Real Africa Reviews

4.97 Rating 138 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Real Africa
Visit Website

Phone:
01603 964 730

Email:
enquiries@realafrica.co.uk

Location:
The Union Building
51-59 Rose Lane

Are you a business owner Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.

How would you rate Real Africa?

Your Rating
"This is our second year with Real Africa, they have been fantastic with all our arrangements yet again. With them you can feel happy on holiday and not worry about travel to and from your resort, the lodges were of the best we have stayed in for many years. Botswana we stayed at the Ngoma Safari Lodge Chobe, the wild life is unbelievable. We must have seen most of the 129,000 elephants in the area. So well done Real Africa. Jo and DM"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Paul We had the most wonderful time so well organized, with concise fact sheets, excellent accommodation , transfers,which allowed us to enjoy our holiday without any worries. Botswana was the jewel in the crown.The Ngoma Safari Lodge a real find Judy and Peter made us feel like VIP'S along with first class dining plus the game drives truly a bucket list time.. The river trips at both Botswana and Zimbabwe were a wonderful experience. Thank you for all your care and attention Gerald & Merrilyn Lee ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"May was a brilliant time to visit Samburu and Laikipia. We were totally smitten with this beautiful area. We saw fabulous wildlife, including a wonderful young male leopard, a cheetah with three cubs and many different elephant families. Visiting the Save the Elephants research centre in Samburu gave a special insight into elephant conservation and was really fascinating. A must! Thought the Samburu guides really added to our experience too (the bush supper at Saruni Samburu with all the guides was a highlight). So pleased we were lucky enough to see rhino - 11 at once at Borana! Nairobi National Park was an unexpected delight - the Emakoko is wonderful - food, drink and wildlife all fab - a great place to start or end your holiday. All in all...can't wait to go back!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"What an amazing holiday. Real Africa supplied us with all the documentation we needed well in advance of our holiday. They were efficient, patient with all our questions and are always courteous and polite. Once we arrived in Botswana the Desert and Delta rep was waiting for us at the airport and greeted us warmly and efficiently. The four camps that we stayed at were outstanding. Accommodation was beautiful and every single member of the staff at all the camps were exceptional. We have never been on a holiday before where we felt so welcome and that everyone was genuinely pleased to see us. The food at the all the camps was delicious and more than plentiful. Be prepared to come back from your holiday weighing more than when you started! The guides were knowledgeable and patient. This was truly a holiday never to be forgotten. All our transfers between camps were on time and the aircraft and the pilots were also exceptional. We cannot fault one aspect of this holiday and thank Real Africa and Desert and Delta Safaris for making this a truly memorable experience that we will never forget."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Real Africa's arrangements, on our behalf, all worked efficiently and according to plan, and our transfers, accommodation and car hire in South Africa were excellent. To be highly recommended is the accommodation at Carslogie House, Port Elizabeth, Belvidere Manor at Knysna , (Cape, Garden Route) and Hideaway Guest House in Swellandam, all of which provided exceptionally comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfasts, with good restaurants within walking distance for evening meals. Thank you, Real Africa, for a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing and completely hassle-free holiday. Our only complaint was that it was over far too quickly!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"On arrival at Port Elizabeth, the comfortable Carslogie House is an excellent overnight stopover worthy of its 5 stars, and excellent breakfast. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the nearby Protea Marine Hotel Restaurant which is just walking distance away from Carslogie. Highly recommended. Amakhala Game Reserve offers a more rustic charm and colonial feel about it. We were disappointed not to be accommodated in Leeuwenbosch House, as we expected, but in the Shearer's Lodge which is a little more basic but reasonably comfortable, although we did have trouble with no hot water on Day 2. There was no explanation for not accommodating us in Leeuwenbosch and, as far as we could tell, there were rooms available. The undulating Game Reserve is fantastic with plenty of excellent game to see, and our ranger was very knowledgeable. Our hosts ~Bill and Rose Fowlds were equally hospitable and sociable, and we were entertained in the bar every evening with plenty of drink on tap. However, although the food was of good quality it was grossly insufficient with very small portions and we and the other guests were constantly hungry. Breakfast was served after the morning game drive but there was no lunch, and only a very small tea was served just before the 16.00 game drive. The shortage of food at breakfast, for example, could easily have been solved by providing more toast and preserves, but this was not available and guests seemed to be strictly rationed to 2 slices each. My travelling companion was allergic to eggs, and despite Amakhala having been informed, she was not provided with an alternative choice, so had even less to eat as a result. Belvidere Manor at Knysna was absolutely wonderful! Our cottage set in beautiful grounds overlooking Knysna Lagoon was really comfortable and spacious and the welcome friendly and courteous, with owner, Sue Mills, on hand to greet her guests. Breakfasts on the sunny terrace were absolutely delicious with masses of choice. The Bell Tavern serves excellent evening meals, and we thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing couple of days there. To be thoroughly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"We had a wonderful holiday in Botswana. The whole trip went extremely smoothly and we're grateful to Real Africa for putting together a fabulous itinerary and ensuring all the travel arrangements caused us no problems. All of the accommodation was superb, we particularly enjoyed the three Ker and Downey camps, and the people were an absolute delight. This was our fourth fantastic holiday with Real Africa."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The Cape Town and Kariega River Lodge holiday was even better than advertised. From the booking process to issue of final holiday documents, Real Africa were excellent. Would definitely recommend this trip."