The Co-operative Insurance Reviews

3.58 Rating 535 Reviews
65 %
of reviewers recommend The Co-operative Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week

Write Your review

Tell us how The Co-operative Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Rubbish - had an accident on Friday, you can’t contact them until Monday! No good if you have a job and need a courtesy car!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I write this on 30.1.20, had my car stolen 18.12.19, I’m still being messed about with inane questioning regarding the theft which was reported immediately to police, car found miles away in Doncaster. I’ve had no vehicle all this time!! Do not use COOP Insurance, u will regret it if you have to make a claim. They’re only interested in taking your money. Customer care is atrocious.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
A person drove into my car ..she is with the co op.. that's where my nightmare started and their 3 party partner Sedgwick. Between them it's hard work my car needs too new doors they said we replace one door and repair the other .. How can that be want to use filler on the door it had filler in before.. If I could of rated them o I would have..Do not use co.op group of company's for anything they don't care for anything other than money.. customer service nil.. Martin
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I had hit a bollard on my rear right wheel arch, this caused my side air bags to deploy on that side. The car failed to start as a result and blocked part of a road. Co Op were unable to get someone to rescue me and I ended up using my own time and money to recover the car to my workplace. Nearly a week later Co Op are still dealing with the claim and no one has yet seen the car yet. Really hopeless customer service so far, which has taken 4 phone calls over 3 days, my car was left in a dangerous spot for over 12 hours causing a hazard to traffic. I cannot wish my worst enemy to experience the appaling customer service and response time from Co Op.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Co-op & there Many sub contractors cancelled our Premier Inn room and sent our family of 3 BACK to our Biohazard of a home when mh 9 year old son has Asthma & was having a tooth extracted the next day!! No 'like for like' couple of rooms fir a family to survive in, NO a small family room, which they then telephoned us at 10:26an yesterday and told us to categorically 'leave the Premier Inn' and go BACK to our home where we are forbidden from using the toilets And told NOT to use the running water!! Avoid this company and ALL their subcontractors like the plague!! Have had monstrous treatment ftom them, no empathy whatsoever, will take this to The Financial Ombudsman their 'remedial work' if its not done to THE highest standards, so should you. Be warned.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
If I there was an option for 0 star that's what I would give Co-op car insurance. The best advise I would give you is to stay away no stress trying to sort out problems making phone calls to them. They do not care just want your money . I received a call from them yesterday threating to sell my private reg after my car was writen off now is that rigth. I reg belongs to me the engeer who call was so rude and very upsetting for me after 1 year they have not assisted me to obtain my private reg back. DO NOT TAKE OUT CAR INSURANCE WITH THEM .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They tell you lie after lie been messed about in the last 3 weeks told lies they even told AA insurance lies and they had it recorded so I have proof of this don’t buy car insurance from them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Appalling service Appalling service, avoid like the plague. Paid and found should of started the insurance a day earlier. Customer services couldn't change the very simple request. No manager available either. Ended-up having to cancel, they couldn't even send me an email to confirm cancel of insurance either. Think I'll stick with AXA
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Been with co op for 2 years now. Receive a renewal to say that as from 12th they cannot offer me monthly instalments and I would have to pay the full price. Absolute joke never claimed, always paid and now have to find the money to put on a down payment for a new insurance. Joke of a company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My experience with co -insurance company still has not been resloved 1 year later .My car was but my private plate . I still can't understand so I am still trying to obtain my private plate. From DVLA. No one from your company has offered any support. I was told that the company was not responsible and i would have to sort it out myself. This has been disappointing and stressful experience for me and I would use your company again for this reason. Chicketa thomas
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Take your money but do not help with anything. 1 day into policy car drove into the side of me parked up I wasn’t even in car coop wouldn’t do anything about it unless I pay access. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. They say your NCD is not valid and ask you to keep chasing it. You make a compliant they say it is what it is
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If only there was a ZERO. I have a claim- they query everything, try to say its 2 claims and 2 excess payments. The approved body shop driver turns up and starts analysing your claim and what may not be covered, if I went to brain surgeon I would not expect advise by the car park attendant. They are con artists and shameful. Tbc
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I would give them a minus review if possible, easy to take your money but when it comes to helping you they can not be bothered and love blaming third parties! Stay clear of them!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
