Hive Insurance Services Reviews

4.32 Rating 237 Reviews
84 %
of reviewers recommend Hive Insurance Services
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Hive Insurance Services Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 028 0849

Email:

enquiries@hiveinsure.co.uk

Location:

The Hive, Almondsbury Business Centre, Bradley Stoke

Write Your review

Tell us how Hive Insurance Services made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I took out the policy after reading good reviews about April and what they told me and sold me seemed to be what I wanted. Absolutely disgusted with what I was told when I claimed. Symptoms more than 2 year old so we cannot pay out for time of work or for my hospitalisation. Quick to sell quick to take your premiums but dont bother claimiming as you wont get anything. Very disgruntled customer Paul Chapman.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Paul, we are so sorry to hear that the plan did not perform as your broker may have discussed. Please contact us directly if you wish to discuss this further. Kind regards, Lynsey Garland 01454 857 908
Posted 4 years ago
Not impressed with April UK at all. Having had a few claims, not one has been accepted and paid in full since I am told each time, the consultant fees are not considered to be reasonable and customary. Latest claim is for a consultant charge of just 800 which my own research shows is most certainty "reasonable and customary" and yet April UK will only cover up to £303 ...... just 38% of the actual cost. They have added 10% as a "goodwill" but still only 42% cover. I can find no consultant at all charging anywhere near just £303 for the identical procedure as defined by the recognised code. The cheapest found is £700 but usually the costs are upwards of £1000 and often nearly £1200 Disgraceful treatment from April UK. I may as well have self insured. I did not envisage paying vast premiums simply for a mere contribution to my consultant costs. April UK are not health insurers at all and will certainly be no loss to me!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Mr Saunders, thank you for taking the time to send to us your review. Following your email to me yesterday and my reply to you today, I will be back in touch with you as promised as soon as I can. Many thanks, Lynsey Garland, Customer Service Manager.
Posted 2 years ago
Gave me some money back without me knowing I was due any first class honesty
Posted 3 years ago
My premium increased by 44% this year. I had not made any claim. When pressed, April UK stood resolutely behind their increase and attempted to explain it through two reasons (one being insurance premium tax) that proved to have proved to be misleading. In the end, April reduced the increase to 22%, stating that they had made an 'arithmetic error'. It took the personal intervention of the Chairman of Spire Hospitals for them to do this. I STRONGLY URGE CUSTOMERS TO AVOID THIS COMPANY. In my opinion April UK entirely lack integrity and it is astounding to me that 'arithmetic errors' of this nature can be made (and then resolutely defended even at senior levels).
Posted 3 years ago
I cannot understand how a company like April UK, can treat customers in this manner send a email to the Brokers on Wednesday 26th June and sent out letters to arrive on Saturday morning 29th June, this is totally unfair and uncaring - especially at this time of year:- example holiday season. (This is not the way that we should be treated, increase premiums and reduce cover !!!!) without any real warning!!!! This is not the first time they have acted in this manner example Private Medical Insurance Annoying and no evidence to treating customers fairly.
Posted 1 year ago
I am extremely disappointed with April UK. So hard to get reimbursed, they always have a reason not to reimburse you (or at least they won't reimburse most part of the bill). I paid my lesson by paying them almost 2000 euros per year! Flee from this terrible company!
Posted 2 years ago
Good morning Jane, thank you for taking the time to get in contact with us. Are you please able to contact me on my direct line so that we can discuss this? If so my number is 01454 857908, Lynsey Garland, Customer Services Manager. Many thanks.
Posted 2 years ago
This company raised my premium almost 200% after having taken the policy out one year earlier and despite reassurance that the maximum premiums would go up was by medical inflation or in the region of about 5-10%.
Posted 3 years ago
They don't reply to emails in time and have left me hanging around for 8 weeks during which time I've had to cancel two appointments and have still not been seen. Really disappointed I read good reviews about them, it just hasn't been my experience.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, so sorry to hear about your bad experience. If you would like to discuss this issue further, please contact me directly on 01454 857908. Kind regards, Lynsey Garland, Customer Service Manager.
Posted 4 years ago
STAY FAR AWAY! April UK are daylight robbers. I’ve had critical illness and accident insurance with them for years paying £45 per month. The other day I noticed on my DD that they had increased this to £70 per month. When I contacted them they said they had sent me an letter a few months back. I do have my mail forwards from my old address to my new one but never revived one. No email was received either. When I contacted them I’ve asked them if it was not standard procedure to consult the client before such a massive increase and answers was no. I asked them to cancel policy immediately if they could not give me the original price I agreed on. I also asked for a refund for the sum the increased sum over the last months since. Again answers was no. All other insurance companies I have insurance with will email this correspondence as a way to know email has been opened and received but not this scum company. I guess from their stealing position, if they notified everyone and made sure their intention of increasing a policy from £45 til £70 was known- no one would pay another £ £25 for the same product! Thief’s
