Optical Express Reviews

4.75 Rating 4,035 Reviews
97% of reviewers recommend Optical Express
739 Review Views (past 24 hours)
5PM - 7PM
46 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
41 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
40 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
22 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
57 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
38 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
171 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
59 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
56 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
45 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
62 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
102 Review Views
5PM
5PM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact Optical Express?
Visit Website

Phone:
0800 023 20 20

Email:
customerfeedback@opticalexpress.com

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Optical Express made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels
"Awful customer service, rude staff and unorganised. I paid for iDesign Lasek surgery and everything in the run up to the surgery was stressful. At the initial consultation, the man testing my eyes was rude and condescending about my finances, implying that I was unable to pay for the surgery without my parents money. One positive was that I was not pushed into making a decision and I shopped around after this consultation before deciding that their technology was best on the market. After deciding to go ahead, they didn't give me drops which were required before surgery because of my dry eyes and couldn't help me collect some (ringing Reading or Oxford branch or general customer services). The branch themselves do not know what time individual surgeries are taking place and have no record of this - only the surgeon knows so make sure you take a note as you cannot double check once he has told you in your very short phone consultation before surgery. The consultation with my surgeon where I was told to ask questions lasted just 7 minutes. I felt rushed and as though every question I asked was an inconvenience despite paying thousands of pounds for this. On the surgery day I arrived when they opened as they couldn't tell me when my surgery was and I didn't want to miss it. As a result, staff were rude again. The surgery staff were very polite and helped me feel as ease. The surgery procedure was OK- slight discomfort but as expected. Recovery was gradual and slightly blurry even after 10-14 days. 1 month later and my vision is better than 20/20. Overall I would recommend optical express because the surgery works but prepare for disorganisation and rude/blunt staff."
Posted 6 days ago
Are you Optical Express? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Good service when buying something but when I tried to cancel a contact lens order I was given a number nobody ever answered. When I asked for a complaints number I was told it was the same number!😂"
Posted 1 week ago
"Your website wouldn't accept my email address and / or Password, not sure which so had to sign in as a guest. This carry on doesn't help matters, I was all for giving up and going somewhere else."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"A very quick and simple way to order contact lenses on line at a very reasonable price. Optical Express will notify you once your order has been dispatched and postage and packaging is free. A great service all round."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Visited the Livingston branch yesterday for an eyetest. Initial ocntact was with Carrai, who perform the necessary admin and basic tests, then on to Lorna who performed the eye test. Lorna was professional, friendly and explained each step of the test. Carrai was helpful, and friendly. Have not purchased my glasses yet as too indecisive, but will definately return to Optical Express. Great service. Thank you both"
Posted 1 month ago
"My 9 yer old son was delighted with the test and his resulting glasses thank you"
Posted 1 month ago
"Awful, avoid at all costs."
Posted 1 month ago
"Ruined my near vision with lens surgery, and left me with painful dry eyes, glare and starbursts effects at night which means I can't drive at night on the motorway or busy roads. Have to wear glasses to see anything close up now. Worst thing I ever did."
