Holiday Autos Reviews

Holiday Autos have a Customer Happiness Grade of B-. Customers love their prices but are unhappy with their refunds. Full Insights

1.18 Rating 95 Reviews
3% of reviewers recommend Holiday Autos
587 Review Views (past 24 hours)
8PM - 10PM
53 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
37 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
20 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
38 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
38 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
44 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
79 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
57 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
44 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
74 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
40 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
63 Review Views
8PM
8PM

Phone:
0871 472 5229

Location:
Victoria Gate
Chobham Road
Woking

Categories:
Travel
Car Hire

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate Holiday Autos ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"I have always found the company very good but disappointing they will not investigate complaints. I booked a car with Dri>e in Crete who also trade as Euro Dollar presumably to try and make out they are a bigger firm. Don’t use them! Avoid at all cost! They trade as Drive and Euro Dollar and that’s what they are after - your money! The car was badly damaged all over on collection and at the man on the desks suggestion we took pictures of the damage as I already had insurance cover on credit card policy to cover hire car excesses. As I was taking the pictures he said don’t worry about the small marks. Now I know why. On returning the car he claimed a tiny paint chip on the rear bumper had been caused by me despite the rest of the bumper being badly damaged in the photographs we took at the start of the hire. Unfortunately this bit of the bumper wasn’t visible in the photographs. He said the standard charge was €200 euros and this would be deducted from my deposit or alternatively he would reduce the charge to €100 if I paid straight away. This is an absolute con. Basically trying to defraud visitors to the island is discussing. The firm is giving the island a bad name with honest holidaymakers. I reported it to the police in the terminal but sadly they weren’t interested. It’s a real shame things like this leave a bad taste from an otherwise amazing holiday."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Worst company ever... it s impossible to speak with them... they got an excuse for everything..."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"This company might be fine if you don't cancel and request a refund. I cancelled a reservation a month prior to travel and still haven't received a refund 7 weeks later. First I was told 10 days. I submitted a request at the 10 day mark. Then I was told 37 hours. At the 37 hour mark, I was told my refund would be processed within 10 days. At that 10 day mark, I was sent an email asking for my bank account routing number and account so they could refund me. This company is shady. If I reserved a car with a credit card, the refund should be processed on said credit card. What kind of person would be crazy enough to send their banking information overseas after this kind of runaround. Steer clear."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Liars and cheats. Under no circumstances rent from this company. We rented a car through them for use in Dubrovnik/Montenegro. Our flight was delayed, our luggage lost and we were delayed by a little over two hours. They gave our car away, refused to assist although it was late at night and we had a young child with us. In the end we had to hire a car from another company. Holiday Autos have given us the run around since then (18 August 2018). We have been dealing with countless “representatives” who state they have a 20 business day turnaround, but there is no resolution. All phone numbers provided by Holiday Auto effectively direct you to the same recordings, annoying music and hours and hours of waiting on the phone. They may be cheap but don’t use them - you may as well through your money down the toilet for all the use they are!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Everything. Orderd through them a 7 seater to be picked up in Budget at a location in Manhattan. When we arrived no car available , they claimed Holiday Autos cancelled the reservation. Called their customer service, the Agent stayed my reservation with them was valid but was completely helpless in helping with Budget. I had no choice but to go to a different location at JFK as there they had 7 seaters, and pay over $500 extra. Holiday Autos simply refunded me for the payment but refused to take issue with Budget and simply ignored all my attempts to contact them. Basically there is no effective recourse on an internet broker located on Ireland. Never Again use them. Beware!