Real Africa Reviews

4.97 Rating 147 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Real Africa
Visit Website

Phone:
01603 964 730

Email:
enquiries@realafrica.co.uk

Location:
The Union Building
51-59 Rose Lane

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Real Africa ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Thank you so much for planning our trip – we had a truly wonderful holiday and all thoroughly enjoyed it. The safari part was excellent – we were lucky enough to see the Big 5 and much more – I think every animal possible, which was great. Abuu, our Albatross driver/guide, was excellent and should be highly recommended! A really nice, friendly guy who knows the parks really well and is very knowledgeable on all of the animals, plants and culture of Tanzania, which we enjoyed and found very interesting. The Sopa Lodges were all really good and as expected – clean, comfortable rooms, great staff – all helpful and friendly – and some lovely African entertainment with singing, dancing etc! Food at the Lodges was also a good standard, as were the picnic boxes on safari. You planned an amazing trip for us, so thanks again for all your hard work in putting it together for us – I will certainly recommend Real Africa to anyone who would like a similar holiday."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Paul has been outstanding from the start when we were beginning to plan our honeymoon. He listened to our requests and came up with the most incredible and unforgettable experiences and accommodation. We would and have highly recommended Real Africa, we can't thank Paul enough for booking and planning our special trip, it was the honeymoon of our dreams. Thank you so much we really did have so many breathtaking experiences and it was truly down to your expert planning and organising. Hayley and Matt"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"An awesome holiday to Tanzania and Zanzibar arranged by Real Africa. From our initial enquiry, through the booking process and the holiday itself we were brilliantly supported by Paul, Rob and the Real Africa team. They were more than happy to tailor everything to our needs, make suggestions and be flexible with our changes. The itinerary was excellent and the experience when we got there was fist class. They use a great local operator who could not do enough to assist us. The safari vehicle and driver were excellent and the lodges that were recommended to us were just fantastic. Ditto for Zanzibar. I wholeheartedly recommend Real Africa for any trips to that great continent. Thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Provided everything we asked for in terms of itinerary and accommodation in a very expeditious manner when our enquiry was made. Their ground agents in Uganda, Let's Go Travel, were excellent, providing reliable vehicles and two superb driver/guides who made the holiday an unforgettable experience. This our second experience with Real Africa and on both occasions we have come back having achieved the aims of the safari. It is the attention to detail that has made these holidays run like clockwork."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Attentive,courteous and helpful staff at Real Africa made booking our safari to Elephant Watch Camp simple. Nothing was too much trouble for Paul, and all our questions whether trivial or not, were answered fully and professionally. We would have no hesitation in booking with them again or recommending them to family and friends. A 5 star company!! Linda Moffat."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"After 18 safaris to Africa the main selling point of Real Africa was the use of a personal vehicle, even for only two people, without incurring a large daily surcharge. The longer safari at 12 days (not including flight times) was very competitive pricewise compared with other major tour companies. The initial quote process and follow up communications were efficient and friendly, We had no issues at all. The itinerary was comprehensive, but could have been 'tweaked' with hindsight to further enhance what was already a very enjoyable holiday. As it happens, the final lodge was the best we have ever been to. (including beach hotels) a very relaxed way to wind down from safari. The sub contractor in-country, Albatros Travel, supplied a very experienced driver/guide who had 22 years experience, the vehicle was very well maintained and was fitted with a dc/ac converter so electronic devices could be charged en route with a standard UK socket at each seat station. The vehicle also had a fridge, water was supplied at 1 litre per person per day. The side windows were tinted to prevent sunburn. We had a follow-up courtesy phone call from Paul Hickey-Fry on our return to exchange positive feedback, a further comprehensive review of the entire holiday will be emailed as soon as we can. A very efficient service, high quality brochures and luggage tags, a very professional company, highly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"An excellent experience from booking through to giving feedback on our return. The accommodation choice was excellent covering a range of standards, each of which is appropriate to a Safari, and each of which added to our travel experience. The local company, Albatros, was good and provided a safe and knowledgeable driver / guide and a well maintained vehicle. The National Parks visited produced a variety of game drive experiences. It is a considerable benefit to have a Tour Company that has first hand experience relating to the holiday - Real Africa did!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"From beginning to end I coulnt wish for better service. I have been looked after with such thought and kindness. Both my visits to Elephant Watch Camp and Sasaab were beyond my expectations. A life changing experience organised perfectly. Thank you Chloe Asprey James"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Paul We had the most wonderful time so well organized, with concise fact sheets, excellent accommodation , transfers,which allowed us to enjoy our holiday without any worries. Botswana was the jewel in the crown.The Ngoma Safari Lodge a real find Judy and Peter made us feel like VIP'S along with first class dining plus the game drives truly a bucket list time.. The river trips at both Botswana and Zimbabwe were a wonderful experience. Thank you for all your care and attention Gerald & Merrilyn Lee"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"This is our second year with Real Africa, they have been fantastic with all our arrangements yet again. With them you can feel happy on holiday and not worry about travel to and from your resort, the lodges were of the best we have stayed in for many years. Botswana we stayed at the Ngoma Safari Lodge Chobe, the wild life is unbelievable. We must have seen most of the 129,000 elephants in the area. So well done Real Africa. Jo and DM"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Paul We had the most wonderful time so well organized, with concise fact sheets, excellent accommodation , transfers,which allowed us to enjoy our holiday without any worries. Botswana was the jewel in the crown.The Ngoma Safari Lodge a real find Judy and Peter made us feel like VIP'S along with first class dining plus the game drives truly a bucket list time.. The river trips at both Botswana and Zimbabwe were a wonderful experience. Thank you for all your care and attention Gerald & Merrilyn Lee ."