Hsbc Reviews

1.43 Rating 280 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend Hsbc
833 Review Views (past 24 hours)
03AM - 5AM
23 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
67 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
40 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
84 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
78 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
97 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
58 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
217 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
45 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
41 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
23 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
60 Review Views
03AM
3AM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact Hsbc?
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels
"I would like to say few words about HSBC branch in Uxbridge high street. Firstly about my bad experience. I went there 2 days ago. Not many people in. One elderly lady from HSBC was sorting out the issue of one customer. I was standing behind and she asked me to sit down and wait for my turn. Took ages. After some time she went out and left me! Fortunately, there was one nice lady who noticed me, her name is Taj, she took care of me. She was quick, helpful, explained me everything clearly and sorted out my thing. She was also very nice, polite and she knew how to deal with the customer, unlikely the other lady. I hope this message will reach her manager ( I asked her manager's name, Gita Hirani). Well done Taj!!! One star for the lady who ignored me and five stars for TAJ!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Are you Hsbc? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"What a load of awkward people HSBC are. They think they are "it" because they are the biggest bank in the UK. You cannot even have a basic standard saver with them without having a current account as well. You can only have the online one. I want the fixed rate saver. For that I also have to have their flexible saver, and for the flexible saver I have open a current account. I don't want to be flooded with 3 accounts just to get their stupid fixed saver! Beyond useless. I am going nowhere near them just to get extra interest. Waste of time, HSBC."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"The staff are moody and not that helpful a week later and still in the same situation I went to sort out the week before, defiantly would not recommend hsbc to anyone"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Trying to open a business account. Worst experince in 30 years of banking. Beyond slow. Submitted forms online, then requires a face to face meeting to complete further forms in branch with "advisor". Letters to provide confirmation of address and signature have been sent out 3 times. A supposed online application process currently is standing at 2 months with nothing happening. The application centre is merely a message centre. Don't need an overdraft facility or business loan, just an account to invest some money in and start trading! Avoid like the plague."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"After they aided and abetted me getting into credit card and overdraft debt, I took out a consolidation loan for £25,000 with them 24 months ago. I have paid off £494 per month in those 2 years with no missed payments. The current balance is £28,161. #High Street Banking C*nts."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I had the worst possible banking experience in my life with HSBC!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I had a business account with hsbc for 18 years we never been overdrawn we have substantial credit in our account, we recently received a letter saying they were closing our account after careful consideration they wanted us to fill in a form telling them more about our company we did this but they said they wanted more information I am at a loss as to why after 17 years they say they do not have not enough information about us"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Been suffering at their hands for a number of years.Have led to being suicidal at times. Knew Dyfrig John when he was CEO.This present CEO is driving people to their death."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"HSBC UK is our little introduction to what life must be like in China. We have a business account with a credit of 600k. We recently received a letter saying they were closing all our accounts after "careful consideration.: We thought maybe they have made a mistake. No explanation as to why. We rung phone banking. They would not tell us. Discovered on our online banking a generic message they were "missing" some information on our company. Basically they want information on cash flow of our business, expected creditors/debtors etc structure diagrams, residential addresses of directors etc. Seems Chinese Govt is hungry for information. But if we don't supply this information it will be a huge inconvenience. On top of that..phone banking is totally unhelpful, follows a script on their computer and just won't diverge. If you get a question wrong first time on a security check, they stop the conversation and you need to send in a paper form to reset it. They dont reply to support emails. We can't get a replacement token so internet banking will soon be unavailable. It just wouldn't surprise me at all if our account and money just disappears one day. They act like they own it already and its will only grant us permission to access it if we give up everything we know. I wish there were zero stars."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst hsbc support team. I have tried 2 hours still it would say just wait .Its too panic"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Waste of time... Waste of time... I been banking with HSBC for a year I been blocked a year ago now, They blocked me to make sure I don't know that they steal my money so called 'google map' I haven't even been using a google map and google map is only working while having wifi connection and is not for money. I have been using my card on ebay, and other stuff for example I been playng lottery games which should not be a bad thing as I made sure I am using a correct website which was. So as I got blocked at the HSBC bank, I made an appointment to talk to someone about it as I had no idea why they blocked me. I had my meeting I spoke to a really knowable lady xD I asked why has my account been blocked she said 'I DONT KNOW' to any question that I have asked she respond I dont know, and tells me to go and open an account in a different bank. Today 24.11.18 I went for an appointment in Santander to open an account everything was going well until the woman finished the application and it declined. So Thank you so much to HSBC for blocking me out of every bank.... how can I pay my bills? how can I get money from work ? how can I now pay for my education...."