Posted 2 months ago
"I visited Optical Express Bournemouth Nov2014 and was told laser surgery as no good for me but lens replacement was appropriate.The risks,I.e double vision and halo effect were explained but I wars promised 20/20 ,paid £5500 and went ahead with surgery in Southampton early 2015.Myleft surgery was successful but slightly blurred but my right eye was like looking through thick polythene.After much worry and several 120mile round trips my vision cleared but was quite blurred,I was told but can’t prove it that it might take 2 years to”settle down”. I waited patiently but it didn’t improve so two years in Feb 2017 I contacted Opical Express to complain. Guess what ? They told me I was out of my 12 month care period.I complained bitterly and they agreed to give me a free eye test and again guess what they found I had a significant prescription in both eyes but worse in the right.I complained to the customer care department and received a long and technical reply which in part said that the laser trimming service that they offer in the lens replacement service was not advisable for me.I believe this was a financial decision and not one they would have taken if I was a new customer but I gave up. I have recently had two eye tests and examinations with a local optician. Her words this morning were that if she had my prescription she would be wearing glasses all day and she has referred me to a local consultant. In my case I believe Optical Express were casual and uninterested and only interested in money. Their aftercare was awful. BEWARE"
Posted 2 months ago
"Leaving a 1 star review which is beyond generous! I'd leave 0 star review if possible. This company's customer service is beyond shocking. I raised concerns on the 27th November and received an automated reply saying I would be contacted in 20 days! Yes DAYS! If they really cared about their customers it would not take them 20 days. It is now the 13th December and I am £149 out of pocket because of terrible service and still waiting for a response. I never normally go public with complaints but the public need to be aware of this "customer service". Please take my advise and go elsewhere! I will begin by stating I had laser eye surgery 10years ago with optical express but in recent months my vision has really declined. My issue started on the 27th November when I left the London Westfield store feeling unsatisfied and quite frankly upset. I first visited this store on 25th Nov for a consultation for laser eye surgery. Unfortunately following the review I am not a candidate for laser eye surgery at this moment in time but I am due back for review in a few months. In the meantime I was told I needed glasses and I have also chosen to get contact lenses. On this visit to the store I was initially extremely satisfied with everyone who served me - they went over and beyond to make me feel comfortable from start to finish. On tuesday 27th November I returned to this same store for a contact lens fitting and to chose glasses. Once again I was greeted with amazing customer service when arrived and when I went for the contact lens fitting. When I finished the lens fitting the lady brought me to another employee on the store floor and explained my situation and to please help me with choosing a pair of glasses. I have always hated the thought of wearing glasses and before coming into the store today I read on your website that part of your customer service is to help customers choose glasses that are right for them and their face - for the first time I was a little excited to get glasses! I was told to browse the glasses on display and someone would be with me. After a few minutes of browsing a young man came over and told me he would be helping me today. I explained I am only going to be wearing the glasses for a few month so I wanted an inexpensive pair and that in the past I had worn thin barely noticeable glasses - does he have anything he would suggest? To my shock he then proceeded to pick up the thickest black frame glasses I have ever seen in my life - the complete opposite to what I said. Maybe he misunderstood? So I repeated it was thin I was looking for. Again he proceeded to pick out another pair of grossly enlarged thick black framed glasses and said 'I like these'. He did not say why these would suit me just his personal opinion on glasses he liked. I was frustrated at this point and replied 'no'. With that he said "OK let me know when you need me' and walked away. I watched him walk over to another colleague and sit at a glasses fitting desk and have a chat to his colleague. I was shocked - what happened to the custom fitting and advise from an expert? I was by myself and extremely self-conscious about even trying a pair on and looking in the mirror. I walked back and forth lost for about 10minute when the same young man walked back and asked if I had found anything yet, I replied 'no' and he walked away again! Honestly at this point I felt like walking out of your store and going to Specsavers where I usually get my glasses from as I know I always have good customer service there and extremely helpful staff. But my eyesight has really gone down and the thought of having to wait another few weeks to get a pair of glasses to help me see again was just about enough to make me stay. I reluctantly choose a pair of glasses - not knowing if they suited me or if they were the right size glasses for my needs. I looked for the young man who had been 'serving me' before and he was still sitting chatting. So I had to queue at the main desk for service after a few minutes he eventually came up to the desk and I said I had chosen a pair that I wanted to go ahead with. He brought me to the glasses fitting desk and asked was I happy with my choice and I replied 'somewhat'. He looked at the glasses and said 'is this the best you could choose?'