Animal Friends Reviews

2.87 Rating 125 Reviews
46% of reviewers recommend Animal Friends

How would you rate Animal Friends?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

125 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Mary
I was recommended animal friends by college and at first impression everything was great, easy to set up, low policy fees and then my colleague had issues making a claim to do with a pre-existing condition. I called and spoke to a young girl who quite frankly I doubt had a single brain cell so I asked to speak to a manger and was eventually called back by a girl called Laura who said she was "Team Leader" if shes an experienced team leader I will eat my hat! She had no idea what was going on, no medical experience and quite frankly gave me the worst customer service I've ever experienced. My colleague was right, they do scam you out of money! Stay away from this company! They will scam you and not pay out.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Animal Friends in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"I was recommended animal friends by college and at first impression everything was great, easy to set up, low policy fees and then my colleague had issues making a claim to do with a pre-existing condition. I called and spoke to a young girl who quite frankly I doubt had a single brain cell so I asked to speak to a manger and was eventually called back by a girl called Laura who said she was "Team Leader" if shes an experienced team leader I will eat my hat! She had no idea what was going on, no medical experience and quite frankly gave me the worst customer service I've ever experienced. My colleague was right, they do scam you out of money! Stay away from this company! They will scam you and not pay out."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Stacey Glasby-Simpkins
Verified Reviewer
"Even 1* is generous! Will use any trick to get out of paying a claim including not reviewing medical proof about the condition you’re claiming for! Avoid at all costs!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I would like to thank Animal Friends for the caring and prompt way they dealt with our claim when our little Yorkshire Terrier had to be put to sleep owing to illness. I received a cheque within three weeks. Thank you Animal Friends."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"When my dog was ill sent inappropriate emails so I complained. When my poor dog died, I was sent another very upsetting and inappropriate email. I again complained and was told that I have to wait 8 weeks for a response. I will NEVER use this company again, no matter how much cheaper they are as you will only know how good an insurance company is when you need them."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Apalling company to deal with. Refused a small claim on a technicality. Hate to think anyone had a large claim. Switched from tesco last year to save a few pounds and wish I hadn't now. Luckily I can afford the vets bills but others wont be so lucky."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Animal Friends have always paid out very timely for my Cat and my Mums dogs, Alot of negativity about Pre Existing conditions here, If you are upfront with all treatment they will be with exclusions, It isn't there fault if you thought as it had been treated it would be covered again? I had the eyes excluded as my cat had a scratch to it before but because i ;let them know i knew that when i took the policy, Great company with a great ethos"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Well all I can say is I wish I had read the reviews before I insured my dog with this nightmare company! My 6 year old labrador spent 2 nights at my vets after vomiting continually for hours. I am now over £1400 out of pocket because they will simply make any excuse to not pay out. I should have known because when my vet asked who I was insured with, he rolled his eyes and shook his head when I said 'Animal Friends'. He said they were pretty much the worst he'd ever known for paying out. Another vet I have spoken since said the same thing! AVOID!! I'd give them zero stars if it would let me. ps On a brighter note, thankfully my lovely lab is back to her bright happy self again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My cat had to have a blood test and I was going to go ahead with or without the insurance. My vet was helpful and called the company to ask if it'll be covered. The answer was yes. My vet took care of everything and sent off all the documents for me. 6 months later, I was told by the vet they were coming up with different excuses to refuse the claim. I was surprised to hear this as I was about to upgrade the insurance cover. They claimed they didn't receive the documents, although I received a copy at the same time. Then they started to say the insurance doesn't cover the condition because it's over 12 months she was first treated for the same condition (which I didn't make a claim for). My main complaint was that they should've told us this information when the vet contacted them in the first place. We wasted 8 months trying to chase the claim and having arguments etc. I tried to get my point across but it's just a waste of time. The insurance is cheap because they don't pay out. They make a business out of the pet owners who really care about animals and don't care about anything else. Nasty bunch of people."