Real Africa Reviews

122 Reviews

Visit Website

Phone:
01603 964 730

Email:
enquiries@realafrica.co.uk

Location:
The Union Building
51-59 Rose Lane

Are you a business owner? Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.
Mr G H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Itinerary
Provided the opportunity to see exactly what we wanted to see, ie the wildebeest migration, and a great deal more. The four locations provided a great variety of landscapes which enabled us to see a wide range of fauna. Our only regret was not having an extra day to enjoy Tarangire to its full extent.
Lodges
We asked for mid-range level and these all provided an excellent base for our travels at each location. Each had its own charm. They were all comfortable with excellent food. No one could possibly go hungry. The staff evrywhere were helpful and added to general enjoyment of the safari. Especially interesting were the tales told of old experiences and the history of the place around the open fire at Ndutu before dinner.
Ground Agents
Albatros provided comfortable vehicles, which were spotless every morning, and your advice of travelling with four in each vehicle aws absolutely correct. Samwel and Marco were obviously experts in their field finding animals that we would have never seen. They took pleasure in pointing out everything and contributed significantly to our enjoyment. Their slight variations to the original itinerary were fully justified and enabled us to even more wildlife. Their driving was always safe and considerate.
Wildlife Seen
The first objective was to see the wildebeest migration. This was achieved witht sghting of so many, who knows 50,000 or 100,000, plus thousands of zebra. The experience was topped with three cheetah, one where we watched an unsuccessful chase before leaving the animal in peace to go about its undisturbed. Added to this we saw the African 'big five' with no fewer than four leopard up trees and four rhino in the Ngorongoro Crater. We even had that wonderful experience of following wild dog for a couple of kilometres, a rare experience even for the guides.
Conclusion
A superb safari which we would find very hard to repeat. Our thanks to all at Real Africa and Albatros Travel for the organisation. One always goes on safari expectant of seeing everthing. This time it was achieved!
Posted 2 years ago
Mrs L C
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Left the organisation to Real Africa and they arranged a holiday of a lifetime which allowed us to experience diverse landscapes and wonderful wildlife in a beautiful, friendly country.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr & M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Our safari was excellent. Everything ran according to plan. Unfortunately it was just too short. We wished we'd added an extra few days and done the Kalahari as well because Kwando's camps were great.
They made you feel like you were having a genuine experience of tracking animals in their native habitat rather than being pulled along by the nose in a bus load of tourists.
This was Peter's first safari experience (I'd done Kenya/Rwanda 27 years ago) and I was a little unsure of whether he would like it but he was talking about his "next" plans even before we'd left.
Posted 2 years ago
Mrs G C
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

My daughter and I greatly enjoyed a three week holiday in Africa organised by Paul, of Real Africa. the detail was very well thought out, and there were no hitches throughout, and the holiday more than met our expectations. The accommodation was good, with a couple of places being outstanding. Delicious food throughout, and excellent games drives with wonderful viewing. In Tanzania we enjoyed our own vehicle with a knowledgeable and very nice guide/driver for the week. It was excellent value and I strongly recommend Real Africa.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr J W
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This was a major event for our family as our first "Big" holiday together, so we wanted to get it right. Real Africa fully engaged with us over what we wanted out of our visit to Kenya, and put together a perfect package that satisfied the requirements of both adults and children alike (our girls are 10 and 12).

I honestly cannot fault anything; the itinerary was comprehensive and ran on rails, the lodges were excellent or better (you *have* to go to Chui), and the guides and staff on the ground were knowledgeable and friendly. We ticked off the Big 5 in short order, but the mix of lodges and locations ensured we saw so much more of this awesome country's wildlife than just that.

It was an unforgettable trip and we'd all book again (with Real Africa, of course!) in a heartbeat.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr & M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is the second time we have been to Tanzania with Real Africa and what a fabulous time we had again. Albatross Travel looked after us exceptionally well. Everything was very well organised. We only had to get up in the morning, have our breakfast and let our driver/ guide do the rest. Nothing was too much trouble for Marco our guide. We saw lots of animals including lions in trees and giraffes drinking, things we have not seen before even though this was our sixth safari. We plan to return in two years time with Real Africa.
Thank you Paul.
Posted 2 years ago
Miss V G
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Honestly the best holiday I've ever had. The hole set up was smooth, from the minute we landed until the minute we were dropped back at the airport. Our driver Godfrey was amazing, there was nothing he could have done more and certainly made the difference, defo 10 out of 10.

