Expedia Reviews

2.99 Rating 76 Reviews
49 %
of reviewers recommend Expedia
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone
Read Expedia Reviews

About Expedia:

Expedia.co.uk was established in 1998 in the UK, and is now the leading online travel agent in the UK. Expedia globally, is the largest seller of travel online in the world. Expedia is a wholly-owned subsidiary of IAC/InterActiveCorp (NASDAQ: IACI). Expedia’s award-winning Expert Searching and Pricing (ESP) technology delivers the most comprehensive flight options available online. ESP also allows customers to dynamically build complete trips that combine flights, Expedia® Special Rate Hotels, ground transportation, and destination activities.

Visit Website

Phone:

ph:+44-33-01231235

Email:

travel@support.expedia.co.uk

Location:

333 108th Avenue NE

Write Your review

Tell us how Expedia made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Expedia booked our flight with KLM, or so we thought. It failed to tell us there was no baggage included. When we paid for the tickets, the itinerary quoted KLMs baggage policy and gave us inaccurate information as to the actual cost of checked in luggage. The flight would actually be operated by Virgin Atlantic, which required a payment of £828 extra just for two items of 23kg checked in luggage. Expedia refuse to accept liability. The airlines state it is Expedia’s fault as it booked the tickets for us. We had no choice but to effectively pay more than double the amount we would have paid for flights. Avoid this fraudulent company at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not use they are absolutely useless Do not use they are absolutely useless. After nearly a 4 hour drive my husband, son and son in-law arrived at their self catering accommodation to relax before going to a gig at the local stadium to find the owner had no reference of their booking and someone else was in it. After I sat on the phone for almost 1.45 in total the boys had no choice but to go and find somewhere to eat so they could get to the gig on time. They then had to drive home after arriving home at 3pm in the morning...thankfully safe!!!! All the food brought for their dinner and breakfast had to be binned after being in the car all afternoon and evening in the heat of the day. Their customer service is diabolical and offered me £25 credit for my next trip...l highlighted that after this experience we would not be using or recommending them. I asked for their head office number so I could make a formal complaint and surprise surprise I have just called the number given to find out it’s a false number.....thanks for nothing Expedia. Lisa
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Useless. Pity you cannot give a minus rating. Had tickets for the Who and Kaiser Chiefs at Wembley on Sat 6th July. Booked a room at the Bell Inn Ruislip through Expedia which was close to a good train connection to Wembley. Turned up to discover that the Bell Inn no linger exists and we were stranded. A phone call of over an hour at my expense resulted in the offer of a room at the Best Wester at Heathrow which while quite close to Ruislip is a nightmare of journey to Wembley and would have resulted in missing half of the gig. Told by Expedia that no other accommodation was available. Gave up and went home mega out of pocket and totally hacked off. See you in court.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Categories My Reviews My Settings Help LOG OUT Alternate Text Maria Angelo US For companies Your review counts! You reviewed Expedia.co.uk Maria Angelo Maria Angelo 1 review Star 1 Star 2 Star 3 Star 4 Star 5 Just now The worst customer support ever!!!! The worst customer support ever!!!! I never in my life had to write a terrible review like this, but I feel like I just have to warn people! DO NOT BOOK ANYTHING WITH EXPEDIA.CO.UK! I have never been so disappointed in my life! Here is what happened.. me and 2 of my friends went to France, and booked an excursion to Versailles, which is the castle outside of Paris, we all booked it from different phones, so I happened to book through Expedia.co.uk and my friend was lucky enough to book through expedia.us. The day before the excursion the vendor called us to confirm the booking and to get the address, where they were suppose to pick us up, we gave them the address, and the lady said we are suppose to wait for the car from 1.15 PM to 1.45, and that the driver will call us. We also got the email from them, that said we could wait outside in front of the building or in the lobbi of the hotel. The day of the pick up we are standing outside and waiting, it started to rain pretty heavy so we went inside of the building. We were waiting and waiting and nobody showed up, nobody called us either. So we called the vendor to find out what's going on - turned out as they say - driver waited for us and called and had no response so he left. We were very upset, we offered to take and uber and meet the bus somewhere, because we were suppose to walk around the castle with guid, they said it's impossible, they also refused to book us for another day, only if we paid for it again, which we obviously refused to do. They wouldn't refund us anything either! So we call Expedia, because we booked the trip through them, we sent them the screen shot of our phones to prove either one of us never received a call, I could even sent them print out from my phone company if it made any difference... so my friend, who booked through Expedia.us got her refund the same day, no problem - they apologized, and she was a little frustrated she missed the trip but happy she got her money back. I, however got the call saying they called the vendor and they said they were at the pick up location, and I never showed up, and they said they called and they refuse to refund the money so expedia.co.uk cannot do anything to help me with this issue! I could absolutely not believe this nonsense!!!! I told them that my friend got her refund, and they said that Expedia us has nothing to do with them. This is just ridiculous!!! I was on the phone with them for 2 hours! And I m pretty sure that the vendor didn't give them any proof that they called, because they did not! I m a 100 % sure, cause my phone was working, so were my friends phones and it was in my hand. The internet was working, I was looking out the window, but we didn't really know what car to look for cause the vendor didn't provide that information. Anyway, I m saying this again - DO NOT BOOK through expedia.co.uk they do not care!!!! They will not refund you money if the service was not provided for you! It was the most frustrating experience in my life! I learned my lesson though, I will only book through United states sites, I never had that problem with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