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"As this was our 4th adventure with Real Africa it came as no surprise that everything ran smoothly. Our trip this time was to Botswana and started with a long overnight flight to Joburg and then onward to Maun where we were met by local staff and taken to the third flight of the day in a much small aircraft. We stayed at 3 tented lodges which were all amazing and located in beautiful position. The staff were always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. Our final camp was Lebala and inspite of the dryer than normal weather for the Okavanga Delta we had a brilliant time. Our guide, Hobby and tracker Diesel were terrific and we even managed to track down a elusive pack of wild dogs. Will we go back....just try and stop us. Huge thanks to Paul for suggesting 3 days of r&r at Victoria Falls which are truly epic and a must see in Africa. With their service and knowledge it's easy to see why Real Africa are being so successful. Kim & Charles, Knowle"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The service from Paul Hickey-Fry and the Real World Travel team was second to none. From the moment we requested assistance in planning our holiday we knew we were in good hands. A wealth of knowledge within the team meant that we were able to put forward our ideas and the they were able to shape them into an itinerary that suited our travel dates and requirements. Real World Travel truly offer a personal service for a tailor made holiday. The little touches such as the meet & greet, a quick transit through OR Tambo airport and the best hotels made a real difference. All the transfers to and from hotels, resorts and airports were seamless and on-time removing any stress involved. Thoroughly recommended!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Mrs C.L. P
Verified Buyer
"A well organised trip that went extremely well and was very enjoyable, covering all the things I wanted to do."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"This was our third time with Real Africa. Why go with anyone else when they do such a good job, helping and advising to make a holiday just perfect for you. The safari was fabulous. Our guide, Marco, who has been our guide each time managed to surpass even the quality of our last 2 safaris by showing us new things. The Lemala tented camps were superb. Zanzibar was the ideal place to relax after a busy safari. Can't wait until our next safari. Thank you Paul and Real Africa."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"We had a wonderful trip thankyou and wouldn't really have changed anything apart from maybe a few more hours at the Escarpment Lodge which was amazing although I don't know how we could have fitted that in? Our guide was first class from start to finish with an encyclopedic knowledge of Tanzania, it's history and it's wildlife. We loved the tented camps especially.......the lions outside the tent roaring during the night, the fantastic staff, the hours around the dining table (and camp fire) and the great fun we had with the people we met. Oh, and we saw all the animals too!! Thankyou to Sara and Paul for organising such a full on, exciting itinerary and making everything, including our flight transfers etc, so easy. A real trip of a lifetime. The Wharton family."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Our holiday to Tanzania with Real Africa and Albatros travel was without doubt outstanding. The itinerary was perfection for us and all travel arrangement went very smoothly. Our guide Marco was greatly skilled and knowledgeable and an excellent rapport was built up between us. Thanks to Paul Hickey-Fry who helped put this altogether. Incredible memorable life experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"We had an absolutely fabulous trip, and Paul was just a star to work with from start to finish! Thank you so much for all of your recommendations and attention to detail, your care really came through in every way. I would highly recommend Real Africa and will of course be in touch for my next trip. Thanks so, so much! - Kelly"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Went to Mara Simba Lodge again. All the staff took care of us really well as they did before. James the manager did remember us from two years ago when we were on Honeymoon and we found a nice bottle of red wine in our room. We stayed for five days and loved every moment. Paul always does a good job of putting the holiday together for us and I would'nt go to Africa with any other company. I no that I'm safe, and in good hands with our driver Francis. Thank you Real Africa and look forwards to Septembers Holiday The Hedgers"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"To start with, the booking process was extremely efficient, Paul was very helpful in arranging our itinerary and accommodation - we felt that he listened to what we wanted rather than trying to offer us what he wanted and we were offered a number of options. All flights and accommodation matched or exceeded our expectations and were as described in the itinerary. Safari game viewing was excellent with numerous opportunities to view the wide range of wildlife and birdlife. Our safari guide was extremely knowledgeable and he made every effort to ensure our holiday was a memorable experience and we felt that nothing was too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend Real Africa and will have no hesitation in contacting them for our next African adventure."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Mrs Jenny S
Verified Buyer
"I was very impressed with the service I received from Paul Hickey-Fry at Real Africa. He was excellent at responding quickly to my queries about different options before booking the holiday, and very knowledgable about the different parks that we would be visiting. The safari was competitively priced and the itinerary worked really well. On the day of the outbound flight Paul alerted me to a delay caused in Nairobi meaning that our outbound flight would be delayed, so we were able to plan accordingly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Real Africa to anyone interested in experiencing the excitement of a safari, and I would love to do another safari soon!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"A truely fantastic holiday of a lifetime, which surpassed all my expectations, thank you Real Africa and Ker Downey for making all my dreams come true. I only hope that one day I can do this trip all over again as I met so many lovely people and saw such fantastic wildlife. I will definitely be using Real Africa again in the future to book my holidays as they are true experts in their field. Highly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"It is a given, that any trip to Africa will be thrilling and packed with stunning scenery. However, 7 flights and a visit to two of its countries could well have a few hiccups along the way. Not with Real Africa. After taking on board our lengthy wish list of what we wanted to do, they came back to us with an exciting itinerary, and a host of superb accommodation, ranging from a B and B at the foot of Table mountain, a room in an Elephant sanctuary overlooking the elephants as they slept, to a tented safari camp, and ending with a beach chalet looking out at the Indian ocean. At every step of the way, someone friendly and informative was there to meet us. We were escorted through busy airports, and driven in large comfortable cars. a wonderful trip made even more special by superb service! Many thanks Real Africa....We will be back! |"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Real Africa is rated 4.97 based on 138 reviews