The Co-operative Insurance Reviews

3.57 Rating 531 Reviews
65 %
of reviewers recommend The Co-operative Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week

Write Your review

Tell us how The Co-operative Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
wish I'd read these reviews before starting the policy, cancelling after just six days, annoying they'll be charging cancelling fees for the privilege of experiencing such a sloppy business. Co-Op - please read and address these issues, you're embarrassing the brand. Your contractor installing dashboard boxes is useless - sends emails asking to confirm installation date, but despite sending 3 confirmations to supplied email address as request kept coming, installation was cancelled. Why not just email a link that can be clicked to confirm like every other website does ? And don't ask to call your number, only to be told "we're really busy, call back later" as the default message... Then all the requirements to send documents - been insuring cars for 30 years, no other company requires this. There are now online databases to get licence and insurance details, you don't need the rigmarole of 'log in to gov.uk, request, code, print pdf, send image'. Copy of statements to confirm address ? what's that all about, even banks have stopped that. Feels like this operation has been set up by amatuers, wanting a piece of the lucrative young persons car insurance pie. Be careful...
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Perfect insurance
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 7 months ago
all ok
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 8 months ago
The worst company ever . Dont waste your time or money AVOID ! specially young drivers . Black box never works . They are very rude to talk to .
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I found it relatively easy to fill all the forms which were clear in what information they required. The response was quick and I was very pleased with the quote.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 8 months ago
Terrible Customer Service. The only reason I am giving them 2 stars instead of 1 is because of the price but it is true what they say. you get what you pay for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stay away
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
If i could give zero stars for this company i would. Shocking. Absolutely shocking.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Purchased car four weeks old. Aggragate lorry sheds stones chips paint work all over bonnet and bumper. Informed CO-OP who dealt with repair very quickly. Provide Dash cam footage of incident expecting them to recoupe costs from haulage firm. No...they were inept said cam footage was inconclusive, absolute lie. Would not fight claim on behalf of THIER client. Kept hold of complaint for so long was not able to pursue claim elsewhere within made a formal complaint admitted decisions made at the outset were inaccurate, but still would not fight the case even though i made it clear a court would find in my favour. Then told claim would be recorded against my policy. When challenged they stated 'ITS OK YOUVE GOT PROTECTED NO CLAIMS. This insurance company are a joke. They do not fight for thier client, and just want to avoid any difficult work such as pursuit of any claim. **DO NOT TOUCH THIS BONE IDLE COMPANY**
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 8 months ago
This is the worst insurance in the world. They have hidden costs. They are out to just make money. Be aware.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
After 28 as a customer I rang to say the rental quote of 531-71 was way to expensive and I was able to get the same cover for 233-56 could it be reduced was asked if any changes were to be made advised no and the reply I got was no it can't be reduced advised I will be contacting the new provider and the answer I got was do you want me to cancel this from the renewal date disgusting I said no I'll call back to do it when my new one is set up it is set up now 297-15: cheaper this one will be cancelled today as will my building and contents one once it is due for renewal my advice is no loyalty to continuing custom
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Been with this company for many years and never had any problems.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 8 months ago
not reason to contact them
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 9 months ago
All pretty shoddy. No organisation and now know What Sedgewicks are used for. Reducing claims. Don't use them.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Excellent customer service in every way
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 9 months ago
After more than 20 years banking with the Co-operative Bank including ISAs, current accounts, mortgage and insurance we needed some help for the first time with our car. We had broken down a long way from home with our young family and needed immediate help. I had mistakingly not ticked the breakdown cover box when booking the insurance - something I had always ticked before for the 10 years or so I'd had my car insurance with them. The policy papers were never sent to us, something we kept telling them but each time they said they'd send the papers again - we never received them and so didn't see that the breakdown cover option was not selected. They do not offer an email or download option for the policy papers - what century do they think this is? I agree that forgetting to option the breakdown cover was a mistake on my part but the way the Co-op treated me was appalling. There was no bend or give or gesture of good will. We have since pulled all our banking away from them and can't wait for the insurance renewal date to arrive so we can say goodbye forever. Shame on you Co-op - the most uncooperative bank you'll find.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 9 months ago
Absolute shameful profiteering from this company. I will NEVER take out insurance with them again & will recommend anyone I know to go elsewhere. My premium is extortionate given I’ve been driving for over 20 years & have no claims, they charge an ‘admin’ fee to alter details over the phone and the customer service is terrible. Avoid unless you enjoy being ripped off!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
What ever you do, do not get car insurance with this company at all, they are scam artists and will try to take money out of your account. I paid a month's insurance taking me up to the end of the next month. But noooo they tried to take out on 8th of the next month as opposed to 27th and told me they would be taking money on the 27th as well of taking on the 8th. I just closed it down there and then also took them off DD payments too. I should have read reviews first rather than just going in blind. DONT DO IT
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
complete joke. car repair not done properly and received the car with even more damage than before. during the whole process was disaster. feeling that coop save money from repairs even not done right way.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I took out Travel Insurance with the Co-Op ensuring that I was covered for flight cancellations but when our flights were cancelled due to Jet Airways experiencing financial difficulties I was told I would not be able to claim for our flights being cancelled and as Jet Airways hadn't actually gone bankrupt they had temporarily grounded their fleet! The flight is still grounded!!! I had to pay £1712 for return flights to the UK from Thailand yet The Co-op refused to pay anything. When booking your travel insurance be aware that you may not be covered for flight cancellations when it says that you are! We take out these insurances but if they can get out of paying you they will!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The Co-operative Insurance is rated 3.57 based on 531 reviews