Lancaster Insurance Reviews

2.08 Rating 157 Reviews
25% of reviewers recommend Lancaster Insurance
784 Review Views (past 24 hours)
02AM - 4AM
18 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
40 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
41 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
82 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
40 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
213 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
98 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
35 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
63 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
95 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
38 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
21 Review Views
02AM
2AM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Lancaster Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
"Have been with Lancaster for a couple of years. Have just received my renewal and delighted to find it is cheaper than last year! Have always found them very easy to deal with. The service was so good this year I was inspired to leave a review, something which I don't normally do. I looked around for a review site and have just spent some time reading back through some of the negative comments. What i've noticed is most of the negativity comes from people wanting to cancel . You should realise that insurance is an annual product. You wouldn't take half a loaf of bread back to Tesco's and ask for half of your money back so why would you think that you can cancel your insurance and get half back? Anyway, Top Marks from me Lancaster. Many thanks :-)"
Posted 4 days ago
Are you Lancaster Insurance? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Very unhappy customer , Carpenter solicitors are dreadful"
Posted 4 days ago
"Very dissapointed with the service I’ve got from carpenters"
Posted 5 days ago
"I am having issues with Lancaster insurance. I took a policy out with them about 6 weeks ago. When I phoned for a quote they seemed professional and offered a reasonable price on the policy. I was asked if I wanted Legal protection to which I replied no. I was originally quoted another 30 quid for it but as it was a limited miles policy I really wasn't bothered about it. I was then told they could do a deal on my policy and they could discount the legal protection so that it wasn't costing any extra and therefore appeared foc. I agreed to that and took out policy. Move forward 6 weeks and I swopped my car. I called Lancaster to swop my insurance over to my new vehicle, a 2007 57 plate Boxster. They stated the change over would be an additional £500+ for the change. I said that that was far too much as I could get a brand new policy for less than £400. I asked for them to cancel my policy which was only £175 for the year (on a eunos roadster) I was shocked to be told that despite only having the policy for 6 weeks I would have to pay a £70 arrangement fee, a £29 cancellation fee and wait for it, £29.95 for the (free) legal protection. So despite having already paid just over £40 of the original £175 premium, to cancel I would effectively have to pay up the same as the cost of the whole policy. They stated that I would still have to pay for the legal protection as it was discounted when I took the policy out and should I cancel the policy I would then have to pay for it in full. I have spent almost 2hrs in total so far with Lancaster Insurance disputing this as I have told them I wont pay the Legal protection charge as I never wanted it in the first place. I raised a complaint with them over this charge 9 days ago. So far the complaints team, who I was told are "very busy" (wonder why) haven't had chance to listen to the original phone calls when I took the policy out which will clearly show I did not ask for the protection. Meanwhile I am still paying the direct debit payments for this policy as they wont cancel this until the complaints team have looked at it. Looking on google about Lancaster Insurance this is a very common theme and have extremely poor feedback. They make it impossible for you to swop your insurance over onto a new vehicle by giving you an inflated price then when you are forced to cancel they make up fees so that you end up paying for your old policy anyway. Not a good experience and they have lost me as a future customer forever along with everyone else that seems to ever want to change their vehicle. A very short sighted business operation imo. Beware!!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I took out insurance with these people and was quoted a sum online Then after I had paid a deposit then the rest to be paid monthly was sent paperwork 4 days later with an inflated price of over £70 was not told at any stage a finance company would be involved After spending 40 minutes on hold waiting to be connected was told I had 14 days in which to cancel and would be refunded full amount So asked them to cancel Then 1 week later get threatening letters from them saying they will send debt collectors for £50 outstanding money I apparently owe them KEEP WELL AWAY TOTAL RIP OFF AND ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY THEY DONT ANSWER THE PHONE"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"HELLO,AVOID this company no matter how cheap you think they are,there web site is a joke ,try cancelling a policy ,forget it,try customer service ,forget that to,refund a joke ,i tried to cancel 3 months early and was told my refund after charges was £7.62p work that one out on a £500 plus policy ,for once i believe every negative review ive read, DO YOURSELF A BIG FAVOUR ,go elsewhere, ROBERT,"
Posted 1 month ago
"Dave, On renew told the agent that the statement of fact needed details changed. Didn't seem to listen just seemed what to take the renew premium.Sent endless E-Mails prior to the inception date but no reply to any E-Mails.Still didn't receive an updated statement of fact. Rang customer services on August 2nd but still nothing resolved. Contacted customer services again and suggested that I would probably have to pay an extra £30 for adjusting the paperwork that was requested 10 days prior to the renew date.I find this as an old customer totally unprofessional.Still waiting to get this resolved. Not a very painless process."
Posted 1 month ago
"Waited for 35 minutes on the phone to get through to customer 'service'. Eventually gave up and sent an email only to get an automated response saying that there would a delay in replying. Stiil no response the next day, tried calling and again gave up after 15 minutes of being told how important my call is. Obviously not important enough to employ enough staff to aswer it! Absolute cr*p!"
