First Tutors Reviews

4.6 Rating 8,426 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
4.6
Based on 8,426 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The hired teacher didn’t fulfill the agreement.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Alexander, I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has let you down and appreciate this is not the experience you were hoping for. As we hadn't heard from you to indicate a problem we haven't been able to help you yet. We have just sent you an email now to explain how you can choose a replacement tutor at no further cost which we hope will resolve matters positively for you. Please do reply directly to Customer Support with any questions or if you need assistance. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 weeks ago
So bad agency,asked me first to pay fee website to release tutors info and then the tutors wasted my son's time and no reply at all, asked them to refund my money back ,they kept wasted my time asked me to check with other tutors,be careful
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dear Mays, I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn't satisfactory. I see that our customer service was in contact with you to resolve the situation. We offered another tutor free of charge but you requested a refund which is in process in due course as confirmed to you via email. Kind regards First Tutors Customer Services
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello, Yes I made contact and explained Dimitrios has Crohns Disease and was in hospital. Now he is out and having treatment, he needs help to revise before his AS Level maths in a month or so. Sam says "sorry I full up". Of course I am very unhappy as Sam should not have accepted the introduction, then filled up without contacting me. This is a young person's future. Either refund the nonexistent introduction or find another tutor, with a moral standard. Iexpected a reputable tutor
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Anne, I am very sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience with your new tutor. We hadn't heard from you about the problem so we haven't been able to help yet, but I have just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor free of charge. I hope this will help to resolve the problem positively: please reply directly to Customer Support if you have any questions. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 month ago
At no point in the experience is it clear that you actually need to pay to get the tutors details. This sprung on you at the very last moment It's very briefly mentioned on the home page, but you need to scroll down the page I'm on a large monitor and still managed to miss it The tutor also wasn't aware of this
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Charles, We continually attempt to make improvements and changes to our service to make it as easy as  possible for students to find tutors, and for tutors to find new clients. The happiness and well-being of our users is extremely important to us. I would like to apologise if you felt our fees were unclear. Information surrounding our fees and how our business model works is displayed on our home page on the about us page on the help pages and also in our Terms & Conditions. First Tutors aims to be transparent with regards to our fees and I am going to ensure your comments are taken on board with our development team to see if this can be made clearer throughout the process to avoid similar discrepancies in the future.  Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 months ago
At no point in the experience is it clear that you actually need to pay to get the tutors details. This sprung on you at the very last moment It's very briefly mentioned on the home page, but you need to scroll down the page I'm on a large monitor and still managed to miss it The tutor also wasn't aware of this
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Charles, We are sorry to hear there has been a misunderstanding regarding how First Tutors works. Information surrounding our fees and how our business model works is displayed on our home page, about us page, the help pages and also in our Terms & Conditions. We also clearly explain to each tutor at the top of the tuition request how we operate. Please do reach out to us if you have any further queries. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 months ago
Paid £12 in order to access the tutor Had an intro chat with him .. Correspondence was great Face to face - talked the whole way through at us and my daughter barely managed to say a word! Played himself through the session until I suggested does he want to listen to how my daughter plays. This was in the last minute.. Very bizarre
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Farhana, I am very sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience with your new tutor. We hadn't heard from you about the problem so we haven't been able to help yet, but I have just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor free of charge. I hope this will help to resolve the problem positively: please reply directly to Customer Support if you have any questions. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 months ago
Canceled 10 min before tuition. The tution was not then rearrange and not very responsive
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Ahmed, I am very sorry to hear about this and appreciate your reason for concern. I have contacted you directly to advise how to leave feedback for your tutor in order to choose a replacement at no further charge. I am sorry that your experience so far has not been a good one, but I hope we can turn this around for you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, can’t comment as yet as the tutor has cancelled both of the times he was booked for.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Raza, I am very sorry to hear about this and appreciate your reason for concern. I have contacted you directly to advise how to leave feedback for your tutor in order to choose a replacement at no further charge. I am sorry that your experience so far has not been a good one, but I hope we can turn this around for you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 months ago
Confusing and difficult to understand, no mention of the need to pay for contact information before contact with the chosen tutor was allowed and after several failed e mails, that were censored by First Tutor, threats made against the tutor herself to remove her from the First Tutor site for breeching rules. Just not worth the effort and aggravation.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Ian, I am sorry to hear that you found the site confusing. We aim to make the process of contacting a tutor as streamlined as possible and are sorry you did not find this to be the case. We do indicate on the homepage that there is a fee payable to connect with your chosen tutor and we do not permit the exchange of contact details prior to our fee being paid. I see that you contacted Customer Support and we explained how the site worked, which I hope was helpful. I hope all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance please do get in contact with Customer Support again. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 4 months ago
Paid 20 euro and never got a grind.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has cancelled your lessons; I appreciate how disappointing this is and certainly not the experience you would be hoping for. Our Customer Support team has just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor at no further cost which we sincerely hope will help to resolve this matter positively for you. Please do look out for our email and reply directly to Customer Support. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 5 months ago
Tutor cancelled day before first lesson.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Nagina, I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has cancelled your lessons; I appreciate how disappointing this is and certainly not the experience you would be hoping for. Our Customer Support team have just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor at no further cost which we sincerely hope will help to resolve this matter positively for you. Please do look out for our email and reply directly to Customer Support. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 6 months ago
REFUND Sarah I am still waiting for my refund. Why are you keeping my money when I have never used your tutoring services?
