Furniture Village Reviews

1.32 Rating 109 Reviews
6% of reviewers recommend Furniture Village
Visit Website

Phone:
0800 804 8879

Email:
online@furniturevillage.co.uk

Location:
258 Bath Road
Slough

Categories:
Home & Garden
Furniture
Home & Garden
Furniture

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Furniture Village ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Harriet Robertson
Verified Reviewer
"Waited 6 weeks for a bed to arrive. It collapsed on one side. Have slept on a two seater sofa for three weeks only to be told that it will be a further 6 weeks for a replacement bed to arrive. 15 weeks squashed on a sofa after spending over £2000 on a bed. Shocking. Customer Care just don't care"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Brought sofa, from furniture village mk , picked a colour from a swatch in store order.. ( grey colour ) near entrance door, Get it delivered and it’s looks brown. They don’t tell you at the time of ordering that it changes colour when you get home . Been calling all week, day after it got delivered... And was within my rights .im not happy with it .. Called customer care team , but they didn’t “care “. Went to store, spoke to store manager was very rude , to me .cant believe they won’t swap it , I’m taking this further this is disgusting."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Long Island Dining Table......Nottingham furniture village lied about selling the quality of a dining table that cost over 3500 and no apology and customer service say they can't do anything and I can't escalate this. I am disappointed and disgusted with the service. I have been told I can escalate this to the ombudsman and trading standards which they clearly failed to tell me! Will never ever buy from here again!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Purchased an expensive dining table a month ago and first time entertained guests. It's full of scratches despite having Matt's and coasters on it. Sales repsaid he was the store general manager and said the table was hard wearing, which was both found to be untrue!! Now the store manager is telling me this is normal and is not prepared to take this back! Disgusted with the customer service despite purchasing a lot of items from here. Will not be going back! And customer service team are saying we can't do anything as you have to take this up with James the store manager! Disappointing service.....selling such poor quality tables! And it's obvious the hard wearing u claim is not fit for its purpose! It feels like you are ripping customers off with cheap quality products. Will not keep quiet and escalating this further!! my concerns are still the same after customer service response is That I have been misold an item by your sales rep who lied about being the manager and stated this is a hard wearing table! I am shocked how u can sell something so poor quality and then lie to sell the table! The table has lots of scratched after 1 use! For me this is poor quality and I want the table exchanging for another table at no loss as I am not at fault! Your technician clearly stated high gloss tables and scratches very easily which has happened here. Your sales advisor lied to me thru out the sale in Nottingham. What are you going to do about this as I am one unhappy customer who has purchased a lot of items from your store and I am extremely disappointed how FV just don't care and are not accepting liability of miselling an item to a customer....forget about being a very good customer......"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"In January this year we bought a sofa bed from Furniture Village in Tamworth, Staffordshire. It arrived in March, and after a week we felt that the cushions weren’t properly filled as the material crumpled. The salesman in the store didn’t want to know – he said that’s the way it is, even though the sofa bed in the store didn’t look crumpled in the same way. He told us to complain to Furniture Village Customer Services which eventually resulted in an independent technician coming out in April, who told us we had nothing to complain about – he was totally biased, and ignorant! We asked a local upholsterer to have a look – he saw the problem and said we needed another 2” of foam in each seat cushion – a mere £110. Before doing anything, on 4th May I sent a recorded delivery letter to Peter Harrison, the CEO of Furniture Village, who is quoted in The Business Magazine as saying that he wants the business to go on and on and on, and to do the things that they believe in – serve customers right and give customers a good deal. It’s now June 1st – no reply, we’ve been totally ignored - not even an acknowledgement. This is really unacceptable from a company which professes to want to serve customers properly. Beware – Furniture Village are very good at smiling and giving you a cup of coffee, taking your money and then running! If you have a problem, they don’t want to know. My experience as taught me one thing – never go to Furniture Village again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Karen Gibbons
Verified Reviewer
"Every thing went wrong. Never buy a sofa from furnitue village as this company can't resolve any issues and are incompetent in every way. Company is a shambles and they don't care about customers. All they want is your money. They say they know about all the problems in the company but do nothing. Steer clear of this company if you don't want grief. Full of promises that they do not keep. I have never in my life wrote a review on a company but I don't want anyone to go through what we went through. We ordered 2 bond street sofas and table and chairs. We were told to pay the balance which we did as the table had arrived in ware house. We were then told the company had gone bust and they were trying to find another company. Orpington furniture village say they were given wrong information. We then told them they should deliver sofas as we couldn't wait another 3 months for table. They tell you to contact ware house for delivery but they never pick up the phone or answer emails. Again back to Orpington so they could resolve ware house problems. Finely after so many problems we are given a date. But only 1 sofa turns up and no scatter cushions. Again back to shop. We did not know they were meant to unpack sofa and put feet on. Ken the manager