Coverwise Reviews

1.34 Rating 44 Reviews
7% of reviewers recommend Coverwise
646 Review Views (past 24 hours)
02AM - 4AM
22 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
38 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
57 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
43 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
77 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
65 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
57 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
41 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
83 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
84 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
40 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
39 Review Views
02AM
2AM

About Coverwise: Coverwise Travel Insurance, prices from just £1.76 - Experienced at providing great value, comprehensive travel insurance. Coverwise – Low cost Travel Insurance offering great cover, easy and efficient online purchase, payment and policy issue, UK customer service centres, 24/7 medical assistance.

Location:
77 79 High Street
Steyning
West Sussex

Categories:
Finance & Insurance
Travel Insurance
Finance & Insurance
Travel Insurance

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Coverwise made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels
"Avoid - I have been conned out of the policy fee and been mis-sold insurance. I stated I needed single trip travel insurance for a one night trip within the UK, they accepted my request and insured me. I needed to claim, they have said I am not covered due to my annual multiple trip travel insurance - this is not what I purchased. I let them know my exact requirements and they happily took my money, but are now saying I am not covered now I need to make a claim! Will be taking the matter further with the FOS. Disgusting! I would honestly issue zero or minus 1 start if it were possible, they are that poor."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Are you Coverwise? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Coverwise receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"I would give them zero star rating. Useless travel insurance company. A simple claim for a stolen passport and return flights home and they continually delay processing the claim. They rarely contact you, even though they claim to have phoned you. When you contact them by phone, their staff don’t understand English. Never again will I buy insurance through this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Coverwise (AXA) are all well and good unless you want to make and claim and then they will go through your medical history with a fine tooth comb looking for any excuse not to pay the full amount. Never again with this company!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"WARNING - Be careful before you choose this insurer or their underwriters AXA - quick to be friendly and take your money for cover - but when I had to make a claim after holiday cancellation (due to husband's illness which in itself was very traumatic) - and despite completing complicated forms and getting signed medical certificates and letters from hospital - no payout and they weren't interested in the detail. Very upsetting in the circumstances. Separate insurance company (for my husband) paid, no quibble..."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Broke a tooth in Zante, paid the bill and sent the receipt back to Coverwise on my return, quick form to complete and reimbursed with 14 days. Was sceptical of getting my money having read the reviews but my personal experience has been very good and I have nothing but a positive review to leave."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Avoid pointless “Annual Multi Trip Insurance” as it provides no useful cover. We paid over £50 for annual cover. We then had a slightly unlucky year and had two holidays heavily disrupted/ cancelled. One to Indonesia (Earthquakes) and one to New York (Primera airline going bankrupt cancelling all flights). In both cases Coverwise didnt provide any compensation to book new flights (or pay for the old ones) or pay for the hotels we couldn’t Get to which I thought would be quite standard items. If you read the policy they only cover 5 extremely narrow circumstances in which they will pay anything in the event of your holiday being cancelled."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"DO NOT TAKE OUT A COVERWISE/AXA POLICY I took out a Coverwise policy for a family holiday to Lanzarote. Unfortunately on our second night, our villa in Playa Blanca was burgled. Many hundreds of Euros were stolen together with electrical items and purses and driving licences. I made contact with the Coverwise claims number, this is operated by AXA. I spoke to someone in Mauritius who spoke very little English, this combined with the delay on the line made the already stressful experience even worse. The Coverwise/AXA insurance is totally useless and I would advise anyone considering taking out a policy with them, to get cover elsewhere. A policy is only any good when you have to make a claim. It's pointless paying money for a policy, that when it comes to the crunch, you have to speak to someone in a different country who does not understand you. Upon return to the UK I made contact with Coverwise and explained the situation. There was no great concern as they stated that the policy is operated by AXA and they deal with all claims. I enquired regarding medical cover and if medical assistance was needed whilst on holiday abroad, where would the call be directed and could I speak to someone in the UK. I was advised that the call could be directed to anywhere in the world and it depended where you were calling from. Regarding future travel insurance, I would suggest checking where claims/medical emergency calls are directed. If you are directed to a UK call centre, you might pay a bit more however you would have the peace of mind knowing that in an emergency, you will be able to explain the circumstances of what you have experienced to someone who can understand you."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"NEVER use axa for travel insurance or anyone underwritten by them. My girlfriend fell ill with meningitis whilst in Hong Kong and needed 3 weeks of treatment. Axa have been absolutely appalling - finding any way of weaselling out of paying and making it confusing and difficult to challenge anything. They made a traumatic experience even more stressful for someone who was suffering from swelling around the brain - which can be made worse from stress. To add insult to injury they have acknowledged their bad treatment of us and offered £100 in compensation but still not dealt with the actual claim which is tens of thousands. We are now having to go through the financial ombudsman. Avoid at all costs."