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"May was a brilliant time to visit Samburu and Laikipia. We were totally smitten with this beautiful area. We saw fabulous wildlife, including a wonderful young male leopard, a cheetah with three cubs and many different elephant families. Visiting the Save the Elephants research centre in Samburu gave a special insight into elephant conservation and was really fascinating. A must! Thought the Samburu guides really added to our experience too (the bush supper at Saruni Samburu with all the guides was a highlight). So pleased we were lucky enough to see rhino - 11 at once at Borana! Nairobi National Park was an unexpected delight - the Emakoko is wonderful - food, drink and wildlife all fab - a great place to start or end your holiday. All in all...can't wait to go back!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"What an amazing holiday. Real Africa supplied us with all the documentation we needed well in advance of our holiday. They were efficient, patient with all our questions and are always courteous and polite. Once we arrived in Botswana the Desert and Delta rep was waiting for us at the airport and greeted us warmly and efficiently. The four camps that we stayed at were outstanding. Accommodation was beautiful and every single member of the staff at all the camps were exceptional. We have never been on a holiday before where we felt so welcome and that everyone was genuinely pleased to see us. The food at the all the camps was delicious and more than plentiful. Be prepared to come back from your holiday weighing more than when you started! The guides were knowledgeable and patient. This was truly a holiday never to be forgotten. All our transfers between camps were on time and the aircraft and the pilots were also exceptional. We cannot fault one aspect of this holiday and thank Real Africa and Desert and Delta Safaris for making this a truly memorable experience that we will never forget."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Real Africa's arrangements, on our behalf, all worked efficiently and according to plan, and our transfers, accommodation and car hire in South Africa were excellent. To be highly recommended is the accommodation at Carslogie House, Port Elizabeth, Belvidere Manor at Knysna , (Cape, Garden Route) and Hideaway Guest House in Swellandam, all of which provided exceptionally comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfasts, with good restaurants within walking distance for evening meals. Thank you, Real Africa, for a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing and completely hassle-free holiday. Our only complaint was that it was over far too quickly!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"On arrival at Port Elizabeth, the comfortable Carslogie House is an excellent overnight stopover worthy of its 5 stars, and excellent breakfast. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the nearby Protea Marine Hotel Restaurant which is just walking distance away from Carslogie. Highly recommended. Amakhala Game Reserve offers a more rustic charm and colonial feel about it. We were disappointed not to be accommodated in Leeuwenbosch House, as we expected, but in the Shearer's Lodge which is a little more basic but reasonably comfortable, although we did have trouble with no hot water on Day 2. There was no explanation for not accommodating us in Leeuwenbosch and, as far as we could tell, there were rooms available. The undulating Game Reserve is fantastic with plenty of excellent game to see, and our ranger was very knowledgeable. Our hosts ~Bill and Rose Fowlds were equally hospitable and sociable, and we were entertained in the bar every evening with plenty of drink on tap. However, although the food was of good quality it was grossly insufficient with very small portions and we and the other guests were constantly hungry. Breakfast was served after the morning game drive but there was no lunch, and only a very small tea was served just before the 16.00 game drive. The shortage of food at breakfast, for example, could easily have been solved by providing more toast and preserves, but this was not available and guests seemed to be strictly rationed to 2 slices each. My travelling companion was allergic to eggs, and despite Amakhala having been informed, she was not provided with an alternative choice, so had even less to eat as a result. Belvidere Manor at Knysna was absolutely wonderful! Our cottage set in beautiful grounds overlooking Knysna Lagoon was really comfortable and spacious and the welcome friendly and courteous, with owner, Sue Mills, on hand to greet her guests. Breakfasts on the sunny terrace were absolutely delicious with masses of choice. The Bell Tavern serves excellent evening meals, and we thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing couple of days there. To be thoroughly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"We had a wonderful holiday in Botswana. The whole trip went extremely smoothly and we're grateful to Real Africa for putting together a fabulous itinerary and ensuring all the travel arrangements caused us no problems. All of the accommodation was superb, we particularly enjoyed the three Ker and Downey camps, and the people were an absolute delight. This was our fourth fantastic holiday with Real Africa."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"The Cape Town and Kariega River Lodge holiday was even better than advertised. From the booking process to issue of final holiday documents, Real Africa were excellent. Would definitely recommend this trip."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"As this was our 4th adventure with Real Africa it came as no surprise that everything ran smoothly. Our trip this time was to Botswana and started with a long overnight flight to Joburg and then onward to Maun where we were met by local staff and taken to the third flight of the day in a much small aircraft. We stayed at 3 tented lodges which were all amazing and located in beautiful position. The staff were always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. Our final camp was Lebala and inspite of the dryer than normal weather for the Okavanga Delta we had a brilliant time. Our guide, Hobby and tracker Diesel were terrific and we even managed to track down a elusive pack of wild dogs. Will we go back....just try and stop us. Huge thanks to Paul for suggesting 3 days of r&r at Victoria Falls which are truly epic and a must see in Africa. With their service and knowledge it's easy to see why Real Africa are being so successful. Kim & Charles, Knowle"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"The service from Paul Hickey-Fry and the Real World Travel team was second to none. From the moment we requested assistance in planning our holiday we knew we were in good hands. A wealth of knowledge within the team meant that we were able to put forward our ideas and the they were able to shape them into an itinerary that suited our travel dates and requirements. Real World Travel truly offer a personal service for a tailor made holiday. The little touches such as the meet & greet, a quick transit through OR Tambo airport and the best hotels made a real difference. All the transfers to and from hotels, resorts and airports were seamless and on-time removing any stress involved. Thoroughly recommended!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"A well organised trip that went extremely well and was very enjoyable, covering all the things I wanted to do."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Real Africa is rated 4.97 based on 147 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This