phoned the ware house and told them it was unacceptable. They then delivered the other sofa and found scatter cushions. The issues just got worse as 1 arm was completely broken and wobbled, discoloured patches, the feet were put on the wrong way and 1 arm was straight and the other sticking out. We refused sofas and delivery men took 1 sofa back and Ken told us to keep one so we had something to sit on. He told us 2 new sofas would be reordered. After 8 weeks again back to shop as no news. They could not believe we had not heard anything. Then told us they had not even been ordered as it was services thought. They just all blame each other but costumer has still no sofas after 5 months. They said services had fixed broken arm in ware house but we paid for 2 new sofas. Not a sofa that has been fixed. Ken said he could not believe how many chances they had been given to resolve all the problems. We then spoke to his manager and said we wanted our money back but he tried saying we could not have all our money back. I explained that the only reason they had all our money was cause they told us table had arrived which it hadn't and sofas were all defected. He only said I could have all our money back when I quoted our consumer rights. He then said we would not be given all our money as we still had their borrowed sofas. I asked for compensation due to all the distress, continuously driving to the shop, time with emails and phoning but he said no because we were being given our money back. They have had our money for 5 months and we have had nothing but stress and anger. We then receive a letter saying they hope we enjoyed our bond street sofas and that they endeavour to provide the highest level of service. Not 1 department knows what the other one is doing. We have been treated with no respect at all. Karen"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Finally my suite has been delivered, it arrived at approximately 11am today, after returning home from a shopping trip we thought hmmm a nice comfy sit in our new suite, my hubby sat in 1 of the armchairs and after about an hour he got up to get a drink and noticed that the seat cushion material has stretched and has creased into folds, surely 1 hour of sitting in a brand new chair should not have devloped such a fault. I have called the customer service team who have asked for photo,s of the seat and will then decide if they will send a technichian to see if its a manufacturing fault.I reiterate that the suite had been in my home for only 4 hours when this fault manifested its self. Surely this must be a fault at maufacturing point, my hubby is not a big heavy man and could not have caused this stretching. After reading other reviews about this company I wont be holding my breath about getting anything down. What I feel like doing is dumping this suite outside the store and warning others not to even think of spending good money with this shoddy outfit and their shoddy goods."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very unprofessional, no customer care and don't feel a valued customer! I ordered wardrobes in JAN and we are now in week 14 and still waiting. Was given a date a few weeks ago for fitting last Friday, only to be rang Thursday evening at 8pm advising the wardrobes are not in the warehouse.... I've been told various stories by the Store, from order being cancelled by mistake.... order found and in the warehouse..... warehouse say wardrobes are still in Germany.... Awaiting an update later this afternoon. My advice to anyone thinking of purchasing goods from Furniture Village should think twice."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I wish I had read these reviews before ordering a suite from this company, I most certainly would of gone elsewhere. Was told 10 to 12 weeks delivery, thats gone by and we are still waiting, have spoken to customer support who assured me 3 weeks ago that my suite was at the docks waiting on customs clearance, have now been told, thats nor quite the truth as the suite is not due into uk until 8th of may and that delivery will be around a week later, seems the right hand dosent know what the left hand is doing. If all the reviews regarding this companies goods are true we will buying a new suite within months and not years, that will teach me to be more thorough and read up company reviews. Well fingers crossed we will be an exception and get a decent suite."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Purchased an expensive dining table and sideboard from furniture village Nottingham a month ago and first time entertained guests. It's full of scratches despite having Matt's and coasters on it. Sales repsaid he was the store general manager and said the table was hard wearing, which was both found to be untrue!! Now the store manager is telling me this is normal and is not prepared to take this back! Disgusted with the customer service despite purchasing a lot of items from here. Will not be going back! And customer service team are saying we can't do anything as you have to take this up with James the store manager! Disappointing service.....selling such poor quality tables! And it's obvious the hard wearing u claim is not fit for its purpose! It feels like you are ripping customers off with cheap quality products. Will not keep quiet and escalating this further!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Don't Buy From This Company. You Will Regret It..
Verified Reviewer
"It's not possible to leave a no star review. We spent almost £3000 on a Salvador Chaise Sofa, a swivel chair and matching stool. The sofa legs broke and almost 5 months later we are still awaiting new legs and joining clips. Their customer service ( if you can call it that) is horrendous. We have referred our complaint to the ombudsmen. Steer clear of this company. I fully expect a prolonged battle with this company and will never buy anything from them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Paul Biddlecombe
Unverified Reviewer
