RAC Insurance Reviews

2.96 Rating 605 Reviews
49 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Don't renew with RAC home insurance - the price quoted was ~20% more than the previous year BUT if you go via a company like Compare the Market, the price is the same as the previous year. This is not the only insurance company running this scam - ring to cancel & they'll offer a reduction but in my opinion that is a scam if ever there was one.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Took renewal, we are 7 days in. Car insured no longer able to drive. Call for quote for a car 10 years newer and cost more than DOUBLES for monthly premium. Call to cancel and charged £25 for the pleasure. Absolute rip off merchants. I am sure you're fine so long as you dont have to change anything or similar....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
absolute greedy gangsters that con the life out of new drivers STAY CLEAR
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very Bad company
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 weeks ago
The RAC are liars and should be avoided. They told me that I would get some of my premium back to me once my accident has been marked up as a non-fault. My accident was indeed marked up as non-fault and they REFUSED to give me the £200 increase in premium back again. They stated that although I had been told I would get this back, I did not provide the information they requested - despite sending them a solicitors letter as well as proof of no claims within the time limit - to say nothing of that fact they can use the Q database any time they wish for this information. You don't deal with the RAC in the event of an accident - you deal with a company called COVEA and they shouls also be avoided at all costs. Trust me, go somewhere else
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not use RAC for insurance. Tried to cancel my policy within 2 hours of sweating it up, had to pay a £25 fine (admin charge), then was told that as the policy wasn’t starting for 20+ days they couldn’t cancel the payment so would still charge me on the start date, then would credit me 8 working days after the charge minus the penalty fee! So what is my admin charge for, given that you haven’t done anything for the payment yet?! Money grabbing!! Disgusting service! Would not use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The app is worse than useless. I have been on the phone to this company and the company that fit the black boxes countless times. I would not recommend - in fact if it were me I would pay more and use a different company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I have rac black box insurance, and I noticed my score went way way down, so I called them. I was told that I wasn't driving enough miles to offset against two acceleration "incidents" (uphill in my little car basically), so I start driving a bit more, then I receive a threatening email telling me to call them immediately to discuss my higher mileage, and that they may need to increase my premium! They told me to drive more, ridiculous service and use of scare tactics! Not to mention when I had an issue pop up, I rang them to tell them it was going to the garage (they have to unplug black box to run diagnostics), I got two emails from them threatening to cancel my insurance if I didn't plug it back in!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
One of the shittest known company. The customer service is poor and always lies and it’s been 2 days not recovering my van. Every 30 mins hearing a different stories and good liars. Not transferring call to seniors and the shittest company ever and experienced in life after recovering this will all my family and friends remove from RAC very soon.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
If I could have given the RAC zero stars, I would. I contacted them regarding the bereavement of the policy holder. They cut me off, charged me for an increase in premium for 30 days because of a change of address, then declined the policy from the renewal date and stated that the sales team could let me know how much a policy would be in my name (I was a named driver on the deceased's policy). They then stated that this was wrong and tried to put me through to the bereavement team and cut me off again. Tried to convince me that they had handled my complaint satisfactorily. Shambolic.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Do not get insured with RAC, Had a car accident at no fault of my own, it has taken 4 months to sort out and it is still not sorted. The third party accepted liability within 3 days of contact but RAC have still messed me about, I ended up having to do all there work by chasing under writers and garage and also third party insurance. I have since decided to change my car while still in policy and they have increased my monthly amounts stating that the case is still open. RAC customer service is appalling. Surprising when the family have been with insured or had breakdown with them for over 25 years,Awful company, simply awful, when there's so much competition around. Don't touch the RAC vehicle insurance with a barge pole people. Rip off RAC!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
GOOD TO USE VERY RELIABLE
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not insure with these people they con you out of money and then do not keep you informed of developments with telematics box and then try and cancel your insurance without any warnings whatsoever. The box never works properly and you are forever trying to resolve matters on the phone to which you don't get a proper response and resolution.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Don’t even bother going on confused.com and take out car insurance with the RAC it’s not until you have an accident at no fault of yours and discover it’s not the RAC you are insured with. Such a ripoff!!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My insurance was automatically renewed with an increase of £60. This is unacceptable. They added Motor Legal Protection. I never asked for it. Won't be using RAC again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
25.10.19 We call them to say that we have changed our mind and dont want to have our insurance policy with them which would start on the 28.10.19 They have charged £25 for cancelling the policy although the new policy has not even started!! We were told that the policy has been created and we have to be charged for the cancellation. Whenever and whatever you buy something you have 14 days to change your mind to be fully refunded but unfortunately NOT with RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
25.10.19 We call them to say that we have changed our mind and dont want to have our insurance policy with them which would start on the 28.10.19 They have charged £25 for cancelling the policy although the new policy has not even started!! We were told that the policy has been created and we have to be charged for the cancellation. Whenever and whatever you buy something you have 14 days to change your mind to be fully refunded but unfortunately NOT with RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
RAC Took annual renewal premium from my bank after declining to insure new car and agreeing to cancel 1 month prior to renewal. Bought RAC because of "The Brand"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Easy to buy value for money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I took out a vehicle policy 6 months ago with the RAC through a comparison site. I paid £170 for 12 months cover. I have just tried to transfer that policy to another vehicle of exactly the same insurance group and have been told that I will have to pay a further £90 plus a £25 'admin fee'. When I suggested that I might cancel the policy instead and start afresh, I was told that my refund, despite having 6 months to run on the policy, would be only £27 and I will also have to pay a 'cancellation fee' of £55! Effectively, I would have to pay the RAC an additional £23 for the privilege of cancelling my insurance mid-term. When I complained and asked what, exactly, I was paying for I was told curtly that "it's in the terms and conditions". Awful company, simply awful. Surprising, really, when there's so much competition around. Don't touch the RAC vehicle insurance with a barge pole people. Rip off RAC!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.96 based on 605 reviews