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Flight had long mechanical problem. Tried various ways to contact them . Closed desk. After hours. Made us nervous trying to let them know. Should have booked with a regular company. I don’t lose my money due to flight mechanicals. Will pronably have to dispute the charges and get a car from a good company. I would not recommend this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I recieved an email informing me about the extra insurance I could take out, it indicated that the excess on the car was £2500 but when I collected the car from avis the excess was only £180!! The policy cost me £80. Trying to complain to hooidayautos got me no where, they did not even acknowledge there was a complaint! I will be reporting them to the financial ombudsman for miss selling I would not recomend holidayautos to anyone!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Bad service . Just after your money. Wrong info given. No car . Rip off company"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"No record of my pre-paid, “confirmed” car rental booking at the partner desk at the airport. Wasted whole day at the airport and left on public transport. Lost out on hotel accommodation as that was a 3 hour drive and not accessible on public transport. Approx $500 was debited from my credit card and no assistance offered from Holiday Auto customer service other than fill in an online form. The customer service advisor also implied it was my fault the booking didn’t go through and that I hadn’t followed procedure."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"This company, at the time of booking a rental car, pressed to the maximum to make the payment of an insurance of more than 50 € for 5 days, stating that it was even necessary and a more valise, since it covered franchises up to 3000 € of damages . What happened was that when we arrived at the destination, when it was time to get the car at the company (gold car) forced us to pay another insurance, from their own company. Our astonishment was total since we had already paid the insurance with the holiday autos. The staff then made sure that the holiday auto insurance is of no use in various places and that they were knowledgeable of it, hence our revolt. When we called the holiday auto to give us back the insurance money they gave us a completely tatty excuse for not returning, claiming that since the card used to make the payment was not in the same name as the driver, something we could not understand the connection. Horrible."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I reported the below to Holiday Auto's after returning from my trip. I was emailed a week later stating that they would not be doing anything as I had signed for the car at the time of taking it (which is what anyone would do) and the case was closed. No investigation in to the amounts charged or anything, completely washed their hands of the matter. Not a great follow up. ‘Firstly, in your instructions to collect the car it states, ‘Please proceed through to Hertz counter’. I think the instructions would be more useful stating you need to proceed to the actual Firefly counter. Maybe a bit confusing as it was late and I was half asleep, but may be useful for other customers going forward as I queued up for an hour at Hertz only to be told this. So, I presented my documents at the counter to collect the car but had a debit card and not a credit card. I don’t carry a credit card and have never had any issues with holding deposits being placed on my debit card, in fact one was placed on the card at a later stage as I will explain in a bit. I was then informed that the only way I could take the car was to take out the full insurance package which was €280.44. I have an annual rental car insurance policy which is why I did not take the insurance in the first place. At this point I explained that my debit card had cleared funds if they wanted to take the €1537.50 as the deposit and I would get it back if I returned the car undamaged. They said I could do this but it would take 6 months to get the money back. When I said I would proceed with this (as there is no way I would be waiting 6 months to get the money back) they then changed their mind and said I could not do this. I then offered to call up my details online to get the details of my credit card, they said the card needed to be there in person. I then explained that should the magnetic strip in a card be damaged they would enter the details manually, and me giving them the card details would be no different. Again, they would not accept this. My only option was to accept the unwanted insurance. I feel that because I did not have a credit card on me in person, the whole situation was engineered to make me pay the insurance payment rather than a deposit that I would have got back. I then noticed a holding transaction on my debit card (as mentioned earlier) which amounted to the difference of €280.44 minus my original payment of £149.80 which then disappeared. I returned home, and on the 8th August a payment has been taken from my account for £264.75. I cannot work out what this payment is for, it is not the difference between the original amount I paid and the new amount that I was quoted with the insurance. It is also not the amount that I was quoted with the insurance so I have no idea what is going on really. Ultimately, I have been charged £414.55 for a week’s car rental which is disgusting.’"