Real Africa Reviews

122 Reviews

Visit Website

Phone:
01603 964 730

Email:
enquiries@realafrica.co.uk

Location:
The Union Building
51-59 Rose Lane

Are you a business owner? Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.
Mr S M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

To start with, the booking process was extremely efficient, Paul was very helpful in arranging our itinerary and accommodation - we felt that he listened to what we wanted rather than trying to offer us what he wanted and we were offered a number of options.

All flights and accommodation matched or exceeded our expectations and were as described in the itinerary.

Safari game viewing was excellent with numerous opportunities to view the wide range of wildlife and birdlife.

Our safari guide was extremely knowledgeable and he made every effort to ensure our holiday was a memorable experience and we felt that nothing was too much trouble.

We would thoroughly recommend Real Africa and will have no hesitation in contacting them for our next African adventure.
Posted 1 year ago
Mrs Jenny S
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I was very impressed with the service I received from Paul Hickey-Fry at Real Africa. He was excellent at responding quickly to my queries about different options before booking the holiday, and very knowledgable about the different parks that we would be visiting. The safari was competitively priced and the itinerary worked really well. On the day of the outbound flight Paul alerted me to a delay caused in Nairobi meaning that our outbound flight would be delayed, so we were able to plan accordingly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Real Africa to anyone interested in experiencing the excitement of a safari, and I would love to do another safari soon!
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

A truely fantastic holiday of a lifetime, which surpassed all my expectations, thank you Real Africa and Ker Downey for making all my dreams come true.

I only hope that one day I can do this trip all over again as I met so many lovely people and saw such fantastic wildlife. I will definitely be using Real Africa again in the future to book my holidays as they are true experts in their field. Highly recommended.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

It is a given, that any trip to Africa will be thrilling and packed with stunning scenery. However, 7 flights and a visit to two of its countries could well have a few hiccups along the way. Not with Real Africa. After taking on board our lengthy wish list of what we wanted to do, they came back to us with an exciting itinerary, and a host of superb accommodation, ranging from a B and B at the foot of Table mountain, a room in an Elephant sanctuary overlooking the elephants as they slept, to a tented safari camp, and ending with a beach chalet looking out at the Indian ocean. At every step of the way, someone friendly and informative was there to meet us. We were escorted through busy airports, and driven in large comfortable cars. a wonderful trip made even more special by superb service! Many thanks Real Africa....We will be back! |
Posted 1 year ago
Dr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This was our third trip with Real Africa. As on previous occasions, every aspect of the trip from planning through execution and follow up were carried out with impressive courtesy and professionalism. The company representatives listened closely to what we wanted and delivered it faultlessly. The excellent quality of the accommodation, the hire car provided and the on-the-ground support meant we were able to completely relax and enjoy the wonderful sights and sounds that Namibia offers. We would (and have) recommend them to anyone considering visiting Africa and will certainly be using their services ourselves when planning to visit in the future.
Posted 1 year ago
Gill B
Overall Rating
Verified Reviewer

We have used real africa for all of our South Africa holidays wouldnt use anyone else.nothing is to much trouble lovely people as well many thanks gill and paul blowey xx
Posted 1 year ago
Alice A
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The whole trip was very well organised and exactly tailored to our requirements. The customer service was excellent and Real Africa were very responsive and helpful thoughout. Overall Real Africa provided an excellent service.
Posted 1 year ago
Helen J
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Our itinerary covered four diverse, and very different camps but with a comfort blanket of a common theme of excellent customer service as they were all part of the same chain.

All camps had high standards.

Flights were all good.

Meet and Greet in Johannesburg was a bonus especially when short of time on a connection.

Sugar Hotel in Cape Town was excellent and a good recommendation for our needs especially now there is a restaurant.
Posted 1 year ago
Bruce C
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We new which countries in Africa that we wanted to visit, and in broad terms what we wanted to do when we got there, so we approached four travel agents that specialised in Africa and asked them to propose appropriate itineraries with costs.

One of the four was Real Africa who had been recommended by friends, and from that point on all of our dealings with them were with Paul Hickey-Fry. I cannot speak too highly for his professionalism, enthusiasm and patience in finalising a detailed proposal with associated costs which were competitive.

We are lucky enough to have travelled extensively throughout the world in pursuit of our passion for seeing wildlife in their natural habitats, and have just returned from a holiday to Zimbabwe and Botswana with Real Travel that surpassed all of our expectations - a trouble free trip that represented good value, staying at excellent lodges, and wildlife viewings that matched or bettered the best that we have experienced !

Many thanks to Paul and his team, and we now look forward to our next trip with you in search of the Gorillas in Rwanda in August 2016.....