Posted 1 month ago
"tried to call and email for days , on hold all the time no reply to emails"
Posted 1 month ago
"AVOID THIS COMPANY Disgusting treatment when we changed vehicles. They couldn't add the new vehicle, so we would need to cancel WITH NO REFUND ON THE REMAINING 7 MONTHS OF THE POLICY, THAT WE PAID IN FULL. Not what you want to hear when you've been waiting to speak to someone for over half an hour."
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst insurance company ever !!! Avoid at all costs !!!"
Posted 2 months ago
"I took out insurance from this company, they wanted evidence of my no claims bonus and a photo of my car in my drive way ? I sent the items through a email as asked , I then received another email asking again so I sent it again had no response? I then get told in a email that they will no longer insure me ! I’ve not heard a thing regards to money that I’ve paid them . I have now had to pay out for another insurance so it’s cost me double . This is a very poor insurance brokers beware"
Posted 2 months ago
"I took out car insurance with Lancaster car insurance at the beginning of the year, paying for a year upfront. I believed that companies shared info of no claims, as previously I have automatically never had to provide. I was then told on the phone that I had to provide - so I sent it in the post to them. I heard nothing from the company. Meantime I had previously had a bad fall, involving broken bones so lots of hospital appointments and operations. Lancaster insurance phoned me during this period notifying me that they had not received my no claims bonus, I then sent them a copy of the one I originally sent as requested via email as they requested. Apparently, then they had sent me lots of demands for more money as my no claims was not in line with the disclosed. My mistake as the accident had taken its toil on my memory. I never heard from the company again, so assumed things were in order. I did however, remember telling them that my preferred method of contact was text message rather than phone or email. I phoned up the company today mortified that they cancelled my policy without telling me back in April. How can they ethically and morally do this? Ironically, all the time I couldn’t drive I was insured and all the time I have been driving I haven’t been insured. I was only notified by an automated police recognition numberplate system, which showed me an error in my ways. Furthermore, this company want to charge me additional premium of £46.80 (Inclusive of our £30 administration fee) had been applied. £96.98             Insurer time on risk charge £70.00 ,Arrangement fee (Non-refundable outside the fourteen day cooling off period)£30.00, Mid-term adjustment fee £50.00  Cancellation fee £238.70           Total cost to cancel £211.15           Total Paid in full £27.55             Total balance outstanding They only insured me 3 months when I wasn’t even driving. They also disclosed they had an really old email gained from a previous application, that wasn’t even updated when I sent them evidence of my no claims. I believe this is rip off Britain at its most prolific, as I was not only in a very vulnerable state, but there was no interest to contact me to tell me that I was driving illegally. I am now having to cycle with my many injuries and would like some adjustment of power imbalance, so this does not happen to another unsuspecting goodwill person."
Posted 2 months ago
"Truly appalling company to deal with and, having now read some of the reviews below, its pretty obvious that they are scammers. Having paid my premium - which admittedly was much lower than other companies (danger sign..!) - I NEVER EVER received any papers from them just demands for extra money when, having sent them photos of where the car was parked (off-street in a very secure residential area of Brighton Marina which has its own 24 hour security and loads of cameras), they claimed it wasn't secure and demanded more money. I had to send the extra money otherwise they were threatening to cancel the policy. Having sold my car - I was only insured through them for about 2 months - I have been trying to contact them for weeks. I have never ONCE got through to their "customer service" line - they just keep you on hold forever and every minute or so a recorded voice cuts in to say "you will be answered soon". Having only a pay-as-you-go sim I must have spent £20 or more on many futile attempts to speak to someone. Needless to say they don't have an 0800 number. If you try to contact them via email you get an automated reply (sometimes, but not always) saying that they are very busy and a reply might take several days or longer. The email says "if urgent it is better to phone us"..!!! But if you phone they never reply - at least not in a reasonably short time. What a CATCH-22 situation..!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Very poor customer service, cancellation fees are double the yearly insurance. When added extra person my insurance went twice as much when wanted to remove they added another adjustment fee, but the insurance will not go down anyway. They renewd without informing me in any form. Very bad company to reach I have spend many days on hold trying to reach them just to hear to be called back which never happened."
Posted 3 months ago
"awful company. sold my car took 4 days to get through to them to be spoken to by a rude lady. now there wanting £97.00 for canceling it. not a chance. im takeing this further. stay away from this rip off company."
Posted 3 months ago
"Dreadful, stay well clear. Poor customer services and terrible claims handling"
Posted 4 months ago
"Dreadful customer service and very unprofessional claims handlers who basically interrogated me for a stolen vehicle. They were reported to trading standards. I would strongly recommend you insure elsewhere and save yourself the stress and frustration. Been on hold now for 30minutes trying to contact them!!"
Posted 4 months ago
"So friendly o telephone assisted immediately and solved problems quickly"
Posted 4 months ago
Lancaster Insurance is rated 2.08 based on 157 reviews