Santander Reviews

2.26 Rating 43 Reviews
30% of reviewers recommend Santander

Write Your review

Tell us how Santander made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels
"On Saturday December 1st my partner and I got married and we received a cheque from a guest at our wedding made out to “Mr and Mrs Jackson” which meant that we had to open a joint account to be able to cash this cheque in. We went to the Helensburgh Santander branch who told us I needed proof of address and a form of identification to be added on to my partners current account which was fine. Went home, gathered all documents that was needed and made an appointment for the Santander branch in Glasgow city centre on argyle street. When we turned up the girl Emma who dealt with us was lovely however I was told I did not bring enough forms of photographic I.D. It had to be two forms i.e driving licence and passport, she also stated that as I was only getting added on to my partners account an appointment with Santander would not be necessary as it only takes ten minutes to do so, again went home, gathered more paperwork that was needed and this time went to the paisley Santander branch on high street to be greeted by a very rude bank manager and I was told I needed an appointment and they where not willing to deal with us as we didn’t have one. I am absolutely furious as I have now paid for unnecessary parking in paisley to come into yet another Santander branch to be turned away yet again. I have not had the best customer service from this bank at all and I don’t even bank with them. They will absolutely not be used as a personal bank for myself. We have now had to cancel our honeymoon and forfeit our £200 deposit as money was not made available by the due date to pay for the rest of the honeymoon as you can imagine this has upset us greatly."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Are you Santander? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Santander receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"Have the Select bank account and the cashback and interest alone means they are paying for me to bank with them. Great bank!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Not happy with my Branch on this occasion. Called as requested with my maturing bond certificate. The assistant attempted to fob me off with staff shortages and, that I need to do it on-line as their Personal Banker was off ill. Strangely, as I saw her later wandering around the local pound shop. After much complaining, I was shown into an office and the chap agreed to do it over the phone with their dedicated bond office. After about 10/15 minutes he got through and put me on to a dedicated team. The lady then dealt with my bond request most efficiently. I trust this was secure. I was not happy at the way this branch was staffed on this occasion. Customer face to face service is essential when dealing with peoples life savings. The management need to look very closely at this please."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Can't give a zero score so gave a 1 I have an io mortgage with Santander they made a deal with legal and general to change all io mortgages to lifetime mortgages however legal and general will only provide a lifetime mortgage for 34% of property value. Santander need to check the details of the deal they made with legal and general as their customers are not being treated fairly"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"They have blocked my 100 year old mothers account and will not communicate even though I hold an LPA for her financial affairs. They have bounced a cheque which was paying for her care even though she had more than enough money to cover it in her account- then made charges twice! They are a disgraceful bank! Unfriendly Unhelpful and a total disgrace!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"its really bad. i hate it."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been a victim of an Authorised Push Payment Fraud on my Santander Accts, Santander failed in their duty of care to protect my money on a known scam to them and have refused to cover the significant loss. Their customer care on top is horrendous - there are 1,000s of victims like me and they don't care. Do not trust your money with them - it is NOT safe. Their IT is weak and not fit for purpose."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We are a company that took out finance for some vehicles with Santander and decided to sell the vehicles 14 months early before the finance was due to be completed. We expected to receive some discount for settling early, but this was insignificant. Santander effectively penalised the company £1,000 for each vehicle settled early. We appealed, but this has been turned down as it is not regulated by the Consumer Credit Act. I knew this was the case, but expected Sandtander to operate like the other banks we do business with. I found their behavior to be unreasonable and greedy. We will never use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"They sent my card to the wrong address multiple times Lost my laptop insurance because of this Rude customer service workers. bad experience overall"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Santander are unprofessional and just dont care. They make mistakes with regularity but dont have the infrastructure to deal with it. Their customer service is non existent and they are impossible to contact or deal with. There is no common sense in their business model, they have no understanding of their customers needs and refuse to change anything to meet them. Customer service is unsurprisingly always busy with huge waits...do they do this on purpose? They say they are open from 7am -9pm but this is not true. Their fraud service is only open during business hours, as is their complaints service...the same hours that anyone who is working is also busy and unable to use them!! The wait times during working hours are horrendous and when you do get an answer you will probably have to talk to other departments and face a wait again...on purpose?? My advice would be to choose another bank as dealing with Santander will drive you crazy. They are only a bank and others outperform them in every way. They just dont care!