INSURANCE FRAUD. WHY IS IT THE CO OP DON,T WANT TO LISTEN.I HAVE REPORTED CAR INSURANSE FRAUD .I HAVE THE EVIDENCE OF PAPERWORK,SOLICITORS LETTERS.JUST BECAUSE IT HAS PASSED THE BAR CODE.PLEASE CAN YOU HELP ME.THIS CLAIM RUNS INTO TENS OF THOUSANDS.WHY? IS NO ONE LISTENING.WHAT ELSE DO YOU NEED TO BRING THIS CASE TO JUSTICE. PLEASE HELP.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I agree with another reviewer Sedgewicks are only out to reduce the amount of money paid out on claims and do not give true cost for putting damage right. After a year we managed to get another 1K added on but total still fell far short of actual cost of work. I have only given 1 star as 0 star option not available. I made a complaint but it was not upheld by the Co op, they would not pay for water damaged vanity unit, said they would only pay if it fell apart when removed. A year later this was included in the extra payment after they asked for photos. Why weren't photos taken by their original surveyor? Absolute rubbish service.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
If I could give 0 I would. My car due to no fault of my own was ran off the road by another driver, I am 19 years old so I’m under their “young driver policy”. I have never been treated so badly by anyone before, they haven’t been it touch with me once over what is going to happen, my car was wrote off, I’m paying insurance for a car which now doesn’t even exist and everyone I speak to keeps passing me onto someone else! Every time I ask to speak to my case worker I’m told she isn’t there which now I don’t even believe she’s actually a person! When I told a lady from the legal service I wasn’t really happy about how slow everything is going she had a go at me and said it’s not their problem they’ve passed the case to someone else who isn’t anything to do with the co op! And no one had even informed me! DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Would of been zero my partner tried to change his vehicle to a new one to only be told that they can no longer insure him and hes lost his Ncb because someone drove into the back of him last December and the claim was settled between the insurers without them even informing him and their trying to say he caused £8900 worth of damage but his insurance never went up and Visa was also called out to the incident and was more then happy for him to drive away as it was nothing on his part their now saying it's been disputed but could take 2-3months but in the mean time he wont get insured on any vehicle what so ever knowing he has to travel to and from work theyv screwed him over in the worst way possible their the shittest company ever
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Terrible company! Was a customer for nearly ten years, someone drove into the back of me and they couldn't have been less helpful. Cancelled my appointment to see their Dr with no explanation, when I did get to see someone it was 6 months after the accident. The "Dr" they sent to me is probably the worst Dr in the UK, obviously didn't know what my disease was or how it could be affected by an accident. Complete lack of communication from the company, never answered quiries, dropped my claim because I failed to respond to one of their arbitrarily short deadlines to respond to them - would be nice if that timeframe worked both ways. Awful, awful company - shouldn't be allowed to sell insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely awful insurance company. I had a completely no-fault claim when my car was damaged in a car park, by another person who was also insured with co-op. This claim is still ongoing. Absolutely pitiful lack of communication, tried to push an Auxillis credit-hire car onto me which could end up costing a small fortune, and delays with approving repairs has meant I've been left carless with 4 children. The Auxillis car was at first offered to be delivered immediately, and I was signing for a £400 PER DAY cost, on a year's credit agreement. There is no wear and tear policy for these cars - you are only insured third party, and must agree to pay THEIR costs for any stone chips, windscreen repairs, punctures etc. When I refused this I was offered a direct hire, where the insurance company would take responsibility for the hire cost (bizarrely reduced to £40 per day as a direct hire) but I still had to take personal responsibility for any major or minor damage. Not being prepared to put myself at risk of incurring repairs which may be beyond my control, I went back to the Co-op to refuse the credit hire. They told me this was my only choice. On pressing them, they told me that I could hire a car and they *may* be able to refund it. Who knows how long that process would take? I'll be pushing this to the ombudsman. I specifically asked for calls to inform me of the progress of my claim. Every time, I had to call myself, despite explaining that I needed time to make arrangements. They kept telling me I should be liasing with the garage that had my car - the car still sitting on my driveway. These credit hire companies are the reason premiums are so high - ethical company? I don't think so. AVOID.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do not get Co-Op insurance, they are terrible. I have a 2012 Camry that was in excellent shape. It was backed into in a Walgreens parking lot and the rear bumper and light were broken/dented. The estimate to fix was $1081, their adjuster said it was not worth more than $780. They (Co-op) were not even paying the insurance, the other driver's insurance was. But MY insurance company said that my 2012 was not worth getting a new bumper, I had to get a used one. DO NOT GET CO-OP INSURANCE. They like your money coming in, but don't want to work to keep it. Word to the wise!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
The Co-operative Insurance is rated 3.58 based on 535 reviews