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"When we arrived at our destination we where told they did not have the child seat we ordered, on chasing this up with holiday autos we where told that child seats are not guaranteed, at 2 in the morning this becomes a massive problem, as if travel isn’t stressful enough! On top of this there was no fuel in the car so we had to find fuel at that in the early hours, awful experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"I booked a car with a debit card, so the sum of 190.83 EUR has been debited from my account and when arrived in front of the rental agency, the debit cards are not accepted. So why can we book online if the debit cards are not accepted?!!! I did not have a car that day, nor the refund of this sum. This is an open and public fraud/scam of the sum of 190.73 EUR (if you want to see the invoice for this open fraud, I can send it to you). Very bad service !!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"had booked a car with Holiday autos to be picked up at Dubai Airport. However, when i enquired at the Hertz desk they didnot have a reservation for me. My wife and 2 young children aged 7 and 5 were stranded there at midnight without a car. We had been in a long flights from UK to Dubai, tired and this was very disappointing. I had to leave them at the airport while i looked for another car. > While the email from their side said that the reservation was not confirmed it did have the following clause > "In the unlikely event that they are unable to confirm your booking, we will contact you to assist with finding a suitable alternative" > There has been no communication from theirr side and not even an email to say that the booking has been cancelled"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Stay well clear of this company. Once they have your money their customer support is non existant. Their website suggests it is possible to modify bookings on line but this does not include the length of the booking. We were in Austria and after 10 days hire wanted to return the car since it was proving difficult to use in Vienna. I could not make telephone contact. Web Chat help had no staff available and it was not possible to modify our booking on line. Given the fact I have been unable to make contact with anyone in Holiday Autos either when in Austria or having returned to the UK I am thankful that I didn't have to make an insurance claim since given my experience so far I am not convinced that would have been straightforward."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"this company is a rip off. We booked a van in Cancun, when we got there, there was greater than a 3 hour wait to get our booked van. We tried emailing the Holiday Autos and getting this resolved, they made it impossible to get any response, therefore we did not get any resolution to the matter, lost our $250, and had to hire taxis. DO NOT BOOK THROUGH HOLIDAY AUTOS, and DO NOT RENT MEX IN CANCUN, you will wait for hours in the heat without getting your vehicle.!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I am sorry I didn’t check this company I have been waiting for a refund for 3weeks as the company on arrival at Milan linate Target Rent didn’t have a car for me. Others were in the same position it took me 3 hours and £3000to book a similar family estate for my 3 week holiday. Cunsomer service has been appalling. They just keep pushing it off."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"An hour before pick up get call that no car available will refund in 5 working days.its been 20 working days and almost a month no refund and I have to stay almost 1 hour on hold to be answered.it think this company Is bankrupt.no one is there if not it will going to be.fucking idiots.stop wasting people time.of u can't run a business then don't.stay on doll."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Amounts inaccurate when picking up car as none of the amounts as in booking confirmed by local partner. They team up with a scam partner similar to themselves called Goldcar in Portugal (Algarve Faro airport) that will lie to you, rip you off, add extras without consultations to your booking and is rude and no integrity. Staff basically lie to you as they are apparently incentivized by selling extras for their commission - people without a consciousness or ethics work there. I should have done my homework and paid my lesson - EUR 450 for a 10 days rental in place of the booked EUR 182. I travel a lot in Africa and Asia and rent about 20 cars a year and have never been ripped of as such anywhere. A shame such can happen under EU laws in "advanced" and consumer protection Europe. Both Holiday Autos and Goldcar are criminals that abuse consumers and should be prosecuted and shut-down asap. Learn from my mistake - never book via Holiday Autos and never USE GOLDCAR. YOU WILL REGRET IT"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The worst customer service, picking up a car from the airport, I was slightly delayed and 2 hours late to pick up the car, did call the car rental office and they said come in, however HolidayAutos put an un-removable block on my booking and said I was a no show, I have paid for a car for 3 weeks that I cannot have and can’t get any refund. A total sham. Ps I rent cars on constantly and have never ever had service this abysmal."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Holiday Autos is rated 1.18 based on 95 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Get ready for our phone call!

We'll call you shortly. If you'd like to speak to us right away, please just call us on 0116 350 0610 .

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This