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"They shut my business account without even giving me a phone call!! waiting to receive a cheque for the money I had in the account ...... 2 weeks on and nothing such poor customer care avoid if I was you!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Although a lot of the misdemeanours of HSBC are kept quiet, it is clear from the investigations carried out at the link below, that they are the scum of the earth. Go to a bank with some morality instead. http://nicholaswilson.com/one-man-fights-the-dirtiest-bank-in-the-world-newsbud/"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Today I called up hsbc spoke to an outstanding young man Hitesh mehta who felt with my enquiry with complete understanding and compassion of my daughters health problems the only person I can honestly say I spoke to from that company that couldn’t be more helpful mayb many others from this banking team should get some advice from him on how to best deal with customers .... total 100% service ... thank you hitesh 👌🏻"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Terrible customer service and IT systems. HSBC is simply the worst bank for small businesses."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"BAD SERVICE"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"If you are a small business or Startup stay far way from HSBC they will break your company in pieces !!!! We are a small business set up in April 2013. Since 2013 we've been running the business through HSBC. In July 2018 we were asked to fill up a new form, meaning giving HSBC information about our business, what we do, how we receive money, how we trade etc. Fast forward to 1st of November 2018 I was trying to pay a supplier and my card kept being declaimed, I then login in to my online bank and saw that I couldn't make any payment . The balance was there, we have plenty of money in our bank account but the payment option wasn't there anymore, meaning we could not make any payment online, all payment functions were blocked. I then called HSBC to ask what was going on and they told me the account was under review they simply read an statement saying that the account was under review and that they could not give any further information... It doesn't matter what I asked they would only repeat the same thing over and over. Moving forward a few days, the direct debits we had setup to be paid in the account started to bounce back, meaning HSBC wasn't even paying our direct debits despit we having positive balance in the account. I then called HSBC again to ask why the direct debits were not being paid and the reply I got was exactly the same as before "The account is under review and we can not give you any more details" To make the story short, HSBC Froze the account without any previous notification, when in contact with them it is impossible to get any information at all, they are like robots playing the same tune over and over... I then done a quick google search about this issue with HSBC and to my surprise there are 1000's of posts online from small business owners and Startups claiming to have had the same problem with HSBC, also had their account frozen and left without any access to it and worse left without any information. What is written here is the truth, if you dont believe it just google the following : hsbc freezing small business account You will see for your self what this bank do to small business so, my advise is, stay way from hsbc, if you currently bank with them and been asked to fill up a form,it is a bad sign your account is likely to be frozen at some point, better you take action now and move your money way from HSBC just to be safe. If I only knew that before I would have done it myself, but unfortunately we only learn about things after happening to us... Now we are in a situation where have no money to run the business or pay our employees. HSBC doesn't care about the damage inflicted on our business and will not care about you or me. This is a bank without any sense of appreciation to its customers, they will act in any way they like and will not for a second care about you or your business. I am here writing this post to warn you to make you ware about this bank and its position towards small business, what happened to me and to the other 1000's of small business can also happen to you."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! Wish I came here first... Me and my partner was trying to open a business account, after 1 week of not hearing back, I began to call them and chase up what the delay was and everything was filled out right and relevant ID submitted. Eventually after 2 weeks and constantly calling them someone calls me back and says I have to go in branch. But, despite living in a built up area she couldn't find a HSBC branch within 90mins drive and said that once an appointment is done it could be another 4 weeks before approval. Total and utter waste of time with this company. 2 weeks of effort and time gone because of their complete incompetence to set up a bank account. Cancelled the application there and then. The call centre staff are so miserable and unhelpful, always asking to call back in 48hours. If this is how they treat new customers... I dread to think how they treat their existing customers. AVOID!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Avoid this bank. Worst bank ever. Not giving my money back for over 2months. Had business account. Avoid avoid avoid"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"They behaved like loan sharks with me, allowing me to build up massive credit card and overdraft debts. We were both irresponsible. However, I am the one suffering with their greedy 16% interest consolidation loan. So they were happy to keep increasing my limits, sometimes without me even asking, yet when it came to trying to get out of the mess, suddenly apparently I’m a bad bet - so despite advertising their lowest ever loan rates of 3.8%, they hit me with 15%. I’m screwed for years to come. High Street Banking C**ts."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.43 based on 280 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support