Holiday Autos Reviews

1.17 Rating 141 Reviews
3% of reviewers recommend Holiday Autos
1120 Review Views (past 24 hours)
00AM - 2AM
22 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
62 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
39 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
42 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
168 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
100 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
12PM - 2PM
103 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
62 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
186 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
146 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
130 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
60 Review Views

0871 472 5229

Victoria Gate
Chobham Road

Car Hire

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Holiday Autos made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier, Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
Returns & Refunds
refunds process
"I have offered a car rental in Malta airport. I have been charged €531 for only one punctured tyre. €300 for a new tyre and €150 for admin charges plus €81 taxes. I purchased extra insurance to cover any cost. AXA insurance which goes with this car rental, form the whole cost I have only offered £80 for new tyre and £100 administrative charged. Holiday auto in response to that replied me ; that’s what it is; NOT fair!"
Posted 12 hours ago
Are you Holiday Autos? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"This company is unbelievably unprofessional Booked and paid for a hire car through Holiday Autos for collection in New Zealand. When we arrived to collect the car they requested payment. I produced documentation to prove I had already paid, but Holiday Autos had not entered the details onto Avis’s system. After a very lengthy phone call to Ireland and “customer Service” we were no closer to finding a solution. Ended up paying for the car again. Then the fun started 20 emails later, over a period of 11 weeks I finally received my refund of £336"
Posted 6 days ago
"Booked with holiday autos then when I arrived in Crete I was passed to another company Surprice, On my booking form which I still have it stately says the fuel would be full and return full. This was not so it was empty and I was sent to fill it up. Fill it up I did only had it three days but they would not give any money back. They are a rip of company would not recommend them. I will also put this on Facebook"
Posted 1 week ago
"Awful service Took our money and when we got to Tenerife the car hire said because we were an hour late because of our flight it was another €13 a day same thing happened to couple behind us. Holiday autos said I did not provide my flight number but I did so I went to euro car next door and they provided a car at the extra cost it would have cost me. The other car hire company were laughing there heads off."
Posted 1 week ago
"Total scam. Booked car from Liverpool Airport costing £27. Wife ended paying additional £50 when picking it up. How do these people get away with this. Used Travel Supermarket website and ended up with this lot. Shame on you Travel Supermarket. Avoid both. I will in future."
Posted 1 week ago
"Do not use this company under any circumstances! I came home f I'm Lanzarote on 1st January 2019 and I am still awaiting my refund. They are owning up that they have the cash but are saying it's is with the Lanzarote office and that they cannot do anything about it. THIEVES!! Horrific company with a bad attitude, ROBBERS! I am seeking legal action! Horrendous company!!!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The company will not provide you with the deposit amount for the company until you will confirm booking. "Sufficient funds" can be from £250 to £1600. My case was that I came to collect the car and their system was down. I waited around an hour and when no progress happened I decided to cancel. When asked for the refund, I got the response from Daniella, Holiday Autos representative: "you change your mind and cancel the booking because you didn't want to wait the system back to work.""
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Do NOT use this company. After renting a car in South Africa, at an agreed price of 5519rand (circa £300.)I received the final bill only to see that the 450rand deposit had not been taken off so queried this and now find that, on the 23/2/19,some 25 days after returning the car, not only have they not refunded the 450rand but CHARGED another 295rand to my card without any explanation or contact. The Customer 'Service' dept is a joke and has, as yet, not responded with anmy meaningful explanations. Beware, they are NOT to be trusted with your credit card."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"These guys are scam operators; if I could give them less than one star, I would. I booked a car rental with them for travel in New Zealand, and pre-paid for my rental , but a few days before I was to leave, I lost my wallet, including my drivers license. I thought that the document that I received from my department of motor vehicles along with my passport would be sufficient to allow me to rent the car, but unfortunately, that was not the case and I could not rent the car. I contacted them inquiring about a refund, since I had pre-paid and they did not have to pay any money out to the actual car rental agency, and they agreed to a partial refund of about 75%, which is incredibly low, but I never received that money, and repeated emails to them received no response. It has now been over a month since I returned and requested a status of the refund, and have yet to receive any response; it is clear that there will be no response, and no refund."