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Miss Gilleberg, Thank you for your review. Further to your conversation with my colleague yesterday it had come to light that we held an old address and an old email address for you on record, therefore the two letters that we had sent to you providing two months notice of the plan changes unfortunately did not reach you. We have copies of these letters on file, I would be happy to send these to you for your records. The insurer has seen a significant increase in claims and administration costs since taking over the product portfolio last year which has unfortunately lead to the premium increase. Despite this, and the changes that the Insurer has made to the policy, Lifestyle Protector plans continue to be one of the most sought-after and popular protection products on the market today, given what they do, namely to provide an income if you become ill or injured and can't work. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me on my direct line which is 01454 857908. Many thanks, Lynsey Garland, Customer Services Manager.
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a customer of April for around 4 years but no more! I am disgusted with a recent letter stating that my premiums will increase from August by over £30.00 taking my monthly premiums close to £90.00 a month. What a RIP OFF! They have also made a few changes to my policy that state that my monthly benefit cannot exceed 60% of my gross earnings. In other words, I will be paying excessive monthly premiums from August but I will receive a significantly smaller payout if I were to be made redundant. WHAT A CON!!!! This means that I would be receiving just over £500 less in benefit, yet I will be paying more every month! This is a con and I strongly advise that no one uses this company. They are ripping people off. They are better alternatives out there and I strongly suggest you look around. I was surprised what I found on money supermarket. please stay away form April. They are CONS! I can't stress this enough.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. The insurer has seen a significant increase in claims and administration costs since taking over the product portfolio last year which has unfortunately lead to the premium increase. Despite this, and the changes that the Insurer has made to the policy, Lifestyle Protector plans continue to be one of the most sought-after and popular protection products on the market today, given what they do, namely to provide an income if you become ill or injured and can't work. Naturally we would always encourage you to seek advice in order to make sure that your needs continue to be catered for. Please can you contact me on my direct line so that we can discuss this and so that I can help? My number is 01454 857908. Many thanks, Lynsey Garland, Customer Services Manager.
Posted 1 year ago
Was informed a couple of months ago that April UK will no longer be offering health cover. I have had the policy for 3 years and currently have existing ongoing cases. Switching over to AXA is not affordable as the rates jumps by 300%. I would have chosen a different provider 3 years ago (such as BUPA) if there was any hints that April UK was only a short term solution. Not happy.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear sir/madam, thank you for your comments. As explained in your letter, the situation is unfortunately beyond our control. Nevertheless, we will be more than happy to raise your complaint directly with the Insurer. Please contact our Customer Services team on 0800 028 0849 so that we can take your details, and we will then be able to support you in the matter.
Posted 2 years ago
I've been trying to get approval for coverage for about 4 weeks now. The incompetence of this company is staggering. They don't seem to follow-up with my overworked GP to get confirmation, leaving that task to me. They don't respond to my emails. They take days to take any action. I don't know if they are under-staffed or if the company is just horrible. Never had such poor, glacial treatment from an insurance company before. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
Posted 2 years ago
Dear sir/madam, I’m sorry you feel our service has not been of a high standard. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service, so please can you email enquiries@april-uk.com or call me on 0800 028 0849 and I will review the issue immediately. Kind regards, Lynsey Garland, Customer Services Manager.
Posted 2 years ago
I've got insurance provide by my empolyer now and i had to cancel my existing one from April and only took me couple minutes by chatting to Ellie.
Posted 3 years ago
Been a loyal customer for several years and never made a claim before now. Was sick in October and off work till 3/01/18 . The claim forms arrived promptly and I returned them with doctors section and accountants section completed at my expense, the forms asked for "your latest tax return " which for me was for year ending April 16 . My year ending April 17 is not due until at latest 31st Jan 2018 as per hmrc guidelines - like many self employed the month of Jan is when I my accounts are processed every year. Have now been told by insurance that "your latest tax return " is not good enough even though this is my most recent . I Have been left with no income right through Xmas and new year. I can't afford to return to accountants having already paid them for "you latest tax return " and various other requested pieces of information to have the other options of 3 months accounts leaning up to illness prepared seperately. I have been seriously ill and unable to speed up the process of my next tax return (don't think I am being treated fairly in expecting me to change the month in which I do my tax return whilst I'll and during my period of illness", my accountants were also very busy with the run up to the festive period .I had also supplied a further covering letter from chartered accountants stating that my next tax years turnover and profits would be similar to year ending April 2016 and bank statements for the period of illness, I feel very let down by this company. I have never missed a monthly instalment or made a claim with April . 😡 Happy new year -