Bruce and Carole Cripps

Posted 1 year ago
Claire H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Kenya and Zanzibar organised through Real Africa. Every part of our trip was well planned and thoughtfully created using the the best locations on offer. Our guide on safari was called George a truly lovely man who really made this part of our trip perfect. He seemed to just know how to pitch each game drive and we saw some really unforgettable sights of animals, birds and landscape sunsets. Having never been to Africa before I was not sure what to expect but many experiences I found breath taking. For many a safari would be a long awaited holiday like us, so if you are considering one for yourself I would highly recommend Real Africa to help you. Make that special trip. It really is worth it!....
Posted 1 year ago
Prof N
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We had a superb experience with this holiday to Madikwe and Jaci's Lodge and Paul Hickey-Fry at RealAfrica was so helpful throughout the booking process and up the start of the holiday. All our questions were answered quickly and Paul was able to organise some requests without apparently any bother.
Madikwe itself was beautiful and relatively quiet - without day-trippers and just having tour groups being driven around by expert and respectful guides. The park is huge will plenty of different terrains and of course, the complete range of animals that you would expect in northern South Africa. In 5 days, we were lucky enough to see all the 'big 5' and lots more...highlights were the elephants, leopards and cheetahs.
Jaci's Tree Lodge comes very highly recommended too. We stayed in the Nare Suite, beautifully designed and quiet, with it's own private waterhole that was often frequented by elephant and buffalo - quite a sight when you are taking an outdoor shower ! The food and service throughout were 5* and we couldn't fault a thing. We definitely would recommend the Lodge for families and we are desperate to return soon !

Nick, Reading, UK.
Posted 1 year ago
Rosie L
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

An excellent holiday all round - great organisation both before we left and whilst we were in Tanzania, a well thought-out itinerary and some fantastic game viewing and lodges. The personnel in Africa were excellent as well - helpful, friendly and experts at spotting lion!
This is the second time that we have used Real Africa and I would be happy to recommend them and hope to use them again in the future.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

REAL AFRICA and Paul.
Now, this company seems to cross all T`s and dots all I`s, we had a fabulous time at Victoria Falls including the V F Hotel, the afternoon tea was something not to be missed. The food and accommodation excellent. Now, to the sun downer on the Zambezi river , again brilliant, the one to go on is the "Zambezi Explorer" with one of the directors looking after you, yet again, super food and drink all inclusive, but watch out for the croc`s! sorry, do not worry.
So, onto Chobe and Muchenje Safari Lodge. Staff, cabins plus excellent food all inclusive. Very good choice again, The river safaris another great experience. You will be pleased to know we will be back, and do assure you we were not paid for this report!
Jo and Derrick Munden
Posted 1 year ago
Jenny A
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Absolutely brilliant holiday! Everything went like clockwork, including all the internal flights. The organisation was second to none. The camps we stayed at were great, clean, comfortable and the food was varied and beautifully cooked. No complaints at all. Attention to detail by Paul was First Class. Very attentive, listened to what we wanted to do and came up with a great holiday. He was always available, answering any queries we had however small.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Real Africa and would definitely use them again in the future.
A 5 * Company!
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

An excellent company who listened to what we hoped to do and planned our itinerary perfectly. Paul, our contact at Real Africa was always available to discuss ideas and set out the different options very clearly. We were delighted to meet Paul at a destinations Exhibition in Manchester and he immediately knew who we were and what we had planned with him. All the arrangements made by Real Africa were met perfectly during the whole safari experience. We had high expectations and hopes for our holiday - all we can say is that they were exceeded in every way.
Alan and Sue Gardner
Posted 1 year ago
Bob A
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Our whole trip was as amazing as ever. The arrangements were flawless and all the transfers went well. Our accomodation at both lodges was excellent. The service at both was fine. Motswari is the most special place. We are so grateful to Real Africa for arranging everything for us. We are looking forward to the next trip.
Posted 1 year ago
Mike M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Having surfed the internet for safari holidays came across Real Africa. Initial contact was professional and surprisingly quick in response even on a Sunday. Unknown to us at the time, all correspondence was through a gentleman named Paul Hickey Fry. He was efficient, polite and very helpful with all issues and dealt with them in a very professional manner. We also believed his knowledge was accurate and vast.
We were very pleased with the professionalism, smartness and punctuality of real Africa's representatives....Albatross and Island Tours , who assisted with all our needs whilst away.
The Safari vehicle was spacious as only 4 people in our party and was tendered with love and care by our SUPERB guide Henry Gathura who went beyond all expectations with helpfulness, knowledge and patience whilst finding and photographing the animals. He left us definitely wanting more...and owes us a leopard on our return ( lol) .
We chose Classic Kenyan Safari staying at Ol Tukai lodge (very good) in Amboseli , Sunbird Lodge ( excellent isn't a good enough description) on Lake Elementaita for Lake Nakuru and lastly Mara Simba Lodge (disappointed ) in the Masai Mara.
Although we selected our choice of package ; due to lack of travellers in Africa since the Ebola outbreak , Mara Simba lodge was empty, only 2 other guests....but I was amazed that staff sat around watching TV all day when we thought that a good clean and maintenance overall could have been undertaken as was the case in other lodges used for lunch and toilet breaks. Mara Simba rooms are very dated , dull , and are in need of desperate TLC , and for this reason will not be on our wish list when we return.
Could Real Africa address this for future travellers ?, as this lodge lets the package down after staying in the previous two high standard lodges.
The Eka Hotel was a fantastic stop for lunch on our way to the airport for our transfer to Zanzibar as our original chosen hotel in Mombasa was located with in the government advised no go area.
Hilton Double Tree Hotel Zanzibar (though no fault of Real Africa) was not the standard we expected to find for a weeks beach holiday and we suffered many problems with the hotel on arrival and during our stay , which had to be discussed with the Hotel management.....I would not recommend this hotel at all and was definitely not value for money or the time spent travelling to reach it!!!!! It put a sour note to a very special holiday..
Having now become Facebook friends with Paul we will be rebooking again through Real Africa in 2017 and having had the Safari experience for the first time will choose our next trip with a couple of the following.....more safari time less beach time, keep travelling to a minimum, stay within 1 country ie Kenya, and lodges of the same standard as Ol Tukai and Sunbird.....
Well done Paul and Real Africa !!!!!!!
Very special thanks and see you in 2017 Henry Gathura
We have recommended you to all...
Posted 1 year ago
Mr G C
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Thank you, Real Africa, for all your help in organising our safari in Tanzania. We had an absolutely amazing time and all your advice regarding the lodges most certainly helped with that.