. I couldn't believe what I was hearing - my confidence was low enough and then to be told that! He then proceeded to tell me that he doesn't like these types of glasses - my confidence even lower. All while telling me why he doesn't like these glasses (all personal reasons may I add) he never once mentioned what might suit me better. As my confidence was so low I had no energy in me to ask what should I choose instead. So now I have paid for glasses which I thought were OK when I picked them but now I know I will never want to wear or have the confidence to wear due to his unthoughtful comments. Throughout the fitting my confidence in his ability to do his job correctly was at an all time low. And I can only hope he has ordered me the correct lenses and lenses for my glasses as he was staring into space and watching other people around him half of the time. I also booked in for a contact lens fitting on the 27th nov but there contact lens in my prescription was not available. I was told they would be ordered and I would be invited in for another fitting. On the 1st December I went back to Westfield for my contact lens fitting. When I put the lens in my eyes I felt an extreme discomfort in my left eye and I felt my vision wasn't very clear with the lens. Upon further investigation I was told there was debris on the contact lens in my left eye which was causing the discomfort and that it must be removed urgently. My eye sight was then re-tested and I was told my prescription was wrong and that I need a '1.25' prescription not a '1.00'. I informed the lady I had already ordered glasses in the '1.00' prescription to which she replied that the glasses should still be ok in that prescription. I then needed to learn how to remove the contact lens from my right eye as I struggled with this. I was then told that it would be the same young man who served my on he 27th November. He brought me into a room upstairs told me to take a seat. He then sat down and took out and looked at this mobile phone! After maybe a minute he put his mobile phone on the bin - I felt very uncomfortable to why he had his phone on display. He once again passed a belittling comment about how can I get a contact lens in and not out. He then attempted to show me show me how to remove the contact lens but he struggled himself to explain it. After a very poor attempt he told me to try. I then noted to him it would be impossible for me to remove a contact lens without a mirror - which he had not supplied! He then had to go off and source a mirror. His 'instructions' had left me confused and I really struggled while he offered no support. I then told him to get an optician to remove the contact as I was being tired of trying and no support or proper instructions. He then said he would remove it - there was no way I was letting him near my eye as he couldn't he do a fake demonstration. Thankfully whilst he went looking for the optician I managed to get the lens out. I left the store this time never wanting to return. Following my wrong lens prescription I doubted that the glasses prescription would be right. Thankfully I went to Specsavers that same day for an eye test. And I am so glad I did - the test confirmed I should indeed be a '1.25 not a 1.00'. So now I have spent £149 on glasses that I cannot wear and their "customer service" has not responded to me. All I want is my money refunded I am beyond disappointed and shocked at the staff knowledge in this store and feel the public need to be aware of what they may be greeted with before they spent large amounts of money with this company"
Posted 3 months ago
"Daiana was a shining example of exceptional customer care."
Posted 3 months ago
"Im more than happy with optical express they were in my opinion proffesional.friendly and quickly put me at ease.everything was explained to me about my op and it all went to plan and im happy with my results six years on.i would hghly recomend optical express and still go for my eye checks as i feel at ease with themselfes"
Posted 3 months ago
"Gemma at Shandwick Place in Edinburgh was absolutely excellent. She tightened the frames for my sunglasses very efficiently and her customer service was friendly and very helpful. After this, I would definitely go back to optical express and would recommend to others."
Posted 3 months ago
"Helpful staff but website has a problem processing orders. Chat line helpful but needs it depth to sort. 4 days so far without a solution"
Posted 3 months ago
"One of the worst companies around for customers and staff"
Posted 4 months ago
"Called in to the Newton Mearns branch yesterday as a leg had come off a pair of sunglasses and it was difficult to find the correct screw. The girl was so helpful and managed to replace the screw. My daughter is delighted. Excellent service and very pleasant manner"
Posted 4 months ago
"Just got new glasses for my son in the Carluke, South Lanarkshire shop. Staff exceptionally helpful, especiallyJane and this helped my son be more relaxed during his eye test and the picking of new glasses."
Posted 4 months ago
"First time ordering from Optical Express. Ordered contact lenses on the 07/11/18 only to be advised 2 days later after querying why order was unfulfilled that at the time of the order these were not in stock. Why wasn’t I told this at the time of ordering? Might be better off going back to original supplier as would receive these next day ."
Posted 4 months ago
"Very easy to navigate around the web page & very competitive pricing"
Posted 4 months ago
"Unfortunately I had an accident that left my glasses badly scratched. I took them into optical express in Derby and saw Ross. He was so helpful and pleasant and got on with the task of ordering replacement lenses. The lenses arrived very quickly and Ross was able to fit them perfectly. He made a rather unpleasant experience (the accident) much easier to cope with. Thanks Ross."
Posted 4 months ago
Optical Express is rated 4.75 based on 4,035 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support