We got what we thought was a cheap deal to Malta. Sadly after contacting both airlines, we ended up paying more than the flight itself in baggage fees! €60 each for AirMalta. To add insult to injury, you cannot "manage your booking" online with AirMalta unless you book directly with them. So we now have to call them on an international number to pay for the baggage and check in! Complete scam
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
i booked a hotel in France with Expedia and they compleatly messed it up, fortunatly i phone the hotel a few days before i left and discovered to my horrer they had charged me half price of £420.00 when it should have been £980.00. this was for a double room in a 3 star hotel for 4 nights, the hotel owner told me they had got the price wrong and would not admit me, i canceled my hotel, i have had trouble finding a hotel in the Normandy area to pay respect to the fallen on the D-day landings, i woud not send a Dog on Holiday with Expedia they are incompetant i will never book with them again, FOR YOUR OWN SAKE DO NOT BOOK WITH EXPEDIA.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Flight was cancelled because of safety reasons Expedia told me for three months I was going to get refunded. They are now saying I need to ask the Bank or a travel insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Have used Expedia for years and was happy until I contacted their customer services. Same standard replies without any thought of what they are saying. Will not use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Appalling service, we had an issue with our online booking (which was the fault of the website) and then we weren't able to get the booking moved. We ended up booking twice for rooms and have got no where trying to sort out a refund or even get a complaint registered. Worse customer service we've ever dealt with.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Booked a flight through them that the airline cancelled. Got a weird message saying I 'might' be able to get a refund but had to call customer services for anything to happen. Got through... Eventually. Tortuous process to get them to get the refund ball rolling. 2 months later... Still no refund. If an airline cancels a flight, Expedia should either book you on another one or automatically provide a refund. I'll never book a flight with them again.... And would be very wary of booking any thing with then. Not whst you expect from a reputable travel company... Assuming they are one!!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I recently tried to book a hotel and a flight package, this should have totalled £540 for both the flight and the hotel. After entering my payment details the app said 'Your booking is now being processed. Click here to view your itinerary'. Clicked it and nothing. No itinerary, no booking confirmation, no confirmation order etc. It took me to the homepage. I left it for a while as I thought it may take a while to process however after checking again, still nothing. I checked my bank account and £80 had been taken by Ryanair for the flights. I rang and emailed customer service and both representatives ensured me that absolutely nothing had been booked and that I would be refunded the £80 within 72 hours.72 hours passed and nothing. I rang customer service again, after being on the phone for 45 minutes, the representative said that she can see the package I originally tried to book and that for some reason there was an error wit their system so I need to book the hotel separately. To book the hotel separately it would cost £600 meaning due to their 'faulty' app I am out of pocket by £140. The customer service representative said if I booked the hotel separately they would refund me the £140. At the time I did not have the money to book it separately and the representative told me if i do not book it now I may lose out on the chance of the refund. A week later I rang back to book the hotel and I was put though to a different representative who told me there was nothing anyone could do for me. A few days later I got an email from customer service saying if I would like to book the hotel they would refund me the different for what I originally should have paid for the package. At this point I had lost all trust in the website and misleading customer service team. I have read other peoples reviews who have had similar experiences and I decided I do not want my holiday to be booked through them anymore as who knows what other problems would arise. I do not trust that they would refund me the full difference if any so I decided o book directly through the hotels website as I did not want any more hassle or involvement with Expedia. After explaining this to them on an email, they send me a £50 voucher.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Worst company I've ever had the displeasure of dealing with in my life. Booked return flights and they cocked that up.. I now have two separate itineraries. And they charged me SIX TIMES and have now advised I need to speak with the airline. That's after me calling them four times (2 hours total call time) and after sending them screenshots of the charges THREE TIMES. Idiots is an understatement. If i could give less than zero stars I would. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
After emailing a few time and having NO real help other than 'telephone us', I called to cancel our trip as my wife is ill and we cannot travel. ALL I wanted was a cancellation invoice and the return of the tax paid, as I had already established that I would not get a refund. I was kept on hold for ages before AND during the call. I had to try to interpret a call centre operative for whom English was a second language. after ages I was told that I would be CHARGED £50 to cancel rather than have that deducted from the refund. By the end of the call I had gone from distressed, through frustrated, to absolutely furious at how Expedia had treated me at a time of already hightened emotions. I have ALREADY been charged £50, but STILL have NO confirmation of cancellation OR a cancellation invoice. I shall NOT be using Expedia again!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
