refund as still not been refunded. I rang customer service on Monday 20 August 2018 to be told it would be refunded in my bank account within 48 hours, 48 hours later and still no refund. Terrible service received and false information given. I am due to move into my new build home in September but will not be using Scottish Power to supply my power due to this terrible service, I will be looking for a better supplier which won't be hard to find, 1 star is too much for their customer service team and managers. The longer SCOTTISH POWER holds onto your money the more interest they make."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I only wish I had read these reviews before changing to this awful company. Started off on a direct debit plan of £129 all of a sudden this was increased to over £200 with no notice! I have called every month to be assured that they have amended the amount back then the next month we are back to square one. My smart meter states we use between £80 to £100 a month but they still want to charge me over £200 a month to build up the credit at my expense and into their pocket. Happy to pay what we owe and when I suggested that I pay monthly I as told my terms would change and I would have to pay more! The customer service is appalling not helpful and feel they read for a script don't come up with a resolution this is when you get through of course. Been on hold for over 30 minutes and requested call backs that never happen. Can't wait to end my contract. Don't switch to this company!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.20 based on 104 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This