Holiday Autos Reviews

1.17 Rating 41 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Holiday Autos

Phone:
0871 472 5229

Location:
Victoria Gate
Chobham Road
Woking

Categories:
Travel
Car Hire

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Holiday Autos?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

41 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Gary Jones
Please DO NOT use this company for car hire!!!!! BA overbooked my two children’s and my flights and were put on the next flight to Turin which was 5 hours later. I had paid Holiday Auto’s in full but when I went to collect my car from Optimo Rent at Turin Airport they said my time limit had expired which in the small print is 2 hours after my booking so had to pay €150 each way to get to the resort, Optimo Rent had no other cars available???? I have tried to get Holiday Auto’s to return my money or even asked for a credit for another holiday and they are not willing to offer anything? Customer service, appalling!!!!

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Holiday Autos in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"Please DO NOT use this company for car hire!!!!! BA overbooked my two children’s and my flights and were put on the next flight to Turin which was 5 hours later. I had paid Holiday Auto’s in full but when I went to collect my car from Optimo Rent at Turin Airport they said my time limit had expired which in the small print is 2 hours after my booking so had to pay €150 each way to get to the resort, Optimo Rent had no other cars available???? I have tried to get Holiday Auto’s to return my money or even asked for a credit for another holiday and they are not willing to offer anything? Customer service, appalling!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Very bad experience with them!! I’ve booked car for a week in Australia and they forgot to say that they will take $4400 deposit on the car what is a joke I’ve been renting cars for more then 10 years and max deposit I’ve paid was $1000 but $4400 who can afford this is more ten my whole holiday not enough they haven’t give me refund as I wasn’t t able to pick the car up due the deposit they just scammers. There is no information about such high deposit until you receive booking confirmation. Highly no recommending to use this broker !!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Stay away!!! I had probably one of the worst customer service experiences with this company. I made a reservation for a car in Florida through their website from where I am studying abroad in Glasgow. I read everything and there were no clear indications that stated that I must have an international license or permit to be able to rent the car. I fly to Florida to find out that my California license is not appropriate to rent the car through Europcar, since Holiday Autos is a third party and does not have their own counter. Six minutes before the pick up time, I call Holiday Autos to explain my situation, and request to cancel my reservation. They put me on hold, and minutes after my pick up time, they pick up the line again to explain to me that I no longer am eligible to cancel my reservation because it's past my pick up time, EVEN THOUGH I had called well before the pick up time. You would think that 6 minutes would be long enough to cancel a reservation! I argue that it's not my responsibility that they took over 6 minutes to cancel the reservation and that I should have not to pay for the whole reservation, insurance AND deposit on the car, but they did nothing for me. I put in a complaint and request for refund with the customer service department, which they replied saying they cannot give me back any money because I did not have an international license/permit. They didn't even address the fact that I tried to cancel before the pick up time and they didn't do it in time so I lost out on $150 on top of the $60 cancellation fee I was already planning to pay. I called my credit card company to explain the situation and that it was fraud. The cc company tried hard to dispute it but said that I had to pay it since Holiday Autos showed enough evidence. Lesson learned, when a company has vague explanations, always call and have them explain things very clear since the wording is apparently clear enough to be evidence. It's a joke that I not only had to pay for the car lost, but the insurance and deposit of a car I never even saw, especially when I've called before the pick up time to cancel. I genuinely feel that they put me on hold just long enough so it was past the pick up time when they came back to the line to explain I had to pay in full enough of rightfully letting me just pay for the cancellation. Don't get scammed. Just go with a legit non-third party rental company. Paying that extra $30-40 to be taken care of and not worried about getting scammed is SO worth it."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Pessima esperienza, ho preso in affitto online un'autovettura da ritirare ad Ibiza. arrivato sul posto mi hanno precisato che non potevo portare l'autovettura a Formentera. Ho fatto presente che nel contratto stipulato era indicato di non poter portare l'autovettura fuori dalla Spagna e non tra due isole vicine ma mi hanno detto che se l'avessi fatto non avrei avuto copertura assicurativa. non vi dico le difficoltà per poter parlare con un call center che non accetta chiamate dall'estero. Non ho quindi ritirato l'autovettura per colpa loro e mi hanno comunque addebitato (Cartrawler) 50 euro come se avessi rinuniciato per mia colpa ed il noleggiatore Centauro Ibiza si è tenuto 25 euro per Fuel Charge in quanto dicevano di non poterlo restituire. Pessima esperienza. Lasciate ASSOLUTAMENTE perdere!