Hsbc Reviews

1.45 Rating 336 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend Hsbc
614 Review Views (past 24 hours)
11PM - 1AM
62 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
59 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
60 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
42 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
37 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
42 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
44 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
74 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
36 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
40 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
79 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
39 Review Views
11PM
11PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"Hand bag was stolen including my debit card. HSBC correctly cancelled my debt card but also accidentally cancelled my credit card = no digital access to any of my accounts. After 5 days I received my new debit card and was informed PIN number in mail. Waiting then for new pin and credit card to arrive in mail. Two weeks nothing so I call today and find out, no new PIN number was issued my existing pin remains and I could have been using new card for last 2 weeks and no credit card was ever ordered. So in my stressful time of getting my handbag stolen HSBC managed to make things worse by delaying replacement cards and PIN numbers. They just really need to get their act together or get out of consumer banking, their level of professional customer service ( or lack of) just is not acceptable in today's world."
Posted 2 days ago
Are you Hsbc? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"HSBC has suspended my business account without prior notice. I wanted to make a payment for one of my suppliers and then realised that my HSBC Business acc aint working as normal, then I called HSBC and then I was tols that my account is suspended and it's under review. The worst Business customer service support centre. The Manager of the tele banking service at HSBC didnt have any information about my account, only response was, 'I cannot give any information, only info I could give is your business banking account is under review', I asked how long will it take for HSBC business team to review my acc ? the answer was ' it could take as long as it takes' Is it an answer from a Number one Bank in the world !!!!!!!!!!!!! I've been a loyal customer since 2004. And the Business account service from HSBC is pathetic. I couldn't believe I'm dealing with HSBC UK business banking team. I will take the matter to the financial Ombudsman."
Posted 4 days ago
"Used HSBC for the mortgage on a new property. Simply put we were 'porting' our current HSBC mortgage from the old to the new house and taking out a second HSBC mortgage to cover the difference. The maths was Mortgage 1 + mortgage 2 = the price of the new house (minus what we put in in terms of equity on the old property) HSBC applied the following maths. Mortgage 1 - mortgage 2 = £97,000 short of what we needed. I voiced concern this was wrong and this was ignored for 10 weeks straight, despite repeated e-mails and phone calls. 2 days before exchange our lawyers got involved and pointed this out. HSBC finally accepted the mistake as one of the advisors having messed up. I expressed dismay that the mistake wasn't picked up by underwriting and the fact theres a single point of failure that can go all the way through to exchange. I wrote a letter asking HSBC to alter their procedures so no single mistake could go through to exchange without a second check to detect it, a relatively easy process to employ. HSBC refused stating it was 'too difficult' to implement this. From someone that works in a safety related industry where procedures change the whole time I know this not to be true. HSBC then suggested it was the lawyers that were to blame, ironic when it was the lawyers that THEY INSISTED i use. That cost me £1004 in cancelled legal fees from the original lawyers I instructed. Again HSBC denied any wrong doing as it's in their terms and conditions. I might also remind them 'learning from mistakes and putting things right is also in the T&Cs but they failed to do that by refusing to change very poor procedures. HSBC then went on to suggest I was the second line of defence on mistakes and I should have picked up the mistake. I pointed out I was not a financial adviser but I had highlighted a mistake and I had been ignored. Ironically then HSBC seemed to ignore me when I further pushed this point. I would summarise they actively encourage weak procedures so they can use plausible deniability. In the end I was offered £250 and the ombudsman agreed this was fair because the legal issue and the procedures issue they do not look into as it's not their area of responsibility. I contacted the FCA who seemed largely disinterested but 'added it to their statistics'. Now i know how the 2008 financial crash occurred. In my industry this standard would not be accepted. Taking my mortgage and bank elsewhere at the end of my fixed mortgage term. That will cost HSBC a lot more than £1004 i can assure them. In summary a totally incompetent and mismanaged process, and very unlikely to be a one off given the weak procedures to prevent such things happening."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Bank with anyone else and you’ll have 75% less headaches. I just don’t understand how they still have clients."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Worst bank ever. HSbc"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Banking is not what you do. Get qualified people from other bank and tune your system. You guys just suspended all my net banking for no reason and you have no one to support me because you have no sufficient employees. Your rating is very poor in UK based on all available surveys. By the way are you displaying your rating in branches or still ashamed of it."