National Motorhomes Reviews

1.06 Rating 35 Reviews
0% of reviewers recommend National Motorhomes
576 Review Views (past 24 hours)
12PM - 2PM
78 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
41 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
57 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
40 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
38 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
58 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
37 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
59 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
35 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
55 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
42 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
36 Review Views
12PM
12PM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact National Motorhomes?
Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how National Motorhomes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
"If I could give 0 stars I would! From the very beginning began to regret this booking. After much searching these guys 'seemed' to have a good price and were able to offer more flexible bookings (ie not a week). I made the booking and was instantly bombarded with texts, about how I could upgrade my experience...for example pay for an electric cable? Really???? This stuff should be included as standard!! I ignored most of the texts and actually blocked the number in the end because it was almost daily. Then comes the issue of insurance, you couldn't take out your own, you could either use their extortionate insurance or pay a large (£1000 deposit, plus admin fee!). We took this route and had £1250 deducted from our credit card (this also included a damage deposit). Thank god we put this on our credit card and we have had to fight and battle to get this back. I understood the terms were 28 working days, so made contact and requested the refund after this time. It all seemed fairly straightforward, all online and confirmation received that i would get my payment in 3-5 days.....NOTHING, so chased again (via online chat as they don't have phone lines!) to be told there was an issue and it was with the credit team..I then had to raise a case which could take up to 10 days to review. It was farcical, the online chat are rude, blunt and unhelpful. As I said above they don't have phone lines so you cant speak with anyone. In the end we raised a Section 75 case with our Credit Card provider to eventually get this money back. All in all I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy. Please do yourselves a favour and look elsewhere"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Are you National Motorhomes? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Get Access
"Avoid like the plague, Bombard you with offers and adds ons up until rental, Camper was dirty, cutlery was filthy and water tank leaked so couldnt use the shower, sink and toilet, had the cheek to charge for not emptying the toilet despite not working!! still have my 2500£ deposit despite numerous times trying to contact them, with my card company now processing a charge back so be wise and book elsewhere."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Keep well away keep well away!! Utter rip off. They charge for the slightest thing and if you are not careful they will charge more than the deposit. They should be ashamed of themselves but I doubt they will be. To be fair, of the two depots I used, staff at both did warn me they would do this."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"DO NOT HIRE FROM THIS COMPANY!!!! ALL THE STORIES ARE TRUE, EXCESSIVE CHARGES, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, POOR QUALITY VAN, DO NOT REFUND DEPOSIT UNLESS YOU FIGHT WITH THEM. THEY TRADE UNDER VARIOUS NAMES!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"DO NOT GO ANYWHERE NEAR THEM!!! I am taking this to watchdog and I hope many others have! absolutely disgrace! I am so angry that I have chased and chased for my deposit and now they have deducted £24 for parking which we did not order and were not made aware of and £75 for going to 73 mph ! HOW THE HELL ???? We were so careful to stick to the 70mph! We missed it by 3mph and got sacked with a £75 charge! I am DISGUSTED to say the least, you can speak to ANYONE, only live chat that keeps cutting you off! and the chat is possibly the rudest I have experienced! Disgraceful, the van fridge and heating didn’t work! This was totally ignored and yet they still charged happily for things we weren’t made malware if and hide behind, it’s clear on the terms and conditions- it’s not ! PLEASE DO NOT USE THEM"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We used this company as we are first time users of a Motorhome and wanted the security of a 'national' company and its associated support and reputation. Like with other reviews, the additional costs mounted up as we needed to source all the 'extras' as we are not caravaners. For a first time of this type of holiday the experience was good, a slight minor leak of the van which was easily dealt with, once we found out the source; the helpline were not able to fix the problem but they did come back to us to try and help. The van was OK and all the kitchen equipment was new (unpacked) and everything else worked for us. However, the requirement for providing a tv licence at such short notice was a big surprise and