First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 8,085 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It was not at all clear what I was paying for. I thought the fee I paid was to cover an actual lesson, not exorbitantly high fees for simply passing on a tutor's email address. Poor communication.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Anna, Thank you for your feedback. The intro fee is explained and displayed on the homepage, it also appears in the request next to the tutor's hourly rate. The intro fee helps cover the costs of ID checks, qualification verification, reference collection etc. This gives parents and students peace of mind. The intro fee ranges from 4.99 to 24.99 and is based on the tutor's hourly rate. (example a tutor that charges 10 pounds per hour will have an intro fee of 4.99) We wish you the best of luck with your new tutor but if you have any problems please contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Once i paid the money to release tutor's details my communication was lost with the tutor I wrote a complaint to first tutors but it didn't help at all Very disappointing experience Beware of this website
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Adam, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about your problems with the tutor. I see that our customer service team did contact you about this and offered you another tutor free of charge. Please advise if you didn't receive this email that was sent to you on the 25th of September 20 minutes after we received your complaint. (10:20am) Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team
Posted 4 years ago
Awful service! Awful standard of tutors! Paid to get details of a tutor, just a student with no idea how to teach the curriculum trying to make extra money on the side. Contacted first tutors for a refund as there was no other tutor suitable for teaching the subject I required available in my area. They refused a refund and only offered to release another tutors details for free even though there are no tutors available in my area in the relevant subject area. Not that i trust the calibre of tutors on the site! Very poor! Terrible customer service! Avoid! Money making company!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Sabha, We are sorry to read your feedback, we understand how important education is to our customers and aim to resolve this for you. I can see that a member of our customer service team has contacted you regarding your problems and asked that you leave feedback on the tutors profile to call them to account. I'm afraid we do require you to leave feedback in order for us to take this matter further. We have contacted you by email informing you how to do this, please do let us know if you require any help and we will be able to assist you. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Not very user-friendly. It automatically selects a number of teacher options and you have to double un-tick each of these, to then be able to select the teacher you want to get in contact with. After a message correspondence not easy to run on the website, the only way to actually agree with a teacher on the first lesson is to pay 14.99 EUR to get access to their details. If then the tutor changes their mind you have to start the whole process again, identifying a new tutor and then pay again the above sum to get access to a new teacher's details - which is of course aside the price of each lesson. This is what happened to me. As soon as I paid 14.99 EUR the teacher told me she was no longer available. An actual scam.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Oriana, Thank you for your feedback regarding the difficulties you found on the website, this information is valuable to our team to help us improve the user experience. I have also just read the comments you have left on the tutor's profile and have sent you an email about claiming another tutor free of charge. Of course we have also emailed the tutor and demanded an explanation of what happened. I apologise for the inconveniences caused but please be reassured that we are not a scam and we are here to help with any problems encountered with your tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Making a tutor-seeker pay first to get a potential tutor is too much.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Sheen, Thank you for your feedback. Please note that it is FREE to contact as many tutors as you wish on our website to discuss all tuition needs. Only if/when you decide to go ahead with a tutor do we charge an intro fee which helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification checks, etc. Tutor profiles also have verified feedback from previous First Tutor clients. If you have any problems with your tutor please do not hesitate to contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
This is the second time a tutor from your website has not turned up I would like a call back in reference to this my number is 07793906714. Disgraceful experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Shauna, Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry and surprised to hear this as we pride ourselves in the quality and dependability of our tutors. I can see you haven't yet contacted Customer Service to register a complaint so I have emailed you personally with instructions on how to bring these tutors to account. We will also follow their non-attendance up with them directly. I'm really sorry but we don't currently operate a phone line however, customer service works swiftly to answer all emails as soon as possible. Should you have any further queries or issues do email us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Unfortunately we couldn't even meet each other! First time I contacted her she was away for holidays and said she'll come and see us on last Friday 01/09/17and would let me know about the time on Wednesday 30/08/17when she's back, then on Wednesday she contacted me and said she can't make it for Friday as she hadn't her car and changed it to Saturday morning 02/09/17 at10:30, again 8:51pm on Friday evening she sent me another text about forgetting something that she has to do on Saturday morning and wanted to come at 10:00 without apologising! Just saying " if that's okay " We didn't even meet and for the very first time meeting us she didn't show much care and respect. She did try to apology after found out we're not happy but it wasn't a good start and we'd like to call the whole thing off and find another tutor for my daughter. Kind regards Leyla Alborz
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Leyla, We are sorry to hear about the problems with your tutor but you didn't contact us so that we could help. We do have a set procedure to follow to claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to do this. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
The tutors' response time are very slow. One of them hasn't replied for more than 24 hours.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Lee, Thank you for your feedback. All requests will remain open for 14 days to give both you and your tutor the opportunity to discuss your tuition requirements in detail. I'm sorry if you found the response rates slow, all users are sent a notification email to let them know a message is waiting. Many of our tutors work in schools, colleges etc. and will always do there best to get back to you at the earliest opportunity. Tutors that fail to respond to requests are removed from the website. I hope this helps clarify things for you but please do not hesitate to get in contact if you have any other questions. Kind Regards , Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Would never recommend neither the website or the writer. The "referees" rated the tutor professional, however he is everything but professional. +has a good knowledge of the the subject -he doesn't teach! Always changing session time! I had to BUY his details so then i can have ONLY ONE HOUR. The tutor then schedualed the next day (didnt show up ofcourse) then schedualed two days after and didnt show up neither. I am asking you (website) to refund the money i paid buying his details based on the false information provided about the tutor. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Maqboul, I'm sorry to hear about the problems with your tutor. I see that you haven't contacted us about this so we were unable to help earlier. