First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,971 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Tutor request to pay to get his/her contact details. After you send the payment, you surprisingly, discover the tutor either busy or not suitable while you put full details of your requirements.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Saad, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your tutor is not suitable for your requirements and is not available for tuition as you had hoped. We do recommend that prior to purchasing a tutor's contact details you use the free messaging forum to discuss all your requirements in detail, including suitable dates and times for tuition, to be as certain as possible that your chosen tutor will be a good match for you. As we had not heard from you to indicate that there was a problem with your tutor, we have not yet been able to help you. I have just sent you an email now to explain how you can chose a replacement tutor at no further cost. I do hope that this will enable us to resolve the matter positively for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
A refund should be available if the tutor can not help you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Nicola, I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has been unable to help you. We do send a follow up email after your arrangement has been confirmed to ensure everything has gone to plan. Unfortunately, we had not heard from you so we were unable to help. Our customer support team work seven days a week to answer any of your questions and concerns. We have reached out to you today to have this matter resolved for you as soon as possible. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Its an overpriced, absolutely unnecessary page which do not offer anything extra for the money I have to pay-especially nowadays with all these social media opportunity. Absolutely useless, confusing and unhelpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Marietta, I'm sorry to see you only rated First Tutors 2/5 stars. Unlike free services, First Tutors conduct identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors, this extra verification process provides peace of mind to our clients. Unfortunately, there is no indication on the account that you were having any problems or difficulties so we were unable to help. Our support service are always available should you need help or support in using the service. (enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk). I am delighted to see that you had a positive experience with your piano teacher and I wish you the best of luck with your lessons. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Unfortunately it didnt go ahead. The tutor didnt come prepared for the lesson, no worksheets provided for my child to work from, she asked me to print worksheets instead. Covered one partial topic. After reading a text, questions not answered. (Work not complete) Didnt focus completely on the lesson, instead would write out homework during the lesson. No initial assessment even though was stated that it will be carried out. Also couldnt cover all the topics that i asked to cover during the lesson. Tutor worked from a workbook to teach but stated before that she would work from past papers, revision guides and has access to bofa online account resources.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Noreen, Thank you for your feedback. I will contact you now via email because we haven't received notification from you about any problems with your second tutor so we were unable to help. We want our clients to find a suitable tutor so if there is a problem we will help you source another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Customer Services First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Why pay £8 to try a tutor you know nothing about? How far away are they from your home? You can't speak to them to make an initial judgement (the phone number is blocked until you sign up). I know there is a detailed explanation on the site but I reckon the fee should be built in to lesson costs or picked up by First Tutors. There's a strong chance you will try a few tutors until you settle on one.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear you think our fees are expensive. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors. This offers peace of mind to our parents. The distance to the tutor's location is indicated at the top of the request and if there are any problem's at all with a tutor's suitability we ask users to get in touch so we can offer another tutor free of charge. Information surrounding our fees is displayed across various pages of the website. However, I will ensure your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to see if this can be made clearer throughout the process to avoid similar discrepancies in the future. If you would like to discuss this in further detail, please contact our support team enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk and we will be happy to assist you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Very surprised at the cost involved to get in contact with the Tutor
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Susan, Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear our fees came as a surprise for you. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors. This offers peace of mind to our parents. Information surrounding our fees is displayed across various pages of the website. However, I will ensure your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to see if this can be made clearer throughout the process to avoid similar discrepancies in the future If you would like to discuss this in further detail, please contact our support team enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk and we will be happy to assist you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Unfortunately, I have chosen a primary school teacher instead of Secondary. She couldn’t teach the lesson and had to leave .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Yasmin, I am sorry to see that you have chosen a tutor for the incorrect level. Our customer support team are available 7 days a week to help answer any of your questions and concerns. Please contact enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk in future so that we can do our best to help you. I have sent you an email with further details so that we can arrange to find a tutor for secondary level tuition for you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Your internet payment website did not work when needed- this is unacceptable
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Vince, Thank you for your feedback. I do see that you attempted to pay a couple of times and eventually managed to make payment. I will make sure the incident is investigated with SagePay (the payment platform that handles payments) but the most common reason is a temporary server error. I apologise for the inconveniences and hope you are satisfied with your tutor. Kind regards First Tutors Customer Service Team
Posted 2 years ago
great idea but the price is high just to get someone's details in my view, I'm unemployed due to a medical disability and to pay the £8 intro fee is a lot to ask I feel personally so it has stopped me meeting what seemed like a great tutor
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, I'm sorry you feel that the intro fee was expensive. The intro fee helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification, running of the website, staff etc. The fee you refer to is on our music site which we try and keep as low as possible. Kind regards First Tutors Customer Services.
