RAC Insurance Reviews

2.78 Rating 701 Reviews
44 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Just obtained an online quote from RAC for car insurance. Quoted over four times as much as other top 5-star defacto rated insurance companies. Obviously I will not be taking out a policy with RAC and it's likely I will obtain future quotes.
Posted 5 hours ago
Do not use the RAC for insurance ,my premium was almost doubled after first year ,no claims no convictions no explanation customer service non-existent, a very strange company.
Posted 1 day ago
The black box fitted to my car ruined my ECU and the wiring loom (brand new car) taken then vehicle back to the dealership who told me that this would not be covered under warranty as it had been caused by the faulty fitting off the box. I phoned RAC and received very slow response, I was told that It would take up to 8’weeks for this to be resolved and in the meantime I was left without a car and unable to go to work.
Posted 3 days ago
Do not get close to it! It is almost a scam!
Posted 5 days ago
existing customers are unable to secure the same terms as new ones and there was a substantial increase in the policy when it came to renewal - far higher than alternative quotes. It is difficult to contact the RAC Insurance advisors. There is an automatic renewal option online but no ability to cancel online or via email and it can only be done via a call with an advisor. When contacting by telephone there is a minimum 15min hold each time and the advisors are unhelpful. The quality of customer service is also extremely poor.
Posted 1 week ago
First they tried to put up my Insurance 50% and then when I tried to claim for a broken rear screen abroad I had to pay for it myself (not a problem) and then tried to claim only to discover that I wasn't insured by the RAC but AXA. RAC didn't answer my Emails and their automatic telephone system sent me round in circles.
I'm sorry to say that I have now found a different company who are 30% cheaper and you can talk to a human straight away
Posted 1 week ago
Easy to buy and reasonable quote
Posted 1 week ago
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Thank you rac for make this a policy is verry good...
Posted 1 week ago
RAC motorcycle insurance: zero interest in customer retention + zero idea how modern comms systems work = zero repeat business from me and anyone I know. Got an email saying my insurance was to renew but no probs as they'd take payment from the same card as before. I assumed all was well and gave no thought to the fact that a card with a new expiry date had been issued. Stupid me, I assumed some humans were still involved in the process and they - being desirous of my repeat custom, would checked and let me know they needed a new expiry date. Next email tells me my insurance has lapsed. I email, wait 5 days, then phone. Rinse and repat. I check my online docs and see that now they have suddenly changed and tell me they were unable to take payment from the same source as before. More crypto security rubbish. Why not just say your expiry date has passed? I call again. After 10 minutes of sales and legal **it I am asked to hold... I wait another 15 minutes before getting bored and hanging up. Went online, got the same policy slightly cheaper from a comparison site in under 3 minutes. Jokers. I now know what RAC really stands for - but I daren't write it here.
Sadly the boxes below don't have a 'couldn't communicate at all because no human would reply', or a 'never' box for how quick did they reply.
Posted 1 week ago
Bad company, charged me £109 to come to my property to confirm what I already knew, then had the audacity to want to charge me a further £260 for a new battery!!!
I had recovery policy with my insurance company and no charge should have been made!!!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Even though I had recovery on my policy, they charged me £109 to come to my property to confirm what I already knew, they then had the audacity to want to charge me a further £260 for a new battery! 🤬😠😠😠
Posted 2 weeks ago
WHAT A CON RAC ARE,,,,BEEN WITH DIRECT LINE FOR 14 YEARS ON VAN , BUT GOT A NEW CAR AND GOT RAC VIA CONFUESED ,COM INSURANCE QUOTE WEWERE HAPPY WITH SO PAID DEPOSIT 1 WEEK LATER WE GOT LETTER SAYING WE HADNT DISCLOSED 2 ACCIDENTS, BUT BOT WERE NOT OUR FAULT SO WE DIDNT THINK WE NEED TO ??? THE RUDE LADY I SPOKE TO SAID 1 ACCIDENT HAS COME UP AS OUR FAULT TO WHICH WE EMAILED DETAILS TO SAY IT WASNT OUR FAULT, THEN TO BE TOLD IT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE, EVEN DIRECT LINE HAVE SAID THERE WRONG TO ADD 25 PER CENT OVER 200 POUNDS TO THE INSURANCE ,,ANYWAY WERE GONNA CANCEL , NEVER AGAIN , STICK TO BREAK DOWN RECOVERY. EVERY THEN YOUR UNLESS AT THAT 2
Posted 2 weeks ago
I am not happy with the company. When it comes to renewal they are charging extreme amounts of money. Will look forward to change.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Admiral insurance just gave my wife (and all their customers) a £25 refund due to their claims being lower than usual in lockdown. When I asked RAC to cancel my insurance I was charged £40. I was told this was completely unavoidable. I know where I will be going next time.