The Real Africa service has been first class, and we would definitely use Real Africa again if, or more likely when, we would like to organise another safari to Africa! All the staff, helped make our holiday perfect. Our driver couldn't have done more for us. He went out of his way to make sure we found all the game we were hoping to see. He was extremely knowledgable, friendly and flexible - even taking us on early morning drives at our request.

Over all we had a magical time. A massive thank you to everyone at Real Africa for making our holiday so special.
Posted 2 years ago
Graham H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Well what can we say from start to finish we had an amazing experience.....from the very beginning with your quick responses with any of our queries and concerns how ever small Paul Hickey-Fry was fantastic....on our arrival at Nairobi we were met by the Albatross travel rep who introduced us to Henry Gathura our guide and driver for the weeks safari. Henry was an amazing knowledgable person on all aspects from the smallest birds to largest of the animals we saw. He went above and beyond making our time with him both educational and enjoyable. The vehicle was always clean and well equipped and he always took time to answer our question and made sure we were happy and enjoying our time with him.
Ol Tukai lodge in Amboseli national park was our first stop and we're met with comfort and luxury. Our rooms were clean and comfortable with amazing views of Mount Kilimanjaro and friendly baboons and vervet monkeys. The staff were all friendly and helpful the food was very good and varied. Five stars.
We understand that Kenya is a vast country but felt like we lost a day travelling from this lodge to the next and wondered if a different route could be revised.

Sunbird lodge Lake Elementaita was our second stop although a very long drive it was worth the wait....a small friendly Eco lodge the rooms were very comfortable with amazing views of the lake with local bird life all around. Although the food was less varied it was well cooked and presented...Issac was the main person we dealt with he was fab and took time to make us feel very welcome. Five stars.
Mara Simba lodge Masai Mara was our last stop.....unfortunately this was our least favourite of the three.....our party of four made up the total of seven guest with lots of staff with not a lot to do....the food was fair and rooms need to be updated. We had a cracked wash hand basin and the whole place looked like it needed a good clean and a lick of fresh paint. Three stars.
Sad to say goodbye to Henry but off to Zanzibar and the transition was smooth to the airport and was greeted by the island express rep and taken to Double Tree by Hilton hotel. It was quite late 10pm we had to wait a while to register and didn't receive our cookie and welcome drink as advertised. We were eventually shown to our room which was a ground floor garden view which was pleasant, clean and a comfy bed. During the week we used the pool and pool bar frequently which was very clean and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant which was buffet service for all meals was a little hit and miss with the quality, variety and sometimes ran out. The meal we ate in the fish restaurant which we booked for a special treat for Sarah's birthday was fantastic and worth paying extra to visit.
We did have one concern that workmen worked through the night in the room next to ours and there was a period of loud banging from about 3 am.

Our overall rating for real Africa is 100% and will be using your company for a next trip hopefully in 2017.... Many thanks.xx
Posted 2 years ago
Valerie B
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Just returned from Ethiopia, which is a fabulous country to visit for history and scenery. Everything very well planned down to every detail and all went exactly to plan. Organisers on the ground very good, Dinknesh Travel, the drivers very good and courteous. Our guide was excellent , very attentive and very knowledgable, nothing was too much trouble.
Would recommend Real Africa to anyone, we had a wonderful holiday
Posted 2 years ago
Real Africa is rated 4.97 based on 122 reviews