RAC Insurance Reviews

2.54 Rating 855 Reviews
38 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Good competitive quote last year, about £200. Early this year my catalytic converter was sawn off and stolen. I enquired about claiming and was told if I do the car (23 year old BMW) would be written off. So, no claim. Renewal this year was for over £600. What? I changed company! I am sent a Proof of No Claims Discount. It stated Accidental Damage and I was at Fault. I had not made a claim and I was not at fault. Customer services directed me to Acromas, RACs insurer. They assured me “Theft” was on their records. RAC Customer services then agreed theft is on theirs too. But, I cannot get the RAC to send me an updated correct Proof of No Claims. I am presently stuck with Proof of No Claims Discount with the wrong info and successive emails to RAC customer services yields no reply. AVOID!
Posted 1 day ago
Bandits. My 17 year old son passed his test last week, coinciding with joining armed forces, so he will not be using the car. Home for 2 weeks at christmas, I enquired and learned nearly £1200 extra for half a year. Cant comment on how excessive this is, but obviously not worth doing. So asked to remove from policy, to be told there was an additional £10 on the premium, for him to come off it, plus £25 admin fee.
At end of policy will not renew, and will never ever use RAC again.
Posted 2 days ago
I have a car insurance and rescue policy with RAC. I will not be renewing the insurance with them. They charged a penalty of £20 but delaying the payment which was due on 23/11/2020 , the DD had been declined because of 4 fraud payments to my account. They wouldn't allow me to pay with a card to avoid the £20 penalty despite the missed payment was only £24.16. This poor customer relationship, poor service
Posted 3 days ago
Just cancelled my RAC black box insurance even though I only had it for 2 weeks. The reason is the score for speeding - I was driving on 50 miles/hour road doing 42 miles. They gave me the score 11 out of 100 for SPEEDING! after I called them they said the score averages out after about 200 miles. This doesn't make sense at all. Why to penalise the person for driving below the speed limit claiming it was doing over the limit. So now they charge me £35 for cancellation!
Posted 6 days ago
Very Poor Service customer service by RAC.... can’t wait for one more month need to get out from RAC.
Posted 6 days ago
I would not recommend rac to any new young driver my daughter now has a claim against her as rac put 2 flat tyres as an accident and are now refusing to remove them! Also the ‘breakdown cover’ don’t waste your time £127 recovery for the 2 flat tyres. Any changes wanted to be made on the policy we was told sorry you’ll need to cancel the policy and take a new one which was higher then the original. These are cheap for a reason disgusting company and the customer service is shocking.
Posted 6 days ago
Feel robbed. Cancelled my car insurance with 4 months left on it as my car has been scrapped. I was charged a cancellation fee of £52. My monthly premium was only £15.09. I'll never insure anything agin with RAC even if they're the cheapest. We also have campervan breakdown cover and my partner's car insurance with RAC. This will not be renewed. So for the sake of £52, RAC will lose around £400. Well done! I only wish there was a zero score option.
Posted 1 week ago
DO NOT USE . RAC delay in sending black box . Eventually arrived a month late we fitted it within timescale . Then got email saying we’d cancelled our policy - even though we hadn’t- and we were being charged £35 as we hadn’t fitted black box . RAC lied and refused to accept confirmation the box was fitted even though it was . Couldn’t get money back. This is a scam and needs investigation. Total nightmare. Seems like this has happened to a lot of people. AVOID.
Posted 1 week ago
Firstly, I’m only giving one star as I can’t give them any lower! I’ve had no major issues with this company till now, 10 months into my first insurance and two payments left they have now contacted me claiming instead of paying £191 a month it will be increasing to £361 a month for the last two payments, as I have gone over 7000 miles which can I add I don’t even remember saying I would only do 7000 a year miles. I would of definitely said I would of done more, as I work full time! They have sent threatening emails continually, if I don’t contact them back even though I have, they still send them causing much stress, as a 19 year only girl I’ve never had insurance before, as my first year driving this has been a bit of a shock! RAC have also said I would need to pay £35 to updated my policy if I had chosen to go with the increase mileage, even though it is them that want to change my policy giving my no other option, as a cancellation is £125 fee. They have for sure backed me into a corner and given me no option. One thing I can’t get my head around how do the expect young drivers to get on the roads when they have greedy money makers like this, seriously AVOID this insurance pay the extra money and go elsewhere preferably without a black bow they record you to benefit there own business they trap you and extort you for everything you have!!!!!!


One more thing to add, they said they had doubled my mileage and worked out a certain amount that i would be doing a year so, obviously want to increase my mileage at a cost, why the hell did they not contact me at 6 months that my mileage might go over the amount put down, as they could of worked out by 6 months averagely what I may do in 12 months ie 6 months I done 6000 miles, double that I would averagely do 12,000 miles a year, why leave it to 2 months before my contract ends to now extort my money I could of had a longer period to pay as now on furlough and on 90% pay !!!
Posted 1 week ago
OMG - the worst insurance in the world ever. Don't trust this company for your car insurance. New driver, best quote, telematics discount, great "brand." Nothing but hassle since day one.