Would also like to call out Paul who helped with all my questions and arranging the trip as again he couldn't do enough for me. Will definitely recommend this coupany and trip to family and friends
Posted 2 years ago
Mr & M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This was our second trip to Africa organised by Real Africa and I can say we had the most amazing holiday both times. Our trip to South Africa was organised brilliantly with no problems. We stayed in 4 different properties and each was excellent. the service in all was amazing and Paul had arranged everything from the car hire, directions, flights and accommodation. We did not have any problems with any of these. The flights were with Emirates which meant more leg room and we had a Toyota Corolla car which was plenty big enough for 2 people. We would love to go back to Africa one day and will definitely be using Real Africa again. Thank you Paul for arranging a magical trip for us
Posted 2 years ago
Dr. I
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Real Africa put together the holiday of a lifetime for us which surpassed all of our expectations. We travelled to Botswana and Zimbabwe. starting and ending at Victoria Falls. We also stayed in a fabulous safari lodge in Chobe National Park and enjoyed 3 days sailing on the wonderful Zambeze Queen.
Every minute of our holiday was planned by Paul, who was extremely attentive and helpful.
Our accommodation was always of the highest standard and we were treated like VIPs wherever we went thanks to Mr Hickey-Fry's forward planning.
We returned with so many wonderful memories (and photos!) that I fear we will bore friends and family for many years to come.
Given the chance, we would definitively return to Africa and can not think of a better firm to travel with. Definitely a Big Five Star experience. Thank you so much.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr T B
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Thank you Real Africa and in particular Paul. From starting in Cape Town until leaving Victoria Falls the trip was perfect. We thought the boutique and friendly Sugar Hotel was a lovely place to explore the city from. The lodge at Arathusa overlooking the watering hole was an incredible setting with accommodating staff was more than we could have asked for. Our final leg in Victoria falls capped off an amazing trip.

Thanks again
Posted 2 years ago
Mrs E O
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The organisation wasvery good the car was virtually new so very reliable and comfortable. Driver was safe and competent, smart and very punctual and very polite.As we travelled about 3000km that was important.Weenjoyed travelling
overland ( not for everybody as the roads are not tarmacked) but we could stop at local markets /for photos/local scenic places. The accommodation generally was very good -we were disappointed with the food at Mweya Safari lodge but the location more than made up for it. We were not expecting gourmet food and overall the food and accommodation was excellent We enjoyed the 'tented' rooms!
The three boat trips that were included were excellent - we saw so much wild life and took loads of photos - very worthwhile.we also enjoyed the walks we had craters,Mburoagain with local people .All the game drives were fantastic the driver was very knowledgable about bird/animal life and was great at spotting everything and went out of his way the look for particular animals/bird we wanted to see.Highlight of the game drives were the tree climbing lions!
The gorilla tracking was great - demanding walking -but just as we expected and it was very exciting to get so close to such magnificent creatures.
Overall we hada fantastic trip and everything was very well organised from Real Africa's point of view- great communication keeping us upto date all the way through and tweaking the itinerary to our choices.
Many thanks -please keep us informed of your trips in Africa(send a brochure?) and we have no hesitation of recommending your company to other clients! Best wishes Eleanor and Mike

Posted 2 years ago
Mr & M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The whole holiday was well planned and ran smoothly. We were really grateful to Real Africa for planning it for us at very short notice and coming up with 4 alternatives. We chose the trip to Honeyguide tented Safari. We stayed at Mantobeni Camp which was amazing. We loved the tents, the service and the overall experience.
Travelling was easy, especially being met at the airports and transfers ran smoothly.
Thank you so much
Posted 2 years ago
Mr P W
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Booking a safari can be intimidating. I did a lot of research and called many different companies but Real Africa stood out as the most friendly, informative and welcoming. Paul Hickey-Fry offered a strong knowledge of the seasons, game viewing and places to stay in our destination, Tanzania. The itinerary was well tailored to our preferences and punctually sent over and the whole booking experience was made very simple. The information packs were excellent and we had no issues with the flights.

