Scottish Power Reviews

1.21 Rating 125 Reviews
4% of reviewers recommend Scottish Power

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"Do not use these guys they r a rip off stay away we’re gettin* ombusmen involved"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Avoid at all costs. This is the worst company I ever had to deal with. No communication between staff members. No one knows how to help you. Very rude customer service. Ineffective complain service. Staff members telling you that they will deal with your case and then nothing gets done. They never even record your meter readings over the phone and then they tell you that you never provided anything. I recently received 4 different bills (randomly generated bills) for the same month - one was for over £100 and the rest of them were £ 1,700. I won one case with them for overcharging me. They tried to charge me over 1,700 for 3 months and it was only when the Ombushmen services got involved they dropped this price to about £286. I have now switched to the Bulb (really happy with my choice) and waiting for my final bill from them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Scottish Power does not have an effective customer services policy in place. I have spent two days trying to contact them as my tariff is about to expire. I phoned and held on for 30 minutes listening to music (I do own a radio!) and the web chat that I was directed to was unavailable. To add insult to injury the 0800 the website flagged up was 'not yet in place'. Aargh - very frustrating. I am switching suppliers. Amazingly, Igloo Energy answered my call on the first ring! Wow! PS Can I 'award' Scottish Power zero stars!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I've had Scottish power boiler care cover for around 3 years but will be cancelling next month as it is just too much hassle trying to book an engineer for a service. The company they use simply do not answer the phone and when I did finally get through and book a service date the engineer turned up on the wrong day when there was no one home. I then had to go through the whole tedious process again to book again. Do not sign up with these cowboys they are the most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"William Patterson on your 0800 0270072 number BRILLIANT he was so helpful to us we are oaps and I didn't want online payments every quarter . He has emediatly put it to quarterly paper bill which we wanted, and that was our choice of payment , this way we got our choice and Scottish power got the business too. I see poor reviews on Scottish power as online options are not suitable to individuals. I say get on the 0800 number above and you will get the option to change to paper billing. I found William Patterson kind courteous and very professional. Thank you Scottish power for a straight forward phone call and I our deal we wanted. Happy xmas to everyone. Barbara & Paul Haycock"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"If I could give 0 stars I would! AVOID Keep taking money from my account and applied for 3 separate DD in one month putting me overdrawn twice and when I called they couldn't explain why and said i had to call back another time as they had no idea and couldn't see anything on their system. (This has happened a second time since) They will rip you off and never tell you when your energy prices are going up"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I don't even have words for this company,they are rude and useless. I topped up €280 in 10-12 days for my electricity,one of the advisor said that will send a engineer to my house ,of course she didn't. I did complaints after complaints and nothing happened. IS RIDICULOUS. They don't help you at all. I never saw in my life a company like this, they don't care about customers at all,. Useless useless useless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One of the advisors even shout at me and she said that I confuse her ,I was shocked! Never go with them!!!Never!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The worst energy company I have ever been with. They left me on hold for an hour an hour!!! And they rang me! Disgusting customer service rude staff. They keep taking money out of my account with no explanation other than that’s the bill. I do not spend £120 a month in a small house. Avoid these like the plague they rip people off and do not care. I get told done thing by one customer service advisor and sometimes else by another. This company has caused me so much stress and upset it’s unbelievable."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"This company is the most inept unprofessional company I have ever used. Customer service is appalling and they NEVER contact you to discuss your complaint. I am still waiting for a refund for the past 2 years of incorrect charges . I am at the end of my tether with them and don’t know what else I can do. When I do finally get hold of someone they say they can’t help me and just tell me someone will call me back and they don’t have a care in the world. An absolute disgrace!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Poor service, can't get in touch, staff can't give any timescales (not even within a few weeks!). The company doesn't seem to care about poor reviews and shows no inclination in trying to make sure their customers are happy. If you communicate with their web portal it takes ages and it seems as if they're dealing with many people at once. Poor administration and general inability to do the most basic of tasks."