Legal & General Reviews

2.23 Rating 277 Reviews
31% of reviewers recommend Legal & General

Write Your review

Tell us how Legal & General made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels
"My Claim was first logged beginning of August 2018, for burst tank in my loft, which flooded the downstairs. The damage was whole ceiling in kitchen to be taken down and replaced, light fittings, redecoration (Papering) of walls including painting, tiled floor to be taken up and replaced 34 m2, replacement of 1 x worktop, replacement 1 x End Panel replacement tiled floor in hallway, tiled floor in office another 16 m2 to be replaced, redecoration of walls and ceilings and painting in hallway stairs & landing, carpet on stairs to be replaced, 1 x bedroom laminate floor to be lifted and replaced, redecoration of 1 bedroom including painting, removal and replacement 1 radiator, and replacement of 5 light fittings. All this was at a price from my builder of £14213.00 inc vat. L&G sent out a company called BVS (more like sent to rip you off merchants) who done a full survey and came back with a scope of works for all work to be done for just under £5200.00 (Complete Joke, I advised them if a building company can do all this work for that price they must be cowboys! ) So we asked for another BVS Surveyor to do a 2nd revised Scope of works only to be told he couldn't do his job properly and felt intimidated by me, my own loss assessor and builder ! They also asked me for a second independent quote which came back at £12,800 and this still wasn't enough for them. Anyways this went on & on and the amount offered did not include VAT Or Disturbance allowance for 2 adults and 1 child being without a kitchen whilst work is being carried out in the kitchen (Approx 10- 14 days), this would only be payable on evidence (photographs being taken of my kitchen ceiling and floor being ripped out & replaced) I advised I would not be there to take these pictures due to my daughter being in hospital having an operation, to which they replied "get your builders to take them and send" I advised it was not their job to do this as they are only employed to carry out the repairs on my house NOT to be L&G's photographers ! Also VAT would NOT be paid until receipts seen & sent in proving work had been done. I feel I was bullied into accepting an amount to repair my home because I was desperate and they new my daughter and myself were both ill and if I took it to the Ombudsman, I would have to wait between 6/12 mths, had I have been financially secure and in a position to wait, I would have not accepted this amount and took further action. As a result of this they have now pushed me into debt and had to take out a loan to complete the remainder of work. PLEASE AVOID L&G HOME INSURANCE AT ALL COSTS AS THEY DEFRAUD YOU A FAIR AMOUNT THAT YOU SHOULD BE PAID OUT ON CLAIMS AND DRAG THINGS OUT, MAKING LIFE DIFFICULT FOR YOU ! NO COMPASSION AT ALL, SHAME ON YOU L&G"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"The most useless and awfull company ever, i had £15,000 damage to my house through burst pipe, there cash offer was £1730, this included replastering a ceiling and wall, make good kitchen ceiling and paint kitchen,paint entire through lounge, and replace 36 sq metres of floor, the mind boggles as to how they can do all this work for that money, because there so unbearable, i accepted a cash offer of just over £2000 and sacked legal and general,please please avoid this company There terrible"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"The most useless and incompetent company I have ever had to deal with! I have opt out 4 times from pension scheme already... so far unsuccessfully! They never reply to my emails, they don't care about my complains! Horrible, horrible company! Pure nightmare, waste of time and energy!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Without doubt one of the most painful experiences I have ever had to go though. They used BVS Solution to inspect an Escape of water. Claim was made just before Christmas 2017, closed end of October 2018. Not happy to close but couldn't bare to drag in on, which is what they want. The only advise i can give is to make notes and take plenty of photographs. My claim went from all they would cover was replacing the unit under the sink to replacing floor tiles and the whole kitchen. I had to force through every stage. Truly awful company"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Diabolical response and attitude towards my recent pet insurance claim. Very poor and misleading policy wording that did not cover what it claimed. Unacceptable response to my complaint with no further explanation or details. THEN, when I asked for my policy to be cancelled, I was told that they would charge me a fee!!! Absolutely disgusting service and would NEVER recommend anyone trusting them with the cover for their pet."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Most unhelpful company I have ever had to deal with put up thousand of pounds worth of scaffolding can't provide a ladder from the ground to the first floor. To get materials up totally and utterly fed up with the on going issues don't ever use legal and general home insurance"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Would give a 0star if I could And one word to describe this company Fraudster Happy to take money and not willing to pay up when there is a claim then send out there loss adjuster how act like hire goons. The government needs to close these down ASAP Oh and once this review goes up there silly like online team will request I contact them and when u do they will not reply completely pathetic"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Their appointed surveyors rushed their visit, lied in their report guessing cause of damage without proper examination. Absolute disgrace. Won't use this company again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Avoid this company at all costs had a major house fire would not pay a penny out house was totally gutted by fire."