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I was walking my Cockapoo in a park, decided to lead him up from the middle of the park to take home, something got him excited and he flew across the park to the road, and was clipped by a car. No real damage thank goodness but a £400 vet bill. We paid the excess of £100 and put a claim in for the balance. They will not pay it as our dog slipped the lead, I said that 99% of dogs are walked off lead in the park, and they said that if the dog was off lead that also is not covered. I said that dogs are walked off their leads as they need/enjoy the exercise, and anywhere, including beaches a dog is capable of running to a road, response was that the owner should at all times be in control. From my one and only attempt to claim I have seen that they are an absolute con company. You think that you have done the correct thing by being fully insured, only to find out that the policy is worthless. I wish that I had read others reviews 1st, this experience has cost me premiums paid to date plus £400 vets fee."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"This company pull on the heart strings of pet owners, and then when it comes to the vital period, where they should be supporting you, they end up refusing to pay out based on some legal technicality which is a long stretch from responsible, ethical or "friendly". Insurance companies are there to help you through the hard times (that is why we pay them so much money), and when they refuse to support you based on a stupid contractual technicality (because they can afford bigger fancier lawyers than you), then they don't deserve your custom, or anyone elses at that! Not to mention that fact that they weren't in a rush to do anything, which is really quite important when you are watching your pets vet bill rack up by the hour!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Henry Crosby
Verified Reviewer
"This company pull on the heart strings of pet owners, and then when it comes to the vital period, where they should be supporting you, they end up refusing to pay out based on some legal technicality which is a long stretch from responsible, ethical or "friendly". Insurance companies are there to help you through the hard times (that is why we pay them so much money), and when they refuse to support you based on a stupid contractual technicality (because they can afford bigger fancier lawyers than you), then they don't deserve your custom, or anyone elses at that! Not to mention that fact that they weren't in a rush to do anything, which is really quite important when you are watching your pets vet bill rack up by the hour!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Shocking company!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"policy discourages you from taking an animal to the vet as any claim made is tenuously linked back to a “previous condition” and won’t be honoured .augmentative, confrontational staff and definitely not ethical."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Mrs Thompson
Verified Reviewer
"I wish I could give this company no stars, long story short, my dog had a mast cell tumour,but they said because it was diagnosed as a simple wart a couple of years ago,( 2 vets said it was nothing to worry about) just a wart ,2 years later we noticed a change,so vet sent samples to lab, it came back as a low grade mast cell, vet did good job,my dog is fine now,but Animal Friends after us paying the first £100, they wouldn’t pay the £400 insurance owing. We have changed insurance company now."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"At the insurance renewal for my dog, it has increased by 25% since last year despite no claims in the last year. When I spoke with Chloe she showed no signs of empathy. It's obviously just a job to her and the company name "Animal Friends" is just a joke. I appreciate things go up each year but 25% ? Really? I won't be renewing my other dog's insurance policies either."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"DO NOT USE. Never claimed in 8 years and then claim rejected and landed with £4K vet fees!! Every vet I've spoken to has said to steer clear as they'll do anything to not pay out!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"QUITE SIMPLE READ EVERYONE ELSES THERE IS MORE BAD REVIEWS THAN GOOD, STILL WAITING FOR MY CLAIM TO BE SETTLED 14 WEEKS ON NO VET WILL BILL THEM DIRECT DUE TO NON PAYEMENT TO 6 MONTHS WAITING PAY A LITTLE EXTRA AND GET GOOD SERVICE, GOOGLE THERE REVIEWS TO SEE HOW BAD THEY ARE EVEN WATCHDOG ON BBC TV SHOWED HOW BAD THEY WERE"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ken From Hindley Wigan
Verified Reviewer
"Made a claim in November 2017 still waiting said they will process the clam, keep saying they need my bank details sent 3 times and still no money this company is the carrilion of pet insurance big cash flow problems buy at your own risk been with them 10 years even hadto renew insurance with them in December 2017 they want your money but wont part with there money, shame on them"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Hard to judge an insurer until you need them but the buying process was painless and the price was good."
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"Robbing company do not give them your money"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Animal Friends is rated 2.87 based on 125 reviews