First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 8,155 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I needed a tutor for music theory - explaining it was for a flautist. A top notch local musician came back and accepted my needs. I then paid for his details. After 4 exchanges he realised he could not teach the same theory to my flautist son as he was a drummer (I know nothing about music), so he had to decline the work. First tutors refused to refund the money and said I could find another tutor and they would reimburse me, but the two people outstanding I contacted didn't come back. I know it is not a lot of money but talk about cutting off your nose to spite your face. I would sack the employee who dealt with me.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Lucy, Thank your for your Feedback. We are sorry you feel this way about your interactions with First Tutors. I have emailed you asking for full feedback on the situation so we can best resolve it. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
Just wanted to let you know we haven't used tutor Nicholas Carpenter yet. We were hoping to start with him the end of August but he has let me know that he may now not be available. As I have paid the introductory fee for his details I would like to beable to contact another tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Elizabeth, I'm sorry to hear that you have had difficulty arranging a first session with Nicholas. If you had sent us a message via the "contact us" link at the bottom of the homepage we would have been more than willing to help you. We have just sent you an email explaining how to leave feedback and choose another tutor free of charge. Do get in touch with us if you have any further problems. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
I was charged £7.99 to get a tutor' s email address to find that she couldn't help me. No response to a refund request. Not happy at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Louise, We're sorry to learn of your disappointment but sadly did not receive an email from you so we were unable to help. I have sent you an email with the details on how you can obtain another Tutors details at no further cost. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
I had asked for feedback on two occasions and I did not get any feedback. My message was under review and a pertinent question was omitted from my message to the tutor. I did NOT try to provide my personal details and I did not ask for any. I merely asked if the tutoring can be done over skype sessions only? So the unmanned office picked up on a word and did not bother to reply to my messages. But after the query to review the original message to your "admin" office the message was sent to the tutor and he was just as confused over what would constitute a stringent censorship. As I also work for an online company I detest when our clients feel that they are talking to a brick wall. Seriously, you want me to rate this service. I am only receiving generic messages. Totally unmanned and the most frustrating position to be in from a prospective clients point of view. And then I get this generic reply to ask me to rate my experience? And I fell more frustrated than ever. A personal response would have solved all this utter frustration.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Lorraine, Thank you for taking the time to leave Feedback. Many of our emails are automated in order to provide a quick response time to the most common queries. However, we do encourage tutees and/or tutors to contact us again if they do not provide the answer you were looking for. In this case I can see our Customer Service team also responded to your queries in person via email. Regrettably, we do need to implement a system to control users that try to bypass our system by sending contact details or cryptic messages about finding them elsewhere on the internet! This is the reason why we have a system that automatically censors out some words. Our Customer Service team monitors all messages sent and as soon as a word is blocked that shouldn't be it is unblocked so both parties can read the message as it was intended. Customer feedback is always a useful way of being alerted to potential problems or issues faced when using the site. Please contact our Support Team if you have any further questions. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
I liked it it was fun
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The quality of teachers are very poor
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Seyed, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have had problems with your tutor and our Customer Support team would like to investigate this. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have contacted you via email with instructions on how to go about claiming another Tutor free of charge, and asking for your feedback about the site. Customer feedback is always a useful way of being alerted to potential problems or issues faced when using the site. If you have any further difficulty do get in touch with us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
It is not really good
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Seyed, Thank you for your feedback. We notice you have already left us a review. We are sorry to hear that you have had problems with your tutor and our Customer Support team would like to investigate this. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have contacted you via email with instructions on how to go about claiming another Tutor free of charge, and asking for your feedback about the site. Customer feedback is always a useful way of being alerted to potential problems or issues faced when using the site. If you have any further difficulty do get in touch with us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
My dealings with you were poor. I understand why organisations use email, I find it faceless, and a way of avoiding issues, also ironic when your stock in trade is communication, However I did manage to source a tutor so thanks for that.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Easy to use, professional in all their dealings with tutors and student families.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Val, Thank you very much for your positive comments. We notice that you have rated us with a 1 star which indicates a very negative experience. If you believe this is a mistake please could you kindly update your rating to match your comments. This would be very much appreciated. Thank you for your time and for using First Tutors. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
Very bad experience with this site. It allows students to 'rate' tutors before they have even met them. I have 30 years' experience of successful teaching. A new student approached me and booked lessons. Before we began, the student changed the agreed lesson time THREE times - and then wanted to come at a time I didn't actually give lessons! (middle of the day). So I couldn't offer them lessons after all. But the student, who had caused the trouble, gave me 'feedback' as 1/5, which wrecked my previously excellent score, and damaged my public profile. I did nothing wrong. The site refused to remove the feedback. The student disappeared. I never met the student, and I didn't ever teach them, yet they publicly wrecked my reputation because of how First Tutors works. Terribly unhappy.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Michael, Thank you for your feedback. I am unable to find any negative feedback on your profile, you have 3 positive ratings and comments despite not being able to provide tuition to the last tutee (Edward) due to a bad back. We offered Edward another tutor free of charge. Please feel free to contact our team who will be able to help with any further questions you may have. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
Had absolutely no communications from you. Apart from a feedback form?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Lorraine, We're sorry to see that you have rated us 1/5. We do have a Customer Support Team available 7 days a week to help if you have a problem. As we did not hear from you we were unable to help. We did send you a follow up email two weeks after your purchase to check that your Tutor had got in contact. We also see you purchased another Tutor and rated both 5/5. I have sent you an email to resolve any pending issues you may have. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
I couldn't go ahead with a student, so First Tutors ASKED the student to fill out a negative review on me as a tutor before the student was allowed a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Hannah, When you agree to tutor someone by pressing 'Accept' to their request you should expect that your / our tutee will be very disappointed to find their tuition agreement cancelled and likely lodge a complaint which may affect your feedback rating. As per our Terms and Conditions, we do ask for feedback if we have to make a refund because you have cancelled or substantially altered an arrangement- this is part of our complaints procedure. We always endeavour to be as fair as possible but as you did not contact us we were unable to help. If you require any help with the service, please do not hesitate to get in contact. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 8,155 reviews