Posted 1 month ago
"I booked with Holiday Autos for a car and additional child seat. I was quoted €25 for the car seat to be paid at the car rental desk. When I arrived at the car rental desk they told me that I had been misquoted and needed to pay an additional €60. They explained that this happens regularly with Holiday Autos. They said to let holiday autos know and they will refund the difference. When I contact Holiday Autos they didn't want anything to do with me and said all prices quoted are subject to error and change therefore they would not be making any refund. I would advise to never use these guys."
Posted 1 month ago
"I booked in a rush with holiday autos as I had to return to see my terminally ill father. The booking was practically a repeat of the the car hire I had done 6 month previously (via flizzr and sixt) so I didn't worry too much about the small print. Since my last booking they had changed minimum time you have to hold a license from 2 to 4 year this making me ineligible. This was not highlighted in any way. When I arrived to pick up my car I booked another via Holiday Autos, assuming they would give me a refund or voucher for my original booking due to the very understandable error. Despite contacting two people at their customer service (and providing full documentation) they just kept all the money."
Posted 1 month ago
"They are a scam! We made a booking at rentscape thru Holiday auto and they made sure that the start to our trip was a disaster. Upon arriving at Rentscape at Rennes the guy there told us there is no booking in our name for the year 2018 however there is a booking for December 2019.are you kidding me Holiday autos? Just 3 days prior to our departure holiday autos confirmed our booking and even sent a confirmation. We had our nights stay booked about 100 km from Rennes, however we could reach it! Thanks to these scammers. We had to book another hotel and replan our trip! A good company would assist in refund and be apologetic how ever these scammers say that we arrived late for our pickup and hence can't refund the money. Please make sure you do a thorough research before booking with them. #SCAMALERT #HOLIDAYAUTOS"
Posted 1 month ago
"I booked a car through Holiday Autos and my credit card was charged. When I attempted to pick up the car, the rental agency refused to accept the voucher. Holiday Autos has insisted that it is my fault and that I am not entitled to any refund. I believe the company is a scam."
Posted 1 month ago
"I rented a car in Brazil through Holiday Autos. Due to exceptionally heavy traffic on the way to Belo Horizonte airport we arrived too late. The lovely local company stated that they would not charge us and that Holiday Autos would refund us. However, Holiday Autos are refusing to refund us stating that 'we will not be able to offer you a refund of the unused rental on this occasion. Please be advised that as per the agreed terms and conditions, we are unable to offer a refund in case you do not collect your vehicle at the desk: If you make a booking but do not collect the vehicle, no funds paid will be reimbursed. Be aware of this blatant scam. Holiday Autos retain the money reimbursed by the hire car companies!!"
Posted 1 month ago
"Just trying to warn people OFF using holiday autos. I used them to book a hire car through Sixt in Portugal last year. Basically there were hidden costs when I picked up the car despite clearly stating a completely different final payment fee on booking confirmation. They attempted to justify this as being optional extras at time of rental. Despite proving the only optional extras I took were paid for seperately by sending them further corresponance, they have decided to ignore my dispute and to this date have received no official reply to acknowledge the proof I sent them. So in other words they've had my money and couldn't care less. All I asked for is a bit of honesty and in turn peace of mind to enjoy a well earned holiday. But got nothing but deceipt, lies and stress."
Posted 2 months ago
"BUYER BEWARE – HOLIDAY AUTOS HIDES BEHIND SMALL PRINT TO AVOID CUSTOMER REFUNDS. I used HOLIDAY AUTOS to arrange a car hire for a week in Israel. I am a pensioner, getting a bit forgetful...and I double booked the hire. The duplicated booking was made approximately 2 months after the first booking. Same pick up date same departure date etc. When I arrived at Tel Aviv airport, the local car hire company advised me of the double booking, told me that they had cancelled the duplication and suggested that I get in touch with HOLIDAY AUTOS to process my refund. When I got back to the UK I contacted HOLIDAY AUTOS and gave them the details provided by the local company showing the car I had hired as well as the cancellation details. I asked them to refund the duplicated payment. I waited over 2 weeks for the following reply: “Thank you very much for your correspondence. I am sorry to learn that you were unable to use one of the reservations you have made through Holiday Autos. Unfortunately we will not be able to offer you a refund of the unused rental on this occasion. Please be advised that as per the agreed terms and conditions, we are unable to offer a refund in