their fee is extortionate. Their hire fees are readily available before hire, although you are sucked in with promotional offers, also be aware that they push early collection and late delivery offers (we did take late return). We only had the van for 4 days and with all the 'extras', but at that cost we could have got into B&Bs for the same price, with 4 adults, so it's not a cheap holiday through this company but would be better for a longer hire. The BIGGEST drawback is that they hang on to your money for so long; hire payment and deposit is 8 weeks before hire, return of deposit is 28 days, but I had to chase for it and i finally received it some 8 week after hire completion. They therefore have our deposit for over 4 months, which must be their business model. Fortunately I had no disputes, but holding on to your model for so long is their OM, so be aware. Normal van hire companies don't hang on to your money for so long, usually just for the period of hire. NO, I would NOT use them again, but would use another company and would be wary of costs and terms. However, I will see how its done in NZ next year!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Do not use - deal appears reasonable however they do not return your £1250 deposit despite complying with agreement - easy to book over phone then when you repeatedly attempt to communicate you fine you cannot talk to anyone in person, live chat is soooo long you end up being cut off spent so much time trying to resolve without success to date stress factor is through roof - did homework however at that point no one had conveyed the deposit issue so unhappy conned big time!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I cannot warn people sufficiently about this cowboy outfit. They are part of a major chain of companies around Britain that hire out motorhomes. They masquerade under different titles and each of them, receives the same, damning, reviews, from countless people who have been misled by their terms and conditions and have paid the price. Read everything you can about the following companies, before handing over a penny. Don’t touch them with a barge pole. In fact, hire yourselves a barge, for a week, instead! It will be far more relaxing than dealing with these people. hirebookingcentre.com National Motorhomes Motorholme.co.uk Unbeatablehire.com There are more. Make sure none of the ones you consider are, in any way, connected to those above. Read the reviews for each. It will make you re-think your holiday options."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Don’t grace this company with your cash, they will keep it. Unreasonable deposit forfeits and they just quote terms and conditions so PLEASE read their terms first. If I could have a minus rating or 0, it would be. Awful company bad communication, just want to sell you additional things that should be included in the hire by a reasonable company. Deposits held for months. Our camper had no gas and we were told it was full bottle that we had paid for. The hot water did not work when we purchased more gas, the bathroom had a leak that flooded the van so was unusable, clips on the cupboards were broken and we could not get the van level on even grass as the chocks supplied were far too small and sank. There response was to hold onto my deposit for over 2 months. Stay away."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"THESE ARE TRASH, SAVE YOUR CASH ! WE LOST OUR DEPOSIT. If you’re thinking of renting from National Motorhomes, or one of their numerous subsidiaries, or affiliated companies, (UNBEATABLEHIRE, HIREBOOKING CENTRE, MOTORHOLME and more) don’t be surprised when the additional charges start adding up. They will turn what you had assumed was a cheap holiday into a very, very, expensive one. By the time you have added up all their deceitful surcharges, for items you would have assumed necessary and essential for travel, you’ll be wanting to cancel. If you do, don’t expect your money back without a fight. Would you like a proper introduction to your rented motorhome, with an explanation of how everything works? You’ll only get one, if you have purchased their “handover package”. Expect to watch TV whilst you’re away? PROVE you have a TV licence. Expect to use their chemical toilet? Not unless you’ve paid for the chemicals. Want to refill the water tank? You had better have paid to rent the water hose, or brought your own. Parking a car? Oops! Another many £££s gone. Motorhome not parked level, so you can get a good night’s sleep? Well you should have paid to hire the levelling chocks. Want a cup of tea? Check you did remember to buy a gas bottle and that they have supplied the necessary kitchen “accessories” in their “kitchen pack”. And the list goes on. Don’t even rely on their Insurance Excess Waiver. If there is a loophole, these snakes will wriggle through it. Or choose another type of holiday, altogether. My advice is to avoid this company and its “cheap” offers, like the plague."