Posted 3 weeks ago
RAC provides me with car insurance from 2018 to 2019.
I have the maximum no claims. I do little mileage. Live in an exceedingly good area. Am 66 years old. Have very good financial status. Have no driving endorsements.
I’m ringing around for new annual quotations.
Turned down flat for renewal.
No quote available.
No reason why.
The girl on the phone cannot refer to a manager or to the underwriters has no one at all she can ask why.
She cannot give me a contact number. The computer says no, and that’s it! Game over! How completely bizarre for a company who you would think was a major UK player, but in reality is refusing clients for no apparent reason and there is no process in place for their own employees to speak to a human being about the situation!
Poor show RAC and Janine in your call centre was as helpless as I was to provide a solution! Sheer madness!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great service
Posted 4 weeks ago
After I took out car insurance with RAC, the earliest they could come and fit the black box was 21 days later, but they state that if you haven't had the black box fitted within 14 days, your policy will be cancelled. They were due to come on 2/4/20 but did not come nor did they let me know. Now they won't fit it because of Covid 19. I receive a letter on a Thursday afternoon telling me I would receive the black box to fit myself and if I did not feel comfortable doing this, they would cancel my policy without fees. However, i would still have to pay the £34.64 no claims bonus protection because it was over 14 days and that's their policy because it's an "add-on". Then they decided that because of my age, I would not want to fit it myself (and basically people of my age do not normally want a black box insurance) so they were going to cancel it anyway, leaving with me no choice. I have just spent 45 mins on the phone trying to sort this and it is still not resolved. The young agent I spoke to kept repeating information he had already given, and was patronising. He also did not listen very well. I now have to wait for someone to phone me back. What an utter waste of time!!
Posted 4 weeks ago
I brought an Audi A4 convertible 4/4/2020 £3900 I spent £600 service timing belt and rust on arch getting resprayed the car was mint a girl crashed into the back of me causing it to be wrote off after 10 days of having the car Rac insurance expect you to do all the phoning around yourself to sought the problems it’s shambolic and then have the audacity to offer you £3060 I wouldn’t use these again and I would have give them zero stars if I could avoid these at all costs
Posted 1 month ago
The insurance itself was fine, and when my car was hit my another driver the damage was repaired. The difficulty came when my windscreen was cracked, and it took over 2.5 months and five appointments before they finally replaced it (including turning up once with a windscreen for an entirely different make and model of car). The renewal came in at 33% higher than other online quotes which had a lower voluntary excess, so I won't be returning to RAC.
Posted 1 month ago
Rang an idvisor a week or so ago to explain that because of my own personal circumstances during the covid pandemic that I would be doing 6000 miles less this year. I would be doing 4 miles a week rather than 500 miles a week. When she had done the calculations it ended up I'd be paying and extra £4.00 a month direct debit. So had to keep my full ins which also includes buisiness mileage that I obviously don't need being house bound for 3 months. I knew this would be a fatal mistake confusing the breakdown cover service, and then taking out rac ins because of the service, and then finding the same old ins practices as all the rest. I've just noticed admiral are giving their customers a £25.00 refund. I didn't even get a response from the rac to my last post on trust pilot. Well I know where I'll be heading in Sept when my renewal is up. Mark Blaxland
Posted 1 month ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.78 based on 701 reviews