case you do not collect your vehicle at the desk: “If you make a booking but do not collect the vehicle, no funds paid will be reimbursed.” As both bookings were made online over 2 months part from each other, we would not count this a double/duplicate booking. I am sorry that we are unable to provide the solution you were hoping for on this occasion and I apologise for any inconvenience caused by this matter. Kindest Regards, Rebecca Holiday Autos Customer Care “ I have asked HOLIDAY AUTOS to reconsider their disingenuous position without success. I also asked if they could let me know if they made two payments to the local hirer, in which case I would get back in touch with them. HOLIDAY AUTOS have not provided such evidence. I can therefore only assume that HOLIDAY AUTOS have retained the duplicated payment, working on the basis that nobody is going to pursue a small repayment claim through the courts. SHAME ON THEM !!"
Posted 2 months ago
"I had hired an Economy Car for a few day trip with the family in the region of Bologna. This happened on the 25th October 2018 around 14:00 PM. I booked throught Holiday Autos and was meant to pick up the car with Sicily by car. After a long wait at the desk I was told that they could not provide me with a car since my name in the card did not show fully. Only my surname and initial was showing. This obviously should not matter firstly because as a holder of the car I only have the secret PIN. Secondly, the name was still showing correctly ( although not in full). Here comes the part where Holiday Autos is involved. I called them to let them know what happened and to get my money back as in the T&C's nowhere is stated that the name has to be written in its entire form. instead it says the "name of the leading driver". The call centre was unhelpful to say the least. I asked to speak to a Manager and they said no one was onsite. after a long bargaining and long wait they put me through to a Manager. She did not listen to my complaint and kept on reiteraiting that there was nothing she could do and I just had to accept it and lose the money. I pointed her to the T&C's and the fact that there was no mention that full name ( name and surname) had to appear on the card. The Manager got frustrated and hanged up on me. I promised myself that this is the last time I would use the company. Taking legal action for 80 pounds or so is not worth it. They know that and take advantage of the fact that most customers will not pursue it further. So my intent here is to inform as many people as possible that this company is a scam and have no customer service if things don't turn out as expected. Stir Away for your own sake!!"
Posted 2 months ago
"Dear Alessandro, many thanks for your email. I'm thrilled that you are willing to take the time to let me know that if i have an issue with the quality of the vehicle that I rented from YOUR website, that I should take it up with YOUR business partner. This absolutely makes no sense to me and I will reflect it on my next review of, the place to rent a car but don't expect any support. Your website is also a major part of the problem with it falsely advertising the supplier is based in the airport, should I take that up with the airport or perhaps your internet service provider since it seems isn't responsible for anything other than perhaps only it's commission???? Thankyou for your excellent customer support and service, it's really something to be proud of. Damien"
Posted 2 months ago
"The amount of negative reviews is crazy..maybe I got lucky? I booked through holiday autos because the rental rate would have been 3 times more if booked directly with Avis. I read the fine print thoroughly so I was prepared when I got to Avis in Dublin to pick up the car. I declined insurance coverage when booking online as my credit card covered the insurance. I had a printed confirmation of this from AMEX that i bought with me and was accepted by Avis. The process was very seamless, I had no problems with the car, and wasn't charged any hidden fees. I believe many of the negative reviews here are because people didn't do enough research before booking. Make sure you read all of their conditions and do your own due diligence. Regardless, I will be using Holiday Autos again for my next rental."
Posted 2 months ago
"I made a reservation on Holiday Autos for a recent trip to Tulum, Mexico. My friend and I had wanted to drive to Chichen Itza early in the morning to avoid crowds. I knew none of the car rental places would be open at 6:30am so I looked at picking up the car the night before. My Holiday Autos reservation clearly promised me an 8:00pm pick up the night before. When I tried to called the partner company (Mex Rent a Car) to double check the pick up time, I was told that the business was only open until 6:00pm. My friend and I were out for the day and wouldn't have made it back in time to pick up the car. I inquired about a refund and the partner agency said to contact Holiday Autos directly. When I did so, and filed a claim as they advised, they refused to give me a refund based on the terms and conditions, “If you make a booking but do not collect the vehicle, no funds paid will be reimbursed.” I was not able to pick up the car because the time I had reserved was in fact, not available, thought Holidays Autos said something took no responsibility in misleading its client."
Posted 2 months ago
Holiday Autos is rated 1.17 based on 141 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support