Sainsbury's Reviews

2.96 Rating 670 Reviews
47% of reviewers recommend Sainsbury's
803 Review Views (past 24 hours)
5PM - 7PM
40 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
7PM - 9PM
40 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
42 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
19 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
44 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
43 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
40 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
43 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
230 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
117 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
36 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
109 Review Views
5PM
5PM
Visit Website

Phone:
0800 636 262

Location:
Sainsbury's Supermarkets Ltd 33 Holborn

Categories:
Food & Drink
Groceries

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Sainsbury's made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Phoned the store about car parking issue and was told not to worry, go to customer service and they would sort it out. I did this and was berated by the assistant who said I just wanted a free ticket and had tried not to pay before, she recognised my car? I felt so bad and upset for days. She could have dealt with me in a different manner, not making me feel like a worthless citizen. Surely on a customer service counter there could have been someone with a better manner. I wont be going to that store again, Deal."
Posted 22 hours ago
Are you Sainsbury's? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Went to an interview to the Wolverhampton local,the interviewer was very disrespectful and rude. He told me take orders i would not recommend this store as they are rude towards there customers."
Posted 2 days ago
"The Hedge End store is a disgrace,the shelves are empty the staff as cheesed off as the customers ,whoever is managing the project needs to sort it.There is noone of management to be seen or even staff to assist with trying to locate the items which have been moved around and certainly noone saving sorry. This is no way to treat customers."
Posted 6 days ago
"Have been using Sainsbury’s since it came to wellesbourne. Have always been impressed with cleanliness and helpful staff. Bernie in particular always has a smile on her face."
Posted 6 days ago
"I’ve tried to sign on as a new customer for an online delivery. My order was lost at the end as I was unable to register. The delivery slot I chose was £2.50 but increased to £7 when I clicked on it for no reason. After spending 20 minutes trying to register and the system refusing to take my details, I will give up and try tescos."
Posted 6 days ago
"The service I received at Sainsbury's Cheddar was absolutely abysmal! I came with my daughter Ella and some speccy ginger employee was eyeing her up. He had a Vans hoodie on. He needs to clean his teeth and get a haircut, what a NONCE!"
Posted 1 week ago
"It's always a pleasure to go to sainsbury’s local (Andover Road Newbury). I mostly like to go in the evenings as there is usually a lovely lady named Yvonne who just lights up my day. She always has a smile on her face and nothing is too much trouble for her. I recently had a new nectar card delivered and had accumulated a lot of receipts, as there was a big queue behind me I said not to worry and that I would wait another time for a quieter period to put the points on. Yvonne would not hear of this and called the manager to help, to make sure my points went on the card. It's also lovely to hear a staff member say how lovely she is when I asked what her name is, and how they love working with her. She really is a wonderful asset to your team and I really hope she gets recognised for this. People are always quick to complain but never quick to leave positive feedback. Thank you Yvonne and keep doing what you do. (Making people happy) x"
Posted 1 week ago
"I am livid. I ordered from Sainsburys on 5th May and my order was delivered. I then made a top up order on 10th May for a few odd items. Only to be called on the phone 5 minutes before delivery expected, and told that their computer system had classified me as a Security RISK and as such they were not delivering to me. 2 phone calls and 2 emails now and no one can advise me what they actually mean by me being a Security risk. I asked if it had anything to do with payment and was told it was not. This is what came today in email :- "I've had a look at your account and can see that We've had to cancel your order as it has been flagged by Sainsbury’s risk prevention system. I am sorry if this has caused you any inconvenience. At our absolute discretion we reserve the right to terminate your access to all or part of this service with or without notice" I am disgusted that they have the audacity to classify me as such. If it has to do with payment, then it should not as they take the funds from my account before they deliver, so if the payment does not go through, then I could understand but they had not even tried to take payment. I then ordered via zoom delivery and had all my goods delivered within 1 hour. Anyone else out there had this issue? Surely I have a legal right to do something about this. I am certainly going to investigate this further. Needless to say, I, nor my family or friends will be shopping at Sainsburys as they are all disgusted to hear about this."
Posted 1 week ago
"Im not gonna lie the main job was a bit dead but now shes 6 months pregenant she goes by the name of Kieran davies mum we were trying on glasses in the sinsbury dunstable changing rooms but she got knocked out bya crackhead called gary so I brang her back to life and baby carlos is now on theway its bless though because his 14 year old dad(man) is gonna teach him the true ways of business and how to break lines and bag up mans grub"
Posted 1 week ago
"Sainsbury’s bacon is DISGUSTING! I do not advise buying it at all. The slices are so thin you can’t even pull them apart without them tearing, each slice is pumped full of so much water and chemicals it’s unreal. Has a nasty metallic taste to it after it’s cooked and shrivelled up to a third of its size!! Will be avoiding meat products altogether from Sainsbury’s from on."
Posted 1 week ago
