RAC Insurance Reviews

2.54 Rating 852 Reviews
38 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
moved house recently. Tried to change address on line and the RAC cancelled my insurance policy as they were unable to do a risk assessment on a new build despite a neighbours address appearing on their website. now means I have difficulty getting insurance as I have had a policy cancelled. This lasts for life and not time barred. They are also going to charge me £55 for cancelling my policy. Wish I never heard of them or insured with them. Appalling customer services
Posted 3 months ago
Worst experience ever with an insurance company I’ve had in 30 years of driving.

Your online account, which you print documents from and allows you to edit certain things will cost you £25, for you to do the work while other insurers do it for free.

If you need to cancel your policy when you sell your car they rack up costs in all directions. From cancellation fees of £65 to percentages of any extras you take.

Do not but key cover, breakdown cover etc, if you need to cancel early you still have to pay the cost of the add ons.

The RAC claim to be a UK motorist organisation, they are nothing of the kind. I will never do business with them again. I’ll stick with other breakdown organisations rather than be fleeced by deeply hidden costs and lack of transparency. RAC hang your head in shame, claimed to be the 4th emergency service! Never in a million years, this corporate entity has lost its way.

My biggest regret was not coming to research them on this site before buying a policy with them.
Posted 3 months ago
Do not use this company absolute joke of a company says black box wasn’t fit when it clearly was documents not sent when we had proof they where ring to complain they don’t want to hear it please avoid at all cost
Posted 3 months ago
I would give them 0 stars if I could - please please avoid this company, worst experience ever. I got my policy cancelled with no notification because of an error in their system - issue still hasn't been solved 1 month later, called them hundreds of times, nobody knows anything - zero coordination from their side. Plus, some of their staff are ridiculously rude
Posted 3 months ago
Honestly, I thought their insurance was cheap, then I got a new car and they wanted to charge £65 a month more for it. I then wanted to cancel, ended up paying £115 in cancellation charges. I thought that was it, but no, then there was a final £25 taken by direct debit. That wasn’t explained to me at the time of cancelling. The lady dealing with my issue wasn’t very professional or apologetic, it all felt very rushed. I feel so ripped off and am seriously looking at making a complaint. Very very glad I left RAC Insurance. Please don’t insure with them!
Posted 3 months ago
I agree with everyone! The black box is a joke one day it’s sky high next it’s lower than ever makes no sense. I am a sensible driver I don’t understand how the score is calculated the way it is . I’ve now got a bad reputation and have had my insurance cancelled and had to pay £120 would never ever go with them again WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!!!!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Hi everyone,
I have only one aim is to either cancell my contract or get the black box removed from my car.
I'm an extremely upset customer because of the ridiculous system of RAC black box. It pulls my score low and none of the customer service staff are able to explain it why & what the numbers/values mean in the report. Although I drive very slow including acceleration, braking etc, it somehow drags my score down like I was a potential threat to people on the road. I'm a very good and careful driver with NO accident (not even a scratch) in 15 years and definetly no problem with car insurance companies. I record every journey with my dash cam and seeing what RAC evaluate as dangerous driving is a careful and normal style of driving with no sign of danger and excessive acceleration or braking. So what is going on? For me this company shows itself as a cheater, a scam that tries to make money from contract cancellations. Now I'm not surprised RAC has one of the worst review among insurance companies. DO NOT contract with this company at all. You will end up crazy becausyou won't even know why. Seriously.
Posted 3 months ago
Appalling. ..renewed policy in june they took payment in july 2 weeks after the payment they cancelled policy i called they said wanted proof of address a copy of driving licence....we never received a letter from them...strange as this was a renewal with them they had these details from the previous year ...Do not use rac ....absolutely appalling. .
Posted 3 months ago
Unable to give no stars, quite possibly the worst insurance company. Phone staff are rude and completely clueless, can’t seem to answer any question you have with anything helpful. The black box itself disconnects and then provides a zero score bringing down the average. would NOT recommend
Posted 4 months ago
1 month off having 2 years no claims with rac my insurance was cancelled due to info from my black box. I tried to call but no one got back to me, now I can’t get insurance anywhere
Posted 4 months ago
I wish I had read the reviews before taking out insurance.
On completion of form and payment made I noticed that even though I wanted a courtesy car it mentions no guarantee you would get one.
You can pay extra to guarantee courtesy car.
I phone customer service within 5 mins of payment and they said that although you get a free courtesy car, its only if one is available at the time.
I could pay a fee to guarantee one though.
When I asked to cancel as I only took insurance out 5 minutes ago, I was told there is a £25 fee.
It was cheaper to pay the guarantee cost.
Wont be going with them next year.
Posted 4 months ago
*********PLEASE READ******

RAC is simply the worse insurance ever. They are nothing but a scam.

They have cancelled my car insurance 2 months before it was due for renewal because I went over the speed limit. I was doing 40 in a 20. When I was on the phone to them they said this was the first time I had gone this much over the speed limit and doing this once was enough to cancel my I insurance.

