RAC Insurance Reviews

3.22 Rating 516 Reviews
55% of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
communication channels
Under an hour
queries resolved in
"Bottom line 3 years with them and quoted £860 for 1.6 diesel, 43 year old with 6 years no claims, i was quoted £190-£280 MAX by 5 other insurers with better policies ! i saved over £500 with one free call RAC was trusted brand, not now, as insurance broker they are disgusting, £30 charge for every phone call ever made, they dont insure you, they punt you out and charge another £100 on top, plus the £30s for any call, one internet search will save you 100s, if you like yourself dont renew your policy, i lapsed last year and was going to be £200+ to cancel policy, on reflection i would NEVER put another £ in there hands, they dont make any effort to get you a competitive Quote, they are cynical and unwilling to help at any level, take a day and save yourself the hardship of a Poor service provider"
Posted 2 months ago
"Selected these on a comparison site as the price was good and my previous excellent insurer had increased their price. Very unhelpful a wopping £25 charge to change a date which was wrong, unable to add a temporary driver, offered to charge me an extra £50 per month for the 8 month duration of my policy to add as a named driver. Three years ago my previous insurer only charged me £20 extra per month, he has no convictions, points etc and three years more experience. Will not be using again."
Posted 2 months ago
"i have been a member since 2009, and all they have done is put my premium up every year. Just called to cancel my policy and gave some feedback. Despite not having claimed for 3 years ie no breakdown call out, my premium went up. When I asked why, the respondent had no clear answer. He fobbed me with that they look at my record etc. Well I am a lady, 60's +, do on average 8k miles per annum, have my car regularly serviced (Ford Fiesta) etc. All they have done is 'milk me for money'. Warning shop around for quotes and don't stay loyal."
Posted 2 months ago
"Good customer service and price."
Posted 2 months ago
"I had to cancel my insurance because they put up the cost due to incorrect information held by them and the underwriters. The insurance had not even started but they charged me £25 for cancelling. I have tried to get this money back but they never answer the emails and the people on the phone are useless. Big company must need my £25. Promised to reply to my email on a certain date and haven't, and that was the email to the top of the business. There for the motorist!!!!!!"
Posted 3 months ago
"My husband rang to get a quote, and they said it was going to be £4000. Customer service very abrupt, could'nt of cared less wether he accepted or not. Could'nt believe it, how he managed that god only knows."
Posted 3 months ago
"Great price for car insurance will use them again."
Posted 3 months ago
"Absolutely terrible. I discussed my renewal in great detail with them. Paid the full amount as agreed. I was then told a month later, that due to a problem I had cleared with them early on they, before renewal; hey were cancelling my insurance at five hours notice. Fortunately I was not away. The worst insurance firm I have ever dealt with in some sixty years."
Posted 3 months ago
"Worst insurer ever! They don't even deserve one star. Paid for annual car insurance from RAC. One week later received a letter stating they had found another claim I hadn’t declared and that I was at fault. It turned out that the previous insurer made a mistake but after my phone call they changed and updated data that I wasn't at fault. I have sent couple of different proofs from my previous insurer to RAC which they were rejecting all the time. My previous insurer confirmed as well that I had made only one claim. They were constantly changing the guidelines as to what my document should contain. Finally after few weeks, couple of wasted hours trying to exlplain my situation they accepted proof and CHARGED me for nothing £77. From the very beginning, they aroused my suspicion, while they were constantly changing the guidelines of letter from a former insurer. They were doing everything to get money from me including undermining the authenticity of the document from the former insurer, staff wasn't helpfull at all, every time different person and making new guidelines for the letter from the former insurer. I will never buy from them again!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Awful customer service. You cannot cancel the auto renewal online, have to call them. When you call you have to listen to a length T&C bit, then speak to machine to get eventually through to a 'real' person. As I was a named driver and not policy holder I was told I could not cancel the renewal. Luckily I had listened a wee bit to the T&C, it said clearly that either policyholder or named drivers could cancel. I told the 'real' person this and he got very upity and short with me, he did cancel it though. Awful service, renewal price was over £50 higher than competitors. NEver use RAC again for this"
Posted 3 months ago
"good easy to use and info given"
Posted 3 months ago
"My review would be "0" stars. Called to query about renewal of telematics car insurance. Was put on hold for 10-15 minutes, automated system asking me to choose option 4 for insurance which I did and was then taken to wrong department. Was then out on hold for another 10-15 minutes and was then told that the advisor was not trained to help on telematics and to hold on as I will be put on to the department. I was frustrated at this stage holding on for 30 minutes and asked her not to put me o. A holding system and she said don't worry I will put you directly. Be hold I am still on hold for over 25 minutes, whilst I write this review, absolutely godsmacked. I am at a point now I do not want to renew my contract and will cancel my insurance, god forbid if they do answer my call, crossing fingers. Appalling customer service, not the first time I had to wait so long. Best to go with another insurer"
Posted 3 months ago
"I renewed my car insurence & was advised to cancel my direct debit as there was a price increase & a new one would be set up. A couple of week letter i went to print my documents to find they where not there. I chatted with an advisor on line (as last time I called it charged me over £20) and he asvised me that my insurence has not been renewed. He offered to call to rectify which was fine. During the call he said that the price was coming back higher than I was originally quoted by £30 more a month but said he would get his manager to override this as it was their mistake. He calle snack later to say that actually they can’t do this and that my insurence was going from £43 a month to £75! I could have ended up with a fine & points on my license and to top of they tried to rip me off after. Avoid at all costs"
Posted 3 months ago
"RAC is synonymous with security and safety to me but I feel this has been mared by your approach to insurance. To put my premium up from £520 to £850 and then £1,027 over 3 years when my circumstances have not changed and I have made no claims. This smacks of how we are being treated and ripped off as lotal customers and I feel utterly abused. I was told I should have called for a better price and if I was a new customer it would have been far far cheaper. I will never use RAC or its services again and I hope the book is finally thrown at insurance companies take advantage of people who don’t have time to explore prices every yea and live by old fashioned principles where loyalty is rewarded. What happened to fairness RAC?"
Posted 3 months ago
"Avoid at all cost most unhelpful insurance company ever doubled a premium even though the claim was a no fault claim absolute jokers staff are idiots they also work with sabre they are even worse will never go with the rac again for anything"
Posted 3 months ago
"Bad experience with RAC throughout the year last year, vowed would NEVER use them again. Insurance renewal came in and I called and said I wouldn't be renewing insurance for another year was asked by the customer service agent why. It is because the customer service for the previous year had been awful. Just received a text from RAC to say that they have renewed my insurance for another year. I rest my case. SHOCKING service and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. Friends and family have also had bad experiences."
Posted 3 months ago
"Offhand and brief when contacted by phone. Extremely officious in all communication. Expected the world and gave little in return."
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"They are the best!"
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"Brought a new car and they wanted an extra £826 to insure , even though I could get new insurance for £679 . I Did get a refund of £156 but was charged £55 cancellation fee . Absolute joke !"
Posted 3 months ago
"Awful company wish i had of read the reviews. 2 days late of handing over NCD after already giving info then told not enough. So they cancelled policy and charged £55 cancellation fee plus one months insurance. We had already paid £56 to set up. Customer service was extremely unhelpful and certainly will not be using again."
Posted 3 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 3.22 based on 516 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support