The Co-operative Insurance Reviews

3.59 Rating 524 Reviews
66 %
of reviewers recommend The Co-operative Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week

Write Your review

Tell us how The Co-operative Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
An absolute disgrace! I've had my car insurance policy with them for 9 years. Each year they increase my policy and then I have to speak to their retention team. I received my last renewal from Co-operative surprise, surprise it's gone up again, Double the price of other highly repritable insurers. I have now been advised they no longer have a retention team but a loyalty team of a few members of staff who also deal with quotes and service. I was spoken to in a poor manner and tone and sent from one department to another. The Executive Customer Service team member I was in contact with didn't seem to care less if I stayed with them or not and I was able to get a cover £198 cheaper than Co-operative was offering me and I received Protected No Claims, A U.K. Breakdown service including getting me home and a Guarenteed courtesy car, none of which Co-op included in their quote! My complaint is now being investigated by the ombudsman Service. Loyalty means nothing to Co-operative insurance!
5 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Appalling service after RTA. Misinformation given on telephone. Have not even bothered getting back to me with a price for my vehicle, put the car on the back of a tow truck which I had to climb up on to retrieve my possessions. I am quite astonished at their attitude and incompetence having dealt with other companies who treat their customers with respect. AVOID.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
To anyone who has or is considering a Co-operative building insurance policy, be warned ... I’ve had building insurance (no contents) with the Co-operative for 29 years. I made two small claims - both totalled much less than my total annual payments. I haven’t made a claim for 16 years (£2362.80 total in premiums paid over the last 16 years.) I received my annual renewal notice to cover next 12 months from April 01 2016 - new premium, total payable £233.00 - this includes a "No Claim Discount of 10% and a 5% Renewal Discount." I decided the ongoing annual upgrading charge for my insurance to be too much. I applied via the Co-operative website for an insurance quote and entered my personal and building details exactly as those for which I am being charged £233.00. The insurance quote I received from Co-op was a single annual payment of £169.18 (this figure included contents which I do not currently have.) Also, the £169.18 quote covered "£200,000 sum insured" as against present "£119,000 sum insured" for which I am being charged £233.00 - £63.82 less for a higher level of cover! It would appear those of us who are long-standing Co-op insurance customers are being overpriced for our insurance cover to enable Co-op to enlist new customers at much cheaper premiums. In passing, I contacted Co-op insurance with my above overcharging - the reply I received ignored my questions and merely stated my high premium to be mainly due to my postcode and "the risk of a catastrophic event such as flooding." My postcode is as that which Co-op has been quoting on since taking out insurance with them and flooding as I have previously informed them is impossible to my area. Also in passing, I find contact with Co-op to be extremely hard - no email connection, they don’t supply a contact reply address on their letters. Co-op main route of contact would appear to be via telephone (call charges apply) - not suitable for myself, as opposed to Co-op, I have no record of conversation. So beware, Co-operative’s continual adding cost to premiums with their pretence of "No Claim Discount of 10% and a 5% Renewal Discount" is merely an obscene lure to con their loyal customers into funding their new customers.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
appalling service ... NOT HAPPY... Will not use this insurance company again.
3 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Worst experience ever, customer service is completely useless. I had to phone a lot of times and the customer service was just horrible, communicating with them was just impossible, they doubled my policy because of a mistake in the paperwork and they never corrected it to the point that I had to cancel my policy and request my bank to send my money back as they were taking double the money that they should. It cost me a lot of months of stress and frustration, I will never get any service from them and I don't recommend it at all.