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We had a reservation for New Zealand from 9th (Christchurch) to 26th (Auckland) of December, When we came to the office they told us that we have reservation just from 9th to 17th and not to Auckland but just to Picton, so just for south island and nobody ever asked us about the date we want to leave south island. Nobody told us that it's not possible to have one car for both islands so we already bought ferry ticket. Fortunatelly, the ferry company refund the money for car. And the price for car was totaly different than it was declared in reservation."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"After paying in full for a 'fiat 500 or similar' when arriving at the airport late ( approx 3 hr delay) the car had been sold to someobe else. As it was late we didnt have much option other than to get another car of hire value as there were none left in that bracket of 'small car's. Once getting to the lot to pick up new, bigger, more expensive car there were 5 fiat 500's around it. There was no rep in the lot to discuss this with so took our car and went. I had chosen a fiat as that is what I drive at home and it was to be my first to e driving 'on the wrong side as it were. Low and behold I got too close to a motorbike that's pizza box bit was sticking out and broke the wing mirror. Luckily only the glass was damaged. Looked at getting a new mirror from a garage costing €40 but it wouldnt arrive until after we had left so just took it back and was charged €100! When I asked why so many fiats were there i was told tbey were for other people the next day. I didnt leave a flight number which was obviously my fault but it was the only plane to land at the airport as it's small and we were late so it was obvious who h plane we were on. Seen as it had been paid in full it shouldn't have been a problem for it to have sat there all week. When I rang the only suggestion was to call the flight company who made us delayed. So many companies like this out there with no gusto.er servo e trying to rip you off. You've been warned. Do not use this company tho king you might save a few quid. They'll find a way to get it out of you."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Beware of, when you really need your car. We booked with them a car first time and had to book a replacement car with another company. I booked a car online at holidayautos.com to pick up for a car rental station in Berlin / Germany. Unfortunately, our Easyjet flight from Manchester had 1.45 hrs delay and landed in Berlin after midnight. The car rental station closed at 11.30pm. We contacted by phone the car rental company in before from Manchester, as soon as we noticed that the flight may be delayed. We told them about the problem, and provided our flight number. They advised us on the phone, that we can pickup the car the next morning, and that they will send a fax to the car rental station, to let them know. We had to book a hotel for the night, to be able to do this so. Next morning I called the car rental station at the airport to inform them, that we will come over to pickup the car, but they just informed us, that the car is gone, as they just keep it for an hour, which was before midnight the day before, and that they don't have any other car available, nor will refund the money. Holidayautos.com, where we booked the car online, is not willing to refund the money, even there was no clear notice, that the car can only be picked up within just one hour after the reservation, which they told us at the car rental station first about. They don't care that we got promised from the car rental company to be able to pickup the car the next day, nor react to the fact, that they have not clearly informed us about a one hour window. Altogether... when you really need a car... and you can't control your flight, book better with another company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Your company is a scam and does not refund customer even when the customer did not pick up a car. The car was booked for 10 days and no refund was given and also they refuse to speak to you or allow you speak to the manager. AVOID!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"They allowed me to book a car for collection at 6pm when the local car company shut it's doors at 5:30pm. We had to hire a car from Europcar at quite some expense or be stranded at the airport. Same as the others here they've refused a refund. Total scammers."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Long story but it took us 2 hrs to get our car from the rental desk in Sicily. The rental company Maggiore did not have the car we booked i.e an estate car and therefore charged us for an upgrade saying we could claim back from Holiday Auto's. They spent over 4o mins trying to sell us the additional insurance which we refused as we had already bought insurance. On the paperwork they put the upgrade down as Insurance - clearly to get commission and this was not in english so we had to take his word for it. When we got home I tried to claim back the upgrade and Holiday Auto's refused as this was documented as an upgrade - no help whatsoever as to how I could escalate the complaint with themselves or Maggiore. They have basically washed their hands of it !! If they are recommending rental companies they need to ensure that these companies are not defrauding their customers, Disgraceful customer service - would never use them again. !!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Raymond Glendenning