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Horrible experience. This bank tries to sell itself as a bank suitable for international students but it is not. They put a temporary block and finally closed my account for having money wired internationally( as a student), even after bringing them a bank statement of the sender as they had asked for. I had to literally cry infront of this old branch manager lady to get her to call the head office to release my money that i needed to pay my tuition fee. The old lady kept refusing and then finally caved in and made the arrangements. So it was possible to remove the hold on my account as they were able to give me my money back in the end but i have no idea why they had to make me go through a whole ordeal just for that. Customer service is the worst. Never bank with this bank."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I opened a student account due to starting university and Santander offered a 1/3rd off rail card. That was actually useless as it was only accepted a couple of hours during the afternoon. Once I completed my degree they immediately removed my overdraft as apparently meeting their own deadlines and payments isn't good enough and insisted I pay it all off though I am currently looking for work. So now I am going to have a Default on my record because of these incompetent extortionists. As soon as I start working I will close my account, my partner will be shutting hers and moving her savings too. worse customer service than EA, avoid like the plague, go anywhere else"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Stealing basterds they stole £127 off me they can all drop dead"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"NO LOYALTY WHATSOEVER - GREEDY MONEY GRABBING. Absolutely the worst bank to deal with. Having banked with Santander (in various guises) for OVER 30 YEARS, we have been treated like children when applying for a new mortgage and told we 'can't be trusted' !!! (Three other major high street lenders have approved us and by the way our Experian credit score falls into the 'Excellent' category). For the sake of TWO months Santander are going to charge us over £6,000 in early repayment fees for a position we feel they forced us into and there is no flexibility whatsoever. Staff are patronising and rude and don't want to do anything to help with or assess a situation on its own merits. No 'human' element to their thinking or decision process just a 'computer says' attitude. Not only will we be moving our mortgage we will also be moving our bank and savings accounts and will have nothing more to do with this awful Bank. Loyalty breeds loyalty .. I'm afraid Santander have NONE. Still I'm sure there'll be some nice fat bonuses and happy shareholders which is all that is at the (black) heart of this Bank."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"the are a great bank customer services are excellent always happy to help each time you go into the bank. Also on the phones again very helpful and always helps you with whatever your quiery is."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Here to help? Been over 2 weeks my 15 years old sons account has been blocked not one single call received to sort out in my experience this is the worst bank for customer service. Not to mention the stress caused. Been told it takes 48hrs now been 16 days now that’s a joke."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"They discriminate against mothers with different surnames to their children."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"I can't give 0 so I have to give 1. Very bad customer service related to complaints.I never slected my credit card for paying back my cashbook and I believe it has taken by default while selecting the retailers. When I phoned them explaining everything they were like damn care about it and didn't even pay back my earned cashback saying it's not santander error.I believe Santander don't care about keeping customer happy and satisfied with there service. With one bank I reported theft of card and they were so sorry for it ,as a sorry and valued customer paid me £20.00 for nothing. I was very surprise to see the difference in service with other bank."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Happy to shred customers credit ratings - good customer no idea why they did this. Terrible business avoid, avoid"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"I would give a minus score if i could. Rubbish for business banking. Their repeated errors meant that no one in my company was able to access our online current account for a month! They had completely ineffective ways of trying to address the problem. In the end we had to put all the money into a personal account so that we could pay suppliers, staff etc. Very unsympathetic to the challenges a small business has, totally inadequate processes and staff that just are not interested in sorting issues out! We are now in the process of switching to Barclays."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Santander is rated 2.26 based on 43 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support