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Awful in every aspect. Have been a customer for nearly 30 years and they are plumbing new depths of poor service on a daily basis! Not only is the service extremely poor, their staff have got into the habit of telling blatant lies - not what you expect from a bank or a place where you keep your hard earned money - Avoid"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"In recent years this bank has turned into a disastrous organisation. Strewn with errors, misinformation, lies and don't even get me started on the appalling staff in their offshore call centres. If it were not for the fact that I am so tied up with this bank with various direct debits, payments in and out and the logistical nightmare it would be to restructure everything I would leave them today. I have been a customer since 1982 (Midland Bank), but anyone thinking of a bank account do yourself a favour and look elsewhere."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Poor customer service. Poor user-friendly website, with misinformation and average app!"
Posted 4 weeks ago
"HSBC is really the most disgusting bank of all time. Worst customer service experience I've ever received. Won't be using them for my student account."
Posted 1 month ago
"Beyond appalled. Having transferred to Santander, hsbc employee didn’t understand the switch guarantee. Because of his advice I have paid out fees which are standard in all banks to bank a dollars cheque. I could have had a refund and it would have gone into my new account via switch guarantee, Santander knew this why didn’t the hsbc employee? Further your Indian call centre staff are most rude and I’m very happy to leave hsbc"
Posted 1 month ago
"To be honest, I don't know where to start. HSBC is a bank full of wicked, unempathetic advisors both in branch and over the phone. In fact, it would be inaccurate to call them advisors at all. I am an international student and I get money transferred to me regularly to pay for my tuition and rent, as well as my monthly living expense. On the 21st of June 2019, I had money transferred to me form my monthly living expense. However, this amount was not credited to my account. I called HSBC customer service and a very rude customer service advisor informed me that my account is under review. I then asked her what that meant and a timescale as to when my account would be unfrozen. She informed me that she could not give me any information and advice me to go to the branch. I pleaded with her and informed her that I had literally no money to get breakfast and I depend on y monthly allowance to survive. After she hung up on me, I decided to quickly rush to the Birmingham New Street Branch. At the branch, I informed them about everything that transpired earlier that morning and the advisor told me that she would call and get some information for me. After making me wait for 1hour which b the time I was extremely late for my lecture the customer service advisor returned and informed me that there was nothing she could do. She further told me that the branch could not help me and I would have to wait to be contacted. I begged and informed her once again that I had no money to live on but she and another colleague told me in a very cold demeanour that there was nothing that they could do and gave me no information. I then asked if I could call and talk to them myself, at this point, I was in tears. But they told me that there was no use calling and I am wasting my time sitting here waiting for a solution. I was shocked by this response and how rude and unempathetic the where. I left but still called another customer service advisor that could at least give me some information because at this point I began to panic that truly I would not be able to afford breakfast, lunch, dinner or to survive at all. When I called the customer service advisor told me the exact same thing and told her that I wanted to lodge a complaint because of how I was treated over the phone and the inconvenience. she alright told me that she does not see grounds for a complaint. I was still in tears and at this point, I asked her if the bank wanted me to go on the to beg. She laughed at me and asked if there was anything else. I still did not give up, I called a third time. At this point, It was 3 pm and I had missed school. The customer service advisor that picked up told me that she had spoken to the review team and the person reviewing my account would give me a call the next day at noon. I was relieved. there was hope. The next day I waited for a call but no call came so I decided to call. The customer service advisor I spoke to informed me that the person I spoke to yesterday gave me incorrect information. No one was scheduled to call me about my account. I was persistent I gave her a record of the previous day but she told me that the account was still under review and no one would be contacting me that day. I then lodged a complaint describing all the inconvenience and frustration HSBC had caused me. I again asked her if I could at least get some money from my account so I can survive but she said no and told me to borrow money from my university mates. I was At this point, I had only 5 pounds with me and no means of buying a bus pass back home so I had to walk 50 mins back to my house from the university. I still haven't been contacted by HSBC and the customer advisors are even ruder and rush me off the phone every time I call. As a customer, you are supposed to trust your bank. They are supposed to make sure your financially safe and well informed about your finances. HSBC bank especially the branch in the Birmingham New Street is a disgrace and frankly, the advisors should be ashamed of themselves for looking down on people they lead to financial ruin."