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that we can investigate what happened and offer you another tutor free of charge. I will email you now to explain. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Really disappointing! I made contact with the tutor I wanted to have lessons with, she agreed the time for each week and that she was available. I then paid the £14.99 to unlock her details and she messaged you say actually she couldn't be my tutor after all. First Tutors then refused to refund me and said that I could lock another tutors details instead, however there aren't anymore that I'm interested in. Huge waste of money! Use another site and don't waste the £14.99 like o did!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Laura, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry there seems to have been a misunderstanding. We have a set process in place to make a complaint and can see that customer service have just emailed you to explain what to do next. We aim to investigate why your tutor let you know in full. If you have any further concerns do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Pathetic does not describe the service. I interacted with a tutor, Caitlin Black, should be visible on your site, once we discussed my child's needs she agreed to tutoring him. I went ahead and paid the "fee" to get her details. We then started communicating via whatsapp, we setup a meeting for Tuesday this week, 15:00. On Tuesday at approximately 15:15 I messaged Caitlin to inquire about her whereabouts, I was told that she forgot about the appointment and requested we move it to Thursday (yesterday) 15:00. I agreed even though it meant I would again have to make special arrangements to make it happen. Yesterday (Thursday) at 15:05 I again sent a message inquiring whether she needed directions, her response "I am on my way", less than 5 minutes later she asked me how far it was from her suburb to mine? Confused about such a question I responded with an approximate distance of 20km. She then responded saying that she would only get to my place at 15:30, by 15:40 I received a voice message saying that the traffic is hectic and that she would no longer be coming! At this point besides being upset and disappointed I kept calm and asked whether she is still interested in rendering the service as the matter is of utmost importance to us. She failed to respond at 19:07 I again sent her a message reiterating the importance of the service to us to which she responded that she will no longer be in a position to render the service due to the distance and offered Skype as an alternative. If this is the level of the tutors provided by First Tutors well then you are just conning people out of their hard earned money for contact numbers that do not deliver. I for one would like a refund and cannot see myself working with a company such as this, I have lost three weeks in which I could have sourced an alternative tutor for my son. The messages as referred to above are available on my phone for viewing. I will be sharing my experience on social media.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Tobie, Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly disappointed to hear your tutor has treated you this way and will conduct a full investigation into their conduct. I can see you haven't contacted our Customer Service team to make a complaint. We do have a set procedure when a tutor lets someone down, and I have emailed you the details of this. Do let us know if there is anything else we can do. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Purchased tutor's details, who then communicated that they are moving overseas next month! Very unimpressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Tamsin, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear your tutor has let you down in this way, but I can see you haven't raised this issue when we have asked if everything is going ok. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have contacted you via email with instructions on how to go about claiming another Tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
never responded to my request and missed the deadline for my exam... would like a refund of full pay ment
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Colm, I'm sorry to hear this. I've checked your account and see that you didn't notify us about the problem. We do have a specific procedure to follow when a tutor lets a client down in some way which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile to call them to account. Our customer service staff will contact you now to explain the steps for obtaining another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Overpriced just to get a contact detail of a tutor!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Nicola, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you feel our introduction fee is too expensive. The introduction fee covers not only the contact details of the tutor but also security checks and safety on the site to ensure peace of mind to students and their parents. If we can be of any further help please do contact Customer Service. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
It was far too expensive to release the details
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Bethany, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you feel our introduction fee is too expensive. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checking on all of our tutors. This offers peace of mind to our customers. Some agencies charge an additional £10 for every hour a tutor teaches, but with First Tutors there are no additional agency fees or hidden costs. If you have any further questions, please click 'contact us' at the bottom of the website and we will be happy to help. Kind regards, Sarah Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Tutor completely unreliable, does not respond to any emails, messages, phone calls.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Dorota, Thank you for your feedback. I can see our customer service team has already been in contact to advise how you can get another tutor free of charge. Do let us know if we can be of any further assistance. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
My tutor taught during his break at work
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Very disrespectful and not genuine. He did the first session and asked requested a good review and arranged more sessions then let me down without informing me. I asked him if he was serious and his reply is " it's up to you" I would not recommend him, sorry.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Zaheer, Thank you for your feedback. You haven't contacted us about the problem with your tutor so we were unable to help. We also see that you left the tutor positive feedback so I'm not sure what the problem is. I will send you an email about this to try and resolve the problem for you. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
The tutors seem to be under the impression of continuous lessons despite what was asked (feedback) and its rather disheartening to me
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Marta, Thank you for your feedback. Most tutors receive requests for ongoing tuition but I see that you requested a specific task to be completed with a deadline. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you had a problem with your tutor and they agreed to this but then declined. We have a specific procedure to follow when a tutor cancels a request. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
After initial contact with her I indicated that I would prefer that the tutor travel to us for each lesson. She understood my requirement and we set up a date for the first lesson. I sent her an email two days before the first lesson and asking if she is still happy to go ahead with the lesson, she was happy to come to our address for the first lesson. The first lesson was 7pm on Thursday night, she did not show up and send me a text message 8pm that she could not find my address and she would not be able to travel to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Rosita Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor let you down but can see you didn't contact us to let us know you were experiencing problems. We do have a specific procedure to follow when this happens which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to do so. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 8,085 reviews