3 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
I agree with another reviewer Sedgewicks are only out to reduce the amount of money paid out on claims and do not give true cost for putting damage right. After a year we managed to get another 1K added on but total still fell far short of actual cost of work. I have only given 1 star as 0 star option not available. I made a complaint but it was not upheld by the Co op, they would not pay for water damaged vanity unit, said they would only pay if it fell apart when removed. A year later this was included in the extra payment after they asked for photos. Why weren't photos taken by their original surveyor? Absolute rubbish service.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Rubbish. Tradesman they sent gave no notice , assessor they sent didn't know cause of leak but was sure they weren't liable . Amateurs.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Everything! My elderly mum and dad have had a bad flood from their tank in the loft and still 6 months later we are having to argue about beach towels etc that were ruined and provide constant extensive lists via email. Noone calls you back. They use companies such as Sedgwicks, Cunningham Lindsey and Roy woods which all have been appalling. Even a lasy called Sally from Sedwicks laughed at me on the phone when i was trying to discuss contents. They are still waiting for the contents settlement! It’s outrageous. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR HOME INSURANCE.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If I could give them minus stars I would. DON’T INSURE WITH THEM!! They are appalling and the customer service is very poor! They’ll take your money ( no problem) but when it comes to paying out they take 3 months to email you and refuse to pay out. My late mum and poorly dad bought me a camera a little over a year ago for my birthday and as a thankyou for helping them through a difficult time. Whilst on holiday I dropped the camera from our balcony and it smashed into pieces. We were 5 floors up so you can imagine the damage.BUT these insurers wanted pictures of the camera ( I sent a few) that I’d managed to catch with my phone. That took them 6 weeks to request. Then they wanted all the smashed pieces to validate my claim. Erm I was not allowed to bring sharp objects in my suitcase from Tenerife airport and they know this. YET emailed me after another 3 weeks to say they weren’t paying out. I’m now awaiting another email as I’ve escalated my complaint. I’ll let you know what the outcome is... I recommend you think hard about using this company.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
coop forced me tocancel my insurance they dicriminate me .after i swap my full Eu licence to full Uk they triple my premium and asume i just recieved my licence. i past my exam in 2009.discrimination all the way .i would not advise any foreign driver to choose coop insurance.thay scrap my 9 years of driving just like that.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible Service - I worry for Elderly or Vulnerable Policyholders. It has been over 5 months of terrible communication, no service and lack of action on my home insurance claim which has now led me to complain directly to the FOS & FCA. I have had my kitchen out of use for the best part of 4 months and have been offered a pathetic and insulting amount of compensation. I work in the insurance industry and I will be passing on full details of the service to all of my colleagues, peers and clients and would never consider this company as an option moving forward. I am disgusted in the way they work and I would worry if any of your elderly relatives had policies with them.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had storm damage to roof water pouring in bedroom ceiling down carpet and decor ruined the claim was refused put down to wear and tear even though the roof was only two years old terrible customer service by pompous arrogant staff would never insure with them again taking my case to the financial ombudsman avoid this company
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We had a water leak in the bath room, which led to water coming through the kitchen ceiling, I repaired the ceiling, but after a few months the floor boards in the kitchen started to warp. We Put in a claim to our co op house insurance. An insurance assessor came to our house and led us to believe it was a straight forward claim (he may of done this to get tea and biscuits). Then the co op insurance rang us to say there was not enough evidence of a water leak and they would not pay out. So the moral of the story is: Do not be honest with the co op, or better still, don't waste your money on co op insurance. 7 October 2017 John mccullagh
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Here goes... The Co-op cancelled our car insurance at midnight on 24.05.17 for failure to send evidence of NCD, but in a letter dated March 2017 told us that our NCD was protected and we didn't need to do anything else. Husband was driving the car and was stopped by the police as the insurance had been cancelled, but we had not been notified of this decision, car was impounded for 6 days and he was told he will be given £200 fine and six points. Called the Co-op and they faffed on about us not making a payment, which we had no idea about and they wouldn't tell us about and refused to reinstate the insurance as it needed to be investigated. We sent in proof of NCD but they provided us with two incorrect email addresses. They failed to call us back when they said they would, and when we called to see if they had received our proof of NCD they said no, because again it was an incorrect email address they gave to us. Email was finally sent and after a very long chat with a lovely lady called Phoebe it transpired that there was a letter on their system requesting proof of NCD or a payment of £395.23 which was never sent out to us! They cancelled our policy over something they had never informed us over so we were unable to act on it and rectify any errors on our part. Cut a long story short, insurance was reinstated and they admitted it was an error on their part, dealt with by a lovely chap called Mr John Mercer and then it went to their customer relations department. Today we recieved a call from a rather snotty chap by the name of Andy, who implied that all of this was our fault, and it ended with me asking for his full name and job title and telling him I am going to the financial ombudsman over the matter. I will also be making a complaint about his attitude. They claimed to have records of certain letters in our file on their system that we have never received and we have letters from them that they do not have on their records! Classic case of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing, and trying to cover their own mistakes by blaming the customer when we had been told that everything was fine and we didn't need to do anything. Customer relations department need to work on training their staff to work WITH the customer to find an agreeable solution, not blame them for what has been proven to be a ridiculously huge error on the Co-op's part. Other departments need to work out how to put records of ALL correspondence with customers in one place, and make sure it actually gets sent out to them! Rant over...(and we have our car back after two trips to the impound as the insurance certificate we were issued with was for 14days only but governemt website says it must be a minimum of 30 days- would have thought a car insurance company would have known this!)