"Why can't a reviewer choose no stars? is there a point to these reviews? Does the company ever read them? Respond to them? I posted a review over a month ago that my 93 year old dad's electric reclining chair, that he needs for a bad leg, had stopped working. We reported it at the end of December to FV and it's still not fixed. There have been four engineer visits and the part not ordered for weeks, and now the wrong part has been sent twice! You really couldn't make it up."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Wish we had read these reviews before purchasing our suite! We purchased a Parker Knoll suite with manual recliners, delivery was very good, within 6 weeks. Delivery 'lads' very nice and careful but on unpacking the suite discovered they hadnt sent the correct bolts to attach the settee...also discovered that the chair and settee were extremely hard to recline. FV were notified right away by the delivery lads and myself...i was promised that admin would deal with it on the monday. When the delivery lads left we realised the feet of the chair were the wrong colour! I rang FV back and reported this as well. Customer service is a disgrace, many phone calls and emails. Had to involve Parker Knoll who were upset about the incidents but said they couldnt become involved until FV had sent a report in. Still no report from them so I rang yet again and was told they had sent report that day...almost 3 weeks since delivery. Finally had a technician come on saturday but no thanks to FV...this was because i recontacted Parker Knoll to ask if they had received the report...they hadnt but they took it upon themselves to send the bolts and correct coloured feet. On saturday whilst fixing the feet on we noticed the lining underneath the armchair is ripped in 2 places. The techinician reported it to Parker Knoll and i received an email monday to say theyve ordered replacement lining and it will be replaced as soon as possible. So, to sum up...do not use Furniture Village for anything, customer service is non existent, nobody is interested and they simply do not care."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Would be easier to say what went right and that is nothing dont ever use this company bought reclining leather sofa and dining table both arrived damaged 5 separate visits by "engineers" final visit confirmed that recliners were delivered damaged but still took threat of legal action to get any response from the company do not ever waste your money with this company all they want to do is take your money for shoddy goods"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Utterly shocking - incompetent and total disregard for even a basic level of customer service. Having reported a faulty mattress on a sofa bed (metal spring protruding from mattress) we were offered a complete replacement sofa bed. I also raised a secondary claim for a suit that was torn on the spring - the suit claim was paid out but only after chasing and threatening to go to the small claims court. The replacement sofa was delivered and the old one collected. The delivery team failed to secure the bed mechanism and subsequently gauged the wallpaper and plaster in our hallway and stairs. The delivery driver even stated ‘ he was being lazy not fastening the mechanism’. Third claim now raised and we are dealing with the Warehouse Manager ?!?!? Furniture Village send their ‘decorators’ round and we agree the making good and decorating. Decorator’s arrive and state they can touch in the textured wall paper rather than wall papering over. I agree as long as they can match the texture. Suffice to say they filled the wallpaper, did not even sand it and there was no effort to match the texture. Plaster was not filled, paint not cut in so previous colour visible in places, one coat only so old previous colour visible under full light and...... Paint on the carpet, Paint on the decking and brickwork outside. You are incompetent at every level with a complete disdain for you customers. It is with regret that I have to resort to social media and review sites in order to be heard."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Poor quality sofa with "puddles", dressing issue and too soft cushions, unlike in the shop, within weeks from delivery. Getting out of shape within 3 months. Staff in the shop friendly to sell, but neither them or the Customer Aftercare feel any responsibility towards the defect. Overpriced poor quality and no guarantee followup."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I am a previous employee of the reading branch ,the furniture gets damaged a lot and it was my job to repair it, I was giving wax to fill chips and damages in the wood and colouring pens to colourer in the scratches in the leather I was over worked and didn't get payed nearly 2 k in wages at the end. I wouldn't recommend the furniture village to anyone horrible place to of worked and they don't care.shop elsewhere"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I bought a side board in December from slough on my credit card. 3 attempts to deliver. 1st attempt they said we won’t take it to your 1st floor and they declined the delivery without even coming to the property. Second attempt the side board was so badly damaged that the loaders just put it back in the van before even getting it inside my house. 3rd attempt loafers wanted me to sign a disclaimer that I would be responsible for damages to my property or the sideboard in the attempt to install. Still waiting for an answer from the store manager (who actually advised me not to sign the disclaimer as he had never heard of this). Still paying interest on my credit card. And lost 3 days of my holiday."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"bought 2 leather settees in june 2017, rang furniture village in march 2018 as one of the cushions is sagging. engineer came out and said it was not structural so received letter from furniture village stating that cushions sagging is not covered by warranty. it's due to ware and tear. doesn't say much for the padding in the cushions as there are only two 70 year olds sitting on these settees, none of us are overweight, we rotate the settees monthly, we have no grandchildren jumping on them, so can only assume whatever padding is in the cushions is poor quality. would never buy from furniture village again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Anonymous
"Purchased mattress. The on-line price was far cheaper then in-store. When I contacted the store they said it was an error ! Very disappointed :-("
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Furniture Village is rated 1.32 based on 109 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This