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Jane, We are sorry to see your feedback. In instances where a tutor is not a good match, we are able to provide a replacement tutor at no further charge. I can see that you engaged with two tutors and made the decision to change tutors without giving the tutors the opportunity to have a first session. I have reviewed your account and can see that you have been given two replacement tutors free of charge. Please refer to your emails in relation to this matter. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 6 months ago
I never used any of the tutors or the service yet First tutors are refusing to refund me
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I am still awaiting my refund. I have never used the tutors or the service!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Leanne is a very poor teacher, she is not ready to teach someone child, I told her that my son is a slow learner and doesn't talk alot, I regret getting her to teach my son, in her first lesson she put him down saying he will not become a chiropractic, because he is slow dont want to learn, and that he should reach futher in his education, Leanne is very Negative, judgemental, sarcastic, and push for money ,her attitude is not ready, she dont care about children's educations, she brings her emotions in her job, she does not meet the professional standard for a teacher,she is very embarrassing ,for a teacher she most be more professional, leanne only teach my son 4 hr last week, October 21, I would not recommend LEANNE to NO ONE, we parent have to careful who we get to teach our children, Leanne brings her daughter into ur home on her job.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Cloverlyn, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with your tutor was not satisfactory. I have checked your records and see you didn't contact us about this so that we could help you source another tutor free of charge. I have now sent you an email explaining how to claim another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sally Customer service Team First Tutors.
Posted 6 months ago
Tutur sara not safe to teach
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear ? We are very concerned about your feedback comment regarding a tutor called Sara who is unsafe? Could you kindly email our customer service department (enquiries@firstutors.co.uk) so that we can investigate who this tutor so that we can take appropriate action. Kind regards Sally Customer Services First Tutors.
Posted 6 months ago
They took find the tutor charge £20 but after that that I did contact to hem but he never came to the tuition for
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Unable to help with my request (tutor to work with my child face to face at tutors choice of venue) despite this being an offered option on the website. I approached a number of local tutors some of whom were unresponsive - perhaps they were as disappointed by the site's service as I was - and when I thought i had found a suitable candidate discovered at the eleventh hour that my specific request of face to face working at the tutors choice of venue had not been passed on to them. This appears to be an issue with the first tutors website and not with the individual involved. I paid a £25 fee for the details of this tutor who was not able to offer what I needed. First tutors did offer to provide contact details of alternative tutoring candidates to me without further 'finders fee' charges however there were no other candidates on the site who were local, responsive and able to offer what my child required. I ultimately made alternative arrangements outside of the website somewhat poorer but certainly wiser - I suppose first tutors did teach me something just not what I'd wanted or needed
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
She couldn't help me with 4 pages of text.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Abdullah, We are very sorry to hear that you have been so disappointed with your tutor, we appreciate this is not the experience you would have been hoping for. We hadn't heard from you to indicate a problem with your tutor, so our Customer Support team have sent you an email this morning to explain how you can select a replacement tutor free of charge. Please do reply directly to Customer Support so we can hopefully resolve the matter positively for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 7 months ago
No show tutor but paid £15
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Natalie, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor failed to appear or contact you about the arranged tuition. We didn't receive communication from you so were unable to help. I have now sent you an email with instructions so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sally Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 7 months ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 8,426 reviews