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolute rubbish They do not return calls , keep you waiting 15 minutes at a time then cut you off We have been messed about by these amateurs since the 15/10/2016 We have had to seek legal advice to take these to court THIS IS A NON FAULT CLAIM On a brighter note it could have been a funeral plan ( They would have probably left us on top to Rot ) I only left a 1 because their are no minus options
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Read the smallprint first before you get a policy with co-op. Not like the old family orientated co-op used to be.
2 Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Do not use for home insurance... We had a new boiler filled, in a freak storm water came in through the flu and flooded the boiler and our house. The loss adjuster claimed poor workman ship and argued about paying out. We had poto's and footage of the flood in action. He was not intrested. 3 months later we are still out of pocket. Our floor has been damaged from the flood water as had the ceiling. Luckily while we were still decorating from the boiler being fitted. The plumber came out. Our own and showed us the gas valve full of water. The fan had burnt out as had the circuit board. Not economical to repair, due to the extensive water damage. Loss adjuster just took damp readings saying this is historical damp. Not flood damage.. seriously we have a brand new boiler why would be making a claim for the damage to the house and boiler. The helpline only open Mon - Fri 9-5 no communication. I had to chase and chase for updates. Appalling service. Feel completely let down had to use own savings to get hot water and heating back up and running. Our plumber even spoke to the Co op to explain the damage caused. Don't waste your money on this company for insurance. Everything is toouch trouble very disappointed in the lack of customer service from the cooperative. Formal complaint going to head office.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Do not use for car insurance!!!!!!! Can't stress enough do not use yes they are cheap that's it pay that bit more for a company that will help you if needed Again DO NOT USE Coop insurance lets the coop group down other coop services are good insurance NOOOO No phone calls / lied to/ really bad company happy to take your money Had a non fault claim my car was parked and was hit while I was not in it !!! I seem to ring every day to tell them things... All I seem to get was sorry for some reason the emails wasn't sent dragged it out for over a mth... Still my car is unfixed. Shocking company !!!!!
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Please do not use this insurance company ! On 18/06/16 I came home in the early hours of the morning to a burst water pipe upstairs in my bathroom causing water to pour through the ceiling and into the kitchen damaging the ceiling and water boiler directly below. I called co op insurance the following morning telling them I have no water into the house and the boiler has severe water damage. 11 days later and I am still waiting for a visit despite numerous phone calls and being told they are too busy. We were given the name of Ross McMillan at the loss adjusters and 4 phone calls later we have still not managed to speak with him as he was continually "on another call". So 11 days later I have paid to have the leak fixed. We still have no hot water and I have been told to expect a call tomorrow! We are not holding our breath. I will be cancelling the policy for building and contents insurance as soon as possible and advising all friends and family never use this company.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
From the reviews here it seems service is good when taking out the policy. That's where it stops. My daughtet's car was hit by a driver who did not stop. Spent evening in A&E and called co-op Fir assistance. Firstly fobbed off due to Bank Holiday. For goodness sake! No help whatsoever. Eventually spoke to at least 3 different people. Guess what - the hire car offer in the terms is subject to rediculous conditions not mentioned at the time of taking out the policy So - No hire car and nothing happening until Tuesday. Can only use their approved repairers (cheap options). Taking out the policy may be easy but heaven help you should you be unfortunate enough to need to claim. WOULD SUGGEST YOU NEVER INSURE WITH THEM
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The Co-operative Insurance is rated 3.59 based on 524 reviews