Posted 1 month ago
"That should have said the £75 I borrowed. (Below). They have screwed me up so much I can’t even speak English anymore."
Posted 1 month ago
"I’m strugging financially. My fault, but aided and abetted by HSBC when they allowed me a 13k credit card limit and massive overdraft. Then they charged me 16% interest on a consolidation loan. At a time when they were advertising 3% loans. I had no bad credit at this time. This week I was over my overdraft limit. I needed some money for essentials until pay day at the end of the month. I had nowhere to turn so I took out a payday loan. HSBC blocked me from accessing the £75 I loaned. I have £3.40 in 5p pieces to get me through the next 4 days. Thank you HSBC."
Posted 1 month ago
"By far the worse experience I have ever had with a bank. Credit card account was blocked by HSBC for what they call unknown reasons. Asked them to unlock the account they said they need to send me a code via the post. Didn't receive it. So called again. They said they would send it again. Didn't receive it. Called again asking for my credit card balance as by this time I had enough. They couldn't give me a balance. Stated they need to send me a code first. Haven't received it. So if cancelled my direct debit. And I'm sure they will contact me saying. Sorry sir your direct debit has been cancelled you need to pay today. Sure I'll say. How much is my balance. I'll then pay it all off. Cancel the card and live happy ever after. Please stay away from these useless people. Thank you"
Posted 2 months ago
"Everything. Queues, awful positioning of personal banking machines, more queues, waiting to be seen to then wait to be seen. Awful awful awful"
Posted 2 months ago
"Could not be less helpful, received an email asking me to contact their call centre, first person i spoke to kept pushing me to log in on line, i explained that i was asked to call, again, use the website, i asked if he was able to help me, with a huff he agreed, then went to a second person, he advised there was nothing he could do to help, so i still have a problem that needs fixing and no one seems to be able or wanting to help get it resolved. such poor customer service"
Posted 2 months ago
"Extremely bad service. I wanted to change addresses for myself and my 12 and 17 old children. They changed mine after 1/2 hour. Then they told me even though I opened their accounts myself and am 3rd party authorised, I couldn’t do it. The Gloucester Road manager, Zhang-Su Thomason said she couldn’t help. The options weren’t there even to do it by completing a form. She was ok about losing 3 customers if I wished to close all our accounts. Such a horrendous service. I had to take time off work just to waste it there. Never would recommend them."
Posted 2 months ago
"We were in 122 finchely road hsbc branch and we were very happy with miss seems panda service and help with big smile for opening new bank account"
Posted 3 months ago
"This is one of the few sites with 'reviews' of HSBC where I have actually been able to leave a review... Interestingly it is also one of the few which seem to echo my opinion of the company's management of my account. I make almost daily calls to HSBC to try and make payments (which I try to do entirely online) I am told each time that the fault is with the receiving bank only to find out that this is not the case. I have repeatedly requested email communication yet not received a single email and instead am told that I couldn't be contacted. Every large payment has taken me days and multiple phone calls, each time with a different explanation given."
Posted 3 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.45 based on 336 reviews