Optical Express Reviews

3.22 Rating 37 Reviews
54% of reviewers recommend Optical Express

Phone:
0800 023 20 20

Email:
customerfeedback@opticalexpress.com

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Optical Express?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Eric Humphries
Verified Reviewer
"as soon as I had the consultation, I was given lots of paperwork to read through ( which I couldn't because of the eye drops.) I was then relieved of a deposit of £500.00. When I had read through all the paperwork the next day, I decided to cancel the treatment. When I rang to cancel, I asked about the £500.00 deposit and was told it could take up to 28 days to get the refund. Here we are 29 days later, and I haven't even had a phone call or an e-mail. I've just telephoned head office, who informed me that they cannot contact the people I need to speak to and they will ring me back within 48 HOURS. Definitely would not recommend optical express to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 23 hours ago
Anonymous
"Bad laser eye surgery experience, even when I went for the most expensive, customised option (iDesign) and the most experienced surgeon in London. The post-op care has been shirking responsibility as well so I feel very regretful of my entire experience and would highly recommend against going with them and going with a more personalised, boutique experience if possible and not a big chain."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I was in the Cumbernauld branch today (Thursday 29th March) for an eye examination and I was absolutely delighted with the service I was given. From the young man who took my details, (I think his name was Lucas), to Jackie, who could not have been any more helpful, and also the lady optician, who unfortunately I don't know her name, but who was very helpful in explaining everything to me. A big thanks to the three people involved, and an extra thanks to Jackie for spending so much time and effort helping me with my prescription and choice of glasses. She is most certainly an asset to the company."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"They are friendly staff and my daughter been going there for years would recommend them"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Gary Beveridge
"Friendly helpful service, the company takes the time to explain all the details involved. Recommended Company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Excellent online shop to buy my contact lenses - really straightforward and simple to use"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The worst experience I had with them when they come t take payment they phone u every single minute but when it comes to refund they just ignore you . I had my treatment cancelled in Birmingham branch and now when it comes to refund the deposit I paid they don't even speak over the phone . This is the WORST PLACE to deal with ."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Disgrace this company should not hold a license to sell eye care to the general public , my glasses not 2 months old fell apart and optical express refuse to repair, they said they can if I pay , I of course refuse to do so both on Trading Standards rules and regulations and the manufacturers gaurunteee. They even took my glasses back , said they would look into it as I refused to pay for repair , then they call me twice say they are ready , when I go back today 26 January 2018 at 19:00 the shop assistant was shocked when she opened the box as there were my broken glasses The manage then took over and tried to blame me for breaking this glasses , why would I do that , he said he could repair but I need pay , he also admitted that the glasss had not been sent back anywhere for testing This is a disgrace they have had them many week and I am forced to wear reading glasses damaging my eyes further This company should be struck off from optical care they should not be trading they have no customer care and are an unethical company I will now seek compensation for my glasses , my many visits , the inconvenience and damage that this company is now causing me Please do not us this company unless your ready for a legal fight which I am to receive compensation I will also report to Trading Standards and I urge everyone that had a complaint to do the same No more thane Thieves , the only difference between Turpin and optical express staff is That Turpin wore a mask when robbing you"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I had an appointment on Saturday morning at the Kirkintilloch branch of Optical Express, for 10.45am. The agent that took my booking was called Kimberley. On arrival, Kimberley claimed to have no knowledge of my booking and suggested I had the wrong Company. She checked on her PC and found my booking but it was at 11 a.m. She said they were running at least an hour late and could I return in one hour? Of course this was unsuitable to me and cancelled the appointment. Would it not have been better customer service for Optical Express to phone forward and warn their customers of the delays? I think it was a poor service and doesn't warrant my custom."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Janet Jamieson
Verified Reviewer
"I have just recently undergone natural lens replacement at the Newcastle branch. I can honestly say the experience was made to be very relaxing and calming due to the staff and attention I received they were all very friendly and professional. I am now three days post surgery and my results are fantastic my sight is excellent. I am one very happy customer. Massive thank you to all the staff in Newcastle."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I was told I had to pay up front before seeing the surgeon for laser surgery over £4500 . I was deemed unsuitable for surgery. Have been waiting 2months for my refund. Have been promised on three separate occasions but still waiting"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"My wife visited York today and unfortunately had a fall in which her glasses were twisted and bent. They would not stay on her face and fell off whenever she moved her head. She found herself opposite a branch of Optical Express (sorry we don't know which it was) and went in and spoke to a young man called Craig who listened to her story and then fixed her glasses perfectly. This was despite the fact that a) she is not a York resident (and will therefore not be a future customer) and b) the glasses were not made by Optical Express. The level of service shown by Craig at the York store makes it much more likely that we will be customers here at home when we next need optical care."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Alan Orme
"I requested my £500 deposit back from them, in their contract they say it takes up to 28 working days. We are now a year later & still no refund! I have now received a COUNTY COURT JUGMENT AGAINST THEM so lets see what happens now. DO NOT PAY THEM ANYTHING UNLESS YOUR 100% ABOUT THE TREATMENT. Look on other sites I'm not the only one they have done it to."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"C.Campbell, Heather and the Team at Optical Express, Cumbernauld, provided sound advice and honest feedback regarding frames and lenses. Their conduct was professional, personable and light hearted, and there was clearly a positive rapport with other customers in the store. Happy to recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Anna Brookes
Verified Reviewer
"Having had my eye-test with Boots whom unfortunately did not have a wide enough range for me to choose frames from, I tried Optical Express. I was not harassed or pushed into unsuitable higher priced frames but given sufficient guidance for me to make my selection (helpful when you have a long narrow face) whilst also being walked through process of order and next steps. In addition, I was offered a fantastic package for two frames and insurance which made total sense and excellent savings. MERRY HILL, DUDLEY, WEST MIDLANDS - Praise for the excellent service to the very recently appointed Advisor - Amelia Gordon and Assistant Store Manager - Lorna. Extremely receptive, polite and attentive to customer needs. Thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"We decided the day after visiting the Laser eye clinic in Plymouth no to have the procedure. They say when they are selling you the deal that your deposit will be refunded but not before 30 days but soon there after. Lots of calls later and 4 months later & we are still waiting!! They just fob you off time and time again !"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"I found the staff offered the right amount of help when I needed it with out feeling pressurised ,and helped me decide which frames suited me the best,a chap named Lewis gave me a great deal of advice. Would certainly go again,"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"A warm friendly greeting not pushy,a young assistant named Lewis was extremely helpful ,found his knowledge on the suitability of frames excellent,"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Mrs J Rodgers
Unverified Reviewer
"I came in to make an enquiry and found it to be a very welcoming friendly store one young man called lewis was very kind and helpful"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Its a really nice welcoming store from the minute you walk in the staff are really nice especially a young man called Lewis."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Optical Express is rated 3.22 based on 37 reviews