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I am literally at the end of my tether with this inept company, their complaints department and their customer services. They keep taking incorrect payments from my bank account and taking it twice leaving me overdrawn in my bank, we have a 40 minute drive to be able to access a bank to put cash in to clear my funds. I have a terminally ill parent and I don’t have the time or emotional energy for the constant battle to try and pay my bill, let alone the 40 minutes your on the phone to them each time. I’m disgusted at their service, they can tell how distressed I’m getting and they’re doing nothing to help me"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Absolutely appalling company. They messed up right from the beginning when I switched to them and they entered my meter readings incorrect which took two months to sort out! Then fast forward 8 months to moving house and having to stay with them as we were still within the contract period, once we’d moved I realised the switch over to new property was taking a while so phoned them to find out what was going on, they had cancelled my new account and seemed to have no record as to why. Ok, that’s fine, I told them, we’ll just pay the current supplier (eon) while we switch to a new supplier instead. Scottish power advised me on several occasions that they had never supplied my new property and that I would not be billed by them. Fast forward 6 months to November and after having had no contact from them and assuming all was well, they send me a bill for the period after I moved into my new house, the one they themselves told me they had never supplied! This is a seemingly never ending saga and I have now raised an official complaint for the second time (the first was never responded to) Do not switch to this company, they are by far the most incompetent and difficult company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with, I wish I’d never heard of them. They never answer the phone or respond to messages and emails, they seem to be absolutely clueless and departments don’t communicate. I wish I’d never heard of them, when all of this is finally over I will never use them again"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Quite the worst Company I have ever had dealings with. Dreadful inefficient customer service! I would not give them 1 star if there was an option. My smart meter tells me that I am in credit in both my gas and electricy account yet they are still demanding I pay them £600 and I cannot get SP to give me an explation! I have tried phoning them on many occasions (probably wasting 5/6 hours of my time) but just left on the line with zero progress concerning my enquiry. I have an ongoing complaint but SP are doing nothing to resolve the matter. If I owe them money I will pay them but surely i am entitled to an explation!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Incorrect billing. Rude staff. Incompetent CEO. GDPR breaches. The worse company you could possibly deal with by far!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I recently tried to change my tariff as £68 a month for a studio apartment is ludicrous. I had a lengthy phone conversation with SP to find a cheaper alternative only to find on my bank statement the following month they had withdrawn £77! I had another lengthy call where they claimed not to be able to find any record of me switching to a cheaper tariff. Complete and utter rip off. You can barely understand the people in their call centre for the mumbling and speed with which they talk and none of them sound as though they want to be there. Quite frankly who can blame them. I've cancelled my Standing Order...take me to court! The only thing criminal here is your service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The worst company ever... Do not go near these guys!. Outrageous bills that don't make sense (they call it a system error). Energy bills are enough as it is... And they want to push you for more! Scandalous, unlawful and fraudulent... And they get away with it! Not even Scottish.. They are Spanish!... Even the name is a lie! As well as their billing!3"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The worst company I have had the misfortune to deal with in any sector and in any respect. They are absolutely atrocious in customer service, complaint handling and every other aspect of their business. A truly shambolic and embarrassing company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Never ever go with thew company - useless - been trying to leave for 4 months - blocked our transfer cos they said we had a debt on the account - turns out they hadn't updated their records and the debt was actually a £96 credit ! Seems the finance department can't tell the difference between '+' and '-' As for customer service - this phrase clearly doesn't exist in Scottish Power. Been trying to move for 4 months now. Sick of this useless company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"For starters when I moved into my new house they managed to create two accounts and charge me twice for gas and electric which took 12 months to resolve. I've just called for an engineer to repair my heating and it's a week before anyone will come. Trouble is we just went through this with my boiler so I know to expect the visit to be cancelled and the date pushed back further with more cold house waiting time for endless sets of spare parts to be ordered and fitted until they finally diagnose the real fault."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I recently moved into a property and noticed my gas card metre is stating call help, so i called scottish power around 6.20pm today and the lady was very pleasant and reasured me that someone is coming out to fix the metre within 4 hours and they will text me 30 minutes before arriving, it is now 11pm and still nothing and i cant call them as customer service closes at 10pm so i have just waited up for nothing and have to wake up at 4am for work, frustrating when they say someone is coming out when they dont not off to a great start here, watch theyll probably end up turning up tomorrow when at work, scottish power i need my gas on asap its getting cold and im only small so i feel the cold easily. Thanks Regards Emma"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.21 based on 125 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support