expedia have a terrible customer service. you're lucky until you have a problem, then they don't care anymore
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If I could give zero stars, I would. From now on, I book direct with the hotels, car-hire, airlines etc, as I find it far cheaper and far more honest. Expedia add no value and no savings over booking directly with the suppliers yourself. They hide a lot of costs, which I found out later on my itinerary booked through them. Devious little "middle-men".
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My booking has been cancelled with no reasons:
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Beware of using Expedia. I booked some flights from Singapore to Malaga (Via the UK) for my wedding. I am meant to fly in a few weeks so was checking at my flights and only now realized that there is only 3.5 between my connecting flights in the UK. Trouble is that I land in Heathrow but my next flight leaves from Gatwick. So there is not enough time to switch airports and also comes at a huge cost. I called Expedia to ask for help and to maybe change to a later connecting flight and they want to charge me over £1000 to change or £500 if I just cancel that leg and re-book a separate much cheaper flight direct with BA. I checked the cost of the flight on BA and it was only £141 so Expedia are taking advantage of my desperate situation and holding me hostage to the fact I booked through them. The attitude of the agent was that I should have read the small print and when I expressed my dissatisfaction, he just hung up on me. I really do hope that someone reads this and it saves them from making the same mistake. Expedia do not care about customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Following an hour-long conversation with a representative from Expedia I have to come to the conclusion that this Company is not to be trusted in any shape or form. The facts are that they take a booking from us, the public, and give guarantees that they have absolutely no thought of honouring. My daughter booked with Expedia the total package of flight and hotel, as a surprise to me, to go to Albuferia in Portugal where I was being treated to a 50th Birthday celebration holiday. She was booked on the same flight as us which left Dublin Airport at around 8.00pm for the two and a half hour flight which was thankfully uneventful. On arriving at Faro airport we had a pre-arranged taxi waiting to take us to our accommodation which took about 45 minutes. My friends left the taxi and went to book into our hotel (Hotel Vila Recife) and were treated with the utmost courtesy and given the keys to their rooms. I stayed in the taxi to make sure that my daughter would have no problems at her hotel (Hotel da Galé) which was only a few minutes away. On arriving at reception we were greeted by an insolent and extremely rude man who told us immediately that they had no room for my daughter as she was late booking in and that they had, in fact, sold the room on to someone who had just walked in off the street. I told him that my daughter had a confirmed booking through Expedia and that they had no right to re-sell the room. He literally told us to get lost and stop bothering him as there was no room at the inn (I know how Joseph and Mary felt). I asked him to refund the money to which he replied that Expedia had the money and we were to seek recompense from them. After a lengthy discourse, we decided that there was no way we going to get him to change his indifference to my daughter plight. We left and found another hotel where my daughter paid again for her 3 nights stay. We phoned Expedia the next morning and they were apologetic and said they would take the matter up with the hotel and not to worry they would be refunding my daughters payment. On returning to Ireland we contacted Expedia again and asked what they were doing about the refund and an apology for the disgraceful treatment of their customer. This is when the useless guarantees that I mentioned earlier were borne out. Expedia said that they were unable to get the money back from the hotel and as a gesture of goodwill would give us a €100 voucher against a future booking! As you will appreciate this was entirely unacceptable and I argued that the contract was made with Expedia and that their emailed confirmation clearly stated that no worries about late booking in as the rooms were guaranteed. The ignoramus who I was talking to asked to see a copy of the booking confirmation that my daughter was sent, so he was obviously accusing me of lying. While I was still on the phone to him I forwarded this confirmation which stated quite clearly what I was telling him. When he received that he reverted to the story that the hotel was not prepared to refund anything as she was late booking in. He was told in no uncertain terms that his argument was complete and utter rubbish. I told him that the contract existed between my daughter and Expedia and had nothing whatsoever to do with what the hotel did or didn't do. He again said the best he could do was offer the €100 voucher. It seems the only way to resolve this matter will be by recourse to the courts and I look forward to hearing just what Expedia's excuses will be at that juncture. In the meantime, I give you fair warning not to trust this shower of liars and cheats you will be very disappointed.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
expedia took my money for 2 flights in January and did not book them, have been promised a refund for ages now and still waiting, customer service is bad, they say will call you back but never do about why the refund has not happened.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
IBIS NORTHAMPTON - BUYER BEWARE - RUDE AND UNHELPFUL IBIS NORTHAMPTON Truly the worst customer service, rudeness and apathy I have encountered. Booked with Expedia - booking for wrong night - despite being free rooms the tried to rip me off and say I could not cancel, from staff with a serious attitude problem. IBIS AND EXPEDIA REALLY EXCEEDING APATHY IN CUSTOMER SERVICE _ BUYER BEWARE!!! The antithesis of customer service - BUYER BEWARE!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Expedia is rated 2.99 based on 76 reviews