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Needed emergency surgery while on holiday and can't get through to anyone- all lines on perpetual loops (by design) and no response to over 20 emails...DONT TOUCH this company it is obviously just a front to take money and not under written by AXA as they claim"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Can't be bothered attitude for returning customer, renewed policy and already had medication on it for myself, renewed over the phone and Coverwise agent made a mistake and put NO medication ?? I checked the policy and noticed the mistake but was told I had to pay again ( twice) and wait for the original refund. This guy wasn't bothered and had a can't be bothered attitude. I asked to speak to his maanger SUE who was too busy to speak to me. I was advised there might be an additional cost for the tablet I take for ANXIETY ??? Check your policy everyone, if its worded wrong then it's classed as your fault. Coverwise didn't seem bothered if I went elsewhere, my advice is choose a company who values their customers. This was my 4th year with them too."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I dont have a lower rating than this. They dont even deserve 1 star. They always make some excuse of some policy and wont give you claim. Some thief stole my stuff. Insurance company like Coverwise will tell you they would cover you for many mishappening. But when something happens they would tell you of some 100 pages policies defined not to give you anything. Are they not worse than thief? I would say they are worse than that thief who would claim that he is a professional thief but Coverwise cant claim and they have to find policies to cheat people. I want to ask the policy makers of Coverwise how many bills they save and whether they would ask any thief before theft that DONT STEAL THIS THING AS I DONT HAVE BILL TO CLAIM. You make people fool. The worst company to have insurance with."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"An absolutely dreadful company, their terms and conditions are very unclear. stranded abroad as flights cancelled and refused to help. out of pocket by £400.00. do not use Coverwise or Axa. Go elsewhere !!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Dont expect to ever get a payout from this insurance company. Two claims, one relating to stolen passport and another for missed flight . One matter has been dragged out over a year . They make excuses like losing documents and pass you around Indian call center where its impossible to understand a word. They don't return calls. No one takes control and you get the same template email again and again. Avoid this insurer at all costs."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Phoned claim line from airport when flight was cancelled and asked for advice. Couldn't understand the Indian in the call centre. Asked to speak to some-one who could speak clearer English, told there wasn't anybody. Absolutely useless"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I would rate them 0 stars 1 would be generous. I went on holiday and fell Ill and had to pay to visit a hospital it has taken cover wise who are under written by AXA insurance almost 4 months to get back to me with an update which is that they won't cover me. Terrible service there call center is is some far away country who are obviously getting paid peanuts and cant speak English."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I had my holiday insurance with Coverwise. When my father died and I had to cancel the holiday Coverwise told me I was not entitled to a refund because it was a known condition. I was not covered now that he had died because he had prostate cancer. I told them he had prostate cancer for a number of years and it was under control and I had no way of knowing it would have killed him at the time of booking my holiday. There was no compassion and at a time of severe upset and stress they would not return calls when they said, I was passed backwards and forward and had to keep emailing and phoning several times. The advisor kept putting me on hold and asking lots of questions about my Dad's death. This was very upsetting and stressful on top of losing my Dad and now losing all the costs of our family holiday. My Dad was not on the insurance documents, he was not even travelling with us and they then wanted proof and I had to send all my documents to them and a copy of his death certificate! It was appalling service. They then lost all the documents and asked me to go through them all over again! After weeks of ringing and emailing I finally got my money refunded. AVOID AT ALL COSTS."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Contacted them regarding a delayed flight for which the rest of my party were compensated, needless to say they were not insured with Coverwise. I took out a gold policy and yet when I enquired about claiming they said that delayed flight on a connecting flight was an optional extra and was told to check page 30 of my policy! I am going to persue this claim via other means as they are very misleading and I shudder to think what would have happened had I needed medical attention. This policy cost me £45 for a single trip. Avoid at all costs!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"AVOID - communication is awful. Still waiting for them to pay out for a straight forward claim made in September. Was contacted at 9pm on Christmas Eve of all times, to which I replied straight away. I didn't hear back from that email until yesterday 6.2.18. Currently asking for info of which they have had since September, stalling payment. Avoid avoid avoid!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"They are a con! DON'T USE THIS COMPANY! I called them 6 times and could never get through, they asked me to leave my details but no one ever calls back. On my last call I asked to speak to a manager to complain and they hung up on me. CON COMPANY!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"After not being able to travel in sept and an un easy start Coverwise we're brilliant Alfie in claims dealt with compassion and understanding well done"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Coverwise is rated 1.34 based on 44 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support