"Sainsbury's grocery deliveries are becoming increasingly delayed while the customer services and the drivers do not appear to have sufficient experience and training to deal with customer requirements. The communication between drivers and Sainsbury's customer services is equally inefficient resulting to misunderstandings. All in all very unprofessional, disappointing service. I had a delivery arranged between 18:30 and 19:30 this evening. An agent from Sainsbury's customer services called me around 18:15 to notify me that the driver was running late and they would be able to make the delivery around 20:00. I was not at home and given the update I was going to return later for the delivery. Around 19:00 the Sainsbury's driver called me to say that they were outside the flat waiting. He was shouting and he was rude. I tried to explain to him that Sainsbury's customers services had already updated me that the delivery was going to be late hence I was not at home. He would not stop shouting and in the end he hang up. A few minutes later I had another call from Sainsbury's office complaining that the driver had arrived but I was not there to collect the delivery. I tried to explain again that the reason for that was because his colleague had earlier informed me that the driver was going to be late. The agent could not trace in the system the earlier call and kept disregarding what I was saying. He promised to investigate and return back to me by 20:00. I did not receive any phone calls or my delivery by then so I decided to call Sainsbury's. An agent under the name Andy from the Glasgow office answered the phone but again he did not seem to be aware about the earlier update his colleague provided that there was a delay in the delivery. He kept ignoring me and practically insinuated that I was lying. He was rude and unhelpful while he refused to provide his full name to help me file a complaint. Similar mix ups in the delivery time have occurred in the past. There is never an apology or explanation while it is implied that it is the customer's fault. These incidents cause great inconvenience."
Posted 1 week ago
"I am so angry and can not believe what has just happened but first I would like to tell you in the last few years I started shopping with Sainsburys again as I thought maybe things had changed, obviously not! Having witnessed someone of a certain age falling over in your store and although staff saw it happen, no one went to their aid, that was a few years ago and also being bought to tears a few years before that when I was challenged about the amount of fresh peas I was taking and putting into my trolley and that I was not allowed as I had to leave some for other customers and being intimidated by several managers, I left the shop in tears sobbing, however years later, here I am again thinking I would try Sainsburys again! What a mistake! I have this afternoon received my online shopping and discovered that the milk I had ordered had not been delivered and something else was incorrect and that I had ordered 200 cigarettes thinking they were superkings and in fact they were not. When the guy delivered the shopping he advised that he had no paperwork for me as he had been rushed out of the door, at the time I didn’t think it to be an issue until I unpacked the shopping. As you will appreciate, 200 cigarettes is a lot of monies worth if you are not happy with them so I called your customer service! I spoke with a gentleman there who really didn’t know what he was doing and offered to refund the money for the cigarettes. Now, I could of left it there, but I then said to him “ what about the cigarettes I already have!” Oh yea, he says, I better speak to someone and left me holding on. He then comes back and informs me that I can take them back to a shop and do an exchange which was fine except I needed the receipt, he offered to post the receipt, I told him that was no good as I needed to take them back tomorrow, can he email the receipt, he replied that he couldn’t, I then asked to speak to a manager as he clearly did not know what he was doing other than repeating himself. He advised that a manager would not speak to me unless I had a problem with him, I told him to go back and tell them I did. He came back and told me that the manager refused to take my call, I demanded that a manager call me and still he would not put me through and I then lost it by telling him I would be contacting yourself and watchdog! Considering I had saved your company over £80.00 as the guy on the phone was going to refund me, perhaps I should of kept my mouth shut and treated him and your company with the contempt I have been dished out with. I am absolutely amazed, angry , frustrated, stressed and can’t quite comprehend a company that refuses to speak to its customers, it is shameful! I am 62 years young and I do not deserve to be treated in this awful way when I was truthful about the mistake the guy made and end up having an enormous argument over something that should have been so simple to sort out. I am not the one that lost the receipt, your company did not deliver it and I am the one suffering the consequences. If this the way forward for customer services (none whatsoever) I am glad I am on the way out and not on the way in! Obviously I will be putting my experience on social media to warn people of the non cooperative customer services! I would like to hear your take on this and whether this is customer policy and what do you think of the way I have been treated! Astonished I have had to go this far, but this is how angry I feel this whole situation!"
Posted 1 week ago