Verified Reviewer
"Cheated. My quotation clearly stated No LOCATION FEES but upon checking my card statement I found I had been charged $270 AU . after a number of e mails I finally got the brush off. Never trust this company, go directly to the car suppliers themselves."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Awful. Expect a doubling of the booking fee by the end of your trip. Its been 3 weeks and i have sent4 emails and have had no satisfying explanation for all the hidden charges. The all inclusive fee quoted by holidaybautos is certainly not all inclusive!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
David Smith
"car was good, clean and everything went smoothly, thank you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Stewart From Cheshire
Verified Reviewer
"I had to cancel the car hire as a result of Monarch collapse. I cancelled within their 7 day window from making the booking and they still took a hefty 'admin fee' - approx half of what I was due. On their FAQ's it clearly says full refund up to 24 hours prior to collection. I pointed this out too - and still nothing. This firm are not to be trusted. I have asked on three occasions if they have a regulatory body and for their CEO/MD. I have not received a reply to either question. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS FIRM."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"We booked a car at (what we thought was ) Europcar through Holiday Autos at LGA in New York. We showed up one day late because there was a mistake in the booking. Yes, there is a no-show policy but we called as soon as we noticed the mistake. Holiday Autos said they tried to reach the Europcar desk at LGA but no one picked up so we should book a new car even though they hadn't even spoken to Europcar (though we'd paid over 200€ for 6 days). We called LGA about 100 times, no one picked up. We rode out to LGA, but Europcar was no where to be seen at the booth, it's run by their partner Advantage, who claim they can't access Europcar customer's reservations and that we needed to call Europcar. We called Europcar, who said they can't access our reservations so we have to call Holiday Autos. At this point, it was late afternoon in the US and apparently the Dublin call center was closed, so we were rerouted to a call center somewhere in the world (NOT Dublin, where Holiday Autos is located) and the call center agent said we had to call Dublin the next day when they were back. All he could do was book us a new car. We called Dublin again the next day and got the SAME exact verbatim script as in the two calls before - we can't reach Europcar, unfortunately there is nothing you can do except make a new rental. THIS ISN'T EASYJET - there isn't just one car sitting in the lot each day! We paid almost 300$ for 6 days and were treated like garbage ontop of not being able to make arrangements for a car for at least part of that time. This was a dehumanizing experience, we will NEVER, EVER deal with Holiday Auto or Europcar again and will make sure to inform friends and family not to bother. This is not how reputable companies treat their customers. We are humans, some of which work very hard for 300$, not walking ATMS!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Untrustworthy. They do business with agencies that rip you off and make it your problem. Their conditions are not to be trusted."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Spoke to two very rude people in the complaints department. Called 5minutes after my rental started because the people at the desk were slow and they refused the refund. Unstanderstand it's in the T and C's but from a real world perspective it's not a very reasonable thing to do - charging someone £100 because they were 5mins late."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Kept money when they could have changed the hire by a day or two instead of losing a whole month’s hire. Legal robbery!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"PLEASE DO NOT USE Firstly it took an hour to queue in the airport then the lady serving was the rudest I have come across, their terms and conditions are not clear and it does not state unless you trawl through the pages of terms that they do not accept Amex, the lady agreed to a refund and said she would and didn't, so after many emails with customer service ( they do not answer the phones) they have refused any refund. We had no choice than to pay an additional £450 to hire another car from a more reputable car hire company. DO NOT USE"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Compete rip off .We were delayed by a later flight diversion so were outside our two hour collection slot . Despite phoning to warn them ( phone not answered ) our paid for car was allocated to someone else. Holiday autos failed to refund our money and we had to spend extra money on a short notice rental through someone else .. They made money through renting the car twice in a situation outside our control"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Holiday Autos is rated 1.17 based on 41 reviews