Animal Friends Reviews

Animal Friends have a Customer Happiness Grade of A-. Customers love their customer service and are happy with their prices. Full Insights

2.61 Rating 161 Reviews
39% of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate Animal Friends ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Terrible company - rip off!! My poor sister used these, I have recommended Pet Plan, who I use, so much better."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 minutes ago
"Wow. Is there anything they won’t try to wriggle out of paying? Take this advice - put the money aside in savings. Then at least you’ll have something to put towards vet bills. Charlatans."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Insured with them for years had to make a small claim and they refused to pay"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Our dog had a minor throat upset after running into a tree branch. After vet visit (£200) Animal Friends (the irony) said the vet had named the breed of our dog slightly different and our premium would have to increase by almost 50%! Our vet immediately said it was a mistake, put the breed as originally claimed and sent details to AF who then wrote to us weeks later to say our claim was now outside of the time limit! Avoid this company - as one other reviewer said, almost 55% of reviewers give this company one star! Says it all."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"using dental issues to get out of paying claims, even though dental problems was not the conclusion. Beware of this company, read all others reviews from other websites before purchasing any insurance with them"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My dog has to have 2-3 inches of her lower jaw removed, she has a benign cancer which is in the jawbone , animalnotfriends wil not pay using the “any dental or gum treatment”; when is the jawbone part of the gum or teeth, Beware by their definition, any problem involving the mouth even not teeth or gum related and you’ve had it, Avoid like the plague"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"WOW, doesn't seem to be any reputation management here, this score is more representative of the service you will get from this terrible company. I give ZERO STARS, IN FACT, A MINUS FIGURE WOULD BE MORE ACCURATE!!!!!! 53.25% of people rate this company 1 star."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Recently my dog refused a ear pollop removal ,as apparently he had an ear infection in 2016 before I took out a policy with animal friends , now looks like my dog will have to be put to sleep as I can't afford £2000 operation , i have never claimed for him and when I need help they fob me off ,devasted and angry ,stay away at all costs"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"never use them! dog got killed outright in car accident ....wouldn't pay a thing said it was our own fault ! shocking company avoid !"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Been great for us- two cats who cost altogether about £9k last year. Claims were settled direct to vet practice and specialists Premiums obviously increased which I expected but not massively that we can't afford it- so glad we have this insurance"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Beware the small print, Animal Friends deduct excess twice if condition carries on into another year e,g, I was paying £43 per month with an excess of £99., I had superior plus lifetime cover. Pet was Ill in May , policy automatically renewed 31st May, pet was treated for same condition in June so had to pay excess twice which was £198. Better off to insure pet whilst young, paying the low cost to draw you in. Meanwhile put money away each month, end insurance when price rockets and continue to self insure. Pet insurance is a racket designed to rob pet owners and make certain people very rich."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Was going to take out a policy today but the reviews are a horror show so i will stick with Pet Plan."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Animal friends come across as a very caring company who donates to Animal charities. This is how they attract their customers. In real life the staff are uncaring robots, untrained to check records and have no compassion for the sick animal. I shall be moving all my pets elsewhere. Also check the small print with senior policies."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Absolutely disgraceful company , staff are uncaring robots, policy schedule offered to customers bares no resemblance to policy after reading terms and conditions. don't pay out on death of pets over 8years old , yet I was not informed of this when buying policy."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"happy to offer a full quote , but then exclusions on terms and agreements are many please check very carefully . if pet is over 8 years old take care , these are highway robbers."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If your dog is over 12 months old they will not pay the full death cover they offer if your pet is unlucky to die."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Good price for lifetime insurance. Never had any issues and they donate to charity. what's not to love!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I would not recommend this company. Our dog was diagnosed with a slipped kneecap in May 2018. They have refused to pay stating it was a pre existing condition even though I'd been to my vet 4 times previously. I made a formal complaint and they use the vets notes and correspondence but did not address my issues. I have heard on various forums that they don't pay for claims so be warned."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My dog was insured by Animal Friends. He developed a leg issue whilst under their policy. They decided to disallow a genuine claim based on a technical issue and then went even further and advised that they would also exclude the condition from any further coverage. Terrible company with no compassion or intention to assist. Clearly just making money with no focus on pet care. Could have lived with the first issue - but then to decide to disallow a genuine condition because they now know about it - cold and money focused."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"6 month old pup jumped over a wall and banged his mouth and ended up having to have his roots removed after his teeth fell out. Small print says they don’t cover dental work despite it being an accident. Looking forward to not renewing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Animal Friends is rated 2.61 based on 161 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This