In Tanzania, we were very well looked after by our guide Richard and had an unforgettable holiday. The game viewing was well beyond our expectations and as well as the big five, we were treated to African Wild Dogs in the Serengeti. The lodges were luxurious with great food and we were exceptionally well treated at each one by the dedicated and welcoming staff. Splitting the holiday between Tarangire, the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro Crater offered refreshing changes of scenery. I can't recommend a Safari with this company enough.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr & M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

A fantastic experience made possible by the great customer service and organisational expertise provided by Paul at Real Africa. From the moment we stepped off the plane, the itinerary arranged for us went like clockwork. Our safari guide and driver was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about Tanzania. He shared stories and anecdotes which brought the whole experience to life. Our lodge accommodation in all 3 Tanzania locations was excellent and having the land cruiser to ourselves allowed us space to move around and enjoy the wildlife viewing. The hotel in Zanzibar was beautiful. The staff were attentive and friendly and the food was delicious. A fantastic holiday and we would definitely recommend Real Africa to anyone willing to listen. Thank you.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr M T
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is the 2nd time with REAL AFRICA and it was excellent as was the 1st. Albatross travel is Real Africas contact in Africa and made sure that everything went as good as clockwork. No problems encountered at all. Accommodation both at Govenors Camp in the masai mara and at Pinewood Hotel and Spa were superb. The food was very good at both venues as was the service. Everyone was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Safety was paramount and Real Africa excels in this department. We plan to return to Africa and it will be Real Africa I phone.
Posted 2 years ago
Mrs S H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Absolutely faultless, right from the initial request. Our requirements were not totally straight forward but everything we asked for was met with courteousness, friendliness and above all, efficiency. They certainly know how to go the extra mile. It was not the first time that we have used Real Africa and it will certainly not be the last. Well done yet again.
Posted 2 years ago
Ms L
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Having just returned from a fantastic safari organised by Real Africa I would like to thank all the staff at Real Africa for going that extra mile. Any queries were answered promptly and efficiently and nothing was too much trouble. It made for a troublefree vacation. In Kenya everything ran like clockwork from being met at Nairobi airport by a representative and our Driver/Guide James. who deserves a special mention for his knowledge, driving skills and making sure that every day was special, up until leaving for our flights home. The itinerary was diverse and we saw many sides of Kenya, plus so much wildlife, including wildebeest crossing the Mara and the Big 5 on more than one occasion.

This being our fifth safari holiday, but first with Real Africa, I would definitely recommend Real Africa and also Kenya as a destination to guarantee a wonderful experience.
Posted 2 years ago
Mrs C
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Enjoyed a superb holiday in South Africa with Real Africa. They really understood our requirements, booking us into a lovely hotel within a short walk of the Waterfront and arranging a series of excellent day trips - all in very small groups with very knowlegeable leaders. A visit to a selection of wineries was a highlight, along with a scenic trip to the Cape of Good Hope and the Botanical Gardens. Can't recommend Real Africa highly enough - they take the time and trouble to make their holidays really memorable for their customers.
Posted 2 years ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Our guide Hashim was superb, really knowledgeable and 4x4 roomy and comfortable. Helpful to be able to charge our phone and batteries in the 4x4 on longer drives and the cold water from the coolbox was lovely! Especially enjoyed our stay at Tarangire Safari Lodge - the view of the river from our tent was incredible with a huge herd of elephant coming and going all through the day along with zebra and antelopes. Great to watch and the noise was something else particularly at sunrise! Loads of animals around camp too. Tents are small and not nearly as luxurious as we experienced elsewhere, which we had been pre-warned about, but so glad we stayed as the location is unbeatable. Day in the Ngorongoro Crater worked well with a picnic lunch - meant we could stay all day on the floor of the crater. Thank you Real Africa.
Posted 2 years ago
Sam &
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We would wholeheartedly recommend Real Africa to anyone wishing to organise a truly memorable holiday. We contacted them to help us organise our first long haul trip to South Africa as a family. As our three children were aged 6, 8 and 10 at the time, we very much appreciated their expertise, wise advice and local knowledge. The itinerary they designed and the resorts/hotels they recommended were perfect for all of the family, offering diversity, interest and a great balance of structured visits and independent travel. Particular family highlights were exploring Cape Town and the wonders of the Cape, excellent guided beach walks and cave visits near Hermanus and our unforgettable stay at Shamwari Game Reserve. The high quality accommodation, the warmth and attentiveness of all the staff and the many personal, child-friendly touches to the holiday made the whole experience truly special for us all. We are already planning our next African adventure and will certainly use Real Africa again.
Sam & Thierry, London.
Posted 2 years ago
Real Africa is rated 4.97 based on 122 reviews