Four (4) threatening emails and texts saying the black box was disconnected - 4 calls confirmed to them confirming that the issue was their side. Then after 6 days, they wrote to me to inflate my policy by £1200 suggesting that my additional driver was an increased risk because their parked car had been hit whilst they were in bed nearly 5 years ago!!!!

They don't listen, they don't see reason, they don't respond to complaints in the appropriate manner. I read another review that mentions having Ebola is more tolerable than dealing with these - I understand that frustration 100%.

STAY AWAY FROM THESE AT ALL COSTS IS MY VIEW! & Remember, when they've duped you into buying, then they write to double your insurance - they want £125 to cancel. Sound corrupt to you?
Posted 1 week ago
The telematics system is so bad it’s funny. Using your brakes lowers your score.... 15 mph leaving Tesco car park is Speeding apparently. Having the engine on when you pull over for 2 minutes... punished. I’d rather have a dose of Ebola than tolerate this sh*te for another year. Avoid like the plague.
Posted 1 week ago
Do not, I repeat do not buy black box of Rac. Biggest rip off ever. My son purchased this product and it’s biggest joke ever. He couldn’t do nothing right. No matter how he drove his score dropped. It even registered journeys whilst the vehicle was parked up. I took vehicle out once, drive perfect, speed acceleration braking etc and score dropped by 15 points. Then they said we have to cancel your policy and charged £125 for the cancellation fee. Avoid at all costs. I’ve given it one star because It don’t give you option to give zero stars.
Posted 1 week ago
Disgraceful the way I was treated I am clinically extremely vulnerable during this lockdown my son in law is on the insurance he drives excellent speed was perfect then kept giving red alerts because of break and acceleration you tell me how speed is 80 percent but acceleration and brake is 0 the staff were rude to me and cancelled my insurance after 3 red alerts I explained the situation and how i am shielding not being able to go to work not getting paid etc they didn’t care one man shouted at me saying what do you want me to do about it I hope no one goes with them choose a different black box company I would of give no stars not one star if it would let me submit without stars worse company ive ever been to and so uncaring at these difficult times DONT GO to them
Posted 1 week ago
The whole experience with RAC has been ridiculous! They overcharge for everything and try and force more and more money out of you because they calculate more miles on your data? Whatever!

The actual app never worked once in the whole year and when you reset the email and password, that doesn't work. Phoning up gets you nowhere with it either.

Then you get random emails saying 'your driving has fallen below acceptable' and it will be cancelled on a 3rd strike. I HADN'T EVEN BROKEN ANY LIMITS OR DROVE DANGEROUSLY!! You can't access your driving portal so you just have to take their word for it, scam artists.

Luckily the 1st and second strike happened on the last month of my policy so i didn't drive for the last week incase they decided to cancel and get plenty of money out of me!
Greedy bast**ds RAC, liars and scam artists. Fake black box and love overcharging.
Don't waste your hard earned money on this sad and pathetic company. They should have stuck to picking up broken down cars!
Posted 2 weeks ago
I am
Horrified with the experience and service I received I paid £250 upfront they sent me black box i I stalled it I only did 3 journeys didn’t speed once- I was then receiving constant alerts when I wasn’t even driving advising my score had dropped below 75 it was on 39 , If it goes below 25 it would be cancelled I then read the reviews on RAC all awful every customer seems to have the same experience the black box does not work I called them as it was causing me to get very stressed they advised as I braked my score was low?? Everyone has to use there brake to drive they could not give me any other explanation as to why it was so low. I asked them to cancel it they are only refunding me £45 when I’ve not even used the insurance for a week charging me £125 cancellation fee I will be contacting the ombudsmen as the black box is a scam it doesn’t work it’s not real data please save your money and STAY AWAY this black box insurance needs to be shut down my last black box my score was 80/100 so I knew it wasn’t being calculated correctly I’m appalled by the service and the fact they have had me of for nearly 200 never ever ever would I go near or recommend this insurance I’m horrified . Con artists
Posted 2 weeks ago
Had the box for a week driven the car twice my score is awful even though I have not gone over speed limit once telematics box does not
Work and produces fake data 2 the ones for brake and acceleration does not work so it’s not giving a true reflection of my score I will be contacting ombudsmen
Posted 2 weeks ago
I would not recommend RAC Car insurance they tried to charge me £55 before the 14 day cooling off period and 11 days before my insurance actually started.
The advices was very patronising telling me it was against the law to drive a motor vehicle without insurance. The position I hold there is no doubt I would have already know this.
I got a fare better deal from another insurance company.
The one star was because I couldn't give no stars.
Posted 3 weeks ago
RAC will not refund on an insurance policy if you are forced to work from home due to COVID 19 and if you want to make any changes to the mileage you will be charged an admin fee.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Never ever use this company. Do not believe a word they say or a quote you are given or anything. Do not be sucked in by their initially cheap pricing. Awful, I hope they cease trading.
Posted 3 weeks ago
The black box drained 3 brand new batteries along with quadrupling my insurance payments after the first year! Not only this but the app would record false data and reduce my driving score even if i hadnt driven my car in days. If you must get a black box please choose anybody but RAC.
Posted 4 weeks ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.54 based on 855 reviews