elephant.co.uk Reviews

3.26 Rating 100 Reviews
58% of reviewers recommend elephant.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate elephant.co.uk ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"They steal money of my account without giving a explain what for they charge me !!!!!!!!! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Absolutely appalling customer service, Had over 9 years No Claims Bonus, had an uninsured driver hit ME and is being dealt with by the Motor Insurance Bureau so they not only decided to leave me with 3 years No Claims Bonus but automatically renewed my motor insurance at DOUBLE the cost!.. then they want £ 50 for me to cancel! Pay more and AVOID this company!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Been with Elephant for just under 10 years. When I had an accident that was NOT my fault, they abandoned the case and ruled in favour of the third party, costing me my no claims bonus. My insurance then sky rocketed to ridiculous amounts. Although I argued that the accident was not my fault, they insisted that they wouldn't take the case any further. AVOID ELEPHANT!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been with Elephant for over 7 years and in all that time, I protected my No claims discount, which is now 15 years worth. This June, I was unfortunate enough to scrape my car on a lamp post and had to claim. When I got my renewal, they had increase my price by 52% from £460 to £703. I shopped around and found exactly the same cover with Aviva for £320, so I am switching over. When I asked what the reason for the 52% hike in price was all about, the agent told me that despite my 15 years No Claims Bonus being intact; they had to increase my premium due to the risk. I won't be going back there again. Very disappointed with them. Funny thing is that out of loyalty AND if the premium was similar to last years, I would have stayed with them. Greedy is all I can say."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"the worst experience in my life. never ever again. They scam you if you don't renew your insurance with them, Beware!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Had my policy with them with no claim for 2 1/2 years with two cars. This dropped to one car. I then sold my car knowing I wouldn't need another for 6 months and the charged me 50 pounds to cancel. Yes this is in the T and C's but this is basically a con. They said I had been a good customer (no claims) so all my money went in their pocket and I say I would look at them first in the future when I bought a car again. However not anymore, feel like I have been cheated. Even they call it a penalty fee. Would never do business with them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"****TIMEWASTERS***** - every time you call they give a different price, Every person you speak to has a different price and advice. There's no multi-car discount. They make mistakes which could potentially leave you with incorrect insurance. They tried to renew my insurance by and EXTRA £50 a month with no previous claims. Absolute clowns!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Quoted me £11,000 for the year where other companies were quoting me £1600. Absolute joke."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Very efficient service indeed. Their insurance is also very competitive for young drivers which is why I am writing this review ... My son has recently passed his test and this was his first insurance. The insurance purchased was suited and tailored to all his needs. Elephant also called us up today to just check on that my son was happy with his purchase and that everything was going tickety-boo. I cannot recommend them highly enough."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Elephant car insurance is ok, unless you have the misfortune to need to make a claim. Claim handling leaves a lot to be desired. I was involved in a no fault of my own motor accident, and 18 months down the line I am still awaiting financial settlement and referral to a specialist for the injury I sustained. If you have the opportunity to insure with another provider rather than Elephant, I would highly recommend that you do so and save yourself a lot of stress."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Had a pretty bad accident a few years ago which I admit was my fault, but Elephant are now refusing me full liability which means I now have to pay back an horrendous amount of money back to them. It’s all down to this imdemnity form which I signed, although I didnt actually know what is was about. They simply said if I don’t sign it they will keep hassling me until I do, feels like blackmail. This company has always tried to find ways of avoiding to pay up even though you are insured. I feel like I have been cheated by this company, yet there is nothing I can do about it, all they really care about is money. Elephant have pretty much ruined my life. Joke of a company, STAY AWAY!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"I was charged £19.50 for change of address"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Had my insurance with them for a number of years, last year I got 3 points on my license I told them this numerous times when renewing my policy last year however they have failed to put them on to my insurance. So for a year my insurance has been invalid without me knowing! All They have offered me is £20 compensation. Joke if a company."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"The company charges you for any changes to the policy, but doesn't amend the existing charge, because they claim that the amount is frozen. So even though that you improve your policy because you exchange the driving licence from EU to the UK, or you move to a better address makes no difference, but gives them an opportunity to charge you more."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I was over charged an amount and therefore received an email detailing the re-fund amount and why I was being refunded. I received the refund only to discover that elephant had tried to re-take the amount from my bank account without any prior warning or reasoning- which also resulted in a £30 bank fine for myself. When contacted they defended their action of trying to take money out of my account which I did not owe as I had paid my insurance off EARLY, therefore did not have to pay anymore direct debits. They could not give me a concrete reason as to why I had to pay back the refund and could not fluently give me explanations with facts and figures. Instead they demanded I pay back the refund without knowing why I had to. I pushed and pushed and at the end of a 30 minute phone call they said 'we may be wrong we'll look into it further, but even if we are you will have to pay the refund back as our accounts system requires it' because of a 'technical glitch'. God help an older person who would willingly pay that in fear without challenging them. Elephant is the saddest, most ridiculous and unprofessional insurance company I have ever come across. STAY AWAY!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Diabolical service dealt with that many call handlers one doesn't know what the other one is doing. Also different notes are put on each callers system which makes it even more confusing and the caseworker who processed it from the beginning must be the invisible man as we can never track him down or hes getting paid too much as hes always on holiday also there's never a manager available. Overall we are at the end of our tether with hour long phone calls each time. Definately wouldn't recommend this service to anyone. One frustrated customer. ????"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Bad experience with these guys. Firstly they messed up the direct debit date after being specifically asked to change the date twice. Secondly we realised the premium did not match the one that we originally signed up for. The second person I spoke to had a strong Pakistani accent and could hardly be understood. The third person was undestandle and slightly better informed about our issue, but still had the wrong details which resulted in a higher premium after we had agreed to one price. They claimed we didn't declare one of the additional drivers had done a speed awareness course, even though I did over the phone, and didn't think it important to inform me they had changed the premium before we had even made the first payment. I knew I was in the right, our Confirmational e mail proved it and the call was recorded, but couldn't be bothered to argue our point, as it had only gone up by Severn pound a month and didn't wish to waist any more time trying to talk to these people. I'm sure we are not the only people this has happened to, so it sounds like the company are going to be needing the Severn pound more than me. Compmaies with unhappy customers don't do well in the long run."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Without any claim even, they suggested that I had made a claim because I've asked what happens if I report an incident. This increase the costs of my insurance for 3 consecutive years at least even if I moved to another company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"After a non-fault accident i was promised a car on the day and to not go through with the claim with LV insurance (the insurance company of the driver to blame for the incident), even though they were able to send a car to my house later that evening. after several calls with elephant insurance, telling me to call different car hire providers, i have now 4 days after the accident still not got a courtesy car, despite the fact that they promised me one each day.. I am very dependent on having a vehicle, something i informed Elephant insurance about, however, they have failed miserably... I would not recommend Elephant insurance to anyone after this, as when you need them they are unable to uphold they promises. Seems like the smarter insurance company to choose would be Liverpool Victoria, as they would have been able to provide me with a vehicle on the day, had not Elephant insurance told me to not do it through them..."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Had a car accident which was my fault but elephant are refusing to pay out as I had previous NON FAULT accident."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
elephant.co.uk is rated 3.26 based on 100 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Get ready for our phone call!

We'll call you shortly. If you'd like to speak to us right away, please just call us on 0116 350 0610 .

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This