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Nobody would answer a phone call for a simple renewal question. Every single contact number stated - One of our advisors will be with you shortly - but nobody ever answered the phone. Thanks for holding on, we are on our way to help The worst customer service I have ever experienced - good job I wasn't making a claim. I have to ask the question 'are they still operating as a business?" - all I want to do is speak to someone"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We had raw sewage in our basement and they will only pay for half of it"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Took 14 months to refuse my husband health claim"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Came home from work. Puddle of water on my dining table along with white ceiling plaster. Crack halfway across the ceiling. Following heavy rains and winds after the heavy snow we had. On investigation it looked as if the flashing on the roof of the extension had slipped down slightly. We moved it back up and resealed the joins. We think the weight of the snow had dislodged the flashing , as back a couple of months before it was ok because we clean and check thevroof for moss. We phoned L&g to claim for the damage , to be told we can't. Something to do with wind speeds and rain fall. WHY do I pay a fortune for a top cover, NOT to be covered. Not claiming for the roof, just the damage inside. That's what I thought insurance was. I also live in a town with its own micro climate, so the readings for 5 miles away will not always apply. First and last year with this company. Never heard of anything so ridiculous."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The call waiting times are horrendous I've tried to contact them at various times of the day to discuss my home insurance policy. In the end I finally got through after an other wait of 25 minutes on hold and duly cancelled my renewal. The staff member asked why I wished not to renew with them when I explained that I've tried numerous times to get through she didn't even try to offer me any incentives to stay. I hate to think if if you ever had to claim emergency assistance this put me off using them in future"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I have tried a couple of times since I have become of retirement age to get some figures for an annuity or other options. Another retirement company can give me these figures by return of email. L&G have to send out a pack even though you know exactly what you want quoted on , then you have to tick that box and send it back and then if you are lucky you might get some figures. So far since the first phone call it has been 4 days and we haven't even got the pack yet. Not keeping up with the times. Plus I have 2 pensions which I have to speak to 2 different departments and I don't get anywhere with any of them. So frustrating."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
W
"By phone asked for buy mortgage life insurance from L And G insurance. Had very bad experiences. First time was told she did not how to calculate quota. Afterwards another lady staff called me back and said she was for L and G, and had long talk discussion for the deal and passed me to their manager and got the deal quota after a long time to get me and my husband data. The manager told us he would send us application paper for sign. One week later did not get the paper, then called back a direct call number he gave us. This time was told they are L and V company with all my data last time they got from my couple and check again. I phoned and Checked with L and G by phone 08003165591 , which on L and G web, also my first time phoned, a confirmed staff of L & G found no records of my data and discussed deal quota on L & G. What happened on L & G phone service, what staff did?!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"been trying for 2 weeks to cancel my policy,sent two secure mails only managed to get through via phone twice and person still did not do what was requested,have not refunded direct debit or replied to messages,worst company I have ever dealt with"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"on two occasions I have taken out a policy using this company. The first time the contact email on the confirmation letter / email was wrong, it took time to establish that it was not just down. When I went to tell them this their webpage only give options related to specific queries for contact. Eventually I got through to them via Twitter but even that took over 6 days and then another 4 days of investigating. By then I was tempted to drop the policy, now in the light of the new problem I am regretting continuing. They are all about themselves and don’t think about their audience or clients, eg defensive unhelpful mentality which can clearly be seen in their website where their methods of contact are clearly controlled and are to suit the company and not themselves. The second incident is a non-refund of a premium taken despite a cancellation email being sent to them within hours of the contract, no confirmation of cancellation has been sent either by mail or email. Endless phone calls (different department so could find number) to find out if they got email, eventually I got a verbal confirmation that they did and that policy has been cancelled and that funds would be in bank in two days. I expect (after 6 days of checking inc w/e) I’ll have to spend hours reaching out to them on the phone today only to be told the same. FRUSTRATING Policy cancelled 24th July Premium taken 25th July Notified premium not returned multiple times Still awaiting return of return on 8 August Update - they asked me to contact them following this review, see response below. Which I did and 4 days later I have had no acknowledgement of my email and I am waiting their response Update - 15 August - no premium return yet. The complaints number that they gave me is no longer working."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"A total disgrace of a company, never replied to emails,phone calls , customer service is the worst I have experienced!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Next doors pipes burst and came into my house they admitted gilt and was insured with legal and general but I have to pay £500 aces, we have one room running through to lounge they ripped wall paper of one side and fire Brest witch was flock paper they will not put flock back on and they will only decarate one side / they renewed the dado rail with different style now it does not match I'm left with a nother bill , non of this is how falt and it's going to cost me around £1200 , bear in mind it was next doors pipe work that burst and came in Howe house , Ho skirting put on but in 5 picess not one or 2 looks verry bad ,so be awear when insuring what are you covers for .this just seams to be robbery on their behalf. Wood definitely not recommend had a lot of trouble with them and it's been 6 months now will think twice againe before insuraning againe , big firms like this just getaway with it 👎😡"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Legal & General is rated 2.23 based on 277 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support