The person on the phone told me that this was the only incident I had done over the speed limit in the whole 10 months. This is a lie. I am did drive over the speed limit (40 in a 20) many times over the 10 months and they chose not to cancel my insurance. They only canceled it 2 months before renewal because they had made money off of me for the 10 months.

They also have the audacity to charge me £100 for cancellation fee when they are the ones that canceled. The person not the phone talks about “ what is there were kids on the road”. I imagine this is what they got told to say to hide the fact that they are scammers and their only aim is to make money.

They tell you they will cancel your insurance within 1 week and have to pay the 100 pounds.

I wish I had read the reviews before hand and paid a few hundred pounds to get some other insurance.

They have not only done this to me but may others in this review website.

THEY ARE SCAMMERS AND PLEASE AVIOD THEM.
Posted 4 months ago
Don’t go with these guys ESPECIALLY FOR BLACK BOX, box was faulty but was meant to feel like it was all my fault on the phone got my insurance cancelled and my score would go down even if I wasn’t even driving and my car was parked. AVOID AVOID AVOID worth paying more for a different insurance
Posted 4 months ago
Don’t go with RAC if you’re looking for a black box insurance.

I’ve been with them a few months now and they only seem to be getting worse.

They said they don’t penalise for “late-night” driving, but whenever I drive past 7pm my night score gets knocked down to 75 from 100. Luckily I was on my last few late shifts at work but I can’t imagine what it would be if I were still doing them.

Urban score always knocked down despite doing perfect driving. And the hint it gave me was irrelevant.

Had to perform an emergency stop this week and I knew it would knock my braking score down (wrong I know, but I don’t have any way of proving it). What I didn’t know is that it would knock my braking score from 100 all the way down to ZERO (I have never had to do this before). And it’s not gone back up despite purposefully driving to try and knock it back up. This also then knocked my urban score down (from 80-odd to 60!) and therefore my overall score.

The black box has also been faulty, reporting incidents that never existed.

Haven’t had any discounts for good driving and I know I’m not going to be renewing my insurance with them, no matter how much cheaper it may be because it’s not worth the stress dealing with it and the useless CS.

The only good thing about them is that I got to choose what day I got billed, but this is more of a thing for convenience than anything else.
Posted 4 months ago
My daughter had black box insurance through them. She rang to inform them that she didn't want to renew (as even though she had scored roughly 95% all year she received no discount for safe driving as promised). They still renewed the policy, and charged over £700 from the credit card used the prior year. Although they confirm that they have a record of her declining the renewal they are taking over a week to refund the money. Customer services staff are clueless and rude.
The policy itself was ridiculous, she was penalised for driving after 6pm and also for driving in 30 zones. Nobody is coming to remove the black box which they installed in the engine so I can only assume it will continue using her battery. Utter joke. We will be cancelling our roadside assistance too as don't want to have any further dealings with this company
Posted 4 months ago
My daughter had black box insurance through them. She rang to inform them that she didn't want to renew (as even though she had scored roughly 95% all year she received no discount for safe driving as promised). They still renewed the policy, and charged over £700 from the credit card used the prior year. Although they confirm that they have a record of her declining the renewal they are taking over a week to refund the money. Customer services staff are clueless and rude.
The policy itself was ridiculous, she was penalised for driving after 6pm and also for driving in 30 zones. Nobody is coming to remove the black box which they installed in the engine so I can only assume it will continue using her battery. Utter joke. We will be cancelling our roadside assistance too as don't want to have any further dealings with this company
Posted 4 months ago
RAC cancelled my policy because "there" underwriters couldn't insure me on a less powerful car.. (golf R to Ford Focus) They then say its MY choice to change policy .. WTF really!! So, for this pleasure I have to pay £80 odd quid.. absolute RIPOFF just for someone to press a button and send an email..
Posted 4 months ago
Useless customer service. I tried to add a driver. nice online form - once filled in it said it couldn't give me a quote - call customer service. Did that - the guy at the end of the phone basically filled in the same form online - with the same result. When I asked why they couldn't add a driver - he said he didn't know and couldn't be of any help. They are not getting my business next year
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely awful company, drove perfectly fine for the last 8 months and then all of a sudden last week I was give 2 red alerts and then received a cancellation email to say my insurance was being cancelled due to getting a third red alert. None of these alerts were notified to me at the time so I could rectify whatever I was doing wrong they were sent all at once with absolutely no warning. SO unhelpful. They may look cheap but they are defo a scam. I wish I’d looked at the reviews from SO many people before I took out a policy with them. Would not recommend them to absolutely anyone.
Posted 4 months ago
We applied through the online process and at no point were we asked about previous claims we had made

At no point were we told that RAC would look on the database and a possible additional charge would be made

I cancelled my insurance with Quote me Happy as RAC were slightly cheeper. I then paid my RAC quote of £207

I then received information that I have to pay £110 for my claim which was through my previous insurance and a different company

When I ask to cancel as my 14day cooling off period was not over I was informed I would be charged £50

This is a stitch up of selling insurance and making it look cheeper to then add additional charges.

At no point were we asked to declare previous claims..... at no point were we told that they would charge us additional costs
Posted 4 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.54 based on 852 reviews