"Its supposed to be their biggest store in the country after moving less than half a mile to the other side of the tollgate stanway colchester development in around 2006, I’ve never been able to get used to it the shopping experience is like walking around an old cash and carry warehouse or an airship hanger. The service and customer experience in the place is the worst I’ve come across out of everyone I deal with, you can never get see to the manager i.e. the top person in the store, customers are generally fobbed off with an under departmental or section person if that. I shop in there for electrical items and the TU clothing the occasional box of 15 barn eggs and the odd occasion I have nectar points or a voucher. "Some" of the staff appear to be in a world of their own there's little customer service ethos displayed if you ask them anything it’s akin to troubling them or getting in the way. There's no meet or greet and when there's serious customer service issues there's no formal address or respect when in title to the complainant (it’s very much like being pulled over by a saturday night traffic police officer, wanting to get back to their crew room takeaway). The company either can’t get the right staff into their network or they’re stuck with employees twiddling their thumbs waiting to see what comes around the corner in life? Staff appear to think they’re in money for old jobs where their flame proof and can do or say what they want and the managers seem to kowtow to this? Late in the evenings when there's barely any security or senior management available and it’s no wonder staff are paranoid about pilfering and shop lifting, the problem here is that regular customers get caught up in their world of complications. The simple math here is the store is badly run and the pricing of the food is falling very close to M&S and Waitrose which is disenfranchising for a lot of original Sainsbury customers, I’ve been shopping with them on and off for 38 years. I can’t wait for Aldi to move across the road from them which should stir up the cat among the pigeons. Sainsbury aren't trying hard enough if you look at "Tesco" and their new low price range "Stockwell" brand you can see their making an effort. The negative attitude has rubbed off on "Argos" after this conglomerate took them over. Argos used to be good but omg+ couldn't you tell the mission statement management kicked in when they amalgamated with them in-store at Sainsbury two Christmases ago. They didn't do the initiative this year, I wonder why? By the way the Argos store is on the same retail park literally a stone’s throw away. (If Sainsbury want to learn how to run a store take a leaf of out of the Highwood's Tesco store 7 miles away the general manager there is one of the best I’ve seen in 40 years). It’s far removed from the dury lane London ideal of its founder and appears to have become some type of shopping dystopia where the customer seems to be valued with gritted teeth and taken for granted? Do indulge me Mr Coupe? There’s an air and feel of a truman /stepford show within the shopping quality of the store that doesn’t appear to let up. Its got to be more than just plonking stuff on shelves and expecting customers to stump up that hard earned £1. One local business owner in the area told me all businesses are struggling and chasing the same £1, Sainsbury’s attitude appears to be a like it or lump it "bread baked with bitter pill feeds half man's hunger" attitude. You will fall on your own shopping A Board if you carry on like this! Without prejudice, may contain spoilers, comments, opinions or personal perception on a paying customer of about £3,000 a year for the last 38 years."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Plastic, plastic everywhere. So much unnecessary single use plastic in Sainsbury's it is truly appalling. They have a notice on their single use plastic bags for loose fruit and veg that says think of the environment and only take as many as you need!! What a joke why are they not being responsible and supplying paper bags for loose fruit and veg and croissants etc? Instead of passing the responsibility on to the customer Sainsburys need to sort out their environmental policy towards plastic before it's too late. Our planet is suffocating under the weight of this irresponsible Supermarket. Sainsburys needs to make the changes to save the planet not continuously pass the buck and blame the consumer. And the super thick plastic bags that they supply to carry your shopping what insanity is this?? Co-op at least has got compostable carrier bags now. So why hasn't Sainsbury's? Dreadful Supermarket. If you care about the environment shop locally at places that don't over dose on single use plastic."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Fantastic, best ever tasted Strawberry tart."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I had a problem with a £9 money off voucher sent to me at my address, but which turned out to be for some other poor soul's card - I am baffled by how this arose and I did not notice (I don't usually cross check the number with my nectar card). I went to Sainsbury's to use this voucher but it would not accept at the till so I was told to call Nectar. They told me it was a Sainsbury's voucher so not their problem and only Sainsbury's could deal with it. Sainsbury's said it was a Nectar issue and only Nectar could deal with it. Over 1 hour 30 min I was passed to and fro at least 5 times and was finally offered a 'Goodwill' Voucher for £5. The voucher I tried to use was indeed not mine, but the problem arose from a crossed wire in their systems. Not at any point did anyone apologise, or offer a way to find or sort out the problem, simply said not your voucher, the other party is responsible. I think this is appalling customer service and has completely put me off shopping at Sainsbury's."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Had a delivery on Friday to find some of my order missing and short dates like next day. Also I was missing my fuel voucher, when I phoned and spoke to Dan he informed me he had over 19 customers missing a fuel voucher. I’m glad that Sainsbury’s are not merging with Asda as if anything to go by this delivery it would be tremble. I’m sorry to Sainsbury’s that will not be renewing my delivery pass. I’m going to shop at Morrison’s from now on."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Went to the cafe in sainsburys Oldham. It is Filthy. Food on chairs and tables. One employee pushing in chairs but didn't wipe any tables down. It is disgusting. I had to ask for a cloth myself to wipe down a table. They gave me a dripping stack of cloths. I had to wash the cutlery before we used it. Health dept would love to visit this place."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"It is absolutely awful trying to register for an online shop here. Will go to a more user friendly website shopping website!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Waited an hour before delivery slot to inform me there'd been a problem with payment, spent half an hour on hold with them to learn that the delivery slot could not be met. Utter shamble of an organisation. Shop anywhere else."
Posted 2 weeks ago
Sainsbury's is rated 2.96 based on 670 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support