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"They are total rip off merchants would not recomend them after care shocking still waiting to get my deposit back from june the staff are inapproachable and there live chat is useless"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Hire fee seems really reasonable when quoted, they fail to tell you that every single thing is extra, you are then constantly bombarded with emails to pay for easy pickup, late drop off, which is 11am by the way, so if you travelled anywhere over 2 hours from depot you have a very early wake up on return day, even charge for a demonstration of how to use everything, they shouldn’t be allowed to hire out without doing this, it could be dangerous!! They keep your non refundable deposit for 28 working days and when you ask for interest on it to be refunded they refuse, imagine how much money they making on keeping deposits? Do not use, they extra charges bring it up to another £300 and waiting forever for deposit refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We unfortunately booked with National Motor homes before we read the reviews – never again!! We needed to pick the van up in the morning because we were going to Reading festival and were told that we could do this if we – yes, you've guessed it – paid an extra fee. So, on this understanding we paid the deposit for our booking. Then we were told that we in fact couldn't pick up the van before 3pm, meaning that we would miss a lot of the festival on the Friday afternoon. We tried to extend our booking for a day earlier, only to be told that we couldn't do this, there was apparently no availability, despite their website stating that there was plenty of availability for a new booking!! The small print states that if you cancel after 24 hours of booking THERE ARE NO REFUNDS. How can this be right? What they try to get you to do, is cancel your booking – it is easy to do this, a matter of one click of a button – knowing that they will not refund your money. Crooks, swindlers, scam artists. DO NOT TOUCH WITH A BARGEPOLE."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Spamming Text Scum who dion't respect your privacy Having called this company to demand they stop texting me I spoke to one of their staff with an attitude called Harry. He wouldn't give me his surname but having given him my mobile number he assured me that I was removed from their spam text list. Needless to say these have continued & I'm now about to write to them to give them their final warning before taking my complaint to the ICO. These scum bags keep changing their number but do link back to the same web site. They have a reputation for this and deserve everything they get from now on."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Spamming Text Scum who dion't respect your privacy Having called this company to demand they stop texting me I spoke to one of their staff with an attitude called Harry. He wouldn't give me his surname but having given him my mobile number he assured me that I was removed from their spam text list. Needless to say these have continued & I'm now about to write to them to give them their final warning before taking my complaint to the ICO. These scum bags keep changing their number but do link back to the same web site. They have a reputation for this and deserve everything they get from now on."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Absolutely disgraceful would NEVER use again STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. Complete rip-of THEY ALSO GO BY LOTS OF OTHER NAMES AS WELL THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED RIPPING OF INNOCENT HARDWORKING PEOPLE DO NOT USE THEM THEY WILL RIP YOU OF!!!! I used the Brentwood depot...don’t go there the man In charge rude and aggressive. THE COMPANY HAS STOLEN OUR DEPOSIT The people selling the hiring of these campers are as much as a con man as the company itself ..Hope your ashamed of yourselves"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Don't believe their offers....! Initially I requested a quote from them.... They had no availability apparently, then txt me to say they had had a cancellation and a vehicle was available, and that they had an offer on.... I called them back and the offer price was higher than the price I had been quoted originally...! Some time later I received this offer from them txt to me:- June or July Offer - £50 any motorhome per night.... Includes... Minimum 3 nights motorhome hire, up to 400 free miles (+ £1/mile thereafter), Unlimited mileage for +£50, Insurance for x1 driver, Bike Rack, 3kg Gas Bottle, Digital TV, Booking & Card fees. Supplements & Surcharges may apply and a minimum £250 refundable security deposit will be required. UK travel only. I called them back... The response was "Oh sorry, it doesn't apply to the dates in July you want - We can do your trip for £700...!!!" Bit of a difference.....! She put the phone down on me...!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Don't use them, got charge for things that were already broken. No deposit given back. Just had a bad feeling about them with their up selling and was proven right."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"HI, SAME AS EVERYONE ELSE, MOTORHOME OK, BOOKED IT IN MARCH STILL NO RETURN OF DEPOSITE, NOW JUNE, WHEN YOU BOOK IT THEY CONTACT YOU ALL THE TIME TRYING TO SELL YOU EXTRAS BUT WHEN YOU WANT YOUR DEPOSITE BACK THEY NEVER RETURN CALLS"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Place a joke dont return deposit PLEASE DON'T HIRE NICE VANS BUT LOVED THE FULL TRIP BUT A YEAR LATER STILL NO DEPOSIT BACK VAN BROKE DOWN PHONED RAC THE NUMBER OF LEAFLET ON A REPLY EMAIL THE CHARGED ME FOR CALLING RAC LOL EVEN THOUGH WE LOST 3 HOURS OF DRIVING 100% no go"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
National Motorhomes is rated 1.06 based on 35 reviews