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Derek, sorry to hear that you feel you have been let down. Can you please send us an email to enquiries@april-uk.com. I will then be able to review your query and help you. Kind Regards, Ellie
Posted 3 years ago
answered my query quickly and efficiently.
Posted 3 years ago
Awful customer service, each advisor tells you something different. Once you jump through all different hoops for them you might get a referral but then they wont cover the next consultation! Stick with Bupa
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Matt. We are sorry to hear the problems that you are experiencing when attempting to make a claim. We will contact you directly to see how we can assist you. Kind regards, Ellie.
Posted 3 years ago
The customer service and cover is good. The premiums are not too bad. What lets April down is the clunky claims procedure. But for that I would have awarded more stars. First of all it is contracted out, so one can assume that the motivation is to make claims as difficult as possible. The operatives don't have the incentive or enthusiasm to treat the claimant (on the phone) with any sympathy. It's just a matter of "The computer says..." This is reflected in the necessity to obtain a letter from the GP. Not a straightforward letter but one with precise details conforming to the particular requirements of April. Now it is an unfortunate fact that NHS GPs are under some pressure and getting this letter can take weeks. The purpose of private medical insurance is to obtain speedy and efficient treatment and this procedure severely hampers this. One wonders if a better more efficient system can't be introduced.
Posted 3 years ago
This is the second private health insurer I used and all they seemed to be concerned with is to find ways why you're not eligible for the claim. I switched to this provided as I had an extremely good experience with an Inspire hospital and April UK has a policy geared towards them. I had an accident (smashed toe) while under cover from April UK with their Inspire focused product. When I called them about the incident, all the staff was concerned about was "when did it happen - am I sure it was during the cover period and not before - and did I show any previous symptoms before the cover started?". I was asked these questions several times even though I've confirmed the date on multiple occasions. Having not received an answer to what "previous symptoms" of a smashed toe look like and, even though I could clearly see it smashed on the X-Ray, they insisted I need a GP referral. Separately, "having assessed my condition" they need further reports from my treating doctor before they can progress with my claim. I called bull on this and am waiting to see the result! To put this in perspective, I used another insurer (starts with B) for several year during which time I had two claims with them and never was I asked to wait 1-2 weeks to see a GP - fun fact, a fracture treated on the same day costs way less to treat than waiting weeks before you are seen, but only if your business model is geared towards treating and not to weasel out of claims. The level of cover with the other insurer was at least 30-50% less than with April UK/ Inspire and we may go back to them soon.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Adrian, sorry to hear about your toe and about your issue claiming. Unfortunately, we are unable to discuss individual cases publicly but if you wish to discuss this further, please contact me directly on 01454 857908. Kind regards, Lynsey Garland Customer Service Manager.
Posted 3 years ago
Took the spire cover 2 years ago, did not claim anything during the first 12 months, the rate was still competitive after the first renewal, took a number of claims on year 2 with constant struggle once you go pass the initial consultation, healix handles the claims and the process is extremely stressful specially when you have to go outside spire (when treatments are not available at Spire). Policy covers spire hospital fees but many shortfalls related to surgeons, consultants, local anaesthetic, etc. The authorisation process is too long as the senior nurses keep questioning the consultants recommendations. The fee also jumped by 40% this year and I am stuck with it as I am unable to switch to different provider due to existing case.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, we are so sorry to hear about your bad experience. If you would like to discuss this issue further, please contact me directly on 01454 857908. Kind regards, Lynsey Garland, Customer Service Manager.
Posted 4 years ago
Everything was going ok, had authorisation for consultant etc. Problems after this include - lack of call back\information from April UK. A day before surgery I had to call yet again chasing for another authorisation number for the operation - turned out they hadnt contacted the consultant to get procedure codes etc. I had to continually chase thoughout the day. Then April UK flatly refused cover using a typical "get out of paying" - using a symptom listed 7 years ago - but not linked to actual diagnosis! I am moving all my company insurance policies away from April UK after this experience! Will never use them again! And April - please dont reply "please contact us to discuss" because if you really wanted to correct this - you would have better customer service to prevent such things happening in the first place! April UK have treated me disgustingly and they should be ashamed of their money grabbing ways!!
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, we are so sorry to hear about your bad experience. We would like to discuss this issue further, please contact me directly on 01454 857908. Kind regards, Lynsey Garland, Customer Service Manager.
Posted 4 years ago
Hive Insurance Services is rated 4.32 based on 237 reviews