Posted 2 years ago
First Tutors' fees are extortionate. Would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Hanna, I'm sorry to hear you are unsatisfied with the First Tutors fees. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors so that you can choose with confidence. Unlike traditional agencies, our fee is a one off payment so you are not charged on top of every hour your tutor teaches. You can read more about how our fees are calculated here: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/languages/about-us.php I do hope you are getting on well with your Swahili lessons, should you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact our support team enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk and we will be happy to help you. Kind Regards , First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Not very inspired. Being concerned parents and knowing we were paying a good £100 for our first session not to forget we had paid £25 to release his details, we had a few questions we needed to ask but did not get any indication of structure organzation or a systematic approach on how to help out boy get back on track. Whilst we asked, Cem not only came across slightly unapproachable, but very flat and not encouraging. It’s important for tutors charging that kind of fees to help reassure parents that their tution will be systematic, and aim to work towards targets and goals. We are aware that the end result is not guaranteed and based on factors such as our child the work he puts in etc. But it is the tutors job to show he knows how to structure lessons in order to teach a particular target with a child in a given time. Cem did nothing of that sort. He brought only 1 book despite the fact it made it clear that my son had problems with exam questions. Maybe a set of sample papers or questions to quickly browse over would show some professionalism? Ideally you want a tutor to sit down with you after coaching your child and lettng parents know this and that can be done to work with the child and what one aims or hopes to achieve in a given time period. There’s was nothing of that sort. I felt awkward asking all the questions without feeling I came across as an overly concerned parent. However, being a teacher myself I was disssapointed at the attitude and lack of inspiration. However, I was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt and thought maybe it was just me as a parent feeling I neded more information. Then my son confirmed my fears. He did not feel that anything substantial came from the 2 hour session. Any questions asked were merely brushed off or searched in the book or needed further investigation for the next session. For £125 this was a waste of time and money and although we greatly appreciate Cem taking almost 4 hours including travel to get to us, had he shown that he was a more constructive tutor with a clear direction, we would have been happy to pay for his services. And future lessons. Definitely not for us. Sorry.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Yasmin, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your tutor and can understand your frustration. I've checked your account and can't see that you contacted us about the issue so that we could provide immediate help. I have now sent you an email to explain how to claim another tutor free of charge. Kind regards First Tutors Customer Service Team
Posted 2 years ago
It is not clear that there is a one-off charge or what that charge will be right up front. It depends on how you found the site as to whether you see these conditions or not. Since similar sites make their money from those registered as tutors, I did not even consider searching for such charges when I made my arrangements with a tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The fees are displayed on the homepage and within the request but I do understand your point about perhaps not seeing the fees if you land from an external site/link. First Tutors aims to be upfront and transparent about how our website works. Our team will look into improving this aspect very soon. Kind regards Customer Service First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
The tutor was excellent but the system is inflexible and frustrating. The first contact is by automated email so you cannot state your actual instrument, availability or and special needs or requirements. This wastes everyone's time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Hannah, Thank you for your feedback which I will forward to our team. We are always finding ways of improving the user experience so your input is certainly valuable to us. I am happy to hear you found an excellent tutor and hope you will consider using First Tutors again. Kind regards Sara Customer Services Team First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Not happy with your service. After paying £24.99 for recommending a tutor.The first tutor came the first time and did not turn up for the second lesson. No phone call, no email.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have used this platform for a number of years as a Tutor. First Tutors has served me well in the past, but looking back now I get the impression that it now is focussed on its own commercial interests these days. Sure all businesses have to make money, yet why ask tutors to pay in order to automatically get to the top of any search made? Are the potential clients made aware of this? In the past I have suggested improvements to the site and received at best a muted response and certainly do not feel valued as an individual by the site.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Sir/Madam, I'm sorry to hear you feel this way but appreciate your feedback. We note that you have left an anonymous review so we are unable to contact you personally. Could you please contact us on enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk so that we can discuss your concerns and listen to your suggestions. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
I am disappointed because they cancelled
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anthony, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has cancelled and appreciate how disappointing this is. Because we hadn't heard from you about this problem we haven't been able to help you yet. I have just sent you an email now explaining how you can leave feedback for the tutor and then select a replacement tutor at no further cost; hopefully this will provide a positive outcome for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Found out tutors availability. Arranged a time for session with tutor. Paid for tutors details, then session time was changed by tutor. Had planned our day around tutor coming at certain time. Tutor then couldn't do other times they told us they were available. Paid $10 to get tutors details, ended up with no suitable time for session, waste of money. Not willing to pay again for another tutors details
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Jack, I am very sorry to hear about this and understand your reason for concern. Unfortunately, as we had not heard from you regarding the problem we have been unable to help you. I have sent you instructions by email , detailing how you can leave feedback for your tutor to call them to account. We can then release a replacement tutors details to you at no further charge. We have a support team working seven days a week to help, so please do contact us if you have any concerns. I hope this resolves your issue. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Morgan is yet to come for the grind class.She said she has an accident
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Yetunde, I am sorry that your tutor has been unable to help you because of an accident. I will send you an email now to explain how we can help resolve this for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
confusing, when it says tutor has sent a reply...where is it? you have to click reply to something that you have not seen. Also frankly rather use a site where the seller pays as for holiday cottages etc. Also if you broadcast your interest all your replies are shared which is not obvious.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear John, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you found the website difficult to navigate. Your feedback has been passed to our team who will take into account your comments when revising the member's area. If you have any problems with the tutor please do let us know. We are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Really disappointed that I was charged £29 to register with you as it was not explained very well. I turned up at the tutors house thinking I had already paid for the 1st session not realising that it was a registering fee to join 1st tutors. The process to book a tutor was not very clear and it would have been helpful to pay the money online to the tutor direct.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Linda, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you missed that there is an introduction fee payable to receive the contact details of your chosen tutor. This fee is displayed on the homepage and also in the header of the request. The introduction fee covers the cost of identification and reference checks on all our registered tutors, which allows students and families to chose with confidence. If you need any assistance or any further clarification regarding the